the Kingdom of eSwatini
#1 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2018 7:44:43 PM

#2 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2018 10:40:18 PM

kawi254
#3 Posted : Thursday, April 19, 2018 11:54:48 PM

Some small countries in Africa are not viable on their own and should be swallowed by their neighbors e.g

1. Malawi should be part of Zambia . They share similar ethnic group Chewa, Ngoni, Tonga...basically they are the same people.

2. Burundi should be taken over by Tanzania - virtually all Burundi people have been refugees in Tanzania.

3. Lesotho & Swaziland are just in some African Utopia and the sooner they become part of South Africa the better for them. Their citizens work and live in SA.
#4 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 12:55:42 AM

kawi254 wrote:
Some small countries in Africa are not viable on their own and should be swallowed by their neighbors e.g

1. Malawi should be part of Zambia . They share similar ethnic group Chewa, Ngoni, Tonga...basically they are the same people.

2. Burundi should be taken over by Tanzania - virtually all Burundi people have been refugees in Tanzania.

3. Lesotho & Swaziland are just in some African Utopia and the sooner they become part of South Africa the better for them. Their citizens work and live in SA.

I vehemently disagree.. (Miguna style). Tribe is the most natural basis for nationhood. Look at European countries, they are basically tribal kingdoms like eSwatini. Once people have their own kingdoms then they can engage in cooperating with one another as equals. What you are saying has been tried before with disastrous consequences.

There was a guy called Tito who succeeded in creating one country called Yugoslavia that was made up of Serbs, Croats, Albanians, Slovenians etc. Walikosana vibaya sana. USSR survived for some 60 years before it also broke up but even for it to survive for as long as it did a lot of atrocities were committed by Stalin against small tribes. Stalin used to move whole ethnic groups from one place to another. Can you imagine all Luos being moved to Wajir or something like that.

Check out this:
https://en.wikipedia.org...fer_in_the_Soviet_Union

The more I read about these things the more I believe that Kenya even with all our bickering, tumejaribu. Wazungu just drew some lines around us and told us we are one country na tukakubali.
#5 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 9:00:08 AM

Oooops kept on reading kingdom of swenani smile d'oh!
#6 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 9:31:48 AM

kawi254 wrote:

I vehemently disagree.. (Miguna style). Tribe is the most natural basis for nationhood. Look at European countries, they are basically tribal kingdoms like eSwatini. Once people have their own kingdoms then they can engage in cooperating with one another as equals. What you are saying has been tried before with disastrous consequences.

There was a guy called Tito who succeeded in creating one country called Yugoslavia that was made up of Serbs, Croats, Albanians, Slovenians etc. Walikosana vibaya sana. USSR survived for some 60 years before it also broke up but even for it to survive for as long as it did a lot of atrocities were committed by Stalin against small tribes. Stalin used to move whole ethnic groups from one place to another. Can you imagine all Luos being moved to Wajir or something like that.

Check out this:

The more I read about these things the more I believe that Kenya even with all our bickering, tumejaribu. Wazungu just drew some lines around us and told us we are one country na tukakubali.

If you think kenyans hate each other and that we have 'tribalism' wait until you get a Serb and an Albanian in the same room or a Russian and a Georgian uone moto! Switzerland is a viable county and it's rather small. Belgium has it's own issues between the Flemish and French. Spain and Catalonia? France and corsica?
by the way Europe is full of these

The problem with Swaziland is not that it's small... it's that it's a kingdom!

#7 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 9:37:21 AM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

#8 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 10:13:59 AM

Missment
#9 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 10:25:59 AM

Na mi nasinda nikisoma 'Kingdom of Saitan'.

Ama ni vile Bishop Mukiri alikatazwa 'dirty jokes' na amekataa kusikia?
#10 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 11:25:23 AM

The Europeans are proud of their kingdoms, kings, queens, princes eg. England, Denmark, Belgium, Monaco, Spain. The same with arabs eg. Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Emirates, Oman. Also the asians eg Bhutan, Malaysia, Thailand. Let us Africans also be proud of our kings like mswati, lesotho etc. It was a big mistake for mzungu to trick/force us africans to abolish some of the major kingdoms that African had such as Zulu, Ashanti, Buganda, "Wangu wa makeri" kingdom etc while mzungu maintained his. Africans were told that it was primitive and ushenzi to continue having outdated cultures such kingdoms.
#11 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 12:34:16 PM

The Europeans are proud of their kingdoms, kings, queens, princes eg. England, Denmark, Belgium, Monaco, Spain. The same with arabs eg. Saudi Arabia, Jordan, Emirates, Oman. Also the asians eg Bhutan, Malaysia, Thailand. Let us Africans also be proud of our kings like mswati, lesotho etc. It was a big mistake for mzungu to trick/force us africans to abolish some of the major kingdoms that African had such as Zulu, Ashanti, Buganda, "Wangu wa makeri" kingdom etc while mzungu maintained his. Africans were told that it was primitive and ushenzi to continue having outdated cultures such kingdoms.

