wazua Mon, Mar 3, 2025

5 Pages<12345>
Makueni County
sitaki.kujulikana
#41 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 6:54:56 PM

quicksand wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
someone in the blue section said that wazua has become a river road economic discussion forum, or something like that.

I mean yaani, one can quantify a good governor by a mango factory and grading earth roads, then providing water pans, seriously water pans and earth roads.

if that is our idea of good leadership and development, we are surely in a dire situation.

In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king.

Prof Kibwana stood up to the MCA pests that were blackmailing him in a show of total brinkmanship. Other governors simply capitulate and have nothing to show, in fact they just join in the feeding frenzy. The protracted conflict probably led to a lot of lost time but then there was no wanton waste either.
This man has my respect.

You have a governor, right? What has he done? Tell us ...

we surely have to aim at a proper level, at least tarmac roads, at least provide piped water, that's the least they should be doing, we are not talking about nuclear power plants that need a rare and specific skill set, we are not talking about neurosurgery centers that need specialized training, we are talking about earth roads and water pans, lets be serious earth roads and water pans
sitaki.kujulikana
#42 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:00:04 PM

Yaani the same people saying that govt role should be to set up infrastructure are the same people supporting and asking the uninformed wazuans to give gaarment time to run and manage SGR to start making MONEY.Same people who said it was better to start somewhere with diesel locomotives but not okay for Makueni gaarment to start somewhere with water pans and grading earth roads.

ujinga ingine ni ya kujipaka

yaani you seriously are for this, water pans and earth roads, you are okay starting from somewhere with water pans and earth roads. Sad
#43 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:10:30 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Yaani the same people saying that govt role should be to set up infrastructure are the same people supporting and asking the uninformed wazuans to give gaarment time to run and manage SGR to start making MONEY.Same people who said it was better to start somewhere with diesel locomotives but not okay for Makueni gaarment to start somewhere with water pans and grading earth roads.

yaani you seriously are for this, water pans and earth roads, you are okay starting from somewhere with water pans and earth roads. Sad

Ywa, sir, ever heard prioritization of resources? It'not like Makueni has a bottomless pit of funds to tarmack rds, provide piped water etc
Fyatu
#44 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:20:12 PM

The biggest problem here is our lack of appreciation of what makes Makueni tick. ZERO CORRUPTION.

Makueni govt has approached poverty reduction in two strategies. Boost household income and provide safety nets for the vulnerable.

Almost every household has a few mango and orange trees. The brokers have been having a field day exploiting these poor farmers. Now there is a ready buyer offering fair prices. Household earnings from mangoes have skyrocketed. Brokers used to buy @3/- per fruit.

They have a new slogan in Kikamba that every home and some milk. (O nyumba na kalia). And again the county govt is offering a ready market. Makueni fresh. Muranga has been trying to set their milk processing plant but it will put the governor on a collision course with our monarch family.

Why were KCC, KMC, KPCU successful ventures until the Moi era crooks laid their hands on them ? Because government can actually run highly efficient organizations.

The late Gachagua tried to fix the mess with coffee prices in Nyeri and the cartels came out fighting with all they got. Had he succeeded, Nyeri would have been the first success story of devolution.

Once again, Jubilee people understand government to be the place you go to enrich yourself. You can't view Kivutha Kibwana with such lenses. That is why Makueni looks surreal to you. You must be wondering how he will recover his campaign money. How he will get his cut if he pays farmers so much for their mangoes. The truth is he won't. I know its difficult to believe but not everyone wants to be a billionaire arap singh style.

In Nyeri, my grandmother and friends started producing milk for sale eons ago..

LINK

But this is not to discredit good work that is going on in Makueni or Machakos
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
sitaki.kujulikana
#45 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:20:54 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Ywa, sir, ever heard prioritization of resources? It'not like Makueni has a bottomless pit of funds to tarmack rds, provide piped water etc

on a serious note, I believe a government should aim or do what the local people can not, I mean if a nyumba kumi elder organized his members to set up water pans, that would be ok, but a government should aim to do more.

