Hon. Kenneth Stanley Njindo Matiba
#81 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 10:39:33 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Actually, other communities actively participated in one way or another... like the Nandi Resistance to British Rule, from 1890-1906.

@Alphdoti, that is not true. Other communities were not subjected to the brutality of the colonial rule as those in the Mountain region. That is a fact. Hence these communities had no option but to resist and fight back the colonial brutality. As early as 1880s Mekatilili wa Menza encountered the British and resisted their presence. Waiyaki wa Hinga did the same and so did Koitalel.

However, unlike in other areas where the British merely ""passed"their settlement in central Kenya made life really unbearable for the locals hence their resentment and raise of Mau Mau as a force to counter the brutal and dehumanizing rule.

Very true. Unlike in other areas of kenya where mzungu ruled by remote control, the mzungu displaced okuyos and took their land and forced them to work on the mzungu farms for slave wages. That is why they had to resist. Mluhyas, joluos, mkambas etc were never put in villages and never had their land taken or provide forced labour and that is why they belittle the mau mau struggle. Central (and parts of RV) was considered prime land for coffee (black gold) and tea. Laikipia was good for ranching. Mzungu feared malaria in nyanza and western. The other parts of the country were too arid.

The irony is, while Kikuyus moan loudest about loss of land, they're net land gainers from the order created by the British.

Even Nyandarua county was part of Maasailand before British colonization

True. Their territory nearly doubled. They gained Nyandarua, nakuru, laikipia etc. Okuyus should be grateful for colonization.

Hakuna land ya mtu... Land changes hands as time moves on based on many different factors !

What we are saying is that instead of okuyos complaining that they lost land due to mzungu, they should be grateful that they GAINED lots of land. Colonisation was good for their future well being.
#82 Posted : Tuesday, April 17, 2018 11:27:19 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Actually, other communities actively participated in one way or another... like the Nandi Resistance to British Rule, from 1890-1906.

@Alphdoti, that is not true. Other communities were not subjected to the brutality of the colonial rule as those in the Mountain region. That is a fact. Hence these communities had no option but to resist and fight back the colonial brutality. As early as 1880s Mekatilili wa Menza encountered the British and resisted their presence. Waiyaki wa Hinga did the same and so did Koitalel.

However, unlike in other areas where the British merely ""passed"their settlement in central Kenya made life really unbearable for the locals hence their resentment and raise of Mau Mau as a force to counter the brutal and dehumanizing rule.

Very true. Unlike in other areas of kenya where mzungu ruled by remote control, the mzungu displaced okuyos and took their land and forced them to work on the mzungu farms for slave wages. That is why they had to resist. Mluhyas, joluos, mkambas etc were never put in villages and never had their land taken or provide forced labour and that is why they belittle the mau mau struggle. Central (and parts of RV) was considered prime land for coffee (black gold) and tea. Laikipia was good for ranching. Mzungu feared malaria in nyanza and western. The other parts of the country were too arid.

The irony is, while Kikuyus moan loudest about loss of land, they're net land gainers from the order created by the British.

Even Nyandarua county was part of Maasailand before British colonization

True. Their territory nearly doubled. They gained Nyandarua, nakuru, laikipia etc. Okuyus should be grateful for colonization.

Hakuna land ya mtu... Land changes hands as time moves on based on many different factors !

What we are saying is that instead of okuyos complaining that they lost land due to mzungu, they should be grateful that they GAINED lots of land. Colonisation was good for their future well being.

I think the worst thing anybody can do to his children is to tell them that kuna watu wako na deni yao.

History is very complicated and very often misunderstood because most times when it is transmitted it is transmitted in summary form with a lot of context missing. Many things that happened very many years apart are talked about as if they happened at the same time or very close to each other. Independent actors through which a certain effect happened are thought to have acted together. Accidents and happenstances are always thought of as premeditated actions.

Africans were not writers, they were just guys of kupeana story and if the stories I have heard from my own relatives are anything to go by they mixed up everything so that even though I have heard a lot of words about many things I am convinced I am not any more informed about what really happened about things that I have been told about time without number.

