SGR Progress thus far
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Impunity wrote:Why must it weight to fill up the entire train? It should bring home whatever it gets and the volume will build up mdogo mdogo. Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers. Nkt It will be a loss-making trip in that case. It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats. Kwani ni charity? Moving on. Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods? Lost business, demurrage, penalties, loss of exporters' trust,etc,etc. Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money. The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states. Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait? If I may ask you, why is SGR more expensive than tracking on the road? In my thinking, it should be cheaper. So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense?
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
hardwood wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Impunity wrote:Why must it weight to fill up the entire train? It should bring home whatever it gets and the volume will build up mdogo mdogo. Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers. Nkt It will be a loss-making trip in that case. It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats. Kwani ni charity? Moving on. Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods? Lost business, demurrage, penalties, loss of exporters' trust,etc,etc. Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money. The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states. Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait? If I may ask you, why is SGR more expensive than tracking on the road? In my thinking, it should be cheaper. So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense? @hardwood. If all along you have not seen issues in need of fixing about SGR Cargo, you need prayers. SGR the infrastructure is not the problem, how it's being run for cargo is the issue. SGR Passengers is doing well. It's cheaper and faster. Can you say the same about SGR Cargo as it is currently? Why not use some (not all)common sense and ask yourself "Why is SGR Cargo struggling for business?"Answer that and you'll be good to go. Otherwise,stick to your specialty, sycophancy! On which I give you all the space & time.
mkeiy wrote:hardwood wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Impunity wrote:Why must it weight to fill up the entire train? It should bring home whatever it gets and the volume will build up mdogo mdogo. Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers. Nkt It will be a loss-making trip in that case. It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats. Kwani ni charity? Moving on. Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods? Lost business, demurrage, penalties, loss of exporters' trust,etc,etc. Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money. The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states. Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait? If I may ask you, why is SGR more expensive than tracking on the road? In my thinking, it should be cheaper. So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense? @hardwood. If all along you have not seen issues in need of fixing about SGR Cargo, you need prayers. SGR the infrastructure is not the problem, how it's being run for cargo is the issue. SGR Passengers is doing well. It's cheaper and faster. Can you say the same about SGR Cargo as it is currently? Why not use some (not all)common sense and ask yourself "Why is SGR Cargo struggling for business?"Answer that and you'll be good to go. Otherwise,stick to your specialty, sycophancy! On which I give you all the space & time. You can also use donkeys to ferry your cargo. They will be cheaper and will deliver cargo right to your bedroom.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
hardwood wrote:mkeiy wrote:hardwood wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Impunity wrote:Why must it weight to fill up the entire train? It should bring home whatever it gets and the volume will build up mdogo mdogo. Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers. Nkt It will be a loss-making trip in that case. It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats. Kwani ni charity? Moving on. Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods? Lost business, demurrage, penalties, loss of exporters' trust,etc,etc. Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money. The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states. Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait? If I may ask you, why is SGR more expensive than tracking on the road? In my thinking, it should be cheaper. So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense? @hardwood. If all along you have not seen issues in need of fixing about SGR Cargo, you need prayers. SGR the infrastructure is not the problem, how it's being run for cargo is the issue. SGR Passengers is doing well. It's cheaper and faster. Can you say the same about SGR Cargo as it is currently? Why not use some (not all)common sense and ask yourself "Why is SGR Cargo struggling for business?"Answer that and you'll be good to go. Otherwise,stick to your specialty, sycophancy! On which I give you all the space & time. You can also use donkeys to ferry your cargo. They will be cheaper and will deliver cargo right to your bedroom. @hardwood. Will they be fast enough?
