wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

782 Pages«<386387388389390>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
actuarywahisa
#7741 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:31:29 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:
Obiero.... My eye has started to turn to KQ. I've been wondering how they will turn the negative equity position so that existing shareholders won't have to 'scoot over' for new money or dig deeper into their pockets.

These new initiatives look like they'll turn around the company in the end. I'd give it 4 years. The issue of course is how the market will react to the developments compared to the current book position. The developments look quite positive whereas the books look, from an equity perspective, absolutely horrendous.

And the 'scooting over' has began.... d'oh!
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
Mkondoa Macho
#7742 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:32:16 AM

Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
It is technically impossible to save Kenya Airways. Instead, the government should use the money it regularly saves KQ with, to launch an alternative airline that is wholly owned by the government (strictly no other investors). My reasoning is that KLM is the parasite that eats KQ from within, and at this point, it is impossible to get rid of it. The government should retain it's KQ shares, and watch KQ slide into insolvency. When the airline's assets are auctioned, it will get some as a shareholder, and as a creditor. These assets can then be used by the new airline which it will wholly own.

Wakuondoka watoke pole pole.. Hii kitu haijaeleweka na wengi

Jipe moyo @Obiero as thousands of shareholders are forcing their way out to escape the wrath of restructuring aka turnaround!

Niko gangari.. Wakutoka watoke.. Planning to load up on Wednesday

Do you do any research before you make your investments? This is an amateur move.
#7743 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:32:58 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
"..The Company's shareholders and prospective investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing with the securities of the Company.." ..."Company Shareholders will be invited to participate in a new issue of equity on a pro rata basis, although at a significant dilution to current position"

The weak hands being shaken off.. Ebb and flow

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
actuarywahisa
#7744 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:33:19 AM

In the end KQ will have new owners .... best of luck Obiero as you wait for the 'two big announcements'... Laughing out loudly
There are too many opportunities all around. Open your eyes and maybe you'll spot one
#7745 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:35:52 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:
In the end KQ will have new owners .... best of luck Obiero as you wait for the 'two big announcements'... Laughing out loudly

@actuary.. This is the big announcement and I choose to remain inside.. Liwe liwalo

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
#7746 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:47:32 AM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:
It is technically impossible to save Kenya Airways. Instead, the government should use the money it regularly saves KQ with, to launch an alternative airline that is wholly owned by the government (strictly no other investors). My reasoning is that KLM is the parasite that eats KQ from within, and at this point, it is impossible to get rid of it. The government should retain it's KQ shares, and watch KQ slide into insolvency. When the airline's assets are auctioned, it will get some as a shareholder, and as a creditor. These assets can then be used by the new airline which it will wholly own.

Jipe moyo @Obiero as thousands of shareholders are forcing their way out to escape the wrath of restructuring aka turnaround!

Do you do any research before you make your investments? This is an amateur move.

I assume you believe that I am the largest KQ shareholder or that I did not state right here that a dilution was on the way.. It's my cash at the end of the day. Kindly do not reach an investment orgasm on my behalf

#7747 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:52:04 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Small-KQ-shareholders-face-big-stake-cut/539546-3962316-pbbpmwz/index.html

More than 78,000 small Kenya Airways shareholders are set for a massive dilution of their stake in the ongoing restructuring that could leave them owning only about 6.7 per cent of the national carrier from 43.7 per cent

We are looking at a possible dilution to current shareholders of approximately 5.7 times, which translates to a diluted market price of approximately Sh1.2 per share,” says Genghis in a research note sent to its clients on Thursday.

You must hand it to Kq for breaking new ground. Technically it is not a dilution but a boon to current minority shareholders, here's why:

1. Before this deal Kq had negative equity so they owned nothing in the - no residual ownership - firm despite holding its shares.

2. This deal takes care of the negative equity in its entirety meaning that shareholders despite a reduced % holding in the firm they can now lay claim to its assets. Kind of a negative negative arrangement yielding a positive outcome aka diluting negative equity through debt conversion results in a plus.

3. Increased number of shares will of course suppress the share price on the bourse so it's a case of you win some and lose some. If the dilution is as huge as anticipated Kq could even yield a margin of safety for investors.

However, since there will be no cash injection other than the $100m from KLM can Kq generate enough cashflows to maintain working capital, pay down the remaining debts and return to profitability? I have my doubts but time will tell. On the balance of things it will not take long for the rights issue to be announced. That squeeze won't be pretty for the minorities.

At the expense of the Taxpayer...
muandiwambeu
#7748 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:53:17 AM

actuarywahisa wrote:

@actuary.. This is the big announcement and I choose to remain inside.. Liwe liwalo

https://goo.gl/photos/pqCQg2wQA3itVFW87
Obiero and partners ready for the knife
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
mamilli
#7749 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:04:23 AM

Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

It's usually said that the prudent thing to do when you find yourself in a hole is to stop digging....however if you continue digging who knows,you might strike gold at lower depths!
Never lose your position in a bull market,BTFD.
#7750 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:20:06 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

#7751 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:27:04 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

LOL

muandiwambeu
#7752 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:32:12 AM

mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

It's usually said that the prudent thing to do when you find yourself in a hole is to stop digging....however if you continue digging who knows,you might strike gold at lower depths!

Or alltogether exit from the other side of the world?
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#7753 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:42:33 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Hahaha. Ua killing me @muandi

Sir Jones
#7754 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:49:36 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

As quoted by Baron Rothschild,"The time to buy is when there's blood in the streets"
.This is the best time to make some money here.

#7755 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 11:54:25 AM

Sir Jones wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

As quoted by Baron Rothschild,"The time to buy is when there's blood in the streets"

Agreed. People are pontificating the current price drop but they do not know how much was agreed upon by the PJT Partner team as the conversion price.. Cautionary statement was issued to guide.. Mtakula huu!

littledove
#7756 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 12:14:10 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
actuarywahisa wrote:

There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
actuarywahisa
#7757 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 12:51:59 PM

Sir Jones wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Agreed. People are pontificating the current price drop but they do not know how much was agreed upon by the PJT Partner team as the conversion price.. Cautionary statement was issued to guide.. Mtakula huu!

Wahenga walisema heri kula huu kuliko kula chini! Laughing out loudly
#7758 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 12:58:53 PM

actuarywahisa wrote:
Sir Jones wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Wahenga walisema heri kula huu kuliko kula chini! Laughing out loudly

Wahenga walishaaga.. Sasa sisi ndio Wahenga wapya. Hapa hata kunakafirauni kamaniita stupid bwana just because I choose to stay put in KQ.. Ya dunia ni mengi

#7759 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 1:02:24 PM

Sir Jones wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

You misunderstand that quote. He didn't mean buy insolvent loss making companies. He meant buy quality companies trading at less than their intrinsic values.
#7760 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 1:04:42 PM

Sir Jones wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
mamilli wrote:
Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

You misunderstand that quote. He didn't mean buy insolvent loss making companies. He meant buy quality companies trading at less than their intrinsic values.

Perspective.. It's very personal