wazua Wed, Dec 4, 2024

13 Pages«<10111213>
Supreme Court nullifies presidential election
Taurrus
#221 Posted : Saturday, September 02, 2017 9:49:55 PM

People say it's good for our country , l doubt! supposing Uhuru loses by a few votes, will he just handover to Raila like moto ya sigara?
mobutu123
#222 Posted : Saturday, September 02, 2017 10:40:59 PM

Shak wrote:
Amores wrote:
I
https://www.kenyainsights.com/jirongo/

And have these MPs from western filed petitions? Ama ni more bravado?

What doesn't add up from this story is if indeed the forms 34A were forged, shouldn't NASA have presented the authentic forms that were in the hands of their agents to dispute the figures?

Petitions have already been filed.Just wait for the hearings. Hii ya SCORK ni shadow.
#223 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 1:03:45 AM

Then comes the small issue of decorum. Calling the court wakora and such other names is not in the presidents league. Hizo ni story za Babu Owino.

Agreed. He can call them any word in private but as much as they've stolen his victory, he's still President, in charge of an office created by the same katiba that gave Maraga's people their powers

Not unless

They should stop importing Jameson until kirudiwo. Mpaka alijikuna matakoSad
#224 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 1:13:13 AM

innairobi wrote:
sanity wrote:
innairobi wrote:
Big question is who will run the re-election? NASA will certainly reject Chebukati/Chiloba and will probably demand for the UN to do it.

Either way, I don't see a different result in the re-election and the SCORK may have to make another 'balanced' judgement by contradicting their current ruling.

Its gonna be interesting because the Constitution requires IEBC to do the rerun.Thins means NASA may most likely seek an amendment of the constitution....reco stitution of IEBC etc etc all this within 60days..brace yourself for a long rough ride guys

Even with a reconstituted IEBC or a UN-led process, there's also the likelihood that NASA will decline to participate in the next election if it becomes apparent that Jubilee is likely to win again with a similar margin. Ultimately, there's a possibility of a nusu mkate government 'for the sake of peace'.

THe UN does not have the mandate and capacity to run elections.
innairobi
#225 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 1:38:14 AM

Euge wrote:
innairobi wrote:
sanity wrote:
innairobi wrote:
Big question is who will run the re-election? NASA will certainly reject Chebukati/Chiloba and will probably demand for the UN to do it.

Either way, I don't see a different result in the re-election and the SCORK may have to make another 'balanced' judgement by contradicting their current ruling.

Its gonna be interesting because the Constitution requires IEBC to do the rerun.Thins means NASA may most likely seek an amendment of the constitution....reco stitution of IEBC etc etc all this within 60days..brace yourself for a long rough ride guys

Even with a reconstituted IEBC or a UN-led process, there's also the likelihood that NASA will decline to participate in the next election if it becomes apparent that Jubilee is likely to win again with a similar margin. Ultimately, there's a possibility of a nusu mkate government 'for the sake of peace'.

Our constitution doesn't allow it anyway. Even if it was possible, it's a slippery slope. Once the UN or 'international community' starts taking over a country's processes, it is extremely difficult to regain control. Everyone will be demanding that only the UN can solve every petty problem in the country hata wizi ya kuku deep in the village.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
innairobi
#226 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 1:52:19 AM

na uhuruto wawachane na maraga and the supreme court. these attacks are wrong and unnecessary. it will galvanize their core base but may repel swing votes.

neither jubilee nor nasa supporters should entertain denigration of institutions. institutions that seem against your candidate today will be what you'll be banking on to protect your rights sometime in the future. i'm personally very concerned that a progressively weakening opposition is slowly birthing a very dominant party called jubilee that needs to be kept in check by an independent judiciary so they dont ride roughshod over everybody.

uhuruto is almost certainly winning the rerun and perhaps with an even wider margin. lakini president kutoa vitisho because someone didn't rule in his favor is dangerous and unacceptable.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#227 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 2:09:54 AM

There is not going to be any UN or International involvement in Kenya's elections. This is because the US is the biggest source of funds for the UN and therefore the biggest driver of the UN agenda. The new US policy is America first. For as long as we do not harbor terrorists we can kanyangana all we want and they will not give a damn. There will not be a Koffi Anan.

Listen to what Trump says about Afghanistan. "We are not nation building again, we are not going to tell you how to govern your society."

Ericsson
#228 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 2:38:31 AM

IEBC failed Uhuru;they could have done better.
Uhuruto strategist failed him;the extra-judicial killings that happened in kisumu and the attempt to silence human rights organisations messed them completely.
That is where Kibaki beats these two;strategy.
A football match is won by strategy not kicking the ball aimlessly.Real Madrid plays a wonderful game and goals just come by themselves.
Uhuruto should play politics just like Real Madrid plays football.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#229 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 3:52:50 AM

Euge wrote:
innairobi wrote:
sanity wrote:
innairobi wrote:

Those who know how the UN works must be aware that it has intergrity issues.

