Governor Miguna Miguna
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
We either have a constitutional order or we don't... we have 3 arms of government 1) Parliament to write laws 2) Judges TO INTERPRET LAWS 3) The executive to EXECUTE the laws as it interprets and if brought to it's attention as the JUDGES interpret them. I wrote this sometime back masukuma wrote:Judges are not always right... but Judges are Judges! Judges are like bosses and customers... not always right but they are to be listened to! I was impressed when Uhuru submitted himself to an order by the judiciary and came out on top... I knew that we were on the road to a better country after that debacle. But what is astounding now is that if he agreed to accept a ruling on something that major and consequential and quite testing as that... WHY ARGUE WITH JUDGES ON INCONSEQUENTIAL MATTERS SUCH AS MIGUNA? Surely... Anyway.. So either follow that or... we have Judge Dredd running around... it's our choice. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Those state agents who drugged Miguna did a shoddy job. They should be dismissed for negligence. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
kaka2za wrote:Those state agents who drugged Miguna did a shoddy job. They should be dismissed for negligence.
Miguna Miguna is not the most likable person. Not that he's bad looking, the fast receding hairline aside, but his bully tactics and sense of entitlement can't earn anyone wide admiration. But, don't we all and everything on this planet have our dark and light sides? Miguna has refused to surrender his PP to facilitate his entrance back home and wrongly argues that being Kenyan born, all he needs is the National ID. But don't be fooled that this is the reason he's being harassed. No.His biggest undoing is the oathing and failure to recognise the "handshake" as a sign to ceasefire. The PP saga is a mere sideshow. Yet here is a country so ravaged by a legion of more serious and life threatening matters thanks to opportunism and self aggrandisement being the byword for progress. Indeed we live in a country full of contradictions. The MP who last evening tweeted about Miguna's arrival in Dubai is a known warmonger.... but is a free man. We elect thieves, murderers, rapists and drug peddlers and pay them to steal from us but can't offer sympathy to a son of a peasant farmer who has never been accused of stealing or even hurting a fly. Miguna maybe wrong but he has not only stood up for his beliefs but is willing to pay the ultimate prize as well. This in spite of wide unfavourable public sentiments and official harassment. As we usher in the Holy Week me might want to ponder this: can you take a firm stand on something and defend it with such passion and energy. Most of us prefer the usual course of least resistance so as to get on with life. Well, I have a surprise for you; it's Miguna's of this world who shape the course of history.
Ngalaka wrote:I am afraid judge Odunga has overreached himself on this one. Judicial officers are supposed to exercise judicial restraint.
What he has done appears to me to be judicial recklessness.
Such an officer portends risk to societal order.
As such his continued holding of office of judge might be untenable.
The next thing he might do is 'jail' Ruto arbitrarily!
Then the fires begin in Eld, going down to the lake.
That way, the greater good for Kenya is not served. @Ngalaka, that thing you are calling "greater good" is the tiny mouse in the room that many are refusing to see. It is for the "greater good" that President Uhuru Kenyatta refused to charge baba for treason after swearing himself president.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/19/2015 Posts: 2,871 Location: hapo
Jump-steady wrote:Ngalaka wrote:I am afraid judge Odunga has overreached himself on this one. Judicial officers are supposed to exercise judicial restraint.
That way, the greater good for Kenya is not served. @Ngalaka, that thing you are calling "greater good" is the tiny mouse in the room that many are refusing to see. It is for the "greater good" that President Uhuru Kenyatta refused to charge baba for treason after swearing himself president. I am very sorry to disappoint the greater good people. All of a sudden you have become Christian saved people. Since Jesus knew the future meaning that he would foresee Adolf Hitler, the greater good would have been to just come back when he did once and for all. You are trying to say here that Matiangi is God. He is the one who knows what is good for all of us Kenyans. Jubilee is God, they know what is good for us Kenyans. When they talked to God yesterday, God told them that drugging and refusing to follow a court order is what shall make us all go to heaven. Moi used to use those same same words and principals. I am only doing this because mwafrika hajui. No no no. That is the epitome of impunity and to be honest grandiosity. Everyone is subject to the laws of Kenya. There is nothing like "the greater good" because you are not God today neither shall you be God tomorrow. Kenya is the only country. The only country in the commonwealth that the gov't has refused to follow a court order. Please google. It is unhead of. We are now officially a banana republic. but according to you, we are now a banana republic for the greater good. How quiant. You can't make up being a sycophant. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
alma1 wrote:Jump-steady wrote:Ngalaka wrote:I am afraid judge Odunga has overreached himself on this one. Judicial officers are supposed to exercise judicial restraint.