If we had more people like Miguna in the past we would have had a much more reliable account of what happened in the past. Of all Kenyans I know, Miguna is the best at documenting what happens to him and around him.
radiomast
#83 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 2:02:39 AM

Mukoloni was bad, but not as bad as the leaders who inherited power from them. When mukoloni was in power, Kenya was not as unlivable, corrupt, tribally divided and morally bankrupt as it is now. Infrastructure was OK. nairobi and other towns were very livable. There was some ethnic tension but not as bad as now. Even hospitals worked, garbage was collected, roads were maintained and cities and towns were planned.

kenyatta gave his people a siege mentality: Whenever anyone questioned his misrule or his looting or land grabbing, he rallied his people against that person and convinced them that there very livelihood depended on keeping him in power no matter how lousy a president he was. The net result of this misrule was aptly described as a sheet-hole by trump.

Whatever problem we have in Kenya today can be traced to kenyatta whether its is corruption, poor infrastructure, tribal divisions, crime ........... Nahisi kwamba this is why the wakoloni called kenyatta "the leader unto death and destruction".

Then Kenyatta cursed Kenya further by appointing Baba Moi as the next president and killing the best leaders Kenya had like Pinto, Ngala, Mboya, JM, Karumba while demoting and humiliating good/unselfish leaders like Kaggia. And also jailing reformers like Muliro and Koigi

And Baba moi took what he learned from Kenyatta, refined said tactics and did the same things except worse. Moi in turn gave us Kibaki and Kenyatta II so that the wealth of Kenya's royal families can be kept intact. And next Is Gideon, also from one of the corrupt royal families. And Kenya is a royally screwed sheet-hole for another 10 years.
Mtafiti
#84 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 7:40:11 AM

Before the United States joined the world war II, where Britain was at risk of losing to Germany, President Woodrow Wilson made Wintson Churchhill to swear a secret Mt. Kenya oath administered by a Mt.Kenya elder, largely organised by Jomo Kenyatta, in the Presence of several global elders, that he will grant independence to ALL AFRICAN countries within 15 years from 1941, this is called the ATLANTIC CHARTER, this is the document that guaranteed our independence and not the other things you hear about, research it! It is the good side of America, that saved us, otherwise we would have been cleared aboriginal style, eveolution theory had prepared the ground, people now thought we were really monkeys, up to today, "monkeys argue" about how they got independence, it was granted by God.

Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) was president from 1913 to 1921. WWII was 1939-1945 affair, 15 yrs after Woodrow's death.....according to History.
#85 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 8:06:05 AM

radiomast wrote:
Mukoloni was bad, but not as bad as the leaders who inherited power from them. When mukoloni was in power, Kenya was not as unlivable, corrupt, tribally divided and morally bankrupt as it is now. Infrastructure was OK. nairobi and other towns were very livable. There was some ethnic tension but not as bad as now. Even hospitals worked, garbage was collected, roads were maintained and cities and towns were planned.

kenyatta gave his people a siege mentality: Whenever anyone questioned his misrule or his looting or land grabbing, he rallied his people against that person and convinced them that there very livelihood depended on keeping him in power no matter how lousy a president he was. The net result of this misrule was aptly described as a sheet-hole by trump.

Whatever problem we have in Kenya today can be traced to kenyatta whether its is corruption, poor infrastructure, tribal divisions, crime ........... Nahisi kwamba this is why the wakoloni called kenyatta "the leader unto death and destruction".

Then Kenyatta cursed Kenya further by appointing Baba Moi as the next president and killing the best leaders Kenya had like Pinto, Ngala, Mboya, JM, Karumba while demoting and humiliating good/unselfish leaders like Kaggia. And also jailing reformers like Muliro and Koigi

And Baba moi took what he learned from Kenyatta, refined said tactics and did the same things except worse. Moi in turn gave us Kibaki and Kenyatta II so that the wealth of Kenya's royal families can be kept intact. And next Is Gideon, also from one of the corrupt royal families. And Kenya is a royally screwed sheet-hole for another 10 years.

The first thing you need to understand is that Mzungu built just enough institutions for himself! I have been all over the world and it's exactly what he did. If he did not have long term plans - he just put up a railway to carry stuff out. Roads from the areas he thought were productive. He setup hospitals for himself! he had garbage collection for himself. He banned Africans from staying in certain areas of the city that had these activities. i.e. he brought his home here to the largest extent he could..but just enough for himself.

