wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

New term President elect Uhuru
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 21, 2017 9:17:09 PM

Embarrassing start before inauguration.
(Early release of KCPE step in the right direction)

Speculation that Ms Mohammed had solicited congratulations from Mr Johnson was fuelled after diplomats from several countries said Nairobi had sought congratulations from their capitals.

https://amp.ft.com/conte...-11e7-b781-794ce08b24dc

#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 4:57:40 AM

muganda wrote:

Speculation that Ms Mohammed had solicited congratulations from Mr Johnson was fuelled after diplomats from several countries said Nairobi had sought congratulations from their capitals.

#fakenews
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 11:08:26 AM

#fakenews

The Financial Times is a respected publication @harrydre
as now confirmed by the Telegraph and Nation below

The just forgot that Margaret Thatcher said 'Power is like being a lady... if you have to tell people you are, you aren't.

It's not such a big faux pas. I still maintain the greatest respect for Uhuru will lie with getting on with the mandate and over delivering (borrowing the best of Magafuli) - have to ignore opposition distractions to do that.

#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 11:22:56 AM

muganda wrote:

They need to be reminded.. they had accepted and moved on!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
So the call goes like this...
Ms Mohammed: Hey, how are you?
Some Foreign Minister: Hey - What's up? Mumefika wapi?
Ms Mohammed: We are good...By the way - that election process?
Some Foreign Minister: yes...
Ms Mohammed: it's done!
Some Foreign Minister: cool... wow... who won?
Ms Mohammed: Uhuru Kenyatta!
Some Foreign Minister: cool... wow... Wonderful... Congrats!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 6:30:25 PM

I love the optimism. Was in the village over the weekend. Word is "Ngonja uone vile Uhuru atafunga watu wa corruption"."Alikuwa anaogopa uchaguzi na sasa umekwisha".

I will file the above together with, "Mugabe is not bad, its the people around him".

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae
Total borrowing = Ksh 1.749 tr (49 years)

Henry Rotich
Total Borrowing = Ksh 2.252 tr (4.5 years)
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 8:23:00 PM

I love the optimism. Was in the village over the weekend. Word is "Ngonja uone vile Uhuru atafunga watu wa corruption"."Alikuwa anaogopa uchaguzi na sasa umekwisha".

I will file the above together with, "Mugabe is not bad, its the people around him".

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

Please use the same exchange rate.

Also compare reasons and uses of each.

But that is not to say am happy with Rotichs borrowing.
gk
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 8:34:49 PM

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

Why drop figures without putting them into context....You can't engage in such borrowing if you have no development spending plan.

In 2001 before Kibaki came into power we were content with a 200b national bugdet. Today's is 10times bigger but while revenue collection has grown exponentially-like with most nations-it hasn't kept pace with the spending.
Granted we may not get value for some of the borrowed money but in the larger scheme of things the borrowed funds (thanks to limited internal resources) are geared to financing our path to middle income status nation.
At just over 50% our debt to GDP ratio pales in comparison to most developed economies with Japan topping a massive 250%. Oil exporting countries are the tiny minority of low borrowers but are hardly better developed. ..actually it's their money that others use.

The biggest challenge today is actually with devolution which stresses revenue sharing and hence expenditure (mostly recurrent and non-productive development) over wealth creation.

#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 9:01:30 PM

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

Hii ni bar talk CP. Meza ndimu, Uhuru ni Rais!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 10:09:40 PM

Is 28th a public holiday?
#10 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 10:25:58 PM

gk wrote:

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

Why drop figures without putting them into context....You can't engage in such borrowing if you have no development spending plan.

In 2001 before Kibaki came into power we were content with a 200b national bugdet. Today's is 10times bigger but while revenue collection has grown exponentially-like with most nations-it hasn't kept pace with the spending.
Granted we may not get value for some of the borrowed money but in the larger scheme of things the borrowed funds (thanks to limited internal resources) are geared to financing our path to middle income status nation.
At just over 50% our debt to GDP ratio pales in comparison to most developed economies with Japan topping a massive 250%. Oil exporting countries are the tiny minority of low borrowers but are hardly better developed. ..actually it's their money that others use.

The biggest challenge today is actually with devolution which stresses revenue sharing and hence expenditure (mostly recurrent and non-productive development) over wealth creation.

This comparison of Kenya's debt to GDP ratio to developed economies is absurd. let's compare Kenya with it's peers of the same ratios and see where the peers are at
#11 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 10:28:27 PM

Enthusiasm of "junior" staff ama it's obeying orders?

Two sources confirmed that Johnson Weru, Kenya’s ambassador to Brussels, sent the following email to senior officials: “Following the Supreme Court of kenya ruling early today and which has upheld the victory of president Kenyatta, I am kindly requesting your indulgence in preparing and dispatching a suitable congratulations message. I am at hand for any quick consultations.”
#12 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 10:52:32 PM

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

@FRM2011, The campaign period is now over and let's stop peddling mathogothanio economics. Let's now tone done and get back to work.
#13 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 10:56:00 PM

Shak wrote:
Is 28th a public holiday?

