wazua Sat, Dec 27, 2025

19 Pages«<1516171819>
Round 2 results & updates: Ouru vs Kenyatta!
#321 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 8:21:46 PM

What's the reason behind the president's refusal to sign the election ammendment Bill and what are the implications if nasa goes to the supreme court.
#322 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 8:31:20 PM

What's the reason behind the president's refusal to sign the election ammendment Bill and what are the implications if nasa goes to the supreme court.

Bill is law already
#323 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 8:34:49 PM

radio wrote:

Bill is law already

The bill amendments will be applicable to any future election(s)...now even any judge can swear in Ouru!
Liv
#324 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 8:51:33 PM

radio wrote:

Bill is law already

The bill became law on 27th October....it can't be apply retrospectively.
Liv
#325 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 8:53:39 PM

radio wrote:

Bill is law already

The bill amendments will be applicable to any future election(s)...now even any judge can swear in Ouru!

The president can only be sworn in by the chief justice or the DCJ in the absence of the CJ. That's the constitution. No other judge can do it.

#326 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 9:06:50 PM

If the swearing in falls on Saturday according to naswa calculations, will they force Maraga to go swear in, he will sign the papers on Friday and send mwilu to show some funny objects to the crowd, watu wengine, kila kitu ni shida na makelele na problems, complaints e.t.c, sasa mambo na swearing in, swearing in can be any place any time, Queen Elizabeth of England was "sworn in" up a tree in Nyeri.

2) The President-elect shall be sworn in on the first Tuesday following--
#327 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 9:13:35 PM

Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

The president can only be sworn in by the chief justice or the DCJ in the absence of the CJ. That's the constitution. No other judge can do it.

Have you read the amendments?
#328 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 9:38:32 PM

Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
If the amendments say otherwise they are unconstitutional and therefore null and void to the extent of the inconsistency. Hiyo you don't even need to be a lawyer to understand..
#329 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 9:48:47 PM

quicksand wrote:
Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
If the amendments say otherwise they are unconstitutional and therefore null and void to the extent of the inconsistency. Hiyo you don't even need to be a lawyer to understand..

So regardless of the amendments the Constitution is still supreme. Naona NASA MPs wakikula Mpesa hapa mbele to amend the Constitution for my fren smile
Liv
#330 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 9:56:19 PM

Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

I have read it... I think you are displaying your ignorance now...lol ... there was nothing in the elections bill amendments about swearing in of the president.

#331 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 10:01:06 PM

Liv wrote:
Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

I have read it... I think you are displaying your ignorance now...lol ... there was nothing in the elections bill amendments about swearing in of the president.

Maybe it was removed. The draft I had seen had it included to take maraga.
#332 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 10:04:23 PM

Liv wrote:
Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

Maybe it was removed. The draft I had seen had it included.

Initially there was, that any judge of the supreme court could do it ....... As in swear in the PORK elect!
Liv
#333 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 10:06:07 PM

In 2013, the us CJ made an official private swearing in of Obama, followed by a symbolic public for the wanjikus, if you know about BILLS, kama umesoma about bills, you may understand why a swearing in can be facilitated asap and the one of Uhuru park, later, the official one is the most important, and if Uhuru, Justin Muturi na Maraga wakiweka kidole, hii bill inapita na pesa inatoka, that is the REAL swearing in jinga wewe!Uhuru can be sworn in SECRET na hukauna kitu utafanya, wewe unasign hizo docs wapi ama nikuona video na drama tu kama mjinga, kumbaff wewe. For your information when the three ascent to a common bill, weka katiba kando!

This is misreading. Obama missed a word in his earlier public swearing in... which was noted later after the event.

He was sworn in privately to repeat and ensure he said all the words as legally required. In Kenya the swearing of the president is described clearly in the constitution. It has to be done in a public place and during the day.

Liv
#334 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 10:14:26 PM

quicksand wrote:

138 (2) If two or more candidates for President are nominated, an
election shall be held in each constituency.

