#21 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 6:05:17 PM

kayhara wrote:
Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research?
Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing?
with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published?
Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya.
Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program.

Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel.

Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya?

Do we even make a bicycle? d'oh! d'oh!

Science has nothing to do with inventions... that's manifestation and use of science! someone uses existing discovered concepts and makes a business out of it! there are no scientists making bicycles or radios or even cars - those are businessmen! Can we build a bike? yes... but as with the ugali maker discussion we talked about along time ago - nani ananunua?

Those businessmen making cars employ scientist using a science called Physics. Tuwache uwongo we have copycats here in this country with a mass of them located in Gikomba making wheelbarrows sufuria etc. What we are missing is originators of ideas, the few who come up are fast and easily cheated by the educated lot with blockbuster lies such as "Nani atanunua" "it cant work" "Not in Kenya.

You know even Elon Musk was told that by the "educated lot" Neil Armstrong, Eugene Cernan, and Neil DeGrasse Tyson gave presentations discrediting Spacex...today, the guy born in South Shithole has built a rocket that can carry twice the payload of the next existing rocket. Good thing he never listened to the "educated lot".

wewe... what scientist will you need to do a bike? if you are pushing the envelope - yes... if you are knocking off a bike... no! I say more power to copycats! Why do we need new originators of ideas? if we haven't implemented stuff that has been around for years and we lack it? ama unataka we just 'me too'? Look at the list of the top 10 economies in the world per capita and tell me what original idea has come from them? they do normal shit... financial services, build cars e.t.c. tell me please what has Australia or New Zealand given to the world? Countries that are less than 150 years old?

We need copy cats... Shameless copy cats... Wazungus demean copying by other races but implement it within themselves.... I say there is no point in inventing and you can copy.. after copying and making a business out of it - see if you can push the envelope with the money you have. China style... creating a something new and untested in this market is a fool's errand! unless it's software which has low costs (distribution wise).

Who demonized copying? No body... even those copying are applying laws of science you cannot run from that fact. Copy as much as you like it is well known that those who copy dismantle the original to learn the science. But apart from that those who do better are those who add a twist to it - aesthetics including science. Yes we lack originators, and we also lack copycats who make the copied item better/cheaper than the original.

Nyayo did a good job in copying the nyayo car - unfortunately the science used did not make the venture viable. All we can do is ask questions such as "What if more research was done into making cheaper alloys, would we be driving the Nyayo car today?" When Mahindra sold its their car to Kenya Police - we all laughed at the joke on how that car cannot even chase a goat let alone a thief - (Kibaki) Good thing mahindra did not stop doing it (researching and incorporating science) they now have an electric car in production.

So yes we can copy, but copying without improving (incorporating science) is unsustainable.
#22 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 6:44:41 PM

kayhara wrote:
Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research?
Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing?
with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published?
Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya.
Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program.

Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel.

Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya?

Science has nothing to do with inventions... that's manifestation and use of science! someone uses existing discovered concepts and makes a business out of it! there are no scientists making bicycles or radios or even cars - those are businessmen! Can we build a bike? yes... but as with the ugali maker discussion we talked about along time ago - nani ananunua?

Those businessmen making cars employ scientist using a science called Physics. Tuwache uwongo we have copycats here in this country with a mass of them located in Gikomba making wheelbarrows sufuria etc. What we are missing is originators of ideas, the few who come up are fast and easily cheated by the educated lot with blockbuster lies such as "Nani atanunua" "it cant work" "Not in Kenya.

You know even Elon Musk was told that by the "educated lot" Neil Armstrong, Eugene Cernan, and Neil DeGrasse Tyson gave presentations discrediting Spacex...today, the guy born in South Shithole has built a rocket that can carry twice the payload of the next existing rocket. Good thing he never listened to the "educated lot".

wewe... what scientist will you need to do a bike? if you are pushing the envelope - yes... if you are knocking off a bike... no! I say more power to copycats! Why do we need new originators of ideas? if we haven't implemented stuff that has been around for years and we lack it? ama unataka we just 'me too'? Look at the list of the top 10 economies in the world per capita and tell me what original idea has come from them? they do normal shit... financial services, build cars e.t.c. tell me please what has Australia or New Zealand given to the world? Countries that are less than 150 years old?

We need copy cats... Shameless copy cats... Wazungus demean copying by other races but implement it within themselves.... I say there is no point in inventing and you can copy.. after copying and making a business out of it - see if you can push the envelope with the money you have. China style... creating a something new and untested in this market is a fool's errand! unless it's software which has low costs (distribution wise).

