#1081 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 10:42:35 AM

freiks wrote:
mpobiz wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Thitifini wrote:

Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan?

We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED

We learnt English smile smile smile

I think it's for their governments propaganda back home. If it was meant for us it could be even in simplified kiswahili. They need to show the ruling communist party how hard they are working in Africa and how the chinese immage is improving around the world.

I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese. China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya. There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries.

Having worked with majority of kenyans, i always fear them, anytime a request for materials is made the foreman thinks of how many bags or metal rods he will steal and not how he will make the work better

So true. Really we are our own worst enemies
#1082 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 10:46:36 AM

freiks wrote:
I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese.

China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya.

There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries.

Having worked with majority of kenyans, i always fear them, anytime a request for materials is made the foreman thinks of how many bags or metal rods he will steal and not how he will make the work better

O u c h
#1083 Posted : Friday, January 26, 2018 8:50:54 AM

#1084 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 7:18:47 AM

#1085 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 7:44:40 AM

aemathenge wrote:
freiks wrote:
I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese.

China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya.

There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries.

O u c h

crudely honest
#1086 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 12:10:35 PM

https://www.businessdail...88348-roqq0wz/index.html
#1087 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 3:31:48 PM

[quote=Swenani]

https://www.businessdail...8348-roqq0wz/index.html[/quote]
I hope with higher rates I can finally get a seat

I'm told tour companies have made good business from this
#1088 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 8:35:16 PM

[quote=Swenani]

Kwani it has always been full?

#1089 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 9:05:02 PM

[quote=Swenani]

Kwani it has always been full?

Yes, you have to book 2-3 weeks in advance. The middo class cant get seats because wanjiko has taken all of them. Wanjiko should know her place, huko chania bus.
#1090 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 11:03:02 PM

[quote=Swenani]

What is lift on trucks and who decides the fare applicable.

#1091 Posted : Friday, February 02, 2018 11:23:15 PM

[quote=Swenani]

What is lift on trucks and who decides the fare applicable.

That old train at 700, I think the lunatic was painfully terminated by the despotic duo?

#1092 Posted : Saturday, February 03, 2018 9:48:34 AM

When I asked about the economics of going to Mombasa for the holloi polloi I was called a Nasa mole by the usual suspects.

I ask again. Who is this fool who's going to pay 1200 bob plus 100 bob to Syokimau plus 200 bob from Miritini all for the love of jubilee?

This shall be the biggest economic mess in this country and I'm being nice. Those shainis have a way of giving you money that only your great grand children can pay for.

Lakini, tano tena. Tuendelee. Kama hamtaki tutazima TV.

#1093 Posted : Saturday, February 03, 2018 10:06:37 AM

[quote=Swenani]

Hii ni rower mido or upper mido crass syndrome?
#1094 Posted : Sunday, February 04, 2018 2:30:23 PM

And now freight charge is halved to only kes.35K for 20 TEU.
Tough times!

The latest strategy is to force importers to use SGR. The clearing agents are up in arms. Will most likely end in court.

Someone is really trying to paint this white elephant black.

One month in operation and the reality is sinking in. David Ndii saw it four years ago.
#1095 Posted : Sunday, February 04, 2018 9:38:47 PM

Tough times!

The latest strategy is to force importers to use SGR. The clearing agents are up in arms. Will most likely end in court.

One month in operation and the reality is sinking in. David Ndii saw it four years ago.

Someone said there is no economic benefit of moving cargo at higher speeds than 80km/H and that's what Brazil and New Zealand did...they just refurbished their old lunatic meter gauge...cheaply.

Tano tena estate neanderthals!

#1096 Posted : Sunday, February 04, 2018 10:12:52 PM

Tough times!

Someone said there is no economic benefit of moving cargo at higher speeds than 80km/H and that's what Brazil and New Zealand did...they just refurbished their old lunatic meter gauge...cheaply.

Tano tena estate neanderthals!

That meter gauge that imbeciles plucked?
#1097 Posted : Sunday, February 04, 2018 11:19:43 PM

Infrastructure is not meant to make profit but boost business. It's like roads. Govt should enable infrastructure development and meet most of it's maintenance costs, this will boost business and therefore more tax revenues.
mkeiy
#1098 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 12:20:56 PM

Tough times!

How will they force us? Apart from the large entities,most importers indicate Mombasa as the final destination.
How will they know the ones to bring to Nairobi?
#1099 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 12:48:42 PM

35k is a deal. Just like the pipeline made fuel transport from mbs safe, cheap and efficient, the SGR should make transport of goods safe, cheap and efficient. Removing trucks from the roads also makes the country save billions in road maintenance, and also many lives are saved by reducing truck/road accidents. Hundreds of jobs will be created at the inland container depots and lots of business created for those transporting containers from ICD to final destination.
#1100 Posted : Monday, February 05, 2018 12:51:06 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Tough times!

How will they force us? Apart from the large entities,most importers indicate Mombasa as the final destination.
How will they know the ones to bring to Nairobi?

Kifwa released a statement on Friday. Apparently, KPA has stopped nomination of CFS effective today and that all unnominated containers consigned to importers upcountry have to be railed to Embakasi via SGR.