Yes, Kenyatta brought ethnic tensions between Native Africans just like many post independence leaders. The post colonial states in most of the planet was just a mirror of the colonial state. From Americas to the Pascific! By the way, the term "the leader to darkness, death and destruction" as used by Sir Patrick Renison was because of the fear the settlers had for Kenyatta! They saw themselves as Kenyans and he looked like the type of Julius Malema character that would deprive them of "their" land. That is why he wanted Oginga Odinga to be PM instead of Kenyatta. This fear is why some left after independence and sold their farms to the state. The Farms were sold out to Kenyans who would pay loans for them until the 80s. My grandfather was one of these persons who got land in rift valley
Here is an interesting piece by Sir Michael Blundell - A politician
https://www.nation.co.ke...60162-9smk8b/index.html

Another piece that talks about KLFA (Kenya Land & Freedom Army - Mau Mau) is the Patrick Gathaara piece.

ps... it's shit hole and not sheet holesmile Kenya is no more a shithole now than it was when mzungu left it.
wukan
#86 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 10:18:40 AM

The first thing you need to understand is that Mzungu built just enough institutions for himself! I have been all over the world and it's exactly what he did. If he did not have long term plans - he just put up a railway to carry stuff out. Roads from the areas he thought were productive. He setup hospitals for himself! he had garbage collection for himself. He banned Africans from staying in certain areas of the city that had these activities. i.e. he brought his home here to the largest extent he could..but just enough for himself.

Applause Applause Couldn't have put it better. The missionaries did a much better job of uplifting Africans than that shitty colonial state. That economic model is what we inherited and don't seem motivated to change it. You look to South Africa and see how owners of capital live in opulence without ever having to take any risk.

This fear is why some left after independence and sold their farms to the state. The Farms were sold out to Kenyans who would pay loans for them until the 80s. My grandfather was one of these persons who got land in rift valley

The pressure to resettle the landless after the mau mau uprising. Even if we got independence without the mau mau we would still have been third rate citizens providing labour in white farms and firms. As eloquently put by Malcolm X

Because what the Mau Mau did frightened the white man so much in other countries until he said, "Well I better get this thing straight before some of them pop up here." This is good to study because you see what makes him react: Nothing loving makes him react, nothing forgiving makes him react. The only time he reacts is when he knows you can hurt him, and when you let him know you can hurt him he has to think two or three times before he tries to hurt you. But if you're not going to do nothing but return that hurt with love -- why good night! He knows you're out of your mind.

Kenya is no more a shithole now than it was when mzungu left it.
Well it may be but cleaning up a shithole is very easy. One thing I've realized in real estate is that you can always apply capital and labour and turn any land into a beauty. Kenya is one beautiful prime piece of real estate, we just need to work out our economic systems ditch that silly imperialist mzungu class system and build our own. Wakanda forever

You can read rest of Malcolm X speech https://speakola.com/ide...-after-the-bombing-1965
#87 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 10:22:36 AM

radiomast wrote:

Yes, Kenyatta brought ethnic tensions between Native Africans just like many post independence leaders. The post colonial states in most of the planet was just a mirror of the colonial state. From Americas to the Pascific! By the way, the term "the leader to darkness, death and destruction" as used by Sir Patrick Renison was because of the fear the settlers had for Kenyatta! They saw themselves as Kenyans and he looked like the type of Julius Malema character that would deprive them of "their" land. That is why he wanted Oginga Odinga to be PM instead of Kenyatta. This fear is why some left after independence and sold their farms to the state. The Farms were sold out to Kenyans who would pay loans for them until the 80s. My grandfather was one of these persons who got land in rift valley
Here is an interesting piece by Sir Michael Blundell - A politician
https://www.nation.co.ke...60162-9smk8b/index.html

Another piece that talks about KLFA (Kenya Land & Freedom Army - Mau Mau) is the Patrick Gathaara piece.

ps... it's shit hole and not sheet holesmile Kenya is no more a shithole now than it was when mzungu left it.

Tunagawana when? My grandfather was busy eating fish
#88 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 10:51:33 AM

Mtafiti wrote:
Before the United States joined the world war II, where Britain was at risk of losing to Germany, President Woodrow Wilson made Wintson Churchhill to swear a secret Mt. Kenya oath administered by a Mt.Kenya elder, largely organised by Jomo Kenyatta, in the Presence of several global elders, that he will grant independence to ALL AFRICAN countries within 15 years from 1941, this is called the ATLANTIC CHARTER, this is the document that guaranteed our independence and not the other things you hear about, research it! It is the good side of America, that saved us, otherwise we would have been cleared aboriginal style, eveolution theory had prepared the ground, people now thought we were really monkeys, up to today, "monkeys argue" about how they got independence, it was granted by God.

Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) was president from 1913 to 1921. WWII was 1939-1945 affair, 15 yrs after Woodrow's death.....according to History.

Correction, F D Roosevelt was the fellow, was mixing them up, thanks for that!
A New Kenya
#89 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 10:56:33 AM

Mtafiti wrote:

Wazungu were in Kenya and Rhodesia to stay. Were it not for WW2 they would still be here.
#90 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 11:12:42 AM

Mtafiti wrote:

Wazungu were in Kenya and Rhodesia to stay. Were it not for WW2 they would still be here.

They are still here. But they are hiding in plain sight.

PORK is currently leading a delegation to their Annual General Meeting.
sitaki.kujulikana
#91 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 11:31:39 AM

A muzungu came from britain and turned the areas where they settled into first world status, as you have put it brought their homes with them.
we have been unable to simply replicate what the muzungu did some 100 years ago, to the rest of the country.

yaani tumeshindwa, just laying water pipes, paving roads, building classrooms, planning our villages, basic things that do not need any specialized training or exposure. hapa ni kuiba tuplots na ku-overlap kwa barabara, we have no regard for each other.
#92 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 12:05:12 PM

aemathenge wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

They are still here. But they are hiding in plain sight.

PORK is currently leading a delegation to their Annual General Meeting.

DITTO. Applause Applause Applause
#93 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 2:01:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

A muzungu came from britain and turned the areas where they settled into first world status, as you have put it brought their homes with them.
we have been unable to simply replicate what the muzungu did some 100 years ago, to the rest of the country.

yaani tumeshindwa, just laying water pipes, paving roads, building classrooms, planning our villages, basic things that do not need any specialized training or exposure. hapa ni kuiba tuplots na ku-overlap kwa barabara, we have no regard for each other.

Apparently... it's JUST [INSERT TASK HERE]! oh yeah... it's simply that! simple tasks of laying water pipes... simple tasks of roads e.t.c. you are so naive! if you only understood how long - the mzungu case took to get to "just laying water pipes" and what sacrifices it took! Wewe baki hapo answering yourself with simple narratives instead of researching WHY WE ENDED UP AS WE DID! ati replicate...Laughing out loudly please!! go do your research I highly recommend that you read the book WHY NATIONS FAIL- THE ORIGINS OF POWER, PROSPERITY, AND POVERTY so that you can adequately address the problem.
sitaki.kujulikana
#94 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 3:16:11 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Apparently... it's JUST [INSERT TASK HERE]! oh yeah... it's simply that! simple tasks of laying water pipes... simple tasks of roads e.t.c. you are so naive! if you only understood how long - the mzungu case took to get to "just laying water pipes" and what sacrifices it took! Wewe baki hapo answering yourself with simple narratives instead of researching WHY WE ENDED UP AS WE DID! ati replicate...Laughing out loudly please!! go do your research I highly recommend that you read the book WHY NATIONS FAIL- THE ORIGINS OF POWER, PROSPERITY, AND POVERTY so that you can adequately address the problem.

sawa endelea tu kusoma vitabu za wazungu smile
limanika
#95 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 3:29:34 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Atlantic charter was Britain's mischievious way of seeking Americas help when the Nazis came calling. At this time, they were wrecking havoc all over Europe overrunning countries, with their allies (e.g Japan) doing the same in asia. Whereas the new world order after WWII automatically rendered colonialism untenable, there are many factors ( no less than half a dozen) that directly contributed to end of colonialism. And the rise of African nationalism including efforts by mau mau was one such factor
#96 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 3:47:34 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Ziko wapi vitabu za waafrika nisome? ama I should just settle for simple narratives from people who call this guy

a major prophet?
radiomast
#97 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 4:59:36 PM

Hapa umenoa. Muzungu built a lot of facilities for Africans.
Housing estates like makongeni and kaloleni were built by muzungu because they realized that workers are productive when they live in comfortable housing.

hospitals were built for Africans. I doubt sick muzungus when to King George hospital (now known as Kenyatta hosp)

Most stadiums and football grounds were built by Muzungu for Africans even though they did not use them. They wanted to keep Africans busy with positive things and away from crime

Roads and railways: Yes Muzungu built them to exploit the country's resources but they did it for the greater good because they realized that good infrastructure creates a trickle down effect that reaches the poorest. Africans benefited by getting employed by Kenya Railways and other institutions created by Muzungu.

