Nyinyi watu muna argue munatuchekecha sana
#22 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 12:04:21 PM

1+1=11

#23 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 2:38:49 PM

I believe the initial post had merit but it went south rather quickly.
From my experience,a weak currency needs bigger notes. For example the South Sudan Pound is worth only Ksh 0.50 yet the biggest note is SSP 100. You needy a gunnny bag to carry the equivalent of US$ 2,000. On the other hand,Tz shilling, though weaker than the SSP is easier to handle because they have bigger notes
#24 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 3:04:08 PM

From my experience,a weak currency needs bigger notes. For example the South Sudan Pound is worth only Ksh 0.50 yet the biggest note is SSP 100. You needy a gunnny bag to carry the equivalent of US$ 2,000. On the other hand,Tz shilling, though weaker than the SSP is easier to handle because they have bigger notes

Was in Sierra Leone juzi and was shocked!! had to change $100 and got something like 750k in notes of 10k and 5k!! A friend arrived went to change some $300 akaulizwa... uko na bag? he was like 'bag'? they said yes.. Wacha notes zitoke!! like 2.5 m worth of notes!!
#25 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 3:09:25 PM

Was in Sierra Leone juzi and was shocked!! had to change $100 and got something like 750k in notes of 10k and 5k!! A friend arrived went to change some $300 akaulizwa... uko na bag? he was like 'bag'? they said yes.. Wacha notes zitoke!! like 2.5 m worth of notes!!

Surely Kenya has not reached those levels. We are also advanced in money transfer manenos which should be promoted more than this thing of walking around with cash.
#26 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 3:12:25 PM

I wish @Realtreaty understood this...
#27 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 3:18:21 PM

I read somewhere that: "But law enforcers are sure that large notes are criminals' currency of choice, being compact and easy to hide." ...make money laundering easier and counterfeiting money more lucrative.

I can identify with one: "higher value notes are difficult to spend in everyday transactions"... matatu tout once refused to take my sh1000 note... I had to send him credit to settle the fare.
#28 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 3:20:57 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
https://image.slidesharecdn.com/money-1232992092668266-3/95/uses-and-characteristics-of-money-6-728.jpg?cb=1232970663

You forgot one important, and basic characteristic of money: intrinsic value
#29 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 4:35:41 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
https://image.slidesharecdn.com/money-1232992092668266-3/95/uses-and-characteristics-of-money-6-728.jpg?cb=1232970663

He skipped the class while thinking of Raila and Luos!!!
Realtreaty
#30 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 7:06:26 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

Thanks Alphdoti for maturity
Want you to understand that Value is carried by the "LIMITED SUPPLY"
When something is in limited supply its value rises
I find your positiveness quite mature unlike the Almas and Angelicas of this new peoples Govt.
I do not want to use so much vocabularies while saying the same thing.....Mullah
#31 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 7:06:40 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

Acceptability is intrinsic value - it's the utility of money that makes it 'acceptable' and thus valuable to people who accept it.
Let me give you an example of the Kina of PNG is almost 25-30/= so a fairly strong currency don't you agree? but who wants Kina here? The space where money operates is like a network - it only makes sense once more than one people accept it and the more the people that accept (recognize it) the more useful a currency is. That's why the dollar is what it is - you can always find a dude to exchange it. You can have notes for the Kina hapa but ni makaratasi tu since no one recognizes it's value. Wakiona chini ni wanapiga mateke since it's not useful to them. I once had an opportunity to meet a guy in Turkey kwa airport - he asked me... are you kenyan? I said yes... akasema ako na notes za kenya he was hoping to change but HAWACHUKUWI KENYA SHILLINGS huko if I could assist him. I told him pole itakuwa ngumu as no one wants or recognizes it. I had been once told that 'WE DON'T ACCEPT KENYA SHILLINGS' the way that 'KENYA SHILLINGS' was dragged was very demeaning. so just because it's useful to you or valuable within your network - it can be makaratasi somewhere else.
Realtreaty
#32 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 7:16:45 PM

majimaji wrote:

Nyinyi watu muna argue munatuchekecha sana

Contribute sio tu kucheka.
People sometime need time and attitude to mature!!!!
#33 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 7:17:56 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

[img]https://image.slidesharecdn.com/money-1232992092668266-3/95/uses-and-characteristics-of-money-6-728.jpg?cb=1232970663/img]

What Kenya needs is a KES 10,000 note, not 2k.
#34 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 7:25:55 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

Acceptability is intrinsic value - it's the utility of money that makes it 'acceptable' and thus valuable to people who accept it.
Let me give you an example of the Kina of PNG is almost 25-30/= so a fairly strong currency don't you agree? but who wants Kina here? The space where money operates is like a network - it only makes sense once more than one people accept it and the more the people that accept (recognize it) the more useful a currency is. That's why the dollar is what it is - you can always find a dude to exchange it. You can have notes for the Kina hapa but ni makaratasi tu since no one recognizes it's value. Wakiona chini ni wanapiga mateke since it's not useful to them. I once had an opportunity to meet a guy in Turkey kwa airport - he asked me... are you kenyan? I said yes... akasema ako na notes za kenya he was hoping to change but HAWACHUKUWI KENYA SHILLINGS huko if I could assist him. I told him pole itakuwa ngumu as no one wants or recognizes it. I had been once told that 'WE DON'T ACCEPT KENYA SHILLINGS' the way that 'KENYA SHILLINGS' was dragged was very demeaning. so just because it's useful to you or valuable within your network - it can be makaratasi somewhere else.