Anyway I fear for our country.There will be tension and ICC should be on high alert. Kenya may never be the same again.

Most lawyers are tax cheats.Expect KRA raids soon.
#230 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 11:37:01 AM

Kwani munadhani UN ni yule jamaa wako wa taxi - ameketi mahali amengoja apigiwe simu? Why do people think elections are so simple? IEBC screwed the pooch on this one but you have nothing but the IEBC to execute it! Don't even attempt to make major changes - you will screw things up! U.N... UN wanatoka wapi? Na Pesa ya nani? Do you know how long it takes to recruit people? Ukioa vya elea ujuwe vimeundwa!!
#231 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 4:53:30 PM

Euge wrote:
innairobi wrote:
sanity wrote:
innairobi wrote:

Those who know how the UN works must be aware that it has intergrity issues.

Anyway I fear for our country.There will be tension and ICC should be on high alert. Kenya may never be the same again.

Most lawyers are tax cheats.Expect KRA raids soon.

Right now the environment is highly charged. The kind of talk going on around me is not good at all. Is there light at the end of the tunnel?
#232 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 5:28:38 PM

CAF cancels its CHAN tournament inspection tour after the Supreme Court decision that nullified presidential polls results

-Carol Radull
ngapat
#233 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 6:15:04 PM

kivairu wrote:
I asked a question. No o e answered. How does a government that din"t deliver; win with a land slide? There was no economic growth, was there?

You need to check the tools and methods you use to measure economic growth
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#234 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 6:34:29 PM

Please tell the president to sober up... I think he's forgetting that he's the head of state... What is this threatening the Supreme Court!

Enuma Elish
#235 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 8:00:58 PM

2. When they were asked by Lady Philomena Mwilu, what happens when you have 5 voting papers and I decide to only have one. The lawyers in court, did not even have a clue to the answer.

This is the MOST STUPID question i heard in the courtroom, if this stupid judges don't read newspapers, there were famous comedians caught with remainder ballot papers stuffed in their pockets, are we frisked when we leave the polling station, how many innocently do this? and to ask a lawyer to do a statistical analysis of 14 million votes is stupidity of the highest order, there are people who go to school to explain distributions, as you were told some will just put the ballots in one box, other will spoil, you cannot do this analysis for amos wakos dunderhead mpango whom he put in supreme court on the spot, hii ni ujinga ya watu hawajasoma vizuri, if this is the basis of the ruling on such an important issue, they should have given a break to consult, jinga court.

Genius!!! Where were you when that hapless lawyer, Tom Macharia, was making an ass of himself in court?
Enuma Elish
#236 Posted : Sunday, September 03, 2017 8:14:34 PM

Please tell the president to sober up... I think he's forgetting that he's the head of state... What is this threatening the Supreme Court!

I'm surprised that he's directing his vitriol at the judges and not IEBC. The latter's refusal to Open the servers robbed him of his "victory"
#237 Posted : Monday, September 04, 2017 1:31:36 AM

#238 Posted : Monday, September 04, 2017 5:12:28 AM

Throw back

]

Its hypocritical that this statement was not scrutinized as much as Uhuru's comments but anyhow, Jubilee should go back to the voters and remind them why they voted them in, there's no other way. Back to the ballot. FOCUS
ngapat
#239 Posted : Monday, September 04, 2017 10:35:25 AM

The petitioner only managed to cast doubts on the process but could not show how that affected the will of the people. The judges should not have owned those doubts and then go ahead to make a ruling because they doubt the process. Ruling is supposed to be based on facts not doubts.
I still need to see how uhuru did not get 8.2m votes or how Raila got more than that
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Ngalaka
#240 Posted : Monday, September 04, 2017 11:13:40 AM

ngapat wrote:
The petitioner only managed to cast doubts on the process but could not show how that affected the will of the people. The judges should not have owned those doubts and then go ahead to make a ruling because they doubt the process. Ruling is supposed to be based on facts not doubts.
I still need to see how uhuru did not get 8.2m votes or how Raila got more than that

I disagree with the ruling, but accept.

I however keep an open mind, so that once the full judgement is out I might just agree with the judges if they demonstrate a well grounded reasoning of their verdict - how real and extensive the problem was. Of course the issue of implications of the ruling is a different matter altogether,

Now let me attempt to answer your question from the 4 Judges' perspective;

The process by which IEBC conducted the election was contrary to the constitution – they ignored, failed or refused to follow what the constitution demands.

Upon so ignoring, they devised and used their own process replete with integrity issues. The result arising thereof is hence lacking in integrity.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu