3 Pages<123
Gathoni wa muchomba (mushara)
#41 Posted : Thursday, August 24, 2017 10:09:40 PM

Mulongo Musiambo
7 hrs ·
I was on the campaign trail during the last two weeks of the campaign period. This period is very intense. Whenever a campaign motorcade passes, people line the roads, mostly with the intent of getting handouts. In some places, people literally stop you, not to hear the great manifesto and ideas , but to ask for cash.
In the event that you address people and fail to leave 'something small',you drive away amidst shouts of "Oyuno Kakwa khale" and "Oyuno naye akhulekha arie." In extreme cases, failure to produce handouts may lead to violent events like stoning of motorcades by irked villagers.
When campaigning in a rural constituency like Webuye West, you need to know the various spots where Busaa is being sold and when it is sold. You need to have a mobilizer who will call you and alert you when there is quorum so that you can send money for people to enjoy.
Online, you have to manage bloggers, nothing is more lethal to a campaign than the defection of a lethal blogger from your team. On the side, you also have to sort out beer, nyama and Kuku bills every evening after campaigns.
600,000 is a lot of money, but for the kind of work politicians do and the expectations they manage, it is not sufficient.
We do not need to call our Honorable Members MPIGS, we are the pigs that make them Mpigs with unrealistic demands. Kenya should in fact not change its leaders, it should change its people.
#42 Posted : Thursday, August 24, 2017 10:14:34 PM

In Kenya and probably in African states, a member of Parliament participates in your mom's bride price. He Helps in footing bills for your mom's complications associated with pregnancy. He clears the maternity fee. He buys you elementary school uniform. Pays for your KCPE exams fee. Helps in Sourcing for you a secondary school because you failed to meet the minimum secondary school enrollment points. He pays your school fees. Pays for your form 4 exams fee. He finds you a college. Pays your college fees. An Mp then sources for your college attachment. He pushes for your employment. You then requests him to Push for your promotion. You misbehave and you're suspended or expelled. The MP is still available to negotiate your case. He attends your wedding where he has been a wedding commitee patron. He gifts you heavily. You loose your job.You cant provide for your wife and kids. The MP chips in. You get frastrated with life. You find yourself in Hospital. Mheshimiwa foots your bill.
.........You die. He foots your morgue bills, arranges for your body's burial fundraiser. He Attends your burIal. A request is made to the Mp at your burial by your mom, 'saidia watoto ya mtoto yangu' you promise to support the kids.
.........and the cycle continues..
let's listen to our MPs' Salary concerns!
#copied
#43 Posted : Thursday, August 24, 2017 10:48:48 PM

@Lolest, its the same MPs who have made that a habit. If all of them decided to hold back those handouts, with time people will get used to not getting those handouts. Same case with harambees. They should be participating and giving what they can afford just like the rest of us. I have seen many harambees back in the village where the local MP sends 4k and some of us borrows from friends in Nairobi and takes 100k plus or so. We are slowly getting used to the fact that the MP need not be the one contributing the most. We also contribute to burials, the sick etc but according to our ability. Closer home, Wazuans are educating kids they hardly know, I doubt how many of them asks for salary increments from their employers based on that. Kibaki used to give sparingly in harambees, he was an MP for ages.

If MPs themselves do not stop this habit, it will go on for ages and soon they will be demanding for 2m in salos to enable them do the social works. Kenyans will not say NO to money once its given...but if ALL the givers were to stop doing it, soon it will no longer be an issue. It may take time, but it will eventually work. I heard Millie Odhiambo saying she deserves to be paid well coz she spent millions campaigning. Someone should remind her one of her colleagues in the current parliament campaigned on a bicycle. Boniface Mwangi ran a relatively successful campaign with minimal amount of money raised for him by the public and he convinced 16k people to vote for him(I included). If a significant number decided to change that narrative of giving people money, it can change forever. Maybe they should even be paid much less so that they wont have anything to dish out. Circumstances will then force them not to do it again.
#44 Posted : Thursday, August 24, 2017 10:53:19 PM

STATEMENT ON REMUNERATION AND PERKS OF MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

Our attention is drawn to a statement by some incoming Members of the National Assembly regarding proposals for the rationalization of remuneration of members of Parliament as recommended by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

Among those behind the statement were members of our Party. The Orange Democratic Movement wishes to categorically state that the position taken by those members do not represent our position as a Party nor that of the National Super Alliance of which we are affiliate.

We stand for equity and prudent management of public resources. We cannot therefore promote or be seen to promote wastage, avarice and inequities in the Kenyan society.

Our members in different leadership positions are highly encouraged to always attempt to mediate their personal interests with public good that constitutes the substructure of ODM ideology of Social Democracy.

Dated in Nairobi this 24th August 2017

Oduor Ong'wen
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, ODM
safariant
#45 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 12:28:27 AM

STATEMENT ON REMUNERATION AND PERKS OF MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

Our attention is drawn to a statement by some incoming Members of the National Assembly regarding proposals for the rationalization of remuneration of members of Parliament as recommended by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

Among those behind the statement were members of our Party. The Orange Democratic Movement wishes to categorically state that the position taken by those members do not represent our position as a Party nor that of the National Super Alliance of which we are affiliate.

We stand for equity and prudent management of public resources. We cannot therefore promote or be seen to promote wastage, avarice and inequities in the Kenyan society.

Our members in different leadership positions are highly encouraged to always attempt to mediate their personal interests with public good that constitutes the substructure of ODM ideology of Social Democracy.