I mean imagine a government buying mangoes from its citizens at 3 bob, will you ever lift those people out of poverty, they should be giving them subsidies, and credit to buy canters to transport their mangoes and tractors to expand their farm operations, not buying mangoes from them.
Fullykenyan
#46 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:35:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

on a serious note, I believe a government should aim or do what the local people can not, I mean if a nyumba kumi elder organized his members to set up water pans, that would be ok, but a government should aim to do more.

I mean imagine a government buying mangoes from its citizens at 3 bob, will you ever lift those people out of poverty, they should be giving them subsidies, and credit to buy canters to transport their mangoes and tractors to expand their farm operations, not buying mangoes from them.

I dont know how it works in kenya but where i live, companies pay huge tax to the counties first,before the main gvt gets her share.
This money is further invested in education,health and county roads.
If that is the case in kenya too, Makueni gvt would benefit, in not only providing ready market for her people but also in tax revenue which in retun they could invest in infrastructure. So,it can only be a win-win situation for makueni.
Me thinketh both approaches from Mutua and the good old Prof are both right.
Fullykenyan
#47 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:39:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Kenyans generally thinks that the gvt has always endless supply of money to fund all the projects if it wishes to. i think economics should be made a compulsory subject in school
#48 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:45:32 PM

Isnt SGR INFRASTRUCTURE? This wazuan here is of the opinion that govt shouldn't seek to profit from the rail - FRM is the one who's been of the idea that the rail should be making profit now.

On Makueni. I can clearly see where the constitutional prof is coming from. He has noted that his county is poor and identified areas where they as a county residents would benefit and his ideas are noble. Now, in as much as building a mango/fruit factory is necessary, the investment in the plant would have been better in the long run if it was done by a Sacco, or a specialized company as an investor. Govt is not good in running business because the players change, the next governor may not have an interest in mango production hence neglecting any maintenance and upgrading of the facility. We all know how parastatals ended up.

If this investment was channeled to water projects like the Nol Turesh - Nzai water tank which has a capacity of 13.6 million litres wouldn't it be wise to invest in the distribution of this water allover Makueni? And wouldn't all kinds of fruit/veg processors want to be in Makueni if there are good roads, reliable water, and proper policies in place?

SGR railway line is infrastructure, SGR Trains are NOT .

My understanding is that-I stand to be collected- both plants have been done under PPP if not done, the county govt is look for an investor for both plants.

The county govt plans for water development, harvesting,conservation and distribution is over a 10 yr period which is covered in the makueni vision 2025
#49 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:48:39 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

You're arguing from a point of lack of informationsmile
Soma hapa then come back and critique
#50 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 7:50:11 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Kenyans generally thinks that the gvt has always endless supply of money to fund all the projects if it wishes to. i think economics should be made a compulsory subject in school

Its not really about how much money is to be used but sustainability of the projects you are throwing money into. I was shocked to see the good gov earning brownie points on water pans yet in 2014, the Senator of Makueni had initiated talks to have Nol Turesh water company, how did that go? 5 years ago the Mks gov was bashed for building a cheap tarmac road which Wazua engineers threw eggs on but the road stands till today, serving as a connector btn Mks Kitui and central counties. We need to stop thinking small.
#51 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 8:08:02 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Its not really about how much money is to be used but sustainability of the projects you are throwing money into. I was shocked to see the good gov earning brownie points on water pans yet in 2014, the Senator of Makueni had initiated talks to have Nol Turesh water company, how did that go? 5 years ago the Mks gov was bashed for building a cheap tarmac road which Wazua engineers threw eggs on but the road stands till today, serving as a connector btn Mks Kitui and central counties. We need to stop thinking small.

The kafana is doing well in water sector
Check here the various projects including water that are complete, delayed,ongoing, under procurement etc
#52 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 8:16:43 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Check here the various projects including water that are complete, delayed,ongoing, under procurement etc

I'd believe you if I hadnt watched people collecting water from water pans. Wote - the capital city of Makueni has more donkeys than cars
#53 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 8:35:39 PM

Very true, we should do away with the $hithole mentality and think big. Dubai was worse than makueni not so long ago. What if Dubai decided to "start from somewhere" and built earth roads and water pans? Kenya needs transformative leaders like Mutua, leaders who see the big picture. You do not cross the river of poverty by making small jumps, you will drown. You take a long shot/leap like mutua and get to canaan.

