wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

782 Pages«<385386387388389>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
Ericsson
#7721 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:43:05 PM

Ericsson wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Small-KQ-shareholders-face-big-stake-cut/539546-3962316-pbbpmwz/index.html

More than 78,000 small Kenya Airways shareholders are set for a massive dilution of their stake in the ongoing restructuring that could leave them owning only about 6.7 per cent of the national carrier from 43.7 per cent

We are looking at a possible dilution to current shareholders of approximately 5.7 times, which translates to a diluted market price of approximately Sh1.2 per share,” says Genghis in a research note sent to its clients on Thursday.

1.2 per KQ share is laughable, but even if we touch it, a rapid rise back to KES 10 or more, is guaranteed.. Michael Joseph should be made the President of Kenya.. A visionary with few equals.. Probably only Kibaki is in his league of thought

We wait to see how many issued shares of KQ it will be before coming with conclusion that it will rise to 10.
Michael Joseph will bolt out along the way.Hii kitu inanuka vibaya sana.
You are forgetting there will be a debt of 77bn
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#7722 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:47:48 PM

Ericsson wrote:
http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Small-KQ-shareholders-face-big-stake-cut/539546-3962316-pbbpmwz/index.html

More than 78,000 small Kenya Airways shareholders are set for a massive dilution of their stake in the ongoing restructuring that could leave them owning only about 6.7 per cent of the national carrier from 43.7 per cent

We are looking at a possible dilution to current shareholders of approximately 5.7 times, which translates to a diluted market price of approximately Sh1.2 per share,” says Genghis in a research note sent to its clients on Thursday.

1.2 per KQ share is laughable, but even if we touch it, a rapid rise back to KES 10 or more, is guaranteed.. Michael Joseph should be made the President of Kenya.. A visionary with few equals.. Probably only Kibaki is in his league of thought

We wait to see how many issued shares of KQ it will be before coming with conclusion that it will rise to 10.

Usikonde kwa niaba yetu.. Tuko fiti. By the way, your understanding of stock pricing is questionable. It's not about the number of shares issued but the turnaround.. Once traction kicks in, even KES 40 per KQ share shall be a possibility.. Not to forget that there will be heightened illiquidity to push off the clowns from KQ investment. People like @vvs @arresteddev could make one ignore a gem. Listen to Michael Joseph from minute 13.20 incase you do not have sufficient data

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Ericsson
#7723 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:59:27 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Usikonde kwa niaba yetu.. Tuko fiti. By the way, your understanding of stock pricing is questionable. It's not about the number of shares issued but the turnaround.. Once traction kicks in, even KES 40 per KQ share shall be a possibility.. Not to forget that there will be heightened illiquidity to push off the clowns from KQ investment

Obiero wacha kudanganya watu hapa.Thinking KQ with 10bn shares will reach 40.
I'm waiting to see where these passengers will come from to undertake the turnaround plan.
#7724 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:01:46 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Usikonde kwa niaba yetu.. Tuko fiti. By the way, your understanding of stock pricing is questionable. It's not about the number of shares issued but the turnaround.. Once traction kicks in, even KES 40 per KQ share shall be a possibility.. Not to forget that there will be heightened illiquidity to push off the clowns from KQ investment

Obiero wacha kudanganya watu hapa.Thinking KQ with 10bn shares will reach 40 is taking us to be fools

Can Safaricom reach KES 30 with their 40B shares. KCB once traded at KES 265 per share with close to 3B issued shares

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
ARAP CHARLES
#7725 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:01:55 PM

Ericsson wrote:

if by any chance it becomes 1:2 ... wah! My brother Obiero This thing Will crush 20/- like nobody's business.
Watch and Listen and Live
Ericsson
#7726 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:05:02 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Obiero wacha kudanganya watu hapa.Thinking KQ with 10bn shares will reach 40 is taking us to be fools

Can Safaricom reach KES 30 with their 40B shares. KCB once traded at KES 265 per share with close to 3B issued shares

@Obiero stupid stupid stupid
when did KCB trade at 265 with 3bn shares.
Your understanding of shares is now in question
#7727 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:07:24 PM

ARAP CHARLES wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

if by any chance it becomes 1:2 ... wah! My brother Obiero This thing Will crush 20/- like nobody's business.