Dated in Nairobi this 24th August 2017

Oduor Ong'wen
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, ODM

Everyone is O
The greatest act of bravery is chancing a fart while suffering from diarrhoea
Iganamagana
#46 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 7:42:00 AM

It is against Labour laws for an employer to cut an employee's salary and allowances. Wa Mucomba, Gladys Wanga and Geza Geza should not apologise for demanding maintaining of the status quo. Kwani the employer was mad when he gave the pay hike? Can you imagine your employer telling you that from next yr he will reduce your pay by 20k and scrap some of the allowances? That is against natural justice and Labour laws. If anything all employees should get a pay rise every year to take care of inflation. If you were earning 1m last yr and inflation is 10%, it means tor pay this yr has shrunk by 100k. Gathoni wa Mucomba is has done no wrong. In fact she should have demanded a 10% pay rise of the pre-SRC salaries to take care of inflation. I support Wa Mucomba 100% in regard to the pay rise. As an employee i agree with her 100%. She and we employees must never relent in fighting for our rights.

Wacha urongo, these are new contracts and the employer can adjust compensation as he deems fit!!!!

Would you be happy that when you are renewing your contract your employer slashes your salary? This is especially painful to old mpigs like Millie Odhiambo and Wanga. Natural justice demands that all pay should be adjusted upwards every year to cater for inflation. Otherwise employees would become poorer year after yr.

They awarded themselves this salary without consulting Wanjiku their employer. Wanjiku was actually protesting. Hapa hakuna mambo ya natural justice. It is injustice being made right. Surely, even the current salary is a bit too high. They contested the positions very well knowing what was in store.
gk
#47 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 9:01:12 AM

@Lolest, its the same MPs who have made that a habit. If all of them decided to hold back those handouts, with time people will get used to not getting those handouts. Same case with harambees. They should be participating and giving what they can afford just like the rest of us. I have seen many harambees back in the village where the local MP sends 4k and some of us borrows from friends in Nairobi and takes 100k plus or so. We are slowly getting used to the fact that the MP need not be the one contributing the most. We also contribute to burials, the sick etc but according to our ability. Closer home, Wazuans are educating kids they hardly know, I doubt how many of them asks for salary increments from their employers based on that. Kibaki used to give sparingly in harambees, he was an MP for ages.

If MPs themselves do not stop this habit, it will go on for ages and soon they will be demanding for 2m in salos to enable them do the social works. Kenyans will not say NO to money once its given...but if ALL the givers were to stop doing it, soon it will no longer be an issue. It may take time, but it will eventually work. I heard Millie Odhiambo saying she deserves to be paid well coz she spent millions campaigning. Someone should remind her one of her colleagues in the current parliament campaigned on a bicycle. Boniface Mwangi ran a relatively successful campaign with minimal amount of money raised for him by the public and he convinced 16k people to vote for him(I included). If a significant number decided to change that narrative of giving people money, it can change forever. Maybe they should even be paid much less so that they wont have anything to dish out. Circumstances will then force them not to do it again.

Its the weak and often empty politicians who result to handouts to win support. We need to clean up our politics and reduce its competitive nature by among others curbing the amount one can spend in campaigns.
Some yrs gone by one needed much less resources to campaign yet those leaders were far more productive than today's.
In the 50+ yrs Kibaki was MP, he never gave cash handouts and so were his peers.
#48 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 9:02:11 AM

Can all wazuans who are ready to take a 20% pay cut starting next yr raise up their hands? And those in solidarity with Wanga and wa Mucomba who oppose employees paycuts not to raise their hands?

Its not a matter of us. If that 20% pay cut is beyond what i can persevere I pack my stuff and go. SRC told everyone b4 elections that the new salaries will be as such, if Gathoni felt that Kameme pays her more than what she would be paid as a woman rep she should have stuck to her yapping job. We need to stop giving excuses for every damn thing these dimwits do. Why should the education/health budget be slashed so that an MPig can grow his/her belly?

Applause Applause Those who are not happy with the offer should quit. END!!
#49 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 1:07:42 PM

Some yrs gone by one needed much less resources to campaign yet those leaders were far more productive than today's.
In the 50+ yrs Kibaki was MP, he never gave cash handouts and so were his peers

I don't know about his Kibaki but his peers did give lots of handouts

Njenga Karume would have visiting crowds outside his gate at home as early as 6am. He used to live in his constituency. He would tell those MPs who lived in Nairobi how lucky they were. He knew the pain of meeting people with monetary needs almost daily.

sitaki.kujulikana
#50 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 1:19:30 PM

Can all wazuans who are ready to take a 20% pay cut starting next yr raise up their hands? And those in solidarity with Wanga and wa Mucomba who oppose employees paycuts not to raise their hands?

Its not a matter of us. If that 20% pay cut is beyond what i can persevere I pack my stuff and go. SRC told everyone b4 elections that the new salaries will be as such, if Gathoni felt that Kameme pays her more than what she would be paid as a woman rep she should have stuck to her yapping job. We need to stop giving excuses for every damn thing these dimwits do. Why should the education/health budget be slashed so that an MPig can grow his/her belly?

Applause Applause Those who are not happy with the offer should quit. END!!

plus they can do side (or main) hustles on top of being mp's, I see sitting legislators practicing law and others running marathons.
#51 Posted : Friday, August 25, 2017 2:43:50 PM

aki wazuans, si we are jumping before the drum?

si we wait until class of 8817 mpigs veto the twendi thevetin-twendi aiteen mbajeti until they are paid haki yao and mbaki ndated to 080817 yahwa?

then we can dithkas this storo in real context.

ama namna gani wenzangu?