Who demonized copying? No body... even those copying are applying laws of science you cannot run from that fact. Copy as much as you like it is well known that those who copy dismantle the original to learn the science. But apart from that those who do better are those who add a twist to it - aesthetics including science. Yes we lack originators, and we also lack copycats who make the copied item better/cheaper than the original.

Nyayo did a good job in copying the nyayo car - unfortunately the science used did not make the venture viable. All we can do is ask questions such as "What if more research was done into making cheaper alloys, would we be driving the Nyayo car today?" When Mahindra sold its their car to Kenya Police - we all laughed at the joke on how that car cannot even chase a goat let alone a thief - (Kibaki) Good thing mahindra did not stop doing it (researching and incorporating science) they now have an electric car in production.

So yes we can copy, but copying without improving (incorporating science) is unsustainable.

it's the economics not the science... how do you source cheaper and sturdier materials? it's not about the science it's the economics of a venture! Mahindra did not sell it's first car to Kenya... or even the Tata cars or the Swaraj we love demeaning... they consumed their own products first.. the nice thing about a mhindi venture is that it has to make cents... not just pride for the sake of pride. figure out the economics behind a tried and tested venture and you make it! we love the glamour and don't want to do the hard work of making the cents work... we think putting together something (technology) will ensure it's success - NO! Economics! PESA! PESA! PESA! build cheap... that's not new science... rip off a Tata and see if you can clone it! We have people who understand how a car works (the science) - but get the economics of that venture to work is the hard thing. Utakuta Wakenya huko nje being cogs in the wheels that run these ventures but they cannot do it here -why? THE ECONOMICS! so my friend... go buy a bike... and clone it... no new science there... shikanisha tena and see if you can have the price of your contraption meet that of the source bike you got... if you can... you are well on your way to making money before that... you are like the Ugandans or Zim guys with their Electric cars.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 6:56:15 PM

kayhara wrote:

it's the economics not the science... how do you source cheaper and sturdier materials? it's not about the science it's the economics of a venture! Mahindra did not sell it's first car to Kenya... or even the Tata cars or the Swaraj we love demeaning... they consumed their own products first.. the nice thing about a mhindi venture is that it has to make cents... not just pride for the sake of pride. figure out the economics behind a tried and tested venture and you make it! we love the glamour and don't want to do the hard work of making the cents work... we think putting together something (technology) will ensure it's success - NO! Economics! PESA! PESA! PESA! build cheap... that's not new science... rip off a Tata and see if you can clone it! We have people who understand how a car works (the science) - but get the economics of that venture to work is the hard thing. Utakuta Wakenya huko nje being cogs in the wheels that run these ventures but they cannot do it here -why? THE ECONOMICS! so my friend... go buy a bike... and clone it... no new science there... shikanisha tena and see if you can have the price of your contraption meet that of the source bike you got... if you can... you are well on your way to making money before that... you are like the Ugandans or Zim guys with their Electric cars.

Stop running away from facts, economics is also a science.

It is not ecomomically viable to create a car using steel anymore, but science made economically viable to make a car using aluminium and other combination of metals.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 7:28:18 PM

kayhara wrote:

It is not ecomomically viable to create a car using steel anymore, but science made economically viable to make a car using aluminium and other combination of metals.

Nothing wrong with copying. Why reinvent the wheel, just make the damn wheel better. The Japanese copied the american ford to make saloons and copied the jeep to make land cruiser 4wds. Right now the copier is the best selling manufacturer world known for reliability while the originator is struggling with quality issues and debts. The korean Samsung also copied the american iphone and is now world biggest seller. Kenyans should also copy something to put their footprint on the world map.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 8:01:53 PM

yes... you know it... I know it... it's not in the realm of new information. Figure out where aluminum comes from... establish a relationship... get casts or whatever is needed to mould them... figure all that out (the supply chain) and make sure Costs of everything being spent on that car/bike is less than the price of the car/bike.

Getting a design or a step by step guide is trivial these days
here is a way to do a bike from 0 ...Saaah!! (that command we used to tell a dog to attack someone)
#26 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 8:25:48 PM

kayhara wrote:

Nothing wrong with copying. Why reinvent the wheel, just make the damn wheel better. The Japanese copied the american ford to make saloons and copied the jeep to make land cruiser 4wds. Right now the copier is the best selling manufacturer world known for reliability while the originator is struggling with quality issues and debts. The korean Samsung also copied the american iphone and is now world biggest seller. Kenyans should also copy something to put their footprint on the world map.

