wazua Sat, Mar 14, 2026

792 Pages«<454455456457458>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#9101 Posted : Thursday, November 30, 2017 8:33:21 PM

Banks always have provisions for bad debts. This is an important thing to remember here because the share price will not depend on any fundamentals in the near term, it will depend on how banks choose to deal with their shares.

A decision to cut losses and get whatever cash they can will will lead to a massive selloff that will drive down share price.

Banks need cash and they are in the business of selling debts every day not sitting and waiting for shares to appreciate. I bet some bankers would be willing to take 50% or less of what they put in if they could get the cash today rather than wait 5 years and hope to recover the whole amount. As soon as serious buyers show up this price will tank precipitously. I hope I am wrong but a steep drop is coming. I am calling a sub 5/= by end of January 2018.

Remember that the banks do not hold the shares as banks but via KQ Lenders Co Ltd with Dr Martin Oduor as the chosen bank representative.. The said company is run by directors via resolutions.. I would love to see any resolution to sell KQ stock at KES 5 while they bought at KES 8.52.. Further the main banks can opt to buy out the leaner ones to stabilize the price.. These are not sheepish shareholders with no clue of what they are doing.. January is not far.. We await your prophesy to materialize

KQ ABP 4.26
gatoho
#9102 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 12:27:01 AM

gatoho wrote:
I got in at 3.8, where am I now

Only two trades occurred at sub KES 10.. Or you mean that you have been holding KQ shares

Yes been holding got in at 3.8, had planned to sell at 6, got greedy when 6 came too soon
Foresight..
#9103 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 7:01:01 AM

gatoho wrote:
I got in at 3.8, where am I now

Only two trades occurred at sub KES 10.. Or you mean that you have been holding KQ shares

Yes been holding got in at 3.8, had planned to sell at 6, got greedy when 6 came too soon

Sit tight and prepare to buy more so as to mitigate massive dilution. Incase you are not ready for the extra purchase via Open Offer, I suggest you sell now but at a significant loss. Meanwhile, imagine that the bugger who bought 3,100 shares at KES 2.1 on trade resumption sold out yesterday at KES 11.35 or today at KES 12

KQ ABP 4.26
Spikes
#9104 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 8:06:57 AM

Spikes wrote:
I haven’t been following the happenings in KQ for some time. The proposition, despite all the drama with IFRS9 and interest caps, has me more interested in banks. Plus there’s KK [higher oil prices hurts KK’s financing costs], Unga [higher maize/wheat prices, subsidies, elections, etc], KenRe, etc to keep me busy.

After reading the posts, here’s what I gathered.

4 “old” KQ shares have been “reverse split” into 1 “new” KQ share.
4 old KQ shares were trading at 4/- = 16/-
1 new KQ sure is trading at 12/-

So anyone who held onto their KQ Shares has lost 25% in one week.

The option of the “Open Offer” [which feels like a Rights Issue] was available even before the restructuring. It was a known known. A price of 1.80 (for the open offer) was being bandied around but is this per new or old share?

Why is KQ looking to raise just 1.5bn from the Open Offer? Even after the Debt:Equity conversion, it seems there’s a huge need for cash in light of fleet renewal or acquisitions as well as higher fuel prices and the debt.

There’s a Mandatory Debt Conversion feature for the banks. What are the terms?
Is KQ Lenders Co locked in before they can sell their shares? How long is the lock-in period?

I wish KQ all the best.

Thanks @ vvs for your input. This is the basis on which we should question the Open Offer and the much dramatized 1:4 share consolidation. In my opinion this stock will trade between 5-8.55 after the dust has settled.
As long as all information pertaining to KQ lenders company lock-in period remains uncertain anything related to stock volatility can happen.