@arap the complexities of the restructure are giving people ulcers, while they fail to identify the rationale.. Negative equity is now addressed.. The biggest expense item being finance cost has been nipped. A profit is guaranteed and a large one at that, with automatic dividend

#7728 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:11:07 PM

Ericsson wrote:

Haha. Seems im dealing with a toddler who results to tantrums rather than checking the facts.. http://allafrica.com/stories/200703051609.html

Ericsson
#7729 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:18:28 PM

Ericsson wrote:
[quote=Ericsson]http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Small-KQ-shareholders-face-big-stake-cut/539546-3962316-pbbpmwz/index.html

Haha. Seems im dealing with a toddler who results to tantrums rather than checking the facts.. http://allafrica.com/stories/200703051609.html[/quote]

I repeat you are stupid.The article mentions share split.You do not even know what was the issued shares of KCB before that split
#7730 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:30:21 PM

Ericsson wrote:
[quote=Ericsson]http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/news/Small-KQ-shareholders-face-big-stake-cut/539546-3962316-pbbpmwz/index.html

Haha. Seems im dealing with a toddler who results to tantrums rather than checking the facts.. http://allafrica.com/stories/200703051609.html[/quote]

I repeat you are stupid.The article mentions share split.You do not even know what was the issued shares of KCB before that split

Hehe.. Then simply tell us, wiseman

#7731 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 2:31:24 AM

“We are looking at a possible dilution to current shareholders of approximately 5.7 times, which translates to a diluted market price of approximately Sh1.2 per share,” says Genghis in a research note sent to its clients on Thursday."
http://www.businessdaily...2316-pbbpmwz/index.html

Sigh, I will lose money no matter what. From the taxpayer money being flushed down the toilet to the banks being forced to buy crap.
Ericsson
#7732 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 6:21:37 AM

Ericsson wrote:

199mn shares
#7733 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 7:58:39 AM

Ericsson wrote:

199mn shares

@Ericsson.. we appreciate your wise counsel. May you live long with your high intelligence. bloody nugu!!

lochaz-index
#7734 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 8:57:44 AM

Ericsson wrote:

You must hand it to Kq for breaking new ground. Technically it is not a dilution but a boon to current minority shareholders, here's why:

1. Before this deal Kq had negative equity so they owned nothing in the - no residual ownership - firm despite holding its shares.

2. This deal takes care of the negative equity in its entirety meaning that shareholders despite a reduced % holding in the firm they can now lay claim to its assets. Kind of a negative negative arrangement yielding a positive outcome aka diluting negative equity through debt conversion results in a plus.

3. Increased number of shares will of course suppress the share price on the bourse so it's a case of you win some and lose some. If the dilution is as huge as anticipated Kq could even yield a margin of safety for investors.

However, since there will be no cash injection other than the $100m from KLM can Kq generate enough cashflows to maintain working capital, pay down the remaining debts and return to profitability? I have my doubts but time will tell. On the balance of things it will not take long for the rights issue to be announced. That squeeze won't be pretty for the minorities.
The main purpose of the stock market is to make fools of as many people as possible.
#7735 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 9:09:59 AM

lochaz-index wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

You must hand it to Kq for breaking new ground. Technically it is not a dilution but a boon to current minority shareholders, here's why:

1. Before this deal Kq had negative equity so they owned nothing in the - no residual ownership - firm despite holding its shares.

2. This deal takes care of the negative equity in its entirety meaning that shareholders despite a reduced % holding in the firm they can now lay claim to its assets. Kind of a negative negative arrangement yielding a positive outcome aka diluting negative equity through debt conversion results in a plus.

3. Increased number of shares will of course suppress the share price on the bourse so it's a case of you win some and lose some. If the dilution is as huge as anticipated Kq could even yield a margin of safety for investors.

However, since there will be no cash injection other than the $100m from KLM can Kq generate enough cashflows to maintain working capital, pay down the remaining debts and return to profitability? I have my doubts but time will tell. On the balance of things it will not take long for the rights issue to be announced. That squeeze won't be pretty for the minorities.

@lochaz-index smack on

Mkondoa Macho
#7736 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 9:43:08 AM

It is technically impossible to save Kenya Airways. Instead, the government should use the money it regularly saves KQ with, to launch an alternative airline that is wholly owned by the government (strictly no other investors). My reasoning is that KLM is the parasite that eats KQ from within, and at this point, it is impossible to get rid of it. The government should retain it's KQ shares, and watch KQ slide into insolvency. When the airline's assets are auctioned, it will get some as a shareholder, and as a creditor. These assets can then be used by the new airline which it will wholly own.
#7737 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 9:49:28 AM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:
It is technically impossible to save Kenya Airways. Instead, the government should use the money it regularly saves KQ with, to launch an alternative airline that is wholly owned by the government (strictly no other investors). My reasoning is that KLM is the parasite that eats KQ from within, and at this point, it is impossible to get rid of it. The government should retain it's KQ shares, and watch KQ slide into insolvency. When the airline's assets are auctioned, it will get some as a shareholder, and as a creditor. These assets can then be used by the new airline which it will wholly own.