Shida ya kuingilia ugali kati.

No one is disputing copying....copy as much but as you are copying improve on the processes materials etc...thats where we lack and thats where science comes in. The Japanese copied the Americans in making TVs, drove the costs down(economics) by getting cheaper materials, the Koreans jumped into the band wagon and changed the design as well as the technology(all science) right now the top 2 tvs in the world are LG(OLED tech) and Samsungs(QLED). Did anyone ask the Koreans why they are re-creating the TV yet the americans originated with the first and Japanese made it their version cheaper?

Business plays a part but its not everything that's why JP Morgan had to stop the fight between Edison and Tesla.

yes... you know it... I know it... it's not in the realm of new information. Figure out where aluminum comes from... establish a relationship... get casts or whatever is needed to mould them... figure all that out (the supply chain) and make sure Costs of everything being spent on that car/bike is less than the price of the car/bike.

Getting a design or a step by step guide is trivial these days
here is a way to do a bike from 0 ...Saaah!! (that command we used to tell a dog to attack someone)

And that my friend is the science behind making a bike
#27 Posted : Wednesday, March 14, 2018 8:39:14 PM

The primary objective of science is understanding what being human is. Bikes come much later.

And we also need to get our definitions right. Science is a knowledge management system that tries to reach the objective above efficiently, effectively and with more or less, secure knowledge transfer mechanisms.

If science is a tool humans use in order to live well, then the domains, and economics that go with these domains are extremely flexible.

Now, science is built with mathematics. So we have no excuse. For the hungry to eat, we need to do some mathematics. And lots of theoretical physics.

Right now, even something 'as mysterious as psychiatry' is going the theoretical physics way. Even sociology will be about physics soon. Even theology is mathematical-physics.

So, it's just for us to shape up and start working, for those who haven't.
#28 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2018 10:23:24 PM

kayhara wrote:

the Juja boy has been working on cars from 2003
#29 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2018 11:16:23 PM

kayhara wrote:

Whah Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#30 Posted : Monday, April 02, 2018 11:41:33 PM

[quote=Much Know][quote=kayhara]

This should receive the best reply for 2018 . I think if all our brains that are lost in the diaspora were to come back Kenya will become another Wakanda
#31 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2018 12:52:20 AM

mpobiz wrote:
[quote=Much Know][quote=kayhara]

This should receive the best reply for 2018 . I think if all our brains that are lost in the diaspora were to come back Kenya will become another Wakanda

I humbly disagree. If all the best brains came back from diaspora they would just make more noise like Miguna. What is missing in Kenya is not brains but an environment where most people can do well and unfortunately this takes time because it requires change in a critical mass of people. Many times I feel that Western countries are not really a good example for country like Kenya to learn from because they are so developed to a point where we do not see the building blocks of that development so we do not know what we need to learn to solve some of our problems. I think we would learn a lot from countries that are still developing but that are slightly ahead of us because the lessons of what needs to be done are evident. I am thinking of countries like Vietnam, Mexico, Colombia and even much closer home Rwanda.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2018 6:56:04 AM

kayhara wrote:

Was this Juja boy educated at THE? I mean did he sit with other Kenyana students learning from some grey haired individual at that university known as The?

Most Kenyan achievers i have come across are foreign educated, or went to the various private unis around hii ingine ya mass production ilikuwa system ya ku copy tu, few come out to achieve greatness.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, April 03, 2018 7:45:15 AM

kayhara wrote:

Was this Juja boy educated at THE? I mean did he sit with other Kenyana students learning from some grey haired individual at that university known as The?

Most Kenyan achievers i have come across are foreign educated, or went to the various private unis around hii ingine ya mass production ilikuwa system ya ku copy tu, few come out to achieve greatness.

I agree - there is an aspect of Kenya's tertiary education that is broken - heck all employers (especially in my field) need to get a self trained or train the person they get. But perhaps we should evaluate what we expect from school... school should teach you how to thing as opposed of "what to do". Yes... based on what I can see from the linkedin profile -he is my contemporary -went to Strath cleared in 1997. Lost that 1 year before campo.. Went to JKUAT (Juja) and figured out a way to bail to Tennessee