wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

Reincarnation
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 04, 2018 12:18:15 AM

Indians believe that after death we reincarnate to some animal or "better person" depending on what kind of life you lived.

I recently came across some texts about Dorothy Louise Eady, also known as Omm Sety or Om Seti a Briton who is said to have been an Egyptian previously. If what is said is true (which I think it is) then her case is very compelling.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dorothy_Eady

mkeiy
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 04, 2018 7:37:59 AM

Indians believe that after death we reincarnate to some animal or "better person" depending on what kind of life you lived.

I recently came across some texts about Dorothy Louise Eady, also known as Omm Sety or Om Seti a Briton who is said to have been an Egyptian previously. If what is said is true (which I think it is) then her case is very compelling.

More like a Buddhism belief.

Around 2008 on Discovery Channel they featured a guy or two from Thailand who had memories of their previous lives. They lived less than 300 years ago and took the crew to their former villages and to caves. Their story/recollection was vouched for by the local historians.

According to Buddhists, all creatures reincarnate.
If you live a good life devoid of evil,depending on the degree, the next life you are born as a better creature. You shit all over, the next life you are downgraded. Eg. A horse to a donkey or a handsome guy to super ugly shorty.

The narrator wondered what does a snail has to do?

In the Orient, the old folks make their own "money" to use in the next life. Most pass their time folding a special paper into "after-life money".
mkeiy
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 04, 2018 7:39:51 AM

Double post.
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 04, 2018 1:44:00 PM

labda ni yeye tu ame 'reincarnate' - coz sisi wengine hatukumbuki kitu!!
UpcomingPaperChaser
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 04, 2018 3:45:06 PM

I am always open to such thoughts. I find it so weird and stupidly idiotic for christians and muslims to force us to believe that there is life after death. Everybody should be left to exist with his thoughts, to me, when you die, you die. Nothing much nothing less.
Enjoy every moment of your life, you never know when your time will come.
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 04, 2018 5:50:28 PM

UpcomingPaperChaser wrote:

I am always open to such thoughts. I find it so weird and stupidly idiotic for christians and muslims to force us to believe that there is life after death. Everybody should be left to exist with his thoughts, to me, when you die, you die. Nothing much nothing less.

Well Life after death could also mean - reincarnating. I think its more stupid to think that the beliefs of others don't exist because one was not born into them. That's the tragedy of "modern" religion.

mkeiy wrote:
More like a Buddhism belief.

Around 2008 on Discovery Channel they featured a guy or two from Thailand who had memories of their previous lives. They lived less than 300 years ago and took the crew to their former villages and to caves. Their story/recollection was vouched for by the local historians.

Found other examples

1. Cameron Macauley

2. James Linegar

Life is interesting tho, maybe this can partly explain the medical condition "Foreign accent syndrome"

https://www.thesun.co.uk...id-born-on-mars-boriska/
#7 Posted : Friday, January 05, 2018 12:34:48 PM

Interesting. So the notion of life after death is stupidly idiotic and weird? In and of itself, or just because it comes from Christians and Muslims, who apparently are forcing you?

Kwani, this reincarnation which you 'are open to such thoughts' is what exactly? Is it not life after death, albeit in another form? Kizungumkuti?

#8 Posted : Friday, January 05, 2018 4:11:11 PM

Interesting. So the notion of life after death is stupidly idiotic and weird? In and of itself, or just because it comes from Christians and Muslims, who apparently are forcing you?

Kwani, this reincarnation which you 'are open to such thoughts' is what exactly? Is it not life after death, albeit in another form? Kizungumkuti?

It is appalling how 'independent thinkers', 'atheists', 'agnostics' who think Abrahamic faiths with their creation and supreme being beliefs are myths end up turning round and believing stuff from Eastern religions.

Is someone still an atheist if he beliefs in reincarnation?
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 06, 2018 1:23:33 PM

It is appalling how 'independent thinkers', 'atheists', 'agnostics' who think Abrahamic faiths with their creation and supreme being beliefs are myths end up turning round and believing stuff from Eastern religions.

Is someone still an atheist if he beliefs in reincarnation?

@Lolest, myths are very important things and humans can't thrive without them. The East has its own myths, and these myths have a popularity even among our independent thinkers and c.

There are various reasons for this, and from a mythological view point, Eastern ideas appear to fill a 'lacuna' that Christian theology seems to have left out.

An important question filled in by the lacuna is; is atheism/theism a credible position, given its implications, and practicability in real life, or, is panentheism a more accurate position?

To believe in reincarnation then one would be a panentheist, who is 'opposed' to both theism and atheism.
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 06, 2018 1:30:55 PM

The doctrine of reincarnation originates in formism.

Nowadays, even one completely ignorant of Plato, will ask, 'Form ni gani?' Maybe the idea is so natural or true...

Personally, I think an object oriented universe would demand forms and ideas about forms like reincarnation...

#11 Posted : Saturday, January 06, 2018 1:49:18 PM

Nowadays, even one completely ignorant of Plato, will ask, 'Form ni gani?' Maybe the idea is so natural or true...

Personally, I think an object oriented universe would demand forms and ideas about forms like reincarnation...

I think Paul References "Formism" in 1st Corinthians 13.
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 06, 2018 1:55:10 PM

I think Paul References "Formism" in 1st Corinthians 13.

In what way(s)?
#13 Posted : Monday, May 21, 2018 5:36:30 PM