#54 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 8:47:52 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

I'd believe you if I hadnt watched people collecting water from water pans. Wote - the capital city of Makueni has more donkeys than cars

Why is it so hard for you to open than link and filter project name by "wote"
kiash
#55 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:00:02 PM

Fyatu wrote:

The biggest problem here is our lack of appreciation of what makes Makueni tick. ZERO CORRUPTION.

Makueni govt has approached poverty reduction in two strategies. Boost household income and provide safety nets for the vulnerable.

Almost every household has a few mango and orange trees. The brokers have been having a field day exploiting these poor farmers. Now there is a ready buyer offering fair prices. Household earnings from mangoes have skyrocketed. Brokers used to buy @3/- per fruit.

They have a new slogan in Kikamba that every home and some milk. (O nyumba na kalia). And again the county govt is offering a ready market. Makueni fresh. Muranga has been trying to set their milk processing plant but it will put the governor on a collision course with our monarch family.

Why were KCC, KMC, KPCU successful ventures until the Moi era crooks laid their hands on them ? Because government can actually run highly efficient organizations.

The late Gachagua tried to fix the mess with coffee prices in Nyeri and the cartels came out fighting with all they got. Had he succeeded, Nyeri would have been the first success story of devolution.

Once again, Jubilee people understand government to be the place you go to enrich yourself. You can't view Kivutha Kibwana with such lenses. That is why Makueni looks surreal to you. You must be wondering how he will recover his campaign money. How he will get his cut if he pays farmers so much for their mangoes. The truth is he won't. I know its difficult to believe but not everyone wants to be a billionaire arap singh style.

In Nyeri, my grandmother and friends started producing milk for sale eons ago..

LINK

But this is not to discredit good work that is going on in Makueni or Machakos

The link took long to open. I grew up in Nyeri in the 90's before moving elsewhere.It still makes me wonder when i see stuff like this in 2017/2018
Electricity came to my village in the late 80's due to coffee factories which used to operate using diesel generators.Other areas where tea was grown were even more developped.When i read the other day that the UHURUTO gava connected more people then ever before, then i guess luck was on our side. Not luck but this was Moi era and we only had one cabinet minister from the area.A certain Kuguru. But Harambees did a lot to develop the placea nd even schools were built using harambees funds.If such momentum had continued, Nyeri would be very far today.When i vist i just wonder what went wrong. But its still far ahead.
One just needs to visit and see that very few people waiti for maana from the gava.
#56 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:01:52 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

If mutua can supply his people with piped water to their homes, why should kivutha be sending his people to fetch water from water pans?

#57 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:02:34 PM

Fullykenyan wrote:
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:

Why is it so hard for you to open than link and filter project name by "wote"

What came first? The chicken or the egg?
kawi254
#58 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 9:45:11 PM

Clarification: Nolturesh water is already in Makueni Kilome and homes along where it passes are connected. You must have seen news article of Kajiado governer complaining of Makueni people getting water and not Kajiado.
Nolturesh water is from Kajiado(kilimanjaro).

Kivutha lost some 3 years fighting MCAs and budget not getting approved. If He stays clear of NASA/wiper politics He can get much done in next 5.

Makueni is coming from a low base development wise. You can compare Makueni with Kitui but not Machakos due to history and weather. There are places in Machakos you would think you are in Kiambu. So you may not get it when a farmer who used to water cows far far away in dry season appreciates 'water pans'.

Kila mtu ajenge county yake. In the end the Country Kenya moves forward. Give credit where its due, Kivutha has done well so has Alfred Mutua and so has Mwangi wa Iria

#59 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 10:37:12 PM

Kilome Mbooni Mukaa are the Highlands of Makueni. Why would they supply water from Sultan to the hills leaving the people on the plains dry?
#60 Posted : Monday, February 12, 2018 11:23:14 PM

We'll only know if there is any corruption once the auditor's report is out.

kwani how many audits reports have we had since Prof. became Governor and what are the levels of audit queries? Wacha bwana, let us celebrate noble ideas and people!!!

Everything, including thieving, has been decentralized. Just like in vegas, whatever happen at the counties remains there, and the local economy is boosted.