wazua Thu, Nov 28, 2024

LightInTheBox
otienosmall
#1 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 9:31:22 PM

Anyone with experience on this online shopping site? I purchased a smartphone at approximately KSh 42,000 in mid December, 2017. I was given a tracking number to follow up. The tracking was recently updated as having been successfully received on 25th January 2018 yet I have not received anything from them. That tracking number indicates that it was collected by a Mr. Josephat Mwangi. This is a person not known to me. The person presented himself at the post office and even gave his ID. The poster guys gave me the ID number. The tracking also shows that the package originated from the Netherlands yet LightInTheBox is a Chinese company. Sema confusion! I am really getting worried that this company could be a fraud. And the way they look big in the web. How does one get redress from such crooks?
https://www.lightinthebox.com/
#2 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 9:51:24 PM

Pole
#3 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 9:58:01 PM

otienosmall wrote:
Anyone with experience on this online shopping site? I purchased a smartphone at approximately KSh 42,000 in mid December, 2017. I was given a tracking number to follow up. The tracking was recently updated as having been successfully received on 25th January 2018 yet I have not received anything from them. That tracking number indicates that it was collected by a Mr. Josephat Mwangi. This is a person not known to me. The person presented himself at the post office and even gave his ID. The poster guys gave me the ID number. The tracking also shows that the package originated from the Netherlands yet LightInTheBox is a Chinese company. Sema confusion! I am really getting worried that this company could be a fraud. And the way they look big in the web. How does one get redress from such crooks?

you learn your lessons, accept and move on
otienosmall
#4 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 10:35:14 PM

But surely how does such a company manage to remain online for years? Kwani in China there are no rules. Is raising my concern with the Chinese Embassy an option?
#5 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 10:43:04 PM

Just being naive, but what authority did posta give the Mr. Mwangi your stuff?
otienosmall
#6 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 10:51:26 PM

The poster guys claimed that whatever package Mr. Mwangi picked was addressed to him and had originated from the Netherlands. So their advise was that maybe the Chinese company gave me a wrong tracking number and so I should follow up with them. Unfortunately, on their website, it appears that you cannot get them on email or telephone. I wrote to them through a review of the product I had bought hope they will respond
#7 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 11:25:53 PM

otienosmall wrote:

The poster guys claimed that whatever package Mr. Mwangi picked was addressed to him and had originated from the Netherlands. So their advise was that maybe the Chinese company gave me a wrong tracking number and so I should follow up with them. Unfortunately, on their website, it appears that you cannot get them on email or telephone. I wrote to them through a review of the product I had bought hope they will respond

Have you seen other similar reviews?
otienosmall
#8 Posted : Monday, January 29, 2018 11:30:12 PM

otienosmall wrote:

Have you seen other similar reviews?

I think reviews that are strongly negative about them are somehow deleted from the site. They control what you read
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 12:18:24 AM

find out the name of the courier company used.
my guess is your phone left china under the tracking no given but was consolidated with 'mwangi's shipment from netherlands and a new tracking no issued.

Mwangi used the new tracking no to collect his stuff.

what we cant guess is if mwangi ordered a similar shipment from netherlands.

Start with the courier company as your phone might have been forgotten in netherlands at the courier co.office.
stuff get misplaced or re routed at transit points.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 8:32:09 AM

my guess is your phone left china under the tracking no given but was consolidated with 'mwangi's shipment from netherlands and a new tracking no issued.

Start with the courier company as your phone might have been forgotten in netherlands at the courier co.office.

^^^^Employee of lightinthebox
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 9:20:32 AM

I was sent a parcel from the UK. Tracking number and all. I'm yet to see it. I think the problem lies the people you cannot convict. Their word is law and can do as they will. If KNH is as it is, sembuse P.O. Box?

#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 9:36:01 AM

^^^^Employee of lightinthebox

Knowledgeable
otienosmall
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 2:49:41 PM

Very insightful! However, I wonder if the courier company may have consolidated the packages and sent them as one parcel to Mwangi. And if that is the case means Mwangi received both packages. Either that or the Chinese company ni ukora wako nayo. It is also not easy to tell who is the courier company they appear to me like some virtual platform
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 4:12:13 PM

otienosmall wrote:

Inside job. Next time use DHL.

otienosmall
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 6:32:24 PM

otienosmall wrote:

Inside job. Next time use DHL.

