wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

KAP limited Stealing from Customers
#1 Posted: : Monday, May 04, 2009 8:53:00 AM

Hi all,

I went looking for a parking space at Nakumatt Lifestyle basements. i picked the ticket from the dispenser and started doing the rounds in basement no.1,but unfortunately it was full to capacity. the same happened to be the case with all the other 3 basements. I started my way out from the fourth basement in frustration and as i reached the cashier and handed over the ticket so that she could open the boom gate,she dropped the boomshell. She was slapping me with a charge of kshs 30.

I told the cashier that i did not park my car,but i went down looking for a space to park and i could not get any and therefore i was coming out. The cashier could not here of it and told me that since i went in i had to part with the money. i protested and told the lady that i would not pay for a service that i never got. She insisted that since i picked the ticket,i had to pay the ksh 30....and in the meantime the internal parking jam for those motorists who wanted to come out was building up...

My next question to the lady was 'Am I paying the kshs 30 for just being in possession of the ticket?' The lady told me that the ticket had to be accounted for and thus the charge. i told her that if the ticket had to be accounted for,then she could keep the ticket and present it to the management as an unused one as the entry and exit times was barely 2 minutes meaning that no parking took place. The answer from the lady was most astonishing as she told me to see and explain to the management the circumstance leading to my predicament. In rage I parted with the money. The lady opened for me the boom gate,i went up the rump,joined the Moktah Dadda road and melted into the chaotic CBD...

There are so many other hundreds of people who suffered the same fate as me on the same day in this parking due to uncalled for greed from KAP limited who are the parking managers for this premises. This is something that have been going on for a long time,i believe,and this illegal charge translates into well over a million kenya shillings in a given month.

My main questions are does this iilegal charge reach the company's bank account ama it is a side mchoro by the gate personnel? If the charge reaches the company's bank account,what portion goes to NSSF (the owners of the building)? If the illegal charge is not thiefery or fraud by KAP Ltd,why doesn't the management place a board or a screen right at the parking entrance on the ground floor informing the drivers that the parking is full to capacity? Could KAP limited management explain why they are not pigs?

Any SKerian,who have been through such a circus in this parking grounds?

NEVER TALK OF A RHINO IF THERE IS NO TREE NEAREBY - ZULU PROVERB
#2 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:22:00 AM

Where do this people expect you to park when it's full?

The machine should not allow any more car in when parking is full. Kwani it does not keep inventory?

Otherwise,if it allows,then this is system design failure or intentional configuration from the management.

AKS
kanyimwa
#3 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:40:00 AM

It Happened to me at NHIF building immediately after they introduced the pay n park thing. There,its even funnier. I just go past the entrance and the askari informs me that the parking is no longer free. I politely inform him that he checks for me as i reverse,since I was not interested on paying to park for less than 10 mins. The askari informs me that the only exit is at the exterior end and so I had to proceed. Mid-way,there were some askaris stationed to take inventory of all vehicles passing through the parking bay. At the end,a cashier with two askaris stops me and demands the ticket so that I pay 50 bob for hourly parking. I explained to them that I wasn't interested on the pay park and was just passing through after being informed of the same. Based on my past experiences on arguing with watchies,the only solution left was to zoom off before it got worse,which I did to their amazement.

In most places,they have reconfigured the systems to avoid this anomally. the first 15 mins do not count.

The definition of your enemy is: 'Your former friend'
mozenrat
#4 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:40:00 AM

You are the fellows who encourage such behaviour. I was once in the same predicament... I refused to pay.... Don't even reason with them... the fellows in the queue behind me ndio walikuja ku-reason nayeye. I don't know whether they paid for me or not but I let the fellow know in no uncertain terms that even with thousands in my pocket,I will never pay for service not received....
Spendthrift
#5 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 10:09:00 AM

Had an experience at NHIF building. After stopping near the gate to use a nearby ATM I tried to reverse my way out but the watchie informed me that the way out was ' that way'. Didnt know I was being led into a parking till I realised that the only way further was up. Another trial at reversing and was told ' No boss! So I go through the parking...3 min and then slapped with a Kshs. 60 charge. No electronic receipt..

I believed this is well orchestrated but after arguing on end for five minutes,the guys went mute but i had no clearance,so i paid.

This otta be on jicho pevu of COP....mostly jicho pevu. Sure to restore sanity

Everyday!
#6 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 10:14:00 AM

@ Alpha

I believe the parking management software that these guys use is cable of handling data containing upto more than 10,000 motorists/vehicles and more than 100,000 events (logging of entering and exiting vehicles together with their respective entry,exit times and the length of parking and the vehicle assaigned parking identities etc.

Originally,this building housing the Nakumatt Lifestyle supermarket was designed to hold about 380 vehicles in a given time,but apparently it holds close to 430,but the vehicular turnover is in the region of about 1500 due to those vehicles parking for short periods of time.