Clear as day, absolutely no wiggle room.
It is annoying because the opposition has instigated this, but I am not seeing a way around it. The politicos need to
find a way of having elections in those 25 constituencies one way or another or a legal crisis will ensue

IEBC and JP are relying on subsidiary legislation to counter this. They would perhaps argue in court that the Act was to bring clarity

NASA on the other hand will argue that the section of the Act that says you can declare results without all constituencies is void!

For how long should the country have waited till it was practical for IEBC to hold repeat elections in kavirondo? 1 day, 1 week, 1 month, 1 year, 1 decade...while baba and the local leaders there have stated that no repeat elections will ever be held there? The country has to move on. Choices have consequences.

Also the decision by IEBC to announce winner means that nyanza votes dont matter in kenya's politics since they are insignificant.

That's not what it means. It means if you stop the elections body from conducting the elections, they will go ahead and tally results from the rest of Kenya.

The legality of IEBC's decision will head to court nonetheless.

The problem with the law is you can make 2 opposing arguments and they both sound very sensible.
Ridiculous.
My money however, is on conservative Maraga throwing this poll out.

The SC must also take into account the following clause in the constitution

Article 81:

General principles for the electoral system

The electoral system shall comply with the following principles—

(e)free and fair elections, which are—

(i) by secret ballot;
(ii) free from violence, intimidation, improper influence or corruption;
(iii) conducted by an independent body;
(iv) transparent; and
(v) administered in an impartial, neutral, efficient, accurate and accountable manner
#335 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 10:36:07 PM

Liv wrote:
In 2013, the us CJ made an official private swearing in of Obama, followed by a symbolic public for the wanjikus, if you know about BILLS, kama umesoma about bills, you may understand why a swearing in can be facilitated asap and the one of Uhuru park, later, the official one is the most important, and if Uhuru, Justin Muturi na Maraga wakiweka kidole, hii bill inapita na pesa inatoka, that is the REAL swearing in jinga wewe!Uhuru can be sworn in SECRET na hukauna kitu utafanya, wewe unasign hizo docs wapi ama nikuona video na drama tu kama mjinga, kumbaff wewe. For your information when the three ascent to a common bill, weka katiba kando!

This is misreading. Obama missed a word in his earlier public swearing in... which was noted later after the event.

He was sworn in privately to repeat and ensure he said all the words as legally required. In Kenya the swearing of the president is described clearly in the constitution. It has to be done in a public place and during the day.

He reversed the sequence which happened first, public & private. I just laughed and decided to let it pass. Make google not goggles your friend smile smile smile
#336 Posted : Monday, October 30, 2017 11:18:17 PM

Liv wrote:
Liv wrote:
radio wrote:

Bill is law already

Maybe it was removed. The draft I had seen had it included.

Initially there was, that any judge of the supreme court could do it ....... As in swear in the PORK elect!

Anyone with a copy of the draft? Washiku pls check your folders.
#337 Posted : Tuesday, October 31, 2017 4:08:14 AM

Article 141. Assumption of office of President
(1) The swearing in of the President-elect shall be in public before the Chief Justice, or, in the absence of the Chief Justice, the Deputy Chief Justice.
(2) The President-elect shall be sworn in on the first Tuesday following--
(a) the fourteenth day after the date of the declaration of the result of the presidential election, if no petition has been filed under Article 140; or
(b) the seventh day following the date on which the court renders a decision declaring the election to be valid, if any petition has been filed under Article 140.
#338 Posted : Tuesday, October 31, 2017 9:44:54 AM

#339 Posted : Tuesday, October 31, 2017 11:04:54 AM

Liv wrote:

He reversed the sequence which happened first, public & private. I just laughed and decided to let it pass. Make google not goggles your friend smile smile smile

Pole sister,but what you did is equal to "stone throwing" tactics in by books, and by the standards of most forums, but let me be the gentleman as usual and say sorry first.
#340 Posted : Tuesday, October 31, 2017 12:08:08 PM

Am tempted to call her names but in the spirit of peace I will not.

We know who she is working for.