That way, the greater good for Kenya is not served. @Ngalaka, that thing you are calling "greater good" is the tiny mouse in the room that many are refusing to see. It is for the "greater good" that President Uhuru Kenyatta refused to charge baba for treason after swearing himself president. I am very sorry to disappoint the greater good people. All of a sudden you have become Christian saved people. Since Jesus knew the future meaning that he would foresee Adolf Hitler, the greater good would have been to just come back when he did once and for all. You are trying to say here that Matiangi is God. He is the one who knows what is good for all of us Kenyans. Jubilee is God, they know what is good for us Kenyans. When they talked to God yesterday, God told them that drugging and refusing to follow a court order is what shall make us all go to heaven. Moi used to use those same same words and principals. I am only doing this because mwafrika hajui. No no no. That is the epitome of impunity and to be honest grandiosity. Everyone is subject to the laws of Kenya. There is nothing like "the greater good" because you are not God today neither shall you be God tomorrow. Kenya is the only country. The only country in the commonwealth that the gov't has refused to follow a court order. Please google. It is unhead of. We are now officially a banana republic. but according to you, we are now a banana republic for the greater good. How quiant. You can't make up being a sycophant. Being a sycophant can also be for the greater good
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote:We either have a constitutional order or we don't... we have 3 arms of government 1) Parliament to write laws 2) Judges TO INTERPRET LAWS 3) The executive to EXECUTE the laws as it interprets and if brought to it's attention as the JUDGES interpret them. I wrote this sometime back masukuma wrote:Judges are not always right... but Judges are Judges! Judges are like bosses and customers... not always right but they are to be listened to! I was impressed when Uhuru submitted himself to an order by the judiciary and came out on top... I knew that we were on the road to a better country after that debacle. But what is astounding now is that if he agreed to accept a ruling on something that major and consequential and quite testing as that... WHY ARGUE WITH JUDGES ON INCONSEQUENTIAL MATTERS SUCH AS MIGUNA? Surely... Anyway.. So either follow that or... we have Judge Dredd running around... it's our choice. This case doesn't show that Kenya isn't a country of laws. Not when the executive can plead necessity. So please leta ule Jamaa wetu tupate comic relief.
Jump-steady wrote:alma1 wrote:Jump-steady wrote:Ngalaka wrote:I am afraid judge Odunga has overreached himself on this one. Judicial officers are supposed to exercise judicial restraint.
That way, the greater good for Kenya is not served. @Ngalaka, that thing you are calling "greater good" is the tiny mouse in the room that many are refusing to see. It is for the "greater good" that President Uhuru Kenyatta refused to charge baba for treason after swearing himself president. I am very sorry to disappoint the greater good people. All of a sudden you have become Christian saved people. Since Jesus knew the future meaning that he would foresee Adolf Hitler, the greater good would have been to just come back when he did once and for all. You are trying to say here that Matiangi is God. He is the one who knows what is good for all of us Kenyans. Jubilee is God, they know what is good for us Kenyans. When they talked to God yesterday, God told them that drugging and refusing to follow a court order is what shall make us all go to heaven. Moi used to use those same same words and principals. I am only doing this because mwafrika hajui. No no no. That is the epitome of impunity and to be honest grandiosity. Everyone is subject to the laws of Kenya. There is nothing like "the greater good" because you are not God today neither shall you be God tomorrow. Kenya is the only country. The only country in the commonwealth that the gov't has refused to follow a court order. Please google. It is unhead of. We are now officially a banana republic. but according to you, we are now a banana republic for the greater good. How quiant. You can't make up being a sycophant. Being a sycophant can also be for the greater good  ok sawa. I accept and move on... Wacha nikafanye kazi for the greater good. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
I have a feeling that one day Miguna will be in goverment. He has passed the kichwa ngumu test which is a requirement in Kenya. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
I believe @Ngalaka is correct in his observation.
Our systems aren't as neatly packaged as we expect, and each arm of government must ensure it works as it should, while facing the constraints of the other arms.
In this case the greater good is the prevention of loss of power and dignity by the judiciary.
The greater good would be for someone like Miguna to be honest and dignified. Even before the G.S.U were called I was wondering what was happening with our leadership if the red berets were not there already. Not that I support use of unreasonable force.
And you know even this Miguna is just another Wanjiku traitor who shouldn't steal the show. People lose limbs in Kenya and crawl through litigation without a ruckus.
Kwani what is Miguna doing for Kenya that court orders are so swift, the judiciary appears to so clean?
Noise making about only a resistance idea that is so alienating? If it's a matter of law then he should know better.
essyk wrote:I have a feeling that one day Miguna will be in goverment. He has passed the kichwa ngumu test which is a requirement in Kenya.
There maybe few studies on the Kenyan elite, but I can bet on the requirement being from the right family, tribe, and seeking the correct position. Only that.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:We either have a constitutional order or we don't... we have 3 arms of government 1) Parliament to write laws 2) Judges TO INTERPRET LAWS 3) The executive to EXECUTE the laws as it interprets and if brought to it's attention as the JUDGES interpret them. I wrote this sometime back masukuma wrote:Judges are not always right... but Judges are Judges! Judges are like bosses and customers... not always right but they are to be listened to! I was impressed when Uhuru submitted himself to an order by the judiciary and came out on top... I knew that we were on the road to a better country after that debacle. But what is astounding now is that if he agreed to accept a ruling on something that major and consequential and quite testing as that... WHY ARGUE WITH JUDGES ON INCONSEQUENTIAL MATTERS SUCH AS MIGUNA? Surely... Anyway.. So either follow that or... we have Judge Dredd running around... it's our choice. This case doesn't show that Kenya isn't a country of laws. Not when the executive can plead necessity. So please leta ule Jamaa wetu tupate comic relief. nani... huyu?  All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
Jump-steady wrote:kaka2za wrote:Those state agents who drugged Miguna did a shoddy job. They should be dismissed for negligence.  Was he supposed to regain consciousness while flying over the atlantic ocean ama what are you saying.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,038 Location: GA
essyk wrote:I have a feeling that one day Miguna will be in goverment. He has passed the kichwa ngumu test which is a requirement in Kenya.
Maybe elected but being appointed by serikali any serikali NEVER
Mr. Mutinda the guy who is supposed to be representing the gov't is now tetearing himself akiwa upande huu ama upande ule. Why? Because he knows that after all this nonsense is done with, if the judge jails him, he has no career as an advocate. Huyu Miguna ataenda Canada na very many people's careers. Sad. Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Miguna is still resisting in Dubai. He insists he will only fly to Kenya and not to Toronto. His admission to a Dubai hospital was facilitated by the Canadian consulate. So we can assume he is Canadian hands. I think I can guess what might be troubling Miguna.
Wazungu countries do not do anything for free. The Canadians will take care of him. If he wants to see a doctor and stay in a 5 star Dubai hospital for one month they will take care of all that then they will make sure he gets home safe and sound. One week later Miguna will get a letter in the mail with a bill for all the expenses incurred on his behalf from the moment the consulate took up his case. In those countries you cannot resist a bill.......
Ngalaka wrote:As for Miguna, the guy has boxed himself into a corner.
Going forward flying isn't going to be as easily accessible. Canada (though eventually are likey to indulge him), might want to know what happened to his unexpired passport before they issue him another one. Exactly and even if the person holding in in Kenya sends it to him, he will have alot of explaining to do as to why it was not stamped as he entered Dubai, and proceeded to Canada. He might just end up showing up at the Kenyan embassy to fill in the forms he refused to fill. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
alma1 wrote:Mr. Mutinda the guy who is supposed to be representing the gov't is now tetearing himself akiwa upande huu ama upande ule.
Why? Because he knows that after all this nonsense is done with, if the judge jails him, he has no career as an advocate.
Huyu Miguna ataenda Canada na very many people's careers.
Sad. Punguza ushamba where in this world are lawyers jailed for representing clients? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:alma1 wrote:Mr. Mutinda the guy who is supposed to be representing the gov't is now tetearing himself akiwa upande huu ama upande ule.
Why? Because he knows that after all this nonsense is done with, if the judge jails him, he has no career as an advocate.
Huyu Miguna ataenda Canada na very many people's careers.
Sad. Punguza ushamba where in this world are lawyers jailed for representing clients? Enyewe you are a funny guy. Why do you hate me for reporting what's going on. Advocate Mutinda luckily doesn't listen to you for legal advise unlike the other 3 guys. So he's made a very very impassioned plee not to be jailed. To the point where Orengo asked the court to forgive him. What is interesting is that he made no similar plee for his clients. After all he was told to say he could not find them. Lakini on his own personal issues and career, the man stood up na akajitetea kama mwanaume. He obviously is not foolish enough to listen to Murchr's legal advise. And yes lawyers are jailed every day. Ama you think they are also Matiangi? Thieves are not good people. Tumeelewana?
Governor Miguna Miguna