@spikes Never let anyone think on your behalf. The aim of reading is to reduce or eliminate ignorance.. There's no lock in period for KQ Lenders Co Ltd.. As for the 1.5B for the Open Offer, why would existing shareholders expect same number of shares after consolidation without building up their equity contribution.. That sum raised would be pre-emptive defense of proportional ownership, not a figure that can buy a plane or even a significant part of it.. Actually Michael Joseph has clearly stated that 100% of the Open Offer sum shall be used to further settle debt, which is a wise thing.. Finally, if 2.1m shares traded at KES 12.5 yesterday and all the major shareholders bought at KES 8.52, what on earth will drive the share down to KES 5

Elder, I've got you.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#9105 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 9:48:34 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
the deal wrote:
1 trading day to lift-off.. Mark these words, minimum KES 8.52, maximum intra day KES 14. Fair value KES 12.5

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Obiero for the title of Supporter of the Year... KQ should give you free tickets

Hehe.. I accept the award

@obiero How do you value stocks? Fundamentals or speculative information?

Obiero is buy low sell high and move on

I have a mixture of both strategies but I prefer speculation based on inside knowledge via the exchange bar

Fair value KES 12.5 when factoring-in the Open Offer.. Now is absolutely the wrong time to sell and not the most opportune time to buy for existing shareholders.. Though existing shareholders with hearts of steel may accumulate sub KES 22

I am tempted to buy at current price but I shall exercise restraint. Expect a continuous trip upwards to KES 18 upto release of the Open Offer circular followed by a rapid fall down immediately afterwards.. How low it will go shall be anyone's guess, but mine remains KES 12.5

KQ ABP 4.26
Spikes
#9106 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 10:07:46 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
the deal wrote:
1 trading day to lift-off.. Mark these words, minimum KES 8.52, maximum intra day KES 14. Fair value KES 12.5

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Obiero for the title of Supporter of the Year... KQ should give you free tickets

I have a mixture of both strategies but I prefer speculation based on inside knowledge via the exchange bar

Fair value KES 12.5 when factoring-in the Open Offer.. Now is absolutely the wrong time to sell and not the most opportune time to buy for existing shareholders.. Though existing shareholders with hearts of steel may accumulate sub KES 22

I am tempted to buy at current price but I shall exercise restraint. Expect a continuous trip upwards to KES 18 upto release of the Open Offer circular followed by a rapid fall down immediately afterwards.. How low it will go shall be anyone's guess, but mine remains KES 12.5

@ obiero today you've given solid analysis.
Keep the fire blazing.
Though kes 18 is a pipedream.
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#9107 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 12:33:57 PM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
the deal wrote:

Keep the fire blazing.

Let's talk about this same post on 08.12.2017

KQ ABP 4.26
#9108 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 7:22:24 PM

ArrestedDev wrote:
https://www.ft.com/content/2784d0fc-6dad-3a7a-aeb4-f3087c32b619

Strike still on now to that add CDL strike...noma.

God is speaking directly to the management at KQ. I would be glad if I was faced with such a reckless act at this time.. Its now or never.. Time to bring out the stone face

Who should wear a stone face? The one is who mismanaging or the one demanding change?

The notice is not a reckless act, Ngunze is being reckless by releasing results propped up by proceeds of asset sales and threatening to stop sale of tickets. It is a very foolish gesture.

They went and discussed immediately with the god fathers how to counter the strike. They do not care about the interests of other stakeholders when their's are being taken care of?

@Ngunze has indeed dissatisfied me on this latest release.. He should have cancelled the ticket sales for the effective start date of industrial action and announced no-pay for days down. Its reckless to keep selling whereby notice to down tools has already been issued by the two large unions

Stopping sale of tickets at any point is like digging your own grave. This is a very reckless statement and it goes along way to prove how incompetent this fellow is.

In fact, KALPA's notice was carefully worded to protect the safety reputation of the Airline.

I have fingered the general staff at the airline for being nonchalant and the so said carefully worded strike threat is a case in point. The staff want to kill KQ!!!

Ngunze must go. He is the one killing KQ. Wait for the confrontation, the pilots are not backing off this time round.

What else do you need to prove the mismanagement being overseen by this character?