The parking management software to me works fine. if the data on maximum no. of vehicles allowed to park was pegged at 430,then only this no. of vehicles would park at any one given time,and the entry boom would not let any more vehicle until less than 430 parking vehicles were available.

I think the data on maximum no. of vehicles allowed to park in a given time was probably reset to at least more than 1500 so that the boom gates will continue openning even when the threshold number of vehicles allowed to park has been surpassed. Upto 430 vehicles,i dont have any problem,but the other more than 1000 vehicles will go in only to find that there is no parking and they are charged ksh 30 each for being in possession of a ticket which is as result of the KAP ltd gluttony. Now this is thuggery!!!!

PONDI
#7 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 10:27:00 AM

poleni sana. thats daylight robbery. i believe kap is just trying to recoup what they loose at the airport.... pssst just give the cashiers at the main exit KSHS 30 .. and dont wait for the receipt.... even if you were at the airport for 2 days.

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
daimyo
#8 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 11:15:00 AM

sorry guys,

am sure KAPS management must be aware of this,so they are just thieves. On another note,maybe Nakumatt Lifestyle is not such a good place to park anymore....an acquitance had his car broken into and some staff stolen...there is even one case where a laptop was stolen even though the owner had tried to conceal .....it

hakuna kitu mpya chini ya hii jua...
amauriceus
#9 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 11:32:00 AM

We are a very exploited lot in Kenya.
I once had to pay 50/= at NHIF bulding for using the parking are as an exit !
At first I tried to reason with them that I did not park at all but none of the watchies would listen to me,I decided to give up the 50/= to save my time.
As much as it was a trivial amount,I still feel that was tantamount to robbery with violence,I wonder who will come to our rescue from these rogue companies.
#10 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 12:34:00 PM

If it can accommodate only 380 cars but houses 430 or so (cars parked all over the place including the ramps) then what happens in a fire?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#11 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 1:10:00 PM

@ vitu,

The way i see it,during a fire outbreak the manner in which the excess are parked down there would not provide an organised evacuation process. i doubt if more than 20% would be saved....very disappointing!!!

Spendthrift
#12 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 1:31:00 PM

@ Daimyo

There is nothing like hiding your laptop in the car. The advice is NEVER leave your laptop in the car even at the Village Market. Better still,never leave any electronic device with Bluetooth capabilities in a parked car. And again if you have a laptop carry case which is full of junk...like books and notes from your gumbaru school,do not leave it exposed in the car,including when you are in traffic. It can cause you a broken window or dented door as the 'victims' of poverty seek to alleviate their suffering. For a 110,all they need is a proper bang near the lock. The lock will 'shtuka' and before you repress the central lock,the laptop will be gone,perhaps back to ...tech

The thugs are also Hi-Tech and can scan any newcoming car (they keep a tab on every freshly parked car) for these devices. I suspect they simply use mobile phones.

And some of these guys can disable the car alarm so that when they yank your door open to search for valuables,there will be no 'nywi nywis'. Happenned recently to a buddy at Kisumu's busy United Mall. I can only imagine that NBI thugs are more advenced.

The thread was about stealing so I have not derailed,just in case someone rises on a point of SK order.

Everyday!
#13 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 2:46:00 PM

I know nakumatt just leases the building and most of the cars are not nakumatt shoppers but if something were to happen (and seeing the parking congestion,it will) nakumatt will be blamed.

*** I park there but I dread it. I have no choice because CBD is full by 8.30am.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 11:59:00 AM

@spendthrift

Are you saying that the stolen laptops end up back at the computer shop you are talking bout(ile ya DAVE?)
I bought a laptop thea juzi... hebu clarify....
nanfor
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2009 3:28:00 PM

Reminds me of a song i heard recently. 'unajifanya,umefika'. At 50 bob its a bargain. Wacha gari yako nyumbani and this problem will go away.
Spendthrift
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 07, 2009 6:04:00 AM

@ Chemos

Don't lead me on...

Just ensure you got all the proof that the machine was New. (unless it was pre-owned,which is unlikely given the prices of new machines have really dropped)

Ensure you were able to see the carton box in which the machine came and confirm the serial numbers are identical. Ensure new cables,restore CD e.t.c. I once almost paid for a notebook,but the money went back into my jacket,when the shop attendant couldn't produce the carton box and the genuine accessories that accompany the machines. It could either be a stolen one or a returned one (maybe because it has problems). Also check to see that the machine has not already been set up,at least not as far as having a computer name like David PC,Wanjiru PC or Ongwenyi-MartinPC,which would point to the likelihood that it has been used before.

And finally make sure they print (not super impose with a BIC) the serial number of the laptop you bought on the receipt. Don't buy that crap of 'we know our machines,so if it has a problem just bring it back we'll sort you out'.

The thing is there are shops and individuals that accept st.len goods for resale. Some of these are big,some small. Hapo siendelei.

Everyday!