Vallerrie wrote:
I know someone who was harassed for being in a Camo (combat) trouser. Is it illegal by law?
Pardon if my post looks funny, I'm doing this from a phone.

its illegal

Why do they then allow sale of camo shorts and trousers in outlets in kenya for kids? Or are there specific colors?

You can be charged with personation under Penal Code Section 382 and 384 of the Penal Code

do you mean impersonation?

nope its personation... from the word personate;TO PERSONATE, crim. law. The act of
assuming the character of another
without lawful authority, and, in such
character, doing something to his
prejudice, or to the prejudice of
another, without his will or consent.

Section 382 and 384 of the Penal Code and Secrtion 101 (1) of the National police Service Act and Section 279 of the Kenya Defence Forces Act CAP 25 will sort out any person puttting on Combat gear. Imprisonment is 1 year...but this are archaic laws that we should do away with..

The combat gear must be proven to be authnetic bro....hapo ndio iko chida!!!!

They normally take your photo while wearing the combat and anyway by the time you get to that stage you will have suffered in remand if you can't raise the bail.However smart cops would rather confiscate the combat and release you on freebond and then hire out the combat to gangsters or sell it.

so how often do they hire you?

The KDF Act does not apply to civilians. You cannot charge a civilian under the KDF Act.
WHO DARES WINS
Vallerrie
#22 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:19:41 PM

I'll take McReggae's word for it. It it ain't authentic, it ain't illegal.
Thanks for the feedback guys.
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 6:14:41 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
I have both a camo t shirt and camo shorts...but those cannot be called combat gear surely!

Archaic laws!

Why do you want to put on combat gear, whether authentic or otherwise, if you are not a policeman or KDF?
In this Al shabaab era, you are putting yourself at risk. But again why?
Kama unataka kuingia jeshi, si u apply and put on official clothes.
Assume there was a uniform for prezzo, then every tom, dick and harry puts on the same attire. would it be nice?

I see guys doing that as childish and growing up slowly.
I have never respected them while clad in those tu cheap camoz.
Shame on you Shame on you

#24 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 6:27:48 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
I have both a camo t shirt and camo shorts...but those cannot be called combat gear surely!

Archaic laws!

Why do you want to put on combat gear, whether authentic or otherwise, if you are not a policeman or KDF?
In this Al shabaab era, you are putting yourself at risk. But again why?
Kama unataka kuingia jeshi, si u apply and put on official clothes.
Assume there was a uniform for prezzo, then every tom, dick and harry puts on the same attire. would it be nice?

I see guys doing that as childish and growing up slowly.
I have never respected them while clad in those tu cheap camoz.
Shame on you Shame on you

@Um Sayala...I dont think this is a fair comment, just to be polite. You are at liberty to wear what you want so long as it hurts nobody. If I may ask why do you wear a suit or any other item of clothing and you are not a EUROPEAN for that matter?
@Impunity...Asi...when did you grow up?
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 7:46:43 PM

Vallerrie wrote:

Dangerous conclusion. Especially when one can commit a crime with a 'mbonoko'. The critical matter here is how the police perceive you and how you are conducting yourself.

Then you can show that the clothes aren't 'authentic'.

And I think you also need to know people. I hope Mcreggae can rescue you from officers.
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:01:33 PM

marko wrote:
Coolio wrote:
Vallerrie wrote:
I know someone who was harassed for being in a Camo (combat) trouser. Is it illegal by law?

its illegal

Why do they then allow sale of camo shorts and trousers in outlets in kenya for kids? Or are there specific colors?

You can be charged with personation under Penal Code Section 382 and 384 of the Penal Code

nope its personation... from the word personate;TO PERSONATE, crim. law. The act of

Section 382 and 384 of the Penal Code and Secrtion 101 (1) of the National police Service Act and Section 279 of the Kenya Defence Forces Act CAP 25 will sort out any person puttting on Combat gear. Imprisonment is 1 year...but this are archaic laws that we should do away with..

They normally take your photo while wearing the combat and anyway by the time you get to that stage you will have suffered in remand if you can't raise the bail.However smart cops would rather confiscate the combat and release you on freebond and then hire out the combat to gangsters or sell it.

The KDF Act does not apply to civilians. You cannot charge a civilian under the KDF Act.

