The media has failed us !
I haven’t watched television for around 8 months now and I feel free from the previous bondage of monotonous, shallow and directionless content being fed to viewers. I believe one of the main reasons Africans lag behind is that we have “been empowered” with tools that we have no idea how to use. When was the last time you watched TV and came out like… “Hey that’s a very nice idea I can tweak that idea to get results b!” While media freedom is essential, it’s been overhyped. Our kids are slowly but surely becoming zombies waiting for the next cartoon, shallow & bigoted comedy and immoral tv series’ in the name of ratings. Growing up there used to be programs like press conference, japan screen topics, DW documentaries etc. What if, just what if our media knew how much control they have over the populace and the positivity they can spread especially in our African setting. The Communications Authority of Kenya has the mandate to regulate the industry and they can start with basic content requirement. Programs that can help alleviate the African struggles and showcase our wins Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments. In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC? They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest.
Lolest! wrote:Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC?
They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest. This is a pleasant surprise. I gave up on them when they were VOK. Will give them a try.
Lolest! wrote:Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC? They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest. I will definitely try them out. My biggest problem with KBC has been the way they package content to look so mind numbing. There used to be a program on KBC similar to Shamba Shape up but my word!! If you ever wanted to catch a few winks just switch on to such type of presentations. Am sure the producers, directors and the other journalists who work at KBC went to the same schools or got the same type of training as their counterparts on the other media stations, but I just cannot understand why they make their programs so dull. “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Kratos wrote:Lolest! wrote:Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC? They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest. I will definitely try them out. My biggest problem with KBC has been the way they package content to look so mind numbing. There used to be a program on KBC similar to Shamba Shape up but my word!! If you ever wanted to catch a few winks just switch on to such type of presentations. Am sure the producers, directors and the other journalists who work at KBC went to the same schools or got the same type of training as their counterparts on the other media stations, but I just cannot understand why they make their programs so dull. You complain about other media houses for entertaining you with politics and soap operas and on the other hand you're complaining about KBC being dull unlike other media houses.....Unataka nini exactly? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Kratos wrote:Lolest! wrote:Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC? They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest. I will definitely try them out. My biggest problem with KBC has been the way they package content to look so mind numbing. There used to be a program on KBC similar to Shamba Shape up but my word!! If you ever wanted to catch a few winks just switch on to such type of presentations. Am sure the producers, directors and the other journalists who work at KBC went to the same schools or got the same type of training as their counterparts on the other media stations, but I just cannot understand why they make their programs so dull. You complain about other media houses for entertaining you with politics and soap operas and on the other hand you're complaining about KBC being dull unlike other media houses.....Unataka nini exactly? Unaumwa wapi niki complain? I am advocating for better programs and quality presentation. The other problem with Africans that we have is that we embrace mediocrity, ona sasa! You have missed the point of this thread by a couple of football stadia yet you are here complaining about my post(s). This is a conversation that we must have, you can either be part of it or be the pious commentator. “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Media has failed us, who is us? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Angelica _ann wrote:Media has failed us, who is us? 'Us' is likely to be all without time to initiate and work on their thoughts. 'Media' is an object that's supposed to have agency rather than being a means of communication.
Angelica _ann wrote:Media has failed us, who is us? Africans, you included! “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Kratos wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Media has failed us, who is us? Africans, you included! 'Africans'. What a crazy answer!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Kratos wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Media has failed us, who is us? Africans, you included! Give us the experience of asians, russians, mexicans etc we compare.
hardwood wrote:Kratos wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Media has failed us, who is us? Africans, you included! Give us the experience of asians, russians, mexicans etc we compare. Primary focus here is Kenya and Africans in general. We have a tool called media that can be used to alleviate poverty, initiate creativity and provide a platform for critical thinking through the power of information. I can bet you that none of the countries you have mentioned normally take time to look at what Africans are doing with "their media" in order to improve theirs. Further more no one refers to them as the black continent or Third world. That is specifically reserved for Africans. It would therefore be wrong to think that we should look at their experiences in order for us to use our own tools. We have different circumstances and should have our own approaches to solve our issues. A good example that I had given earlier is having programs on TV that promote development and technology. Picture your son or daughter watching a documentary based on research and development at JKUAT. That generates an imprint into the kids mind on what is possible and motivates them. By the way do Americans come over to Africa for bench-marking when they want to open a new zoo? “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Kratos wrote:Swenani wrote:Kratos wrote:Lolest! wrote:Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC? They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest. I will definitely try them out. My biggest problem with KBC has been the way they package content to look so mind numbing. There used to be a program on KBC similar to Shamba Shape up but my word!! If you ever wanted to catch a few winks just switch on to such type of presentations. Am sure the producers, directors and the other journalists who work at KBC went to the same schools or got the same type of training as their counterparts on the other media stations, but I just cannot understand why they make their programs so dull. You complain about other media houses for entertaining you with politics and soap operas and on the other hand you're complaining about KBC being dull unlike other media houses.....Unataka nini exactly? Unaumwa wapi niki complain? I am advocating for better programs and quality presentation. The other problem with Africans that we have is that we embrace mediocrity, ona sasa! You have missed the point of this thread by a couple of football stadia yet you are here complaining about my post(s). This is a conversation that we must have, you can either be part of it or be the pious commentator. I'm from 2030 but I still can't understand what you're complaining about. Define your expectations first then complain. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Kratos wrote:Swenani wrote:Kratos wrote:Lolest! wrote:Quote:Envision a case where mundane content is replaced by empowering programs. We have so much to offer but instead the media focuses on politics with above 50% coverage. Visualize a case where local creative content is matched with trending worldwide developments.
In order to advance as Africans, we need to know where we came from, where we are and where we are going. There is very little history regarding our heritage, culture and civilization pre- missionaries and settlers. We have very many research activities going on in our universities, technical institutes, and various organizations. There are numerous blueprints of how we want to develop further along the way. Why can’t the media use their platforms to address such? Are we waiting for someone else to do it? Who will save us from ourselves? Have you tried the national broadcaster, KBC? They're balanced. Seriously. Found myself tuning in to their KBC English radio more often lately and it's very different from the rest. I will definitely try them out. My biggest problem with KBC has been the way they package content to look so mind numbing. There used to be a program on KBC similar to Shamba Shape up but my word!! If you ever wanted to catch a few winks just switch on to such type of presentations. Am sure the producers, directors and the other journalists who work at KBC went to the same schools or got the same type of training as their counterparts on the other media stations, but I just cannot understand why they make their programs so dull. You complain about other media houses for entertaining you with politics and soap operas and on the other hand you're complaining about KBC being dull unlike other media houses.....Unataka nini exactly? Unaumwa wapi niki complain? I am advocating for better programs and quality presentation. The other problem with Africans that we have is that we embrace mediocrity, ona sasa! You have missed the point of this thread by a couple of football stadia yet you are here complaining about my post(s). This is a conversation that we must have, you can either be part of it or be the pious commentator. I'm from 2030 but I still can't understand what you're complaining about. Define your expectations first then complain. I have highlighted the expectations for your good self Sir! If you cannot comprehend so far whats going on I would have to leave it at that. “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
The media has failed us !