wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

20 Pages«<1213141516>»
too many road accidents
urstill1
#261 Posted : Saturday, July 16, 2016 2:20:01 PM

Many of the accidents happen due to "careless overtaking". If only people would be a bit patient on the road, many lives would be saved.

state of roads, corruption and bias in allocation of national resources is a key contributor to the fatalities

Hapo umetudanganya. Looking at the accident statistics for the last one month (accidents reported in the media), I can say that there is an even distribution in Coast, Central and Western. The driving and commuting citizens take the most blame, each equally. Hata Uhuru na Raila ni citizens.
#262 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 7:02:54 PM

Nation wrote:
The infamous Salgaa black spot is in the headlines once again, after a family of seven perished there.

In total, this spot on the Nakuru-Eldoret highway has taken several hundred Kenyans and maimed many others.

It would not be an exaggeration to claim that the number of Kenyans who have died at Salgaa this year equals the number killed by terrorism inside Kenya.

How long will it take for us to live by the idiom “once bitten, twice shy”? This black spot has taken many Kenyan lives, yet we do not take the necessary steps to curb this carnage.

As with every serious matter in this country, we seem to erase our memories of these nasty incidents instead of leveraging our anger to ensure positive action.

Although I am not an engineer, the road design and indiscipline of our drivers are the main problems.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...09932-njcrlwz/index.html
#263 Posted : Monday, July 25, 2016 7:12:51 PM

[quote=Nation]The infamous Salgaa black spot is in the headlines once again, after a family of seven perished there.

In total, this spot on the Nakuru-Eldoret highway has taken several hundred Kenyans and maimed many others.

It would not be an exaggeration to claim that the number of Kenyans who have died at Salgaa this year equals the number killed by terrorism inside Kenya.

How long will it take for us to live by the idiom “once bitten, twice shy”? This black spot has taken many Kenyan lives, yet we do not take the necessary steps to curb this carnage.

As with every serious matter in this country, we seem to erase our memories of these nasty incidents instead of leveraging our anger to ensure positive action.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...9932-njcrlwz/index.html[/quote]

Why is it so difficult to convert the section from salgaa to mau summit into a one way road. Then head on crashes would be eliminated and hundreds of lives will be saved. Ama they put bumps on the black spot.
#264 Posted : Saturday, October 29, 2016 12:42:29 AM

the Star wrote:
The death toll from Friday's road accident at Sachang'wan on Nakuru-Eldoret Highway has risen to eight.

This is after three more victims succumbed to their injuries while undergoing treatment at the Molo sub-district hospital and another at the Evans Sunrise hospital in Nakuru.

The 1pm crash involved an Easy Coach bus that was traveling from Nairobi to Eldoret and a 14 seater matatu that was headed to Nakuru.

Most of the casualties were in the matatu.

"The area is a blackspot that has sent hundreds to graves. The road is narrow with sharp corners," he said.

Those people who wear engineer hats havent noticed that the road design at this spot needs work? What will it take?
Fullykenyan
#265 Posted : Sunday, October 30, 2016 3:49:08 PM

the Star wrote:
The death toll from Friday's road accident at Sachang'wan on Nakuru-Eldoret Highway has risen to eight.

This is after three more victims succumbed to their injuries while undergoing treatment at the Molo sub-district hospital and another at the Evans Sunrise hospital in Nakuru.

The 1pm crash involved an Easy Coach bus that was traveling from Nairobi to Eldoret and a 14 seater matatu that was headed to Nakuru.

Most of the casualties were in the matatu.

"The area is a blackspot that has sent hundreds to graves. The road is narrow with sharp corners," he said.

Those people who wear engineer hats havent noticed that the road design at this spot needs work? What will it take?

I think our universities produce nothing but half baked candidates
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#266 Posted : Tuesday, November 01, 2016 8:00:29 AM

watu waangalie mbele na waende mosmos!
#267 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2016 11:02:42 AM

Along Mombasa-Nairobi road this December has seen many accidents and casualties...this morning a TSS bus rolls, kills 4...

#268 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2016 4:26:28 PM

Why can't the govt cancel drivers licenses for drivers who cause accidents, especially public service vehicle drivers.

This thing of a bus driver killing multiple people through dangerous driving and then he is employed by the next bus company will not end unless they are held personally responsible and their source of livelihood is taken away.

