#1061 Posted : Wednesday, January 10, 2018 5:01:00 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Why must it weight to fill up the entire train?
It should bring home whatever it gets and the volume will build up mdogo mdogo.
Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers.
Nkt

It will be a loss-making trip in that case.
It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats.

Kwani ni charity?

Moving on.
Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods?
Lost business, demurrage, penalties, loss of exporters' trust,etc,etc.

Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference

Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money.

The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states.

Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait?

If I may ask you, why is SGR more expensive than tracking on the road?
In my thinking, it should be cheaper.

So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense?
mkeiy
#1062 Posted : Thursday, January 11, 2018 8:31:21 AM

mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Let the train come to Nairobi even with 30 containers...no need to wait for 104 plus containers.
Nkt

It's like driving a bus from Msa to Nai with only 20 or so passengers and 40 empty seats.

Kwani ni charity?

Moving on.
Can you imagine the agony of the importers whose shipments have been lying on the tracks all that long and have no idea how long it will take before they get their goods?

Public enterprises like railways, water works, sewers etc are not motivated by profit but public good. What the cargo rail cab best do is develop a schedule and move whatever is available. No trader will wait for the train to get full to transport his container whereas there is a truck waiting to deliver same day at a marginal cost difference

Railway is unlike the others you have mentioned. It's not a basic amenity hence it must sustain itself by making money.

The ones that make money are the operators who run wagons/Cabins on the tracks owned by states.

Which operators then? Isn't the contracted Chinese the operator in our case? The one you are saying should bring empty wagons and not have to wait?

So according to you, an "industry player" we should do away with the sgr coz it does not make any economic sense?

@hardwood.

If all along you have not seen issues in need of fixing about SGR Cargo, you need prayers. SGR the infrastructure is not the problem, how it's being run for cargo is the issue. SGR Passengers is doing well. It's cheaper and faster.
Can you say the same about SGR Cargo as it is currently?

Why not use some (not all)common sense and ask yourself "Why is SGR Cargo struggling for business?"

Answer that and you'll be good to go.

Otherwise,stick to your specialty, sycophancy! On which I give you all the space & time.
#1063 Posted : Thursday, January 11, 2018 10:17:35 AM

mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Nkt

Kwani ni charity?

Moving on.

@hardwood.

If all along you have not seen issues in need of fixing about SGR Cargo, you need prayers. SGR the infrastructure is not the problem, how it's being run for cargo is the issue. SGR Passengers is doing well. It's cheaper and faster.

Why not use some (not all)common sense and ask yourself "Why is SGR Cargo struggling for business?"

Otherwise,stick to your specialty, sycophancy! On which I give you all the space & time.

You can also use donkeys to ferry your cargo. They will be cheaper and will deliver cargo right to your bedroom.
mkeiy
#1064 Posted : Thursday, January 11, 2018 1:28:45 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Nkt

Kwani ni charity?

Moving on.

@hardwood.

You can also use donkeys to ferry your cargo. They will be cheaper and will deliver cargo right to your bedroom.

@hardwood.

Will they be fast enough?

#1065 Posted : Thursday, January 11, 2018 2:45:18 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:
mkeiy wrote:
Nkt

Kwani ni charity?

Moving on.

@hardwood.

@hardwood.

Will they be fast enough?

But you have said many times that speed does not matter, that what matters is cost and convenience.....i.e to-the-door service.
#1066 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 12:43:09 AM

Thitifini
#1067 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 2:10:48 AM

Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan?

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#1068 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 2:45:37 AM

Thitifini wrote:

Why do they do the big Chinese characters yet a significant majority of employees are Kenyan?

Those writings are not meant for you or the employees but the coffers who want to know where their money is really going to.
Thitifini
#1069 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 10:04:58 AM

Thitifini wrote:

Those writings are not meant for you or the employees but the coffers who want to know where their money is really going to.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#1070 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 10:17:09 AM

Thitifini wrote:

We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED
#1071 Posted : Thursday, January 18, 2018 5:36:35 PM

Gathige wrote:
Thitifini wrote:

We all know he who pays the piper calls the tune. They are making a statement, and in bold RED

We learnt English smile smile smile
Realtreaty
#1072 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 12:30:47 PM

Nairobi people should be talking about Metro trains especially the initial one to move people from Daystar university, KNH, Community to city center with overhead tracks through Moi avenue, Selassie, wakulima market, machakos Country bus to Gikomba tking a turn later to Eastleigh, mathare, pangani, ngara central police station, uhuru Hiway, westlands.

Kibaki could have done this as a whisker if he stayed in power like Moi
#1073 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 1:14:01 PM

Realtreaty wrote:
Nairobi people should be talking about Metro trains especially the initial one to move people from Daystar university, KNH, Community to city center with overhead tracks through Moi avenue, Selassie, wakulima market, machakos Country bus to Gikomba tking a turn later to Eastleigh, mathare, pangani, ngara central police station, uhuru Hiway, westlands.

That was exactly what Igathe wanted to do. Sasa hiyo ni porojo. Forget!

On a different note, when is the estimated completion date of Sgr phase 2?

#1074 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 4:29:12 PM

Realtreaty wrote:

That was exactly what Igathe wanted to do. Sasa hiyo ni porojo. Forget!

On a different note, when is the estimated completion date of Sgr phase 2?

Those plans are gathering dust at city hall, even wazua has a dedicated thread for them its nothing about Igathe. More here.

99 Million Nairobi problems Igathe is just one
Pesa Nane
#1075 Posted : Friday, January 19, 2018 11:10:42 PM

Shame on you Shame on you All these keyboard miles and no one ever mentioned kids fare is only Kshs. 350? Now I know! and you too!
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#1076 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 9:12:46 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Shame on you Shame on you All these keyboard miles and no one ever mentioned kids fare is only Kshs. 350? Now I know! and you too!

we have boarded sgr many times through twitter and vblogs na hatujaona hio 350
#1077 Posted : Saturday, January 20, 2018 12:17:38 PM

And now freight charge is halved to only kes.35K for 20 TEU.
Tough times!

#1078 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 9:18:47 AM

Gathige wrote:
Thitifini wrote:

I think it's for their governments propaganda back home. If it was meant for us it could be even in simplified kiswahili. They need to show the ruling communist party how hard they are working in Africa and how the chinese immage is improving around the world.

#1079 Posted : Sunday, January 21, 2018 11:13:02 AM

mpobiz wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Thitifini wrote:

I think it's for their governments propaganda back home. If it was meant for us it could be even in simplified kiswahili. They need to show the ruling communist party how hard they are working in Africa and how the chinese immage is improving around the world.

I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese. China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya. There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries.

#1080 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 10:36:54 AM

mpobiz wrote:
Gathige wrote:
Thitifini wrote:

I've worked with Chinese in Kenya and I can assure you that the only Kenyans employed are KYMs even a assistant supervisor has to be Chinese. China's policy is to dominate the world and the only way to do that is to get their over 1b people out of China and into the world. Just go and observe any Chinese company and you'll be shocked by how the levels of control they have in Kenya. There's a reason why Americans and Europeans are not allowing them into their countries.

Having worked with majority of kenyans, i always fear them, anytime a request for materials is made the foreman thinks of how many bags or metal rods he will steal and not how he will make the work better