I agree. Try paying with dollars for your uji, busaa or mutura in the village. It will be rejected coz it will be just another makaratasi. They want notes with Jomos portrait.
#35 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 9:35:11 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

I agree. Try paying with dollars for your uji, busaa or mutura in the village. It will be rejected coz it will be just another makaratasi. They want notes with Jomos portrait.

They would accept gold or silver anytime without blinking!
#36 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 11:02:43 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

is that a question? how would they even know it's gold/silver? p.s. Gold and Silver are only useful if you can convert it. So this dude shows up at your door step with something he calls it 'gold' for your chai... so how much 'gold' is this? is it like a kilo of 'gold' or is it a strip of 'gold'? how sure am I that he is actually having 'gold'? Gold without a person to authenticate it's gold is not useful to anyone. With fiat currency you can hold it up - look for marks e.t.c. but 'gold'? by the way.. Where do I take this gold after the fellow eats my mutura? Starts sounding like a story for Jack and the beanstalk... where a guy sells his father's cow for a bag of magic beans. If it's a kikuyu trader... utasikia
wee rehe besha wee! ati gorodi? rehe besha!

The reason gold is the default storage of value is because it obeys all those laws and we have been socialized to want it - (kinda reminds me about heaven and the streets of gold... if gold is so plentiful they make streets out of it... it's like tarmac there... no one then wants it and maybe a bit slippery - just saying!!)... anyway... over the years gold has been used because of its royal nature (doesn't get damaged by the elements), very fungible, quite rare e.t.c. which are really what the denomination system attempts to do ... the history of cash (not money...cash) is huge and will take to much time. But I digress...
#37 Posted : Tuesday, February 06, 2018 1:10:56 PM

Now people are talking...the thread was initially sick. Invite Mukiri and Spikes of Cryptocurrencymania here
#38 Posted : Tuesday, February 06, 2018 1:34:36 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

is that a question? how would they even know it's gold/silver? p.s. Gold and Silver are only useful if you can convert it. So this dude shows up at your door step with something he calls it 'gold' for your chai... so how much 'gold' is this? is it like a kilo of 'gold' or is it a strip of 'gold'? how sure am I that he is actually having 'gold'? Gold without a person to authenticate it's gold is not useful to anyone. With fiat currency you can hold it up - look for marks e.t.c. but 'gold'? by the way.. Where do I take this gold after the fellow eats my mutura? Starts sounding like a story for Jack and the beanstalk... where a guy sells his father's cow for a bag of magic beans. If it's a kikuyu trader... utasikia

The reason gold is the default storage of value is because it obeys all those laws and we have been socialized to want it - (kinda reminds me about heaven and the streets of gold... if gold is so plentiful they make streets out of it... it's like tarmac there... no one then wants it and maybe a bit slippery - just saying!!)... anyway... over the years gold has been used because of its royal nature (doesn't get damaged by the elements), very fungible, quite rare e.t.c. which are really what the denomination system attempts to do ... the history of cash (not money...cash) is huge and will take to much time. But I digress...

You are right @mavegs... It is true you can rip off someone with fake gold and silver. One can mix some kind of allow and come up with counterfeit gold. But with correct weight and anti-counterfeiter police would be moving around, we would be able to reduce or put to an end to infringements...

Search Binghamton university and their research on Free and fair market... that what they concluded.
#39 Posted : Tuesday, February 06, 2018 1:39:34 PM

...gold or silver...

...The reason gold is the default storage of value is because it obeys all those laws and we have been socialized to want it...

If you saved money for your children, of grand children, when they grow up and become adults, they should get the money you left behind for them. If you left behind 1M Kenya shillings, if that 1M can buy 100 hybrid cows. Then you would want that your money 20 years from now, would have stored its value, preserved its value. So that 20 years later when your children get that money, that money could still buy 100 cows, provided demand and supply being constant...

Gold and silver performs that function successfully, of being a store of value.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, February 06, 2018 1:49:04 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

You are right @mavegs... It is true you can rip off someone with fake gold and silver. One can mix some kind of allow and come up with counterfeit gold. But with correct weight and anti-counterfeiter police would be moving around, we would be able to reduce or put to an end to infringements...

Search Binghamton university and their research on Free and fair market... that what they concluded.

that's the weakness of the gold system - only experts can tell whether it's legit, diluted or even worse iron pyrite. remember the saying - all that glitters is not gold? there was a reason for that. Gold is like a 'taito dee' these days... unapewa but you need some authority to verify that hiyo 'taito' ni ya ukweli . fiat currency with all it's weaknesses is much harder to dupe masses with. sure you can find a patsy but it's not as bad as cash. granted - gold has it's usage i.e. storage of value which it does better than fiat currency.
The other weakness is that it's really difficult to 'give change'- so nimenunua maandazi... nimekupatia bar of gold but I want 'change'... utanipea change aje?