This is the only provision in the act that allows the KDF to try someone in a civillian court go read and come we compare notes....the other offences relates to commissioned officers and they are therefore court martialled
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:04:35 PM

Vallerrie wrote:

Hope you'll have enough time to convince al shabab that it's fake before they behead you. Or convince the cops before they shoot the 'most wanted criminal who has been posing as a cop in stolen police/military uniform'.
Vallerrie
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:15:47 PM

Vallerrie wrote:

Hope you'll have enough time to convince al shabab that it's fake before they behead you. Or convince the cops before they shoot the 'most wanted criminal who has been posing as a cop in stolen police/military uniform'.

Great, just great! *Rips my camo skinny pants*
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 8:24:51 PM

marko wrote:
Coolio wrote:
Vallerrie wrote:

its illegal

This is the only provision in the act that allows the KDF to try someone in a civillian court go read and come we compare notes....the other offences relates to commissioned officers and they are therefore court martialled

@marko and the rest....

Cap 25 - Kenya Defence Forces Act

Section 279. (1) A person who—

(a) without authority, uses or wears any service decoration, uniform, or any badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem supplied or authorized by the President or the Defence Council;

(b) uses or wears any uniform, decoration, badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem so nearly resembling any service decoration or any badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem supplied or authorised, as to be calculated to deceive;

(c) falsely represents himself or herself to be a person who is or has been entitled to use or wear any service uniform, decoration or any badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem supplied or authorized as; or

(d) purchases or takes in pawn any service uniform, decoration awarded to any member of the Defence Forces, or solicits or procures any person to sell or pledge any such decoration, or acts for any person in the sale or pledging thereof,

commits an offence under this section and shall be liable, on conviction by a CIVIL COURT, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year.

(2) Despite provisions under subsection (1)(a),(b) and (c), a person shall not be prohibited from wearing brooches or ornaments representing service badges.

#30 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 9:54:33 PM

LIKE SERIOUSLY? HATA KAMA NI QUOTING JAMENI.
HADI QUOTE BECAME INVISIBLE!

marko wrote:
Coolio wrote:
Vallerrie wrote:

its illegal

@marko and the rest....

(a) without authority, uses or wears any service decoration, uniform, or any badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem supplied or authorized by the President or the Defence Council;

(b) uses or wears any uniform, decoration, badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem so nearly resembling any service decoration or any badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem supplied or authorised, as to be calculated to deceive;

(c) falsely represents himself or herself to be a person who is or has been entitled to use or wear any service uniform, decoration or any badge, insignia of rank, wound stripe or emblem supplied or authorized as; or

(d) purchases or takes in pawn any service uniform, decoration awarded to any member of the Defence Forces, or solicits or procures any person to sell or pledge any such decoration, or acts for any person in the sale or pledging thereof,

commits an offence under this section and shall be liable, on conviction by a CIVIL COURT, to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year.

(2) Despite provisions under subsection (1)(a),(b) and (c), a person shall not be prohibited from wearing brooches or ornaments representing service badges.

#31 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 10:30:26 PM

@essyk...simimi...
#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 24, 2017 5:13:28 PM

When was military clad legalized for civilians?

#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 24, 2017 5:31:26 PM

When did sleeveless tops and tight pants become military fatigue? Could these be the people being mistaken for military in preparation for elections?
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 24, 2017 5:40:48 PM

Gathige wrote:

When did sleeveless tops and tight pants become military fatigue? Could these be the people being mistaken for military in preparation for elections?

Wanawake wanacomplain wanaume wanagossip na kusengenya wanawake sana hapa wazua, kuangalia nguo zao sana na kuwapima kama watoto, they say they are fed up with it na watu hawaskii, even when they put on tights which show how ugly/cute their kunyii looks like exactly, respect them, mimi nakubaliana na ladies, you pick the one who dresses and pleases your eyes, lenga hao wengine, inaitwa sijui misogynistic d'oh!
A New Kenya
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 24, 2017 5:43:08 PM

You should shut up ....and know your place. Even the Nairobi Business Community hawaja wachwa nyuma.....#ImageIsEverything #MalizaBaba

marko
#36 Posted : Thursday, October 26, 2017 12:38:37 PM

You should shut up ....and know your place. Even the Nairobi Business Community hawaja wachwa nyuma.....#ImageIsEverything #MalizaBaba

sisemi kitu
WHO DARES WINS
marko
#37 Posted : Thursday, October 26, 2017 12:53:33 PM

marko wrote:
Coolio wrote:
Vallerrie wrote:

its illegal

@marko and the rest....

Self explanatory
WHO DARES WINS