Private vehicle drivers can have their licenses suspended for say min 3 months to maybe indefinite cancellation depending on seriousness of accident?
#269 Posted : Wednesday, September 06, 2017 6:14:53 PM

#270 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 2:40:31 PM

It's a bad day for road users. 3 accidents already with the latest happening at Sachangwan. Several feared deadPray Pray

I am just thinking. NTSA should reduce the number of vehicles using Mau Summit- Nakuru road this season as stop gap measure this festive season and i believe this should minimise road accidents along the stretch. How about directing all small vehicles headed to North Rift to Nakuru-Eldama- Ravine-Makutano route while those headed to Western RV and Nyanza to use Njoro-Molo-Mau Summit road. This should leave trucks and buses on their own.
otienosmall
#271 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 4:11:07 PM

Njunge wrote:
It's a bad day for road users. 3 accidents already with the latest happening at Sachangwan. Several feared deadPray Pray

I am just thinking. NTSA should reduce the number of vehicles using Mau Summit- Nakuru road this season as stop gap measure this festive season and i believe this should minimise road accidents along the stretch. How about directing all small vehicles headed to North Rift to Nakuru-Eldama- Ravine-Makutano route while those headed to Western RV and Nyanza to use Njoro-Molo-Mau Summit road. This should leave trucks and buses on their own.

Most accidents at Sachangwan happens because of drivers encroaching on the wrong side of the climbing lane. The easiest remedy to this would be to erect a barrier separating vehicles on the climbing and the ones going downhill; similar to the metal barrier along Thika road.
#272 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 4:11:47 PM

I'm in total shock especially about the Sachawan accident this morning. I was there just 15 minutes before it happened so can count myself and fam lucky.

There road accidents have been blamed on everything including Satan. I hear someone was there praying juzi.

But that's not the problem, is it? When you have police officers and NTSA officials who take hongo on these highways, we shall have a problem. I'm informed that the truck driver was running from an NTSA vehicle giving chase. I mean how stupid are these NTSA fellas. Chasing a 20 ton truck in a blackspot?

Madness.

Instead of giving tenders to alchoholics who visit K1 every day, why not start a real campaign.

"On this stretch of road we don't take bribes"
"Don't bribe the policeman"
"Don't complain when you get a ticket. This cop doesn't take bribes. "
"The fine for speeding on this highway is ksh. 10,000. If you bribe, you shall pay with 6 months imprisonment"
"My police force number is 000111. I don't take bribes. I give tickets"

This nonsense of don't drink and drive has never worked anywhere in the world. It when you meet a cop who is serious with his job that you change your behavior.

You can build a dual carriage way. You can build a mosque and a church right in the middle of the highway. You can have prayer meetings there. You can get a tender for road signs. It shall not work.

Just hire people who do their jobs.

It is that simple.

We know why a cop chases a car on the highway. Not to arrest but to get more hongo. So why continue with this practise.

This now becoming tiring.

NTSA should stop blaming drivers and instead look into itself.

And yes, on this one I blame two people. The driver of the rogue truck who probably didn't have 5k to honga these fellas. And the NTSA fellas who were chasing a madman on a highway, when a radio call ahead would have been easier to implement.

#273 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 5:07:36 PM

Alma - What happened to stopping when stopped by authorities? Anyone running from authorities should be chased to the end
#274 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 5:20:02 PM

Alma - What happened to stopping when stopped by authorities? Anyone running from authorities should be chased to the end

Murchr, all things being equal, people behave rationally.

When you are asked to stop, you stop. It's like when a woman tells you to stop touching her boobs, then you stop. There are others who think it's sexy not to stop. So we have rape clauses for them.

Human beings don't behave rationally.

That is why we need cops and NTSA officials thinking. I doubt if they think anymore.

There are madmen on these highways. The first thing that NTSA and any policeman has to consider is the safety of the innocents. That is why Murchr in other civilised countries. Where a police car has got more power than a mercedes benz, they don't just chase for the heck of it. They follow you mpaka you have no more gas in your car. You are then charged for the original offence, plus given a civil ticket for their mafuta.

Sorry Murchr, gov't officials no longer think about the poor souls, 32 of them who were just travelling home.

They think, ohhhh, huyu mjinga hawezi hii gari yangu ya green. Nitamuonyesha serekali ni nani.

In civilized societies, those NTSA officials would be in the same court room as the driver of the truck.

So these stupid NTSA fellas were flying and chasing a 20 ton truck just to show they have bigger balls. Through their stupidity 32 people have died. 32 families will never meet their family member again. The cost in numbers is unimaginable.

50k coffins vs a radio call that's free is a loss loss proposition.

If you gov't guys don't start going for training in other countries and learn about win loss sitauations, therein lies our problem.

If I was the head of NTSA, I would resign now. But we know their press release. The driver was escaping police and police gave chase. By accident, the driver killed people. It was a stray bullet that yada yada yada.

Tell that to the families today.

And if your work Murchr is chasing people, then get another job. Your job as a policeman is to safeguard the safety of innocents. Not to arrest people. There is a difference in the two. If you have a D-, it is a bit hard to comprehend.

Sad.

#275 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 5:32:06 PM

In the civilized world, when you are asked to stop, you do it, if you run a whole batalion comes after you. Stop writing compositions here the one at fault is the driver sadly people had to die

#276 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 6:36:31 PM

In the civilized world, when you are asked to stop, you do it, if you run a whole batalion comes after you. Stop writing compositions here the one at fault is the driver sadly people had to die

For a guy who's used his airtime to somea me for not understanding Kenya, you are really fresh.

