wazua Mon, Aug 18, 2025

782 Pages«<383384385386387>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#7681 Posted : Wednesday, June 07, 2017 2:07:02 PM

You have to pity people like @vvs who bought KQ at KES 71 per share and sold at KES 13.. Let us learn from past mistakes but let it not blind us to future opportunities. Selling was the right thing to do then, but right now if you are not buying KQ or atleast thinking that the turnaround is bearing fruit, then you may be suffering from myopia. Captain Michael Joseph and Mikosz will take us back to being The Pride of Africa. My only worry would be why Naikuni is still a free man

Boss wacha jokes. You are riding the Titanic to the bottom of the sea, but you pity the chap who jumped out when the ship first hit the iceberg...

Applause Applause Applause That was quite the comeback! And so apt. I was conned by Naikuni, Mbugua and those conmen. I learnt an expensive lesson but I apply it to my other investments esp in shares. I share this experience so others may learn.

I take no pleasure when others are conned and in my small way try to warn folks be it HAFR, Merali or Olympia...
Horton
#7682 Posted : Wednesday, June 07, 2017 4:33:04 PM

You have to pity people like @vvs who bought KQ at KES 71 per share and sold at KES 13.. Let us learn from past mistakes but let it not blind us to future opportunities. Selling was the right thing to do then, but right now if you are not buying KQ or atleast thinking that the turnaround is bearing fruit, then you may be suffering from myopia. Captain Michael Joseph and Mikosz will take us back to being The Pride of Africa. My only worry would be why Naikuni is still a free man

Boss wacha jokes. You are riding the Titanic to the bottom of the sea, but you pity the chap who jumped out when the ship first hit the iceberg...

Applause Applause Applause That was quite the comeback! And so apt. I was conned by Naikuni, Mbugua and those conmen. I learnt an expensive lesson but I apply it to my other investments esp in shares. I share this experience so others may learn.

I take no pleasure when others are conned and in my small way try to warn folks be it HAFR, Merali or Olympia...

Obiero and VVS need to take this outside πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
#7683 Posted : Wednesday, June 07, 2017 4:41:31 PM

Horton wrote:

Applause Applause Applause That was quite the comeback! And so apt. I was conned by Naikuni, Mbugua and those conmen. I learnt an expensive lesson but I apply it to my other investments esp in shares. I share this experience so others sssssssssssssssssaaa@ learn.

I take no pleasure when others are ss and in my small way try to warn folks be it HAFR, Merali or Olympia...

The next person to call KQ a false investment, I will squeeze your nuts or the equivalent

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
ArrestedDev
#7684 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 3:43:11 AM

Horton wrote:

Applause Applause Applause That was quite the comeback! And so apt. I was conned by Naikuni, Mbugua and those conmen. I learnt an expensive lesson but I apply it to my other investments esp in shares. I share this experience so others sssssssssssssssssaaa@ learn.

I take no pleasure when others are ss and in my small way try to warn folks be it HAFR, Merali or Olympia...

The next person to call KQ a false investment, I will squeeze your nuts or the equivalent

Nothing to celebrate as of now with this stock. There is a lot of uncertainty already clouding the announcement for more debt and Govt intention to convert a portion of the debt to equity.

The current parliament will not be able to handle the request put forward by the Treasury. I believe it has been factored in the upcoming budget. There is a likely hood that Parliament will not approve the rescue package or it will take long yet KQ urgently need funds to stay afloat.

If funding to support operations delays then anything can happen. The CEO may even depart, suppliers may refuse to supply essential services and many other unforeseen issues.

Anyone dealing or planning to deal with this stock should thread very carefully.
#7685 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 7:12:48 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Horton wrote:

Nothing to celebrate as of now with this stock. There is a lot of uncertainty already clouding the announcement for more debt and Govt intention to convert a portion of the debt to equity.

