wazua Fri, Nov 1, 2024

773 Pages«<446447448449450>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#8941 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 6:59:51 AM

Ngunze we appreciate your time and smart work in restoring the Pride of Africa http://www.businessdaily...88712-7vnex5z/index.html

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#8942 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 8:44:33 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
ZILLION wrote:
Kenya Airways Plc (Suspension from Trading): Please note that trading in Kenya Airways Plc (KQ) has been suspended from trading between November 15, 2017 and November 28, 2017 to enable the company undertake a share split and simultaneous consolidation of Kenya Airways Plc shares which forms part of the company's consolidation process. The suspension in trading was approved by CMA on November 14, 2017.

Why the very discreet and sudden announcement? I believe this was not mentioned anywhere in the prior KQ on-goings? I don't understand the logic behind the suspension altogether, book closure would have sufficient.

It is noted that a cautionary announcement had been in effect for over 3 months.. The suspension should come as no surprise.. Major company announcements were due in the coming weeks hence fair value pricing would be near impossible

Why suspend trading when the very task of the market is to price in all developments - good and ugly alike- till fair value or a semblance of fair value is achieved?

@lochazindex just because the share is suspended does not mean that it is not being repriced by investors.. The day it shall reappear on the stock ticker, KQ will emerge with a price that could possibly not be below KES 8.52

Repricing by investors is done through trading - bids and asks- in the market...suspension (at a moments notice) denies them that opportunity to realize profits or losses as they so wish. Investors are now reduced to self deluding appraisals with no arbiter. Suspension in this case looks like a smoke and mirrors game.

Why would you require an arbiter for such a clear cut transaction. It defeats me that fully grown people can't figure out the pricing on KQ shares

Then why do you need a stock exchange if you know what the KQ shares are worth?
Why pump up KQ when you should quietly set up a "Share Buying Thrift" and buy out the airline? I know a bank whose CEO would happily sell you the shares it owns via KQ Lenders Co. In fact, if you can offer the banks what they are paying for the shares, they will happily sell you 38% of KQ.

Warren Buffett (BH) doesn't shout from the rooftops what he is buying but quietly acquires what he can. It's only when the SEC requires him to disclose his purchases (& sales) does he do so.

Dear old man. I thought wazua exists to aid each other to make some money. It's not my style to enjoy a rally on my own . Now, of course the stock exchange is needed but the suspension is most welcome to lock in the value and ensure upthrust upon resumption.. Watch and learn

I have been doing just that since 2012!
#8943 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 9:33:49 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
ZILLION wrote:
Kenya Airways Plc (Suspension from Trading): Please note that trading in Kenya Airways Plc (KQ) has been suspended from trading between November 15, 2017 and November 28, 2017 to enable the company undertake a share split and simultaneous consolidation of Kenya Airways Plc shares which forms part of the company's consolidation process. The suspension in trading was approved by CMA on November 14, 2017.

Why the very discreet and sudden announcement? I believe this was not mentioned anywhere in the prior KQ on-goings? I don't understand the logic behind the suspension altogether, book closure would have sufficient.

It is noted that a cautionary announcement had been in effect for over 3 months.. The suspension should come as no surprise.. Major company announcements were due in the coming weeks hence fair value pricing would be near impossible

Why suspend trading when the very task of the market is to price in all developments - good and ugly alike- till fair value or a semblance of fair value is achieved?

@lochazindex just because the share is suspended does not mean that it is not being repriced by investors.. The day it shall reappear on the stock ticker, KQ will emerge with a price that could possibly not be below KES 8.52

Repricing by investors is done through trading - bids and asks- in the market...suspension (at a moments notice) denies them that opportunity to realize profits or losses as they so wish. Investors are now reduced to self deluding appraisals with no arbiter. Suspension in this case looks like a smoke and mirrors game.

Why would you require an arbiter for such a clear cut transaction. It defeats me that fully grown people can't figure out the pricing on KQ shares

Why pump up KQ when you should quietly set up a "Share Buying Thrift" and buy out the airline? I know a bank whose CEO would happily sell you the shares it owns via KQ Lenders Co. In fact, if you can offer the banks what they are paying for the shares, they will happily sell you 38% of KQ.

Warren Buffett (BH) doesn't shout from the rooftops what he is buying but quietly acquires what he can. It's only when the SEC requires him to disclose his purchases (& sales) does he do so.