Wakuondoka watoke pole pole.. Hii kitu haijaeleweka na wengi

Spikes
#7738 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:01:52 AM

Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Jipe moyo @Obiero as thousands of shareholders are forcing their way out to escape the wrath of restructuring aka turnaround!
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
#7739 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:12:40 AM

Spikes wrote:
Mkondoa Macho wrote:

Jipe moyo @Obiero as thousands of shareholders are forcing their way out to escape the wrath of restructuring aka turnaround!

Niko gangari.. Wakutoka watoke.. Planning to load up on Wednesday

Mkondoa Macho
#7740 Posted : Friday, June 09, 2017 10:23:54 AM

Read here: http://www.nation.co.ke/...05266-pwbo77/index.html

"Some Kenya Airways workers believe KLM routinely takes traffic that belongs to the Kenyan carrier.

However, this allegation has been dismissed by the Seabury report as a misconception since “if desired”, KQ could block KLM’s expansion in Eastern Africa through joint network governance.

The argument within KLM is that if it reduces service to Eastern Africa, a new competitor might come in and take the route and so it is defending the Eastern Africa route for KQ against an onslaught from Gulf airlines, including Etihad, Emirates and Qatar.

Initially, KQ’s regional and domestic operations were to be structured to feed both KLM and KQ’s intercontinental operations with a provision of seamless connectivity.

Kenya Airways was to take over the operations of “most of” KLM tail-end services via Nairobi and its European network was to be adjusted to optimise hub-to-hub operations.

It also meant that KLM’s Eastern Africa destinations, served via Nairobi, such as Lilongwe and Dar-es-Salaam, were to be taken over by KQ. This did not happen.

Secondary destinations in northern, central, eastern and western Europe were to be served by KQ via KLM Amsterdam connections, “subject to a detailed analysis of the business benefits of each pair”.

Both KLM and KQ agreed to offer competitive fares reflecting their connecting services.

But even with that, questions have been raised within Kenya Airways as to why KLM sells more out-of-East Africa tickets than KQ.

It is now known that KLM does not make any efforts to sell KQ tickets while KQ makes efforts to sell both its tickets and KLM’s.

The winner here remains KLM, which rakes in more revenue from Eastern Africa than KQ.

“This imbalance is indicative of a sales relationship in need of improvement,” says the Seabury report.

Another loss for the country is that the government agreed to ban charter flights to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport to safeguard KQ.

The import of this clause was that tour companies could not fly tourists on their choice airline. The winner for this arrangement was KLM since it commands the north-south route.

Again, while KLM had agreed to respect “grandfather rights” to existing route licences, new information is that it has been selling these slots.

“Kenya Airways has sold its highly valuable slots into London Heathrow Airport, and proceeded to lease some unfavourable slots from KLM,” says Kenya Airline Pilots Association Secretary-General Paul Gichinga.

NO UNDERSTANDING
In the aviation industry, grandfather rights allow an airline to keep a slot in perpetuity, provided that it uses it for at least 80 per cent of occasions during a single season.

Without these grandfather rights, or slots, an airline is unable to expand to major international airports. KQ has sold its slots at Heathrow.

The 1996 agreement also said that the business will be conducted “in the best interest of the company on sound commercial profit making principles”.

Despite this cooperation, the two airlines agreed to “remain competitors in certain spheres of business” and to establish a code of conduct governing their behaviour in areas where they remained competitors”.

Now, officials from both firms agree that KLM dominates working group discussions and that KQ has no say.

“KLM feels that it dominates only because KQ does not put in similar effort,” says the Seabury report. “It does not prepare for meetings and frequently does not have proper background for their positions.”

One of the recommendations given by the consultants is that KLM needs to take time to explain sophisticated issues to KQ so as to “stay transparent and include KQ input in all steps of decisions”.

KQ was also asked to assign “top talent” into the working groups and resources. This is because KQ employees have a general lack of understanding on how the joint venture operates and how to cooperate at day-to-day levels." (Article Originally posted in the Daily Nation and written by one John Kamau)