Stephen Hawking
Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
A big loss... Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Was he greatest scientist of ourvtime? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Was he greatest scientist of ourvtime? The greatest of our time is most likely Prof. Noam Chomsky a Professor at MIT in linguists science (trying to make robots talk) and inadvertently creating the bedrock of modern cognitive sciences, "Father of the Modern Cognitive Theory", one of the few scientific fathers ever, great jamaa with many great youtube videos. Otherwise RIP Stephen Hawkins, he was more like a "pop science" figure. A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Much Know wrote:Impunity wrote:Was he greatest scientist of ourvtime? The greatest of our time is most likely Prof. Noam Chomsky a Professor at MIT in linguists science (trying to make robots talk) and inadvertently creating the bedrock of modern cognitive sciences, "Father of the Modern Cognitive Theory", one of the few scientific fathers ever, great jamaa with many great youtube videos. Otherwise RIP Stephen Hawkins, he was more like a "pop science" figure. More of 'pop science' indeed. You surprise me now and then @Much Know. Chomsky is great but I'm not sure he's the greatest though.
tycho wrote:Much Know wrote:Impunity wrote:Was he greatest scientist of ourvtime? The greatest of our time is most likely Prof. Noam Chomsky a Professor at MIT in linguists science (trying to make robots talk) and inadvertently creating the bedrock of modern cognitive sciences, "Father of the Modern Cognitive Theory", one of the few scientific fathers ever, great jamaa with many great youtube videos. Otherwise RIP Stephen Hawkins, he was more like a "pop science" figure. More of 'pop science' indeed. You surprise me now and then @Much Know. Chomsky is great but I'm not sure he's the greatest though. BY the scientific measures of citations and impact, can almost guarantee you he is the highest, topmost, this is not a new subject to me. A New Kenya
Hawking was a brilliant mind. We will never know what he would have done if he had sound health all along.Go well.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
I respect Stephen Hawking for overcoming adversity to become a great physicist. However the greatest remains Albert Eistein Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Much Know wrote:tycho wrote:Much Know wrote:Impunity wrote:Was he greatest scientist of ourvtime? The greatest of our time is most likely Prof. Noam Chomsky a Professor at MIT in linguists science (trying to make robots talk) and inadvertently creating the bedrock of modern cognitive sciences, "Father of the Modern Cognitive Theory", one of the few scientific fathers ever, great jamaa with many great youtube videos. Otherwise RIP Stephen Hawkins, he was more like a "pop science" figure. More of 'pop science' indeed. You surprise me now and then @Much Know. Chomsky is great but I'm not sure he's the greatest though. BY the scientific measures of citations and impact, can almost guarantee you he is the highest, topmost, this is not a new subject to me. Careful about the sociology of knowledge and science and its history. Just to give a small illustration: 'In a universe x of discourse, p comes up with postulates T; which are not just tied together, but are diversely useful and published. But in say 20yrs, the universe of discourse changes to x1. Postulates T lower in importance. Person p is 'demoted'. Now, Chomsky has something about innate human capacity for language, that has unfortunately not translated to robots that have embodied knowledge. Why? Because this postulate is wrong. Because this postulate is tied to so many other things, its demotion will lead to a demotion of many other ideas an publications.' But tuko kwa matanga ya Hawking. I think he did his job well. He's established a certain world view that will take a long time to shake. For example, the other day Elon Musk was talking about going to Mars because we're irrevocably prone to violence and destruction. Hawking and Musk, and even Dawkins seem to be on the agenda of stimulating industry and human action along the lines of fear. Hawking apparently being the chief priest of this temple...
tycho wrote:Much Know wrote:tycho wrote:Much Know wrote:Impunity wrote:Was he greatest scientist of ourvtime? The greatest of our time is most likely Prof. Noam Chomsky a Professor at MIT in linguists science (trying to make robots talk) and inadvertently creating the bedrock of modern cognitive sciences, "Father of the Modern Cognitive Theory", one of the few scientific fathers ever, great jamaa with many great youtube videos. Otherwise RIP Stephen Hawkins, he was more like a "pop science" figure. More of 'pop science' indeed. You surprise me now and then @Much Know. Chomsky is great but I'm not sure he's the greatest though. BY the scientific measures of citations and impact, can almost guarantee you he is the highest, topmost, this is not a new subject to me. Careful about the sociology of knowledge and science and its history. Just to give a small illustration: 'In a universe x of discourse, p comes up with postulates T; which are not just tied together, but are diversely useful and published. But in say 20yrs, the universe of discourse changes to x1. Postulates T lower in importance. Person p is 'demoted'. Now, Chomsky has something about innate human capacity for language, that has unfortunately not translated to robots that have embodied knowledge. Why? Because this postulate is wrong. Because this postulate is tied to so many other things, its demotion will lead to a demotion of many other ideas an publications.' But tuko kwa matanga ya Hawking. I think he did his job well. He's established a certain world view that will take a long time to shake. For example, the other day Elon Musk was talking about going to Mars because we're irrevocably prone to violence and destruction. Hawking and Musk, and even Dawkins seem to be on the agenda of stimulating industry and human action along the lines of fear. Hawking apparently being the chief priest of this temple... Somewhat accurate, to put it blantly, He started well till he turned to Chief atheist for idiots called illuminati who use cargo cult science or "popularise science" to fool kumbaffs, his science is nonsense, to be honest, and a reductionist thinker like the rest of garbage from UK, his idea of introducing entropy into black holes is garbage, Einstein was right, this goes to the issue of locality versus copenhegan "quantum mechanics", of course Einstein was right and we have some new proof. A New Kenya
Hawking admitted that although he sees no room for a god or gods who control things in the universe, the question of the purpose of the universe he could not tell. That, I guess does not earn him the tag Atheist or Agnostic or some henchman for crank conspiracies (read illuminati). Hawking's mind made postulates that in time may prove that all we have been taught to believe as true is garbage
Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. To Each His Own
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. pesa and priorities... it's hard to preach abstract concepts to hungry people! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel. A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
He had such a beautiful family. Hope the kids take after him.