Really fresh.

You are even using a video.

My fren. A Kenyan cop stops you, you look for 100 bob. Kweri rogo?

Do you remember that thread on wazua where every human being on wazua said they pay hongo? It was only me and kularaha. Even maka and mkenyan supported you...

It is not a composition. It is real life Kenya. A cop stops you, you look for money in your wallet. Ama you want me to prove it to you? Do you even need proof ama ni kelele tu?

If you go to Britain. I know for you huko it's too far. My fren, thugs in London use mopeds. Cops won't follow a moped too closely. Coz, as much as they want to arrest the thug, the moped could kill a cucu coming from home.

But you...Endelea na mambo yako of following the law. Ati stop when a corrupt cop stops you. Apana boss. We need Ezekiel Mutua in the police department, not talking about cartoons with porn...Ezekiel Mutua as much as I think he's nuts would do fantatically in the traffic department.

Nikusema tu.

#277 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 6:45:56 PM

For a guy who's used his airtime to somea me for not understanding Kenya, you are really fresh.

Really fresh.

Do you remember that thread on wazua where every human being on wazua said they pay hongo? It was only me and kularaha. Even maka and mkenyan supported you...

It is not a composition. It is real life Kenya. A cop stops you, you look for money in your wallet. Ama you want me to prove it to you? Do you even need proof ama ni kelele tu?

If you go to Britain. I know for you huko it's too far. My fren, thugs in London use mopeds. Cops won't follow a moped too closely. Coz, as much as they want to arrest the thug, the moped could kill a cucu coming from home.

But you...Endelea na mambo yako of following the law. Ati stop when a corrupt cop stops you. Apana boss. We need Ezekiel Mutua in the police department, not talking about cartoons with porn...Ezekiel Mutua as much as I think he's nuts would do fantatically in the traffic department.

Nikusema tu.

Even if he was to be stopped for money, would he rather kill to escape that? Nonsense, the driver was at fault not police or NTSA as you'd want to say
#278 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 7:19:14 PM

Really fresh.

Nikusema tu.

Even if he was to be stopped for money, would he rather kill to escape that? Nonsense, the driver was at fault not police or NTSA as you'd want to say

I know when you get a D minus, cause and effect is a difficult concept.

A man sleeps with a woman
Woman gets pregnant
Man refuses woman
Woman wants an abortion
Abortion Doctor agrees
When people die, abortion doctor is arrested.
The muthafaka who caused the pregnancy never even goes to court.

Cause and effect

In civilised countries

The mad driver and the cop chasing are equaly liable in civil court.

That is not an argument. That is what is.

But you have choices in life.

Choose to change how cops work where they care more about human life than the 5k they were chasing. Or continue dying.

That is not my decision. Maisha ni yenu.

Either change how the NTSA works or die. Shauri yenu.

We have more than 70 deaths in a week...Continue arguing with me. I think you are doing the right thing.

When you die Muchr, we shall RIP

#279 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 7:28:12 PM

When a cop stops you, stop. 50 bob is not worth anybody's life. That said that Sachangwan section of the road, needs redesigning.
#280 Posted : Tuesday, December 12, 2017 7:32:31 PM

Murchr, all things being equal, people behave rationally.

When you are asked to stop, you stop. It's like when a woman tells you to stop touching her boobs, then you stop. There are others who think it's sexy not to stop. So we have rape clauses for them.

Human beings don't behave rationally.

That is why we need cops and NTSA officials thinking. I doubt if they think anymore.

There are madmen on these highways. The first thing that NTSA and any policeman has to consider is the safety of the innocents. That is why Murchr in other civilised countries. Where a police car has got more power than a mercedes benz, they don't just chase for the heck of it. They follow you mpaka you have no more gas in your car. You are then charged for the original offence, plus given a civil ticket for their mafuta.

Sorry Murchr, gov't officials no longer think about the poor souls, 32 of them who were just travelling home.

They think, ohhhh, huyu mjinga hawezi hii gari yangu ya green. Nitamuonyesha serekali ni nani.

In civilized societies, those NTSA officials would be in the same court room as the driver of the truck.

So these stupid NTSA fellas were flying and chasing a 20 ton truck just to show they have bigger balls. Through their stupidity 32 people have died. 32 families will never meet their family member again. The cost in numbers is unimaginable.

50k coffins vs a radio call that's free is a loss loss proposition.

If you gov't guys don't start going for training in other countries and learn about win loss sitauations, therein lies our problem.

If I was the head of NTSA, I would resign now. But we know their press release. The driver was escaping police and police gave chase. By accident, the driver killed people. It was a stray bullet that yada yada yada.

Tell that to the families today.

And if your work Murchr is chasing people, then get another job. Your job as a policeman is to safeguard the safety of innocents. Not to arrest people. There is a difference in the two. If you have a D-, it is a bit hard to comprehend.

Sad.

@alma is talking alot of sense. I wonder why someone who is supposed intelligent like @muchiri cannot see the point!