obiero wrote:kawambui wrote:
People must not pontify here as if they knew about the cracks in advance.. Our country is rotten and I would advise that we all check whether our houses have proper foundation. Unless you built it yourself.. Never laugh at the Everest victims
Lakini @Obiero they were/are right, look at the dates of those posts/cautions. Has come to pass!!!
@Annie I know what you are saying..
But just like the NHC Nairobi West, NSSF Tassia and KCAA Syokimau victims, we should spare a prayer [/quote]
How can one check the foundation or rather the structural soundness of an already complete apartment block? Especially when they've been finished so beautifully and the firm appears reputable and serious.
Enyewe this could happen to anyone, I can feel their pain.[/quote]
There's some basic checks that can be done by a qualified structural engineer.. Also subground imaging using specialist equipment is available [/quote]
Someone taught me a simple system for believing and trusting. However offending it might, you have to doubt until you doubt your doubting. This is kenya for you.
Plan ahead. Visit the site of construction. Prove ur self wrong that the works are not done wrong. Ask the fundis. They will give you horror stories vile wamechemsha hako kamjengo. Hata kama wewe ni wa kanisa hile ya maranga, nunulia watchman murantina kitogo tu. Then you will know beer maketh the heart mellow. Jamaa utapatwa na heart attack to think Qs was stupid to demand the use of those items on the building you wish to put your life savings into.
If they(sellers) are clean they should open their projects to audit by the potential buyers at all stages. Hiyo ingine ni pang'ang'a na phangi mingi saaaaana.
With the current levels of poverty in the country, few engineers will stand on the way of a rogue loaded developer. The moment u start your nyefunyefing u locked out and a complacent one hired assap. You will find the guy make the due effort to mouth you in the entire nairobi and wherver he can spew bad word about you. Kenya sio yako, if you can not hire the judge, leave the lawyer alone since he or she also has to make a living.
Refs.
1. Uioryuto. Nursing very fresh wounds in the streats.
2.naswarites. Bussy fundraising for round 2.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....