Much Know wrote:kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel. Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:Much Know wrote:kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel. Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya? Do we even make a bicycle?
AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:Much Know wrote:kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel. Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya? Do we even make a bicycle? Science has nothing to do with inventions... that's manifestation and use of science! someone uses existing discovered concepts and makes a business out of it! there are no scientists making bicycles or radios or even cars - those are businessmen! Can we build a bike? yes... but as with the ugali maker discussion we talked about along time ago - nani ananunua? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:Much Know wrote:kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel. Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya? Do we even make a bicycle? Science has nothing to do with inventions... that's manifestation and use of science! someone uses existing discovered concepts and makes a business out of it! there are no scientists making bicycles or radios or even cars - those are businessmen! Can we build a bike? yes... but as with the ugali maker discussion we talked about along time ago - nani ananunua? Those businessmen making cars employ scientist using a science called Physics. Tuwache uwongo we have copycats here in this country with a mass of them located in Gikomba making wheelbarrows sufuria etc. What we are missing is originators of ideas, the few who come up are fast and easily cheated by the educated lot with blockbuster lies such as "Nani atanunua" "it cant work" "Not in Kenya. You know even Elon Musk was told that by the "educated lot" Neil Armstrong, Eugene Cernan, and Neil DeGrasse Tyson gave presentations discrediting Spacex...today, the guy born in South Shithole has built a rocket that can carry twice the payload of the next existing rocket. Good thing he never listened to the "educated lot". "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:masukuma wrote:AlphDoti wrote:murchr wrote:Much Know wrote:kayhara wrote:Always thought he was American, what are our good scientists from UON, Ku JKUAT etc doing that is if they exist at all, I think the closest we have to proper research in Kenya is KARI which is very under-funded, what do KEMRI research? Why don't we hear of breakthrough research from our universities, are there research programs ongoing? with the numerous PHD and masters guys in campuses any noteworthy papers published? Any private research firms in Kenya by Kenyan billionaires? sisi ni audits tu za akina PWC and the other crooked guys tunajua kufanya. Also how far is the outer space agency formed sometime ago gone with the program. Believe me Kenyans are much better at science than Europeans and Americans, perhaps we had been trailing in its applied aspects, ie technology making stuff, like railways, cars, roads, computers e.t.c. Today research is mostly action research, someone studies "what they like" it moves with the individual vision, wherever he goes and not the institution, e.g LIGO (several home based researchers) versus centralized CERN type, individuals will surprise you guys soon, access to materials is leveling out, we are going to venus. Otherwise the story sold by illuminati is that Africans are foolish and thats why no African has been awarded a nobel. Wacha kutudanganya ati better scientists yet we're still battling cholera and chikungunya? Do we even make a bicycle? Science has nothing to do with inventions... that's manifestation and use of science! someone uses existing discovered concepts and makes a business out of it! there are no scientists making bicycles or radios or even cars - those are businessmen! Can we build a bike? yes... but as with the ugali maker discussion we talked about along time ago - nani ananunua? Those businessmen making cars employ scientist using a science called Physics. Tuwache uwongo we have copycats here in this country with a mass of them located in Gikomba making wheelbarrows sufuria etc. What we are missing is originators of ideas, the few who come up are fast and easily cheated by the educated lot with blockbuster lies such as "Nani atanunua" "it cant work" "Not in Kenya. You know even Elon Musk was told that by the "educated lot" Neil Armstrong, Eugene Cernan, and Neil DeGrasse Tyson gave presentations discrediting Spacex...today, the guy born in South Shithole has built a rocket that can carry twice the payload of the next existing rocket. Good thing he never listened to the "educated lot". wewe... what scientist will you need to do a bike? if you are pushing the envelope - yes... if you are knocking off a bike... no! I say more power to copycats! Why do we need new originators of ideas? if we haven't implemented stuff that has been around for years and we lack it? ama unataka we just 'me too'? Look at the list of the top 10 economies in the world per capita and tell me what original idea has come from them? they do normal shit... financial services, build cars e.t.c. tell me please what has Australia or New Zealand given to the world? Countries that are less than 150 years old? We need copy cats... Shameless copy cats... Wazungus demean copying by other races but implement it within themselves.... I say there is no point in inventing and you can copy.. after copying and making a business out of it - see if you can push the envelope with the money you have. China style... creating a something new and untested in this market is a fool's errand! unless it's software which has low costs (distribution wise). All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Stephen Hawking