Muzungu may have exploited land but did it in such a way that it benefited the country as a whole.
Mwafrika on the other hand wants to exploit and steal resources in such a way that it benefits only him. When Kenyatta stole beachfront plots and huge swathes of land, it never benefited anyone but his family.

Yes, Kenyatta brought ethnic tensions between Native Africans just like many post independence leaders. The post colonial states in most of the planet was just a mirror of the colonial state.

What Kenyatta did and the other presidents did to Kenya is much worse than anything mukoloni did

By the way, the term "the leader to darkness, death and destruction" as used by Sir Patrick Renison was because of the fear the settlers had for Kenyatta!

In hindsight Rennison was right because Kenyatta caused far more death and destruction to Africans than he would have caused to Muzungu. In fact Kenyatta treated muzungu very kindly compared to how he treated Kenyans.

Kenya was not a sheet-hole when muzungu left. The country was functioning properly. Cities were planned and clean, garbage was collected, roads were sufficient, housing was decent, Kenyans got along well, corruption was minimal, crime was low, unemployment was low, land was grabbed for farming not for speculation.

#98 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 6:42:45 PM

radiomast wrote:

Hapa umenoa. Muzungu built a lot of facilities for Africans.
Housing estates like makongeni and kaloleni were built by muzungu because they realized that workers are productive when they live in comfortable housing.

hospitals were built for Africans. I doubt sick muzungus when to King George hospital (now known as Kenyatta hosp)

Most stadiums and football grounds were built by Muzungu for Africans even though they did not use them. They wanted to keep Africans busy with positive things and away from crime

Roads and railways: Yes Muzungu built them to exploit the country's resources but they did it for the greater good because they realized that good infrastructure creates a trickle down effect that reaches the poorest. Africans benefited by getting employed by Kenya Railways and other institutions created by Muzungu.

Muzungu may have exploited land but did it in such a way that it benefited the country as a whole.
Mwafrika on the other hand wants to exploit and steal resources in such a way that it benefits only him. When Kenyatta stole beachfront plots and huge swathes of land, it never benefited anyone but his family.

Yes, Kenyatta brought ethnic tensions between Native Africans just like many post independence leaders. The post colonial states in most of the planet was just a mirror of the colonial state.

What Kenyatta did and the other presidents did to Kenya is much worse than anything mukoloni did

By the way, the term "the leader to darkness, death and destruction" as used by Sir Patrick Renison was because of the fear the settlers had for Kenyatta!

In hindsight Rennison was right because Kenyatta caused far more death and destruction to Africans than he would have caused to Muzungu. In fact Kenyatta treated muzungu very kindly compared to how he treated Kenyans.

Kenya was not a sheet-hole when muzungu left. The country was functioning properly. Cities were planned and clean, garbage was collected, roads were sufficient, housing was decent, Kenyans got along well, corruption was minimal, crime was low, unemployment was low, land was grabbed for farming not for speculation.

Wapi...?

these houses were built for people to work in town not live in town... Kenya was not "functioning properly" it was functioning properly for the Mzungu!! Kenyans got along well since they had a bigger enemy - mzungu. crime was low because most people were in mashambani, unemployment was low in the city for the same reason. People mashambani lived in houses like these

was this "decent"? while they lived in houses like please!!

You needed a movement permit!!
Nairobi haikuwa yenu!
Kenya was a shithole country back then!! 7 million africans really depraved - afadhali sasa!

Surprisingly... Kenya did fairly better than most african countries and Caribbean countries in the same lot... I WONDER WHY?...
sitaki.kujulikana
#99 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 6:57:06 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Ziko wapi vitabu za waafrika nisome? ama I should just settle for simple narratives from people who call this guy

a major prophet?

thats why I mentioned wazungu books, if we cant replicate what they did wacha tusome vitabu zao, the simple narrative is naivety. Wacha nitafute that 'WHY NATIONS FAIL' nione hiyo narative iko aje, I might be yapping stuff that just exposes my ignorance. smile
#100 Posted : Wednesday, April 18, 2018 7:05:58 PM

Kenya was a shithole country back then!! 7 million africans really depraved - afadhali sasa!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly weka infant mortality and compare 1960 with today

Or education levels