@Ngunze will go, but that will not stop delayed or cancelled flights by a crew that slept at 1824 and calls in sick, or ground crew who pilfer baggage, air hostesses who are shabby and rarely smile, finance guys who suppress ticket sales for personal gain, procurement that seals underhand deals.. Its @Ngunze who initiated the audits. Its @Ngunze who has delivered reduced loss by amazing margins. If given sufficient time, @Ngunze would have made KQ the Pride of Africa

Continue clapping for a corrupt and incompetent individual. What's the role of the management when staff misconduct is detected?????????

Breaking organisation culture takes time.. Line managers must work in concert with top management for real change to occur... KQ has the technology, the fleet, the hub. Its the people agenda that haunts KQ

It starts from the top,period!

Organizational culture is built by each staff at an organization and should not be the role of CEO alone.. The staff at KQ must not be let to kill the airline.. Good riddance to the greedy technical staff http://www.businessdaily...10026-v8iuylz/index.html

KQ ABP 4.26
#9109 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 9:45:33 PM

Ericsson wrote:
This thing traded at KES 3.8 a few days ago and today we see its at KES 5.55. A traders stock like no other. Bound to be the best performing stock for second year in a row. Watu wa fundamentals muende kwa thread ya SCOM au BAT.. Next stop KES 8.52

No chance of it being best performing stock for the year.
It started the year at 6.70 on January 3 2017.

Only time will tell

Time is telling.. Watch and learn

KQ ABP 4.26
Ericsson
#9110 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 9:50:59 PM

Ericsson wrote:
This thing traded at KES 3.8 a few days ago and today we see its at KES 5.55. A traders stock like no other. Bound to be the best performing stock for second year in a row. Watu wa fundamentals muende kwa thread ya SCOM au BAT.. Next stop KES 8.52

Only time will tell

5.85 with consolidation is 23.4.
We are now at 12.45 or 3.11 pre-consolidation
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#9111 Posted : Friday, December 01, 2017 10:45:36 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Only time will tell

Chakula bado jikoni.. Tulia

KQ ABP 4.26
#9112 Posted : Saturday, December 02, 2017 12:07:45 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Only time will tell

KQ is a disaster. The only reason it has not be allowed to die a sudden death is because it owes an arm and a leg to Boeing, General Electric and their associated aircraft leasing companies in Ireland et al.

They have screwed over Wanjiku through Rights, GOK through intergovernmental interventions and local banks through the restructing.

The bottomline is that no airline in the world can break even from ticket sales . The gulf airlines heavily subsidize their airlines to attract tourists, private airlines are running frauds and other carriers are in it for national pride.

As vvs said, the taxpayer carries the burden of KQ, no need to add your personal skin.
#9113 Posted : Saturday, December 02, 2017 3:34:12 AM

Ericsson wrote:

Only time will tell

KQ is a disaster. The only reason it has not be allowed to die a sudden death is because it owes an arm and a leg to Boeing, General Electric and their associated aircraft leasing companies in Ireland et al.

They have screwed over Wanjiku through Rights, GOK through intergovernmental interventions and local banks through the restructing.

The bottomline is that no airline in the world can break even from ticket sales . The gulf airlines heavily subsidize their airlines to attract tourists, private airlines are running frauds and other carriers are in it for national pride.

As vvs said, the taxpayer carries the burden of KQ, no need to add your personal skin.

Exactly how have GoK, KLM and KQ Lenders Co Ltd been screwed while shares they bought at KES 8.52 are now trading at KES 12.5? KQ was once profitable and it will return to profit. GoK support is required and has been given.. The share once rose from KES 9 to over KES 126.. Though past performance should not guide any investment decisions, KQ will make some shrewd people lots of money, but is understandbly not everyone's cup of tea. Only the bold, patient and liquid are expected around here. As for wanjiku, we cannot say whether the share is such a disaster stuff until the Open Offer price and ratio is revealed. Meanwhile watch the share gain value at daily maximum over the next 5-7 trading sessions

KQ ABP 4.26
#9114 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 7:27:11 AM

The rally of a lifetime continues at the NSE today. 64.5B market capitalisation and still counting.. Watch and learn.. http://www.businessdaily...212866-791pdo/index.html

KQ ABP 4.26
#9115 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 7:59:06 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
omega wrote:
@ the exchange bar.. word is out; 7.8B new shares needed to cover 48B conversion of GoK and financiers debt at KES 25B & 23B, respectively.. Share price agreed between parties for purchase is KES 7.2.. Fundamentally, KQ has obtained a new lease of life. Due to this fact, National Assembly has agreed to pass the Sessional Paper 3 in Wednesday's sitting. I sit tight, noting that in stock investment you must be prepared mentally to loose everything or gain it all..

7.8B plus the current issued shares (1.5B) comes to 9.3B.

If we use a profit after tax of 3.5B (2011), which is best result that KQ has managed in the last ten years, then the EPS would be 0.38. With a generous PE of 10, it would then trade at ksh 3.8 per share.

Given the full recovery is a way off, I wouldn't be surprised if KQ traded at below ksh 2 per share.

Even God's would be wrong to let all these prophecies of a tumbili KQ not come true. Fundamentally, we can not be wrong too now.

Six months later..

KQ ABP 4.26
#9116 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 8:09:28 AM

Ericsson wrote:
ARAP CHARLES wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Obiero alisema kq is now ready for takeoff and rally of a life time.
Waiting to see.
Now they are competing with Uchumi in share price

Tulia tuli. Wednesday iko karibu. Once we know that the restructuring is cast in stone, you will witness a rally unseen in many years. Up to 81% gains are expected. Thank me in next few weeks

Price shown is wrong. Correct price is 8.50. We demand to be given access to the NSE server to post the correct price.

hahaha hahaha.... interestingly if we are to be going this way.. everything should be shut down.

Haha. You guys have only three days to laugh at KQ. Money is about to be made

3 days umekuwa ukiimba hazijawahi fika

Watu wameshatengeneza pesa na hii kitu. Read through this thread

Forty years in the deserts of Sinai. Canaan haifiki jameni?

Mockery is a form of flattery

KQ ABP 4.26
#9117 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 9:31:39 AM

Banks always have provisions for bad debts. This is an important thing to remember here because the share price will not depend on any fundamentals in the near term, it will depend on how banks choose to deal with their shares.

A decision to cut losses and get whatever cash they can will will lead to a massive selloff that will drive down share price.

Banks need cash and they are in the business of selling debts every day not sitting and waiting for shares to appreciate. I bet some bankers would be willing to take 50% or less of what they put in if they could get the cash today rather than wait 5 years and hope to recover the whole amount. As soon as serious buyers show up this price will tank precipitously. I hope I am wrong but a steep drop is coming. I am calling a sub 5/= by end of January 2018.

Remember that the banks do not hold the shares as banks but via KQ Lenders Co Ltd with Dr Martin Oduor as the chosen bank representative.. The said company is run by directors via resolutions.. I would love to see any resolution to sell KQ stock at KES 5 while they bought at KES 8.52.. Further the main banks can opt to buy out the leaner ones to stabilize the price.. These are not sheepish shareholders with no clue of what they are doing.. January is not far.. We await your prophesy to materialize

I wonder which of the banks were dumb enough to lend to KQ from 2012 onwards. A glance at the KQ thread in 2012 would have exposed the hole Naikuni and Mbugua were digging for KQ.

A prescient blogger had warned investors about KQ’s Rights scam.
#9118 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 10:18:13 AM

I wonder which of the banks were dumb enough to lend to KQ from 2012 onwards. A glance at the KQ thread in 2012 would have exposed the hole Naikuni and Mbugua were digging for KQ.

A prescient blogger had warned investors about KQ’s Rights scam.

DOA was the term used by the prescient blogger

KQ ABP 4.26
#9119 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 10:53:18 AM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
the deal wrote:

Keep the fire blazing.

From where I stand, the pipedream is gaining momentum

KQ ABP 4.26
kayhara
#9120 Posted : Monday, December 04, 2017 11:02:29 AM

Spikes wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
Spikes wrote:
the deal wrote:

Keep the fire blazing.

From where I stand, the pipedream is gaining momentum

Why is the price not shooting yet there is no supply, I will never understand KQ.
To Each His Own