True it unfortunately points to an inside job. But by who Poster or LightInTheBox?
Ryko
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 9:17:47 PM

otienosmall wrote:

Lightinthebox is genuine i have used it more than 3 years, with its sister company miniinthebox, buyincoins back then it was the best...at first i was very sceptic.

On the issue of Netherlands, packages go through various ports sometimes, sometime swiss air, sometimes Hongkong, packages can go through 4 different countries so don't be scared about that, its normal (see the image below also through Netherlands)

I have had several issues before and this how i resolved them, sometimes packages took so long so i complained i haven't received and severally they have shipped me double items, sometimes i even took advantage of that.The Kenyan in me.
So just email them explain to them, you will get a reply looks auto, insist,you will be channeled to supervisor, insist they will finally reship it.

If this does not work dispute the transaction, i hope you used Paypal and put all the explanation and evidence. They always lose easily

They even once refunded all my cash and going back to post office i found all my delivery, i felt guilty.

Nowadays they take so long to deliver and they increased cost so i switched them off.
If i have received refunds before, reship before, disputed before and got my cash i dont see why you shouldn't fight back.But i have never shipped a phone specifically.

I work so I can afford the amount of alcohol required to continue going to work
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 30, 2018 10:45:46 PM

otienosmall wrote:

Very insightful! However, I wonder if the courier company may have consolidated the packages and sent them as one parcel to Mwangi. And if that is the case means Mwangi received both packages. Either that or the Chinese company ni ukora wako nayo. It is also not easy to tell who is the courier company they appear to me like some virtual platform

Online platforms contract courier companies.
Each shipment has its one identification code so even if its a consolidation they will be separated on arrival and each client given his after providing proof of ownership.

Give me the TN will try and let you know.
otienosmall
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 31, 2018 6:08:49 PM

otienosmall wrote:

Each shipment has its one identification code so even if its a consolidation they will be separated on arrival and each client given his after providing proof of ownership.

LightInTheBox has actually confirmed that the details that were printed on the package was the address which I gave. The tracking number is the same one that was associated with my package and the package was not consolidated with another. This leaves only two possibilities (1) I used cooperate address where I work. Letters are collected by a messenger and brought to us. These guys could have seen the notification card and decided to go smart. (2) It was fellows at the post office who stole it. The first scenario is almost unlikely without the participation of the poster guys since the person signed under a different name and was allowed to pick the package. He even gave his ID which I am yet to verify whether the number is fake. All the same I will now have to involve the police
otienosmall
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 31, 2018 6:15:08 PM

otienosmall wrote:

@essyk here is the TN: RU181978106NL
Thank you!
otienosmall
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 31, 2018 6:21:30 PM

Ryko wrote:
otienosmall wrote:

Lightinthebox is genuine i have used it more than 3 years, with its sister company miniinthebox, buyincoins back then it was the best...at first i was very sceptic.

On the issue of Netherlands, packages go through various ports sometimes, sometime swiss air, sometimes Hongkong, packages can go through 4 different countries so don't be scared about that, its normal (see the image below also through Netherlands)

I have had several issues before and this how i resolved them, sometimes packages took so long so i complained i haven't received and severally they have shipped me double items, sometimes i even took advantage of that.The Kenyan in me.
So just email them explain to them, you will get a reply looks auto, insist,you will be channeled to supervisor, insist they will finally reship it.

If this does not work dispute the transaction, i hope you used Paypal and put all the explanation and evidence. They always lose easily

They even once refunded all my cash and going back to post office i found all my delivery, i felt guilty.

Nowadays they take so long to deliver and they increased cost so i switched them off.
If i have received refunds before, reship before, disputed before and got my cash i dont see why you shouldn't fight back.But i have never shipped a phone specifically.

Good to see you have confidence in them. It thus appears hii ukora ni hapa Kenya tu. and we make noise when Trump call us sh**ho**s NKT!