wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

Hydropolitics of the River Nile
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 9:25:52 AM

Now Kenya has also signed the new treaty for equitable use of the Nile waters, joining the other riparian states demanding for more equitable use of the Nile.
Did you know under old treaties, Egypt had the power to approve & veto any dams by the riparian states as well as rights to patrol the entire >6,400km of the river to ensure no waters are diverted by the upstream countries for irrigation, HEP generation or commercial purposes despite the heavy population pressure on these govts? Mpaka Kisum City! Its one reason why Kisumu folks have always been thirsty for water despite being on the shores of one of the largest fresh-water lakes in the world.

Egyptian MPigs have made it clear that the Nile is their lifeline and thus a national security issue they are willing to ‘defend’...
Quitely in the background, the EU & US tacitly support the old treaties, Uganda will soon be acquiring 6 state of the art Su-30MK2 jet fighters from Russia - just in case(http://www.monitor.co.ug/News/National/-/688334/894170/-/wker5d/-/index.html),while the Sudan is in bed with Egypt with this one…

Will this be a case of ‘the next fight will be fought over water?”
Is a fall-out leading to military hostilities a possibility or far-fetched? Is Kenya prepared for any eventuality? Pray

http://www.theeastafrica...558/921612/-/od128rz/-/
#2 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 9:38:13 AM

@Intelli,

Burundi and DRC will sign next......Far-fetched at worst.Egypt can't go to war with 7 countries.
#3 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 9:43:54 AM

pardon my ignorance..someone help me with a link where i can read what the fuss is all about..not google...
#4 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 10:02:02 AM

@Guks, I hope so. But they don't have to go to war with all the riparian states, maybe 'fix' the strongest of them (say Kenya or Ethiopia)and the message is sent to the rest.

For Egyptians its a matter of life & death and I read in the media they have been lobbying in western capitals (esp. Italy) for donors to stop funding one of Ethiopia's dams, and this indicates at least they prefer a diplommatic approach - for now. Overall its a climb down from their threats of force they have been issuing over the years. Lets hope Sudan & Egypt also sign the agreement so that the issue is resolved peacefully.

@mlefu.. the issue has been under extensive debate for the last 10 yrs, including scenarios where Egypt becomes nuclear-armed (Charles Obbo, D.Nation a few months back)! It was on also on TV jana.
For us kenyans the climax was the country signing the new agreement yesterday. Link is attached.

Any keen follower of global current affairs will know US/EU supports Egypt because it is one of their closest Arab allies and is considered key in negotiations on the resolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict.

B.Timer
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 10:31:32 AM

If there was ever a lopsided treaty this is it (the one Misri is harping on).
It's a case of 'Heads I win, tails you loose'.
Yaani ki vyo vyote you loose.

But the balance is tilting.

Thank goodness that out of the 9 Nations involved 7 seem to agree that its time matters were rectified.
Dunia ni msongamano..
Ja-Kom
#6 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 10:43:41 AM

@Mlefu,hii hapa http://www.businessdaily...82/-/7i9y1u/-/index.html
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Mpenzi
#7 Posted : Thursday, May 20, 2010 1:12:29 PM

If you wish to read more on the so-called Nile Treaty of 1929 see:

http://works.bepress.com...p;context=joseph_kieyah

"2.1The Nile Agreement
In May 7, 1929, Egypt and the United Kingdom signed the Nile Agreement for the purpose of sharing the Nile waters. The agreement was in the form of exchange notes between the Egyptian Prime Minister and the United Kingdom High Commissioner in
1925 and 1929, respectively. It also includes the report of the 1925 Nile Commission.

The two countries’ desire to engage in a comprehensive large scale control works on the Nile mainly precipitated the signing of the agreement24. These proposed works included among others, two dams in Sudan; Gebel Aulia and Sennar dams. Viewing the construction of these dams as a threat to its interest, Egypt suspended its financial commitment to the construction of Sennar dam. Nonetheless, the Sudanese government with UK’s assistance completed the Sennar dam, which led to a diplomatic fallout between Egypt and Britain25. The assassination of the British Governor-General of Sudan in Cairo further escalated the fallout. To ease the tensions, the Egyptian Prime Minister and the British High Commissioner exchanged notes that became part of the Nile
Agreement26.

From selected terms of the Nile Agreement, Egypt first, reserved the right to renegotiate based on the future political status of Sudan, which was then a UK’s protectorate. Second, Egypt agreed to a limited increase of Sudan’s water apportionment and accepted the report of the1925 Nile Commission as an integral part of
the Agreement. Third, Egypt stipulated a property rule to protect her natural and historic
rights over the Nile. Fourth, Egypt sought the right to construct, maintain and administer any works on Nile in Sudan’s territory subject to consultation with Sudanese local government.
On its part, United Kingdom first withdrew her mandate that had given the Sudanese government unlimited access of Nile waters to develop Gezira. Second, the UK acknowledged Egypt’s natural and historical rights over the Nile based on prior use.

For seventy five years, the Nile Agreement has never been invoked or applied in any former British territories after their ndependence28. Though the legality of the agreement has never been formally challenged, the question remains whether it is still in
force. Egypt’s view is that pending further agreement, the Nile Agreement is valid and applicable. This position is consistent with the Britain Joint Under-Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs statement on the Nile waters.

Following its independence, Sudan repudiated the Nile Agreement based on the doctrine of rebus sic stantibus. This doctrine allows a party to rescind a treaty if there is a material change of circumstances that transform the rights and obligation of the treaty.Sudan argued that its accession to independence amounted to a vital change of circumstances. Later Sudan accepted the Nile Agreement when it signed the 1959 Agreement with Egypt.

Upon its independence, Tanzania formally invoked the Nyerere Doctrine. In a formal declaration to the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the Tanzanian government accepted with stipulations all bilateral treaties, which were signed by UK had signed on her behalf. Such treaties would remain in force on the basis of reciprocity for two years from 1960 unless abrogated or modified earlier by mutual consent33. Tanzania also issued identical notes to Britain, Egypt and Sudan outlining her policy on the
utilization of the Nile waters. Tanzania’s government asserted that the Nile Agreement was not binding but agreed to negotiate with all riparian states to formulate a new framework based on just and equitable principles.

Following their independence, Uganda and Kenya, respectively, adopted the Tanzanian approach but they did not specifically challenge the devolution of the NileAgreement. Instead they agreed to uphold on reciprocity basis, all bilateral treaties that
were concluded by the United Kingdom on their behalf for two years36. If such treaties were not renegotiated or modified, within the two years, then they became invalid subject to the rules of customary international law. More recently, however, Kenya government officials have demanded a revision of the Nile Agreement."
Djagame
#8 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 9:48:06 AM

Allow me to be the devil's advocate here

Why should we be signing the Nile treaty when we cannot utilise/tap rain.

We are told that the water is needed for irrigation but what is the state of current irrigation schemes.

Hydroelectric power is becoming unsustainable as opposed to geothermal which if we tap can supply the whole of Africa.Why not get the Egyptians to offer (borehole) grants for this and we forget about the Nile.

The government also does not mention that they have been getting GRANTS from the Egyptian government for borehole drilling in different (ASAL) areas of the country since the early nineties in order not to use the nile waters.

I think the government has resorted to guerilla tactics to get funds as seen in the "foreign" pirate trials saga.
"We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
#9 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 10:01:12 AM

@Djagame,
BECAUSE WE CAN!!!!
chepkel
#10 Posted : Friday, May 21, 2010 1:27:11 PM

I agree with Djagame. But its good the treaty has been signed because maybe in future we will vote in Bright leaders who will actually implement some good things for maendeleo.