Dear old man. I thought wazua exists to aid each other to make some money. It's not my style to enjoy a rally on my own . Now, of course the stock exchange is needed but the suspension is most welcome to lock in the value and ensure upthrust upon resumption.. Watch and learn

I agree. But your investment style and choices are overly cautios.. Steady return without much wealth multiplication

#8944 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 9:43:57 AM

But there is a second lesson in Graham’s approach. The only thing
you can be confident of while forecasting future stock returns is that
you will probably turn out to be wrong. The only indisputable truth that
the past teaches us is that the future will always surprise us—always!
And the corollary to that law of financial history is that the markets will
most brutally surprise the very people who are most certain that their
views about the future are right. Staying humble about your forecast-
ing powers, as Graham did, will keep you from risking too much on a
view of the future that may well turn out to be wrong.
iris
#8945 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 11:21:56 AM

#8946 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 11:39:46 AM

iris wrote:

This is an old man's guide to investment. The young should be bold and brave. Hii pesa hatuendi nayo binguni au jehanam. Risk it all so long as you don't expose your daily income.. Put family first

Pesa Nane
#8947 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 12:09:03 PM

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#8948 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 12:16:42 PM

lochaz-index wrote:
ZILLION wrote:

I agree. But your investment style and choices are overly cautios.. Steady return without much wealth multiplication

Warren Buffett talks of the "Power of Compounding" ...
KQ isn't run by its owners like Facebook or Microsoft or Apple. [Well, back in the day Microsoft was run by Gates & Allen and then Ballmer who were part of the original team. Apple saw Jobs in and then out and back in as a hands-on owner.]

Owners can get ambitious [Paunrana of ARM] but they lose more than a salary earning manager. Look at Equity under JM. No quarter given in his fight vs KQ.
#8949 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 12:20:50 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

What was the conversion price?
What was the loan owed to the banks?
I see Equity managed to get the GoK guarantee increased to $225mn i.e. an additional $50mn above the new loans banks are supposed to make.
#8950 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 12:31:31 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

Excellent
They

Ericsson
#8951 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 12:32:59 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:

I had already predicted this shareholding distribution if you look at my post #8874 where I mentioned KQ lenders will have 2.2bn shares equivalent to a stake of 38.1%
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#8952 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 1:01:07 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

I had already predicted this shareholding distribution if you look at my post #8874 where I mentioned KQ lenders will have 2.2bn shares equivalent to a stake of 38.1%

Yaaani @maka have more shares than @obiero smile smile smile
#8953 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 1:10:58 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

Sasa tukupe t-shirt ama

Ericsson
#8954 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 1:16:47 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

Sasa tukupe t-shirt ama

Chunguza wapi uliteleza ulipotuambia kutakuwa na 29bn shares which will then be consolidated on a ratio of 1:4 to give 7.4bn issued shares for KQ
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ebenyo
#8955 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 2:16:05 PM

Sasa kama wamesuspend shares ya kq from trading,si mi naona mtu hapa akilala njaa.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#8956 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 2:31:54 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Pesa Nane wrote:

Sasa tukupe t-shirt ama

Chunguza wapi uliteleza ulipotuambia kutakuwa na 29bn shares which will then be consolidated on a ratio of 1:4 to give 7.4bn issued shares for KQ

Jamii Bora opted out and the loan repayments for September and October were settled hence lower issued shares. This is relatively obvious

#8957 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 4:23:04 PM

So what will the price be when this opens on Nov.29? Banks got shares at 2.13 so they can make a profit selling at 2.15. Who wants to hold shares when you can have cash?
mamilli
#8958 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 4:28:56 PM

So what will the price be when this opens on Nov.29? Banks got shares at 2.13 so they can make a profit selling at 2.15. Who wants to hold shares when you can have cash?

Swali ni watauzia nani? let it not be lost in you that they were coerced into this marriage.
Never lose your position in a bull market,BTFD.
#8959 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 4:48:35 PM

mamilli wrote:

Swali ni watauzia nani? let it not be lost in you that they were coerced into this marriage.

Banks bought at KES 2.13 prior to consolidation..

Spikes
#8960 Posted : Thursday, November 16, 2017 4:52:55 PM

There's upcoming consolidation in the ratio 4:1 which @ obiero asserts will skyrocket this crap from restructuring price of kes 2.13 to kes 8.52 on 29th Nov. Other schools of thought maintain a contrary opinion in which dust is expected to settle with a dip of kes 1.5 .
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”