wazua Sun, Dec 28, 2025

New election law amendment bill 2017
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 10:36:14 AM

A big hurrryyyy.... Seems fair in my opinion nevertheless, assuming IEBC has a new professional hat on smile

#2 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 10:55:54 AM

Nice, let's agree this are good laws.
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 11:10:12 AM

NBC supports enactment of these laws to ensure there is conducive environment for doing Business.
Bree
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 11:11:22 AM

Anyone with a full version of the amendment?
And did it Pass? Or its just a proposal?
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 11:13:58 AM

Bree wrote:
Anyone with a full version of the amendment?
And did it Pass? Or its just a proposal?

Currently being debated in the National Assembly!!!
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 1:17:43 PM

The drama continues with walkouts etc.
Oliver Mathenge:
Jubilee has its way after 144 MPs against 53 voted for publication of Bill on amendments to Elections Laws be reduced from 14 days to 1 day.

A few other, fair in my opinion, highlights:

#7 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 1:23:09 PM

That needs to pass immediately
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 1:48:13 PM

That needs to pass immediately

Makes a lot of sense.

#9 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 2:18:26 PM

This will come bite the sponsors on the backside a few years from now...
innairobi
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 2:38:49 PM

the little i've read seems reasonable. but i heard they also want to change supreme court decisions on presidential elections such that it requires at least 5 judges for the court to overturn a presidential election. now that i do not agree with at all.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 3:34:18 PM

innairobi wrote:
the little i've read seems reasonable. but i heard they also want to change supreme court decisions on presidential elections such that it requires at least 5 judges for the court to overturn a presidential election. now that i do not agree with at all.

Why.It should not be difficult if they are on the same page.

Assuming Justice Mohammed was not sick the Maragas would have been 5.

I think the general agreement was that the Maraga 4 did not fo justice to kenya. There were anomalies but not rigging and not big enough to warrant annulment.

So the bar must be set very high.
Baratang
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 3:38:05 PM

innairobi wrote:

I think the general agreement was that the Maraga 4 did not fo justice to kenya. There were anomalies but not rigging and not big enough to warrant annulment.

Exactly. De minimis non curat lex!!
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 3:38:42 PM

innairobi wrote:

I must challenge @Bigchick's objectivity - it would be untoward for MPs to casually set rules for another arm of government.

Fortunately @innairobi, you misread. The bill only talks about the IEBC commissioners and their decision making.
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 3:55:46 PM

muganda wrote:
innairobi wrote:

I must challenge @Bigchick's objectivity - it would be untoward for MPs to casually set rules for another arm of government.

Fortunately @innairobi, you misread. The bill only talks about the IEBC commissioners and their decision making.

What is the current number required?And I agree that one arm should not set rules for the other but this is for the ideal situation. Unfortunatley we are not in an ideal situation.Mischief was brought in by NASA and the SC.So the offended side is reacting using legal structures too.

Meanwhile do not look at this as a Jubilee thing.Close your eyes and imagine an opposition win in 2022.Its possible and we would want to make it difficult for the appellate to nullify the oppositions win.
limanika
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 3:58:04 PM

The proposals are good. Waiting to hear from naswa what is bad with any of the proposals, rather than just issuing general statements. Let them pass in parliament, that's why we gave jubilee the majority. Then we see if the courts will side with naswa once more and declare them 'null and void'
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 4:03:02 PM

limanika wrote:
The proposals are good. Waiting to hear from naswa what is bad with any of the proposals, rather than just issuing general statements. Let them pass in parliament, that's why we gave jubilee the majority. Then we see if the courts will side with naswa once more and declare them 'null and void'

Ooops....You are late. Baba has already held a presser/daily rantings. He has rubbished the intended changes.
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 4:52:56 PM

limanika wrote:

Ooops....You are late. Baba has already held a presser/daily rantings. He has rubbished the intended changes.

Babu Snr has been ranting even when there is no good reason.We have gotten used to him.Remember as PM in the nusu kapet error he would demonstrate against govt which he was serving.Talk of lack of direction.....

He had believed he had cornered Jubilee but is realising otherwise.

Meanwhile Chebukati has spoken.Uchaguzi ni 26th October.Whoever is not ready ni chinda yake.

Ericsson
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 5:06:56 PM

Kenyans are short sighted;the laws been passed are meant for the benefit of my fren come 2022.
Remember how Mo1 was humble when Jomo was president and what did he do when he assumed power.
Jomo's people were in exile and for 24 years when they saw Canaan again.
History repeating itself
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Baratang
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 5:09:31 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Kenyans are short sighted;the laws been passed are meant for the benefit of my fren come 2022.
Remember how Mo1 was humble when Jomo was president and what did he do when he assumed power.
History repeating itself

Wacha upus. The fact that it does not favour Nasa does not mean it is bad.

Ericsson
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 28, 2017 5:13:15 PM

Baratang wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
History repeating itself

Wacha upus. The fact that it does not favour Nasa does not mean it is bad.

Upus ni wewe;who has said it's bad.Look at who are the most vocal and biggest sponsors of the bill
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle