wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

Lecturers strike
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 5:28:52 PM

Have these civil servants learnt GOK's trick? See the similarities with Doctor's strike:

1. picked election year
2. ignored court stay
3. saw through the GOK infinite negotiation loop
(created when GOK signs CBAs with no implementation date, as happened with teachers/doctors)

Meanwhile drought/maize crisis plays on. A hungry/broke/sick electorate may become an unpredictable force.

#2 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 5:31:37 PM

Kama doctors have been ignored this long, sadly, who are lecturers to think they will be listened to any time soon? If it was the pry school teachers, it could have been a bit different. #Numbers
#3 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 11:57:00 AM

Kama doctors have been ignored this long, sadly, who are lecturers to think they will be listened to any time soon? If it was the pry school teachers, it could have been a bit different. #Numbers

Good point on numbers. The issue though, is momentum. Coupled with things you can't control like drought. Then elections.

Public hospitals ...strike 47 days (how do patients vote?)
Public university ...strike 1 day (how do students vote?)
Next strike...?
Ngalaka
#4 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 1:01:45 PM

Drought effects will most probably have dissipated by May/June - the elections are in August.

The strike menace is a cause for worry. If, or is it when Teachers join in, things can only be elephant.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
EngineerLMG
#5 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 6:05:01 PM

This is what I think of it:

I'm annoyed that wamenifungia library yangu Margaret Thatcher na siwezi somea huko.

Brick wall
#6 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 6:30:33 PM

Don't forget the effect of idle university students all over the country.

The docs come into contact with very few Kenyans the reason the country seems to be moving on!!!
#7 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 8:57:50 PM

Don't forget the effect of idle university students all over the country.

The docs come into contact with very few Kenyans the reason the country seems to be moving on!!!

Karibu Sana! Wacha kupotea hivo bwana!
#8 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 8:32:58 AM

EngineerLMG wrote:

I'm annoyed that wamenifungia library yangu Margaret Thatcher na siwezi somea huko.

Brick wall

Engineer are you part of the UoN engineering class which failed exams?
#9 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 9:48:16 AM

EngineerLMG wrote:

Brick wall

EngineerLMG
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 3:54:10 PM

EngineerLMG wrote:

Brick wall

Hell to the no. I'm in Moi.
Taurrus
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 7:40:14 PM

EngineerLMG wrote:

Brick wall

#12 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 7:47:30 PM

EngineerLMG wrote:

Brick wall

Hell to the no. I'm in Moi.

Do you want to know the history of Moi or are as Impunity says a "dhenks" fellow?

#13 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2017 8:36:17 AM

muganda wrote:

Good point on numbers. The issue though, is momentum. Coupled with things you can't control like drought. Then elections.

Public hospitals ...strike 47 days (how do patients vote?)
Public university ...strike 1 day (how do students vote?)
Next strike...?

Its not the affected that votes directly. Unfortunately some have even passe passed away. So its your responsibility to ensure that no one else dies needlessly by voting with a clear mind on whether this government did everything in its might to save the lives of its citizens

KQ ABP 4.26
EngineerLMG
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 18, 2017 9:31:59 PM

[quote=EngineerLMG]
Do you want to know the history of Moi or are as Impunity says a "dhenks" fellow?

I know this is late, but yes. I would like to know. Dhenks.
oltome
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 19, 2017 5:49:30 PM

Quick query, does the recently agreed CBA cover all lecturers that is to include those in the Civil Service i.e. Kenya School of Govt, the Agricultural Colleges, or it's just for the universities. Also, does their remuneration fall within the Civil Service or the Universities?