mkeiy wrote:hardwood wrote:mkeiy wrote:hardwood wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Gathige wrote:mkeiy wrote:Impunity wrote:Why must it weight to fill up the entire train? It should bring home whatever it gets and the volume will build up mdogo mdogo. Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers. Nkt It will be a loss-making trip in that case. It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats. Kwani ni charity? Moving on. Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods? Lost business, demurrage, penalties, loss of exporters' trust,etc,etc. Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money. The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states. Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait? If I may ask you, why is SGR more expensive than tracking on the road? In my thinking, it should be cheaper. So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense? @hardwood. If all along you have not seen issues in need of fixing about SGR Cargo, you need prayers. SGR the infrastructure is not the problem, how it's being run for cargo is the issue. SGR Passengers is doing well. It's cheaper and faster. Can you say the same about SGR Cargo as it is currently? Why not use some (not all)common sense and ask yourself "Why is SGR Cargo struggling for business?"Answer that and you'll be good to go. Otherwise,stick to your specialty, sycophancy! On which I give you all the space & time. You can also use donkeys to ferry your cargo. They will be cheaper and will deliver cargo right to your bedroom. @hardwood. Will they be fast enough? But you have said many times that speed does not matter, that what matters is cost and convenience.....i.e to-the-door service.
"There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? Those writings are not meant for you or the employees but the coffers who want to know where their money is really going to. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Member Joined: 1/15/2015 Posts: 681 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? Those writings are not meant for you or the employees but the coffers who want to know where their money is really going to. 60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED"Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Gathige wrote:Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED We learnt English In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Nairobi people should be talking about Metro trains especially the initial one to move people from Daystar university, KNH, Community to city center with overhead tracks through Moi avenue, Selassie, wakulima market, machakos Country bus to Gikomba tking a turn later to Eastleigh, mathare, pangani, ngara central police station, uhuru Hiway, westlands.
Kibaki could have done this as a whisker if he stayed in power like Moi
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Realtreaty wrote:Nairobi people should be talking about Metro trains especially the initial one to move people from Daystar university, KNH, Community to city center with overhead tracks through Moi avenue, Selassie, wakulima market, machakos Country bus to Gikomba tking a turn later to Eastleigh, mathare, pangani, ngara central police station, uhuru Hiway, westlands.
Kibaki could have done this as a whisker if he stayed in power like Moi That was exactly what Igathe wanted to do. Sasa hiyo ni porojo. Forget! On a different note, when is the estimated completion date of Sgr phase 2? BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:Realtreaty wrote:Nairobi people should be talking about Metro trains especially the initial one to move people from Daystar university, KNH, Community to city center with overhead tracks through Moi avenue, Selassie, wakulima market, machakos Country bus to Gikomba tking a turn later to Eastleigh, mathare, pangani, ngara central police station, uhuru Hiway, westlands.
Kibaki could have done this as a whisker if he stayed in power like Moi That was exactly what Igathe wanted to do. Sasa hiyo ni porojo. Forget! On a different note, when is the estimated completion date of Sgr phase 2? Those plans are gathering dust at city hall, even wazua has a dedicated thread for them its nothing about Igathe. More here. 99 Million Nairobi problems Igathe is just one "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
All these keyboard miles and no one ever mentioned kids fare is only Kshs. 350? Now I know! and you too! Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane wrote: All these keyboard miles and no one ever mentioned kids fare is only Kshs. 350? Now I know! and you too! we have boarded sgr many times through twitter and vblogs na hatujaona hio 350 If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
And now freight charge is halved to only kes.35K for 20 TEU. Tough times! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Angelica _ann wrote:Gathige wrote:Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED We learnt English I think it's for their governments propaganda back home. If it was meant for us it could be even in simplified kiswahili. They need to show the ruling communist party how hard they are working in Africa and how the chinese immage is improving around the world. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
mpobiz wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Gathige wrote:Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED We learnt English I think it's for their governments propaganda back home. If it was meant for us it could be even in simplified kiswahili. They need to show the ruling communist party how hard they are working in Africa and how the chinese immage is improving around the world. I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese. China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya. There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries. BBI will solve it :)
2012 wrote:mpobiz wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Gathige wrote:Thitifini wrote:Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan? We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED We learnt English I think it's for their governments propaganda back home. If it was meant for us it could be even in simplified kiswahili. They need to show the ruling communist party how hard they are working in Africa and how the chinese immage is improving around the world. I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese. China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya. There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries. Having worked with majority of kenyans, i always fear them, anytime a request for materials is made the foreman thinks of how many bags or metal rods he will steal and not how he will make the work better Life is an endless adventure
SGR Progress thus far