Kingdoms are the worst institutions ever!! if you only understood how difficult they made progress of these countries! They stood in the way! they were not the cause of the progress. including the English one! the number of revolutions and kicking out of monarchs that happened over time is astounding! they are very very bad ideas. Monarchs were basically warlords who managed to convince a bunch of smaller warlords to join their sided! Serfdom was the fate of people like you and I - not allowed to move.. 0 property rights. TERRIBLE IDEAS! The Ashanti and those Nigerian monarchs were bunch of slave traders who created empires around that and violence. BAD IDEAS!! The Europeans neutered their monarchies and this is the one step that made them be what they are! they didn't neuter them at once... it was pole pole! these f***ers could just tax people at will and owned everything. the rest of people were just squatters living on their land... the royalty had "God given rights" heck the English Monarch had "droit de seigneur" or "primae noctis" rights..basically RIGHTS TO SLEEP WITH YOUR NEWLY WED WIFE! Europe successed INSPITE of it's Mornach not because of it. Ask the Russians about the Tzars! Ethiopia about the Emperour. If it wasn't for the spanish crown - Spain would have advanced kabisa.
Monachies sometimes did get great Kings like Frederick the Great - and during their eras things worked! but if you ended up with dunderheads like the Ottoman King who banned printing and thus limited spread of knowledge within his kingdom and led to the utter decline of the once great Ottoman empire.

I once asked if anyone knew the story behind Dyson's hoover?

Dyson’s journey to the top of Vacuum Mountain began in in 1978, when he decided there had to be a way to build a better device than the popular vacuums of the day. “I started Dyson with an idea: a bagless vacuum that didn’t lose suction. It seemed so simple — bagged vacuums begin to lose suction as soon as they fill with dust,” he told New York. “So, I invented a vacuum that didn’t rely on bags, and cyclone technology meant the vacuum wouldn’t lose suction.” Sound familiar?

The idea came to him after seeing a local sawmill which used a 30-foot-high conical centrifuge that would spin dust out of the air. The same technology, Dyson reckoned, could be shrunk down and built into a vacuum cleaner, omitting the need for a bag and ensuring the device wouldn’t lose suction and become less useful over time.

Easier said than done, of course. Dyson would spend the next 15 years perfecting his design, a process that resulted in 5,127 different prototypes. Those years were tough for the fledgling inventor and his family. “By 2,627, my wife and I were really counting our pennies,” Dyson wrote in 2011. “By 3,727, my wife was giving art lessons for some extra cash.”

“She was wonderful. But most other people thought I was mad,” he told Inc. Still, Dyson knew he had something potentially great on his hands and pushed on. “It didn’t happen overnight, but after years of testing, tweaking, fist-banging, and after more than 5,000 prototypes, it was there,” he said. “Or nearly there. I still needed to manufacture it and go sell it.”

To me that's exactly what democracy is - an experiment! a series of experiments. you try something - it works.. great! it doesn't - you try again next time. it's strength is that it has a fallback mechanism. You may end up chosing Trump but unlike the Kings of Old who you had to wait until they die and a 'good' king shows up - you can correct yourselves at the ballot.
Sometimes, it's 3 steps forward and sometimes 2 steps back but that 1 step taken cannot be overwritten. People think states are in a rat race some of the police states you are idolising will/may come to a screeching halt... if they don't morph out of it especially because that's the nature of humans. Most nyeuthis ask themselves - why did Libyans do the things they did?? they had 'everything'? 'everything'? really? they had material stuff but did not have a political voice - this is a must because humans forget material things. if you were born eating 3 square meals a day and everyone around you ate 3 square meals a day - being grateful for 3 square meals a day is not natural... it's like africans being grateful for the Sun all around the year! Libyans lacked a channel to express their political nature. To express themselves... to be political.

#12 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 1:06:06 PM

@Masukuma, a Kingdom can be a democracy too.

Juzi, you saw Prince Charles speaking to 'Commonwealth citizens'? A Kingdom can be a constellation of states governed by seemingly voted in elite.

But I think I can understand where you're arguing from and your sins are duly forgiven.
#13 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 1:17:44 PM

Juzi, you saw Prince Charles speaking to 'Commonwealth citizens'? A Kingdom can be a constellation of states governed by seemingly voted in elite.

But I think I can understand where you're arguing from and your sins are duly forgiven.

Ceremonial Kingdoms of Europe vs the absolute kingdoms like eSwatini! or Bhutan or Brunei!
Afadhali Lesotho - it's slowly becoming a ceremonial monarchy! I invite you to compare the current monarch of Spain whatever his name to say Queen Isabella! one institution is a pale shadow of the other! eSwatini is still under Queen Isabella type rulership!

#14 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 1:24:46 PM

Ceremonial Kingdoms of Europe vs the absolute kingdoms like eSwatini! or Bhutan or Brunei!
Afadhali Lesotho - it's slowly becoming a ceremonial monarchy! I invite you to compare the current monarch of Spain whatever his name to say Queen Isabella! one institution is a pale shadow of the other! eSwatini is still under Queen Isabella type rulership!

