wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Kenya gay demand recognition
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 7:09:59 AM

'Scores of Kenya homosexuals celebrated the International Day Against Homophobia in style Monday and demanded for more recognition' Daily Nation

Ukiona wao, ukiona wao, ukiona wao tafadhali weka tairi....yaani nasema weka tairi gari iweze kupita!!!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 7:50:14 AM

ABK.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 8:07:57 AM

When did we come up with all these descriptions? Who's a "transgender woman"?

VACANCY - COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER
Friday, 07 May 2010 06:02 GAY AND LESBIAN COALITION
E-mail Print PDF

COMMUNICATIONS OFFICER.

The Gay and Lesbian Coalition of Kenya – GALCK, seeks to recruit a highly qualified and motivated person to fill the position of a Communications officer. The communications officer will write, edit and publish information about an GALCK to both external and internal audiences.

This is a particularly important position for GALCK given the current interest in, and also misinformation on matters relating to same-sex sexualities in Kenya. GALCK’s ability to attract and retained the right person to fill this position will be extremely helpful in meeting her Strategic Objectives.

JOB DESCRIPTION

1. Off-line Communication:

* Creating off-line promotional material such as brochures, reports and other printed matter on GALCK and member groups.
* Liaising with designers and printers about printed matters, supervising the production.
* Contributing to the distribution of those materials

2. Media relations:

* Drafting press releases, newsletters and articles on GALCK, Member groups and their activities.
* Maintaining a database of journalists and media organizations
* Develop a GALC K Communication, and implement an action plan to contact relevant media and individual journalists.
* Screening GALCK’s presence in the media, preparing regular press review for Steering Committee, Management and the Member groups.
* Promote GALCK’s and member groups publications.

3. Events:

* Contributing to the organisation of occasional GALCK’s conferences and events.

4. Internet Communication:

* Contributing to the continuing development of GALCK’s website, especially the press room, in terms of communicational content, structure, and design.
* Contributing to improving the visibility of GALCK and its member groups on the web.
* Supporting activities to reach and bind GALCK’s internal and external stakeholders.

Other responsibilities

* Contributing to building a network of journalists and media organizations and maintain close personal contacts.
* Meeting journalists and helping organise press conferences.
* Participating in some external events and conferences organized by third parties.
* Organizing qualitative analyses of the website and its use by journalists.
* Proposing opportunities for increasing GALCK’s visibility.
* Assisting the General Manager & the Steering Committee in their public relations activities.
* Participating in any other activity as may be required by the general manager or the Steering committee.

Knowledge and skills required

* University degree or equivalent, preferably in Mass communications.
* Relevant work experience in press or public relations.
* Work experience with non profit organizations would be a plus.
* Proven writing skills, both on-line and off-line.
* Articulate in verbal communication.
* Language skills:
- Excellent command of both Kiswahili and English;
- Good understanding of spoken and written an international language e.g., French will be an added advantage;
Experience in Internet communication.
* Excellent team working skills, good organisational and social skills are a definite plus.

GALCK is an equal employment employer. Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender women are particularly encouraged to apply. Applications should be sent to scommittee@galck.orgThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it by 15th of May 2010.
Apple Bees
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 11:50:14 AM

@wendz, kwani hiyo ad ulitoa wapi?
Ja-Kom
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 12:56:36 PM

@Guka,ABK ni nini,ama nani?
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 19, 2010 1:01:02 PM

@Ja-Kom,
Kibaki and the councilors.....Absolutely Bure Kabisa.
The Real Shaft
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 8:05:16 AM

tell me...

and please put...

congenital prejudice behind you....

what would you rank......

the worst neighbour to have.....

a) a paedophile....

b) a kuku-raper...

c) a fly lesbian...

who keeps her fingers to herself....

d) a homo......

whose wild parties are held in his....

executive apartment....???
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 8:20:12 AM

(a)!

The rest i can handle........
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 9:34:26 AM

The Real Shaft wrote:
tell me...

c) a fly lesbian...

who keeps her fingers to herself..???

Very fAnny !Laughing out loudly Applause
sky5
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 11:38:32 AM

Real Shaft; All of the above.

But which recognition is being demanded here. I thought they are already recognised as homos hence homophobia.
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 12:48:28 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/c3jhbbz/-/index.html
Malawi gay couple sentenced to 14 years in jail

This is what democracy is all about...
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 1:17:55 PM

Hhheyyy! This issue surely confusing.
I know of a classmate who people allege to be gay but is out of the country. I don't know whether I'd be comfortable with him being in jail.

I also see several prostitutes around town and it's against the law. Say a relative is a prostitute, it would be difficult seeing them in jail also.

Or these laws are meant for far away strangers, then when you're affected you say otherwise.
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 6:44:04 PM

We're getting too liberal,in Africa we're second only to SA.How shameful!
#14 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 8:48:59 AM

@Kadonye, not too liberal but blackmailed by "donors" remember Uganda wanted to outlaw this nonsense and EU threatened to cut aid? I don't believe in this new catchword "sexual orientation" you are either male or female! those with such tendencies should keep them to themselves period. @sky5 this demand for recognition is fueled by unseen forces of "democracy". Is this the price we must pay for being beggars????? Lets restore our pride!!
Jangwa la Jangili
#15 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 9:08:45 AM

That is a good point! It is all about chums. How does the White House find time to issue a statement on a single court case involving homosexuals in Africa when there are probably tens of thousands of Africans in jail all over the continent for flimsier/false reasons?

Ask yourself a few questions:
1. Is homosexuality legal in Saudi Arabia?
2. What is the penalty for those that are found practicing it?
3. Heck, what is the penalty if you are found committing adultery?

It is all about lecturing baby Africa while not antagonizing the people that can strategically hold you by the balls (read OIL + EXTREMISM).

Rahatupu wrote:
@Kadonye, not too liberal but blackmailed by "donors" remember Uganda wanted to outlaw this nonsense and EU threatened to cut aid? I don't believe in this new catchword "sexual orientation" you are either male or female! those with such tendencies should keep them to themselves period. @sky5 this demand for recognition is fueled by unseen forces of "democracy". Is this the price we must pay for being beggars????? Lets restore our pride!!

Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
#16 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 9:48:05 AM

The problem is that Africans try to live like the west and we are not them. we are poor beings. first lets improve our lot before embracing decadent practices that made many empires fall.
The Real Shaft
#17 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 9:51:55 AM

the indigenous peoples....

of the east African coast...

practised and still practise homosexuality....

ushoga...

was rampant ......

where a stately leader ...

would be encouraged...

to include in his harem...

a group of young men....

biology...

or taboos...

notwithstanding....

I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Djagame
#18 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 10:58:06 AM

@ Magigi

In the news today...

Director of NMK may have a date with kunguru for "using a public function to perpetuate an illegality"
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#19 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 11:21:08 AM

Were people openly talking about plugs & sockets 5 years ago?
Was the media discussing plug & socket issues as frequently as they do now? 5 years ago - would the media have splashed the pictures of GALCK members on its front page without fearing a severe public backlash?

I have sadly realized that the plugs & sockets have already succeeded in bringing their agenda to the centre of public attention from the periphery.

I fear to imagine what, at this rate, the situation will be like 10 yrs from now. Am afraid. Very afraid for our kids.