Yes
Thitifini
#14 Posted : Wednesday, November 22, 2017 11:31:20 PM

gk wrote:

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

This comparison of Kenya's debt to GDP ratio to developed economies is absurd. let's compare Kenya with it's peers of the same ratios and see where the peers are at

Well, since we at wazua are still not sure whether our peers are Somalia et.al or Malysia et.al., let me chip in for between regimes;

1998 our Debt/GDP ratio was 67%
Went down to 59% in 2002
Up again to 64% in 2003
Went down to 43% in 2008
Went Up to 52% in 2012.

Then the current 2017 figure of 54.3%

Figures based on KNBS data....

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#15 Posted : Thursday, November 23, 2017 12:05:08 AM

The campaign period is over as @gathige put it. Those who support Jubilee, your work was done on 26th Oct. The only patriotic duty you have now is to hold the government accountable. Not to defend it.

I put some actual figures up there. In 4.5 years, Jubilee has borrowed more than what the previous three presidents borrowed in 49 years.

Can we see value ? This is a question each of us can answer for themselves. It is okay to wear political goggles to read the answer.

But lets drop some arguments on this forum. GDP doesn't pay debts. Revenue does. We are approaching 40% debt service to revenue ratio. Is it sustainable ? To spend 2/- out of every 5/- to pay debts. That's not for me to say.

The previous 3 administrations did some amazing infrastructure development. I have started looking at Moi era with some respect.

Think the 7-folks hydro dams, Mombasa port, Nyali bridge, Makupa causeway, Mombasa-Nairobi-Malaba highway, Thika road done twice, all the airports, MTRH, Moi university built from scratch, Maseno, JKUAT, Nyayo wards, PGH and level 5 hospitals all over.

We have irrigation projects across the country. From Ahero to Mwea to Bura e.t.c. The list can go on and on.

If you love Uhuru, then let him know the clock has started ticking to secure his legacy. And it looks like "mission impossible".
#16 Posted : Thursday, November 23, 2017 2:10:39 AM

Gathige wrote:

In the meantime......

James Gichuru
Mwai Kibaki
Arthur Magugu
George Saitoti
Musalia Mudavadi
Simeon Nyachae
Francis Masakhalia
Chris Okemo
Chris Obure
Daudi Mwiraria
Amos Kimunya
John Michuki
Uhuru Kenyatta
Njeru Githae

Henry Rotich

@FRM2011, The campaign period is now over and let's stop peddling mathogothanio economics. Let's now tone done and get back to work.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly mathogo.... econ
Leo nimecheka yangu tote.
#17 Posted : Thursday, November 23, 2017 4:26:12 AM

The campaign period is over as @gathige put it. Those who support Jubilee, your work was done on 26th Oct. The only patriotic duty you have now is to hold the government accountable. Not to defend it.

I put some actual figures up there. In 4.5 years, Jubilee has borrowed more than what the previous three presidents borrowed in 49 years.

Can we see value ? This is a question each of us can answer for themselves. It is okay to wear political goggles to read the answer.

But lets drop some arguments on this forum. GDP doesn't pay debts. Revenue does. We are approaching 40% debt service to revenue ratio. Is it sustainable ? To spend 2/- out of every 5/- to pay debts. That's not for me to say.

The previous 3 administrations did some amazing infrastructure development. I have started looking at Moi era with some respect.

Think the 7-folks hydro dams, Mombasa port, Nyali bridge, Makupa causeway, Mombasa-Nairobi-Malaba highway, Thika road done twice, all the airports, MTRH, Moi university built from scratch, Maseno, JKUAT, Nyayo wards, PGH and level 5 hospitals all over.

We have irrigation projects across the country. From Ahero to Mwea to Bura e.t.c. The list can go on and on.

If you love Uhuru, then let him know the clock has started ticking to secure his legacy. And it looks like "mission impossible".

Help us do this by spreading facts and objective criticism.For now alot of hat is coming from NRM are pure lies and propaganda.And you seem to be the Chief of Mission in that unit.

With the exit of Kony and Ouru in 2022 I see Kenya beginning to embrace issue based politics as opposed to the current situation where we are shutting out Kony from Statehouse while you are trying to squeeze him him.
#18 Posted : Thursday, November 23, 2017 5:12:24 AM

Reli sio cheap hivyo!
#19 Posted : Thursday, November 23, 2017 6:38:25 AM

Thats true, when i checked SGR was done during Nyayo era, Outering road dualing during mzee kenyatta era in 1974, Isiolo airport by kevake, modernization of JKIA to attain accredition from USA by Moi regime yes and excessive borrowing by Uhuruto kubaffs, ooh i didnt remember that huduma centres were established by the former PM too
#20 Posted : Thursday, November 23, 2017 9:48:49 AM

I have started looking at Moi era with some respect.

I DEMAND an apology.

I hold you in great admiration but the moment you start using Moi Error and Respect in the same sentence .......