That Kings and Queens rule through festivals is a matter for consideration when we talk about 'ceremonial'.

Mean while, the King of Spain doesn't compare so well with the King of England, or even Thailand.There seems to be some kind of continuum somehow...

It's another matter of course if we start talking about instances of 'good Kings' and 'bad' ones. In Africa, Mo Ibrahim has found no candidate good enough for a prize...
#15 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 2:11:05 PM

Kingdoms are the worst institutions ever!! if you only understood how difficult they made progress of these countries! They stood in the way! they were not the cause of the progress. including the English one! the number of revolutions and kicking out of monarchs that happened over time is astounding! they are very very bad ideas. Monarchs were basically warlords who managed to convince a bunch of smaller warlords to join their sided! Serfdom was the fate of people like you and I - not allowed to move.. 0 property rights. TERRIBLE IDEAS! The Ashanti and those Nigerian monarchs were bunch of slave traders who created empires around that and violence. BAD IDEAS!! The Europeans neutered their monarchies and this is the one step that made them be what they are! they didn't neuter them at once... it was pole pole! these f***ers could just tax people at will and owned everything. the rest of people were just squatters living on their land... the royalty had "God given rights" heck the English Monarch had "droit de seigneur" or "primae noctis" rights..basically RIGHTS TO SLEEP WITH YOUR NEWLY WED WIFE! Europe successed INSPITE of it's Mornach not because of it. Ask the Russians about the Tzars! Ethiopia about the Emperour. If it wasn't for the spanish crown - Spain would have advanced kabisa.
Monachies sometimes did get great Kings like Frederick the Great - and during their eras things worked! but if you ended up with dunderheads like the Ottoman King who banned printing and thus limited spread of knowledge within his kingdom and led to the utter decline of the once great Ottoman empire.

No wonder the virgins have to parade before Mswati each year so that he can pick his choice.

#16 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 3:09:59 PM

Watu hawapendi kunyang'anywa. It does not matter how useless a custom is people will be disgruntled and fight if it is taken away from them by force. That is why it is important for people to have their kingdoms. If there are changes let the changes come from within or change the behaviour of the people but do not dismantle the structures. On the top of my head I can think of 2 very wise decisions that were made in two different parts of the world with great results.

One is the decision of the Americans in Japan to preserve the Emperor and to retain the administrative structure that existed before the war. There were a lot of changes and the Emperor lost almost all of his power but he was not deposed and was in fact treated very well. Which means that even though he did not govern he did not tell the people to resist.

The other example much closer home is Museveni allowing the people of Uganda to have their Kings and Queens. There are so many Kings and princes in Uganda it is ridiculous. I however think this one decision has contributed greatly to the maintenance of peace and stability in Uganda during Museveni's time. He is the most successful Ugandan president ever.

marex
#17 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 3:43:31 PM

kawi254 wrote:

|The whole of Swaziland is in South Africa. Its like having Meru as a separate country but its within Kenya
The way I am
#18 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 4:27:33 PM

marex wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

|The whole of Swaziland is in South Africa. Its like having Meru as a separate country but its within Kenya

eSwatini is not in South Africa - it borders Mozambique. Lesotho is in South Africa but will never allow themselves to be swallowed - they sell water to SA have started discovering diamonds. Plus once countries separated and had different paths - you cannot re"merge" them.
#19 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 5:06:35 PM

kawi254 wrote:

Check out this:

If you think kenyans hate each other and that we have 'tribalism' wait until you get a Serb and an Albanian in the same room or a Russian and a Georgian uone moto! Switzerland is a viable county and it's rather small. Belgium has it's own issues between the Flemish and French. Spain and Catalonia? France and corsica?
by the way Europe is full of these

The problem with Swaziland is not that it's small... it's that it's a kingdom!

I remember talking to a mzungu in the US who had a professor at her university, a whole professor in a US university which means he is not an unenlightened guy.... anyway this guy I think was a Kurd, the ones who are in Iraq, Syria and Turkey. This naive American girl who was also relatively well read at some point mistakenly called the guy Turkish and she was telling me how she could not understand how the guy kasirikad. He was so enraged, it is like she had insulted him and he went on to give her a long lecture about her ignorance. The interesting thing is the guy spoke Turkish language but felt insulted to be called Turkish. Some of these hatreds are quite interesting, at least in Kenya even a Luo and Kikuyu look different physically and speak different languages; a Palestinian and Israeli on the other hand look exactly the same and speak the the same languages but cannot agree on anything.
#20 Posted : Friday, April 20, 2018 5:49:08 PM

marex wrote:
kawi254 wrote:

Does size matter? Singapore is 700km2 ie 35km long and 20 km wide.That's an area like from nrb cbd to juja then down to kamulu and back to cbd. Monaco is even worse coz its just 2km2, which is like moving from central police to machakos bus station then to parliament, Serena hotel and back to central police. But these two are still viable countries, in fact very rich first world countries with some of the highest GDP. Therefore size doesn't matter but what matters is what you do. Singapore is basically a port while Monaco is a tax/moneylaundering haven. Money talks.