The current parliament will not be able to handle the request put forward by the Treasury. I believe it has been factored in the upcoming budget. There is a likely hood that Parliament will not approve the rescue package or it will take long yet KQ urgently need funds to stay afloat.

If funding to support operations delays then anything can happen. The CEO may even depart, suppliers may refuse to supply essential services and many other unforeseen issues.

Anyone dealing or planning to deal with this stock should thread very carefully.

High risk, high returns.. Parliament will make a debacle but shall approve the restructure.. Only problem that can arise is a NASA victory

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Kausha
#7686 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 9:09:38 AM

Waaahh poor banks that lent this company..how do you lend and be forced to convert to equity of an insolvent conpany. The existing shares must be worth nothing at this point after this conversion. @Obiero you go ahead and squeeze our nuts but hell what a rip off.
ArrestedDev
#7687 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 9:18:25 AM

Kausha wrote:
Waaahh poor banks that lent this company..how do you lend and be forced to convert to equity of an insolvent conpany. The existing shares must be worth nothing at this point after this conversion. @Obiero you go ahead and squeeze our nuts but hell what a rip off.

The taxpayers bearing the cost and not the banks.
Kausha
#7688 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 9:25:04 AM

ArrestedDev wrote:
Kausha wrote:

At what price/ share is the conversion price? That will determine what the banks end up with. In the meantime, KQ has not serviced the loans and you have to hold onto shares and wait for the price to lift off in future. How long it takes and the opportunity cost of this? BEar in mind as the bank you are carrying the cost of this funding. The price may not rise by much and if you attempt to sell 23BIllion with of KQ shares the price will tumble. I wonder which PE firms beyond IFC would be interest in airlines. The banks should have pushed for the loans to secured by government as Afriexim did or secured by some assets.
ArrestedDev
#7689 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:01:47 AM

Kausha wrote:
ArrestedDev wrote:
Kausha wrote:

At what price/ share is the conversion price? That will determine what the banks end up with. In the meantime, KQ has not serviced the loans and you have to hold onto shares and wait for the price to lift off in future. How long it takes and the opportunity cost of this? BEar in mind as the bank you are carrying the cost of this funding. The price may not rise by much and if you attempt to sell 23BIllion with of KQ shares the price will tumble. I wonder which PE firms beyond IFC would be interest in airlines. The banks should have pushed for the loans to secured by government as Afriexim did or secured by some assets.

The bank will get the principal amount plus interest and nothing else.

Spikes
#7690 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:13:55 AM

As you can see market markers are struggling to invent a rally .
John 5:17 But Jesus replied, β€œMy Father is always working, and so am I.”
#7691 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:36:50 AM

@Obiero was right about I&M

It is one of the banks being forced to convert their debts into worthless shares in KQ

http://www.businessdaily...0520-88tspaz/index.html

I&M [& all other investees of mine incl Equity and DTB] need to write these loans off. Take the hit and be done.

Forcing banks to convert loans into worthless shares in wrong but mta-do?
Pesa Nane
#7692 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:48:03 AM

"..The Company's shareholders and prospective investors are advised to exercise caution when dealing with the securities of the Company.." ..."Company Shareholders will be invited to participate in a new issue of equity on a pro rata basis, although at a significant dilution to current position"

Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Ericsson
#7693 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:49:11 AM

It is one of the banks being forced to convert their debts into worthless shares in KQ

I&M [& all other investees of mine incl Equity and DTB] need to write these loans off. Take the hit and be done.

++

@VVS
Your money and investment is safe with this clause;
"However, if KQ’s share price will not have risen sufficiently to cover their exposure by 2027, the government has guaranteed to step in and pay these local banks a lump sum of $75 million (Sh7.7 billion).
In the case of liquidation, which is what the intricate restructuring plan is trying to prevent, the Treasury will wire Sh28.8 billion to the 11 banks β€” placing a heavy burden on the economy and taxpayers."

Otherwise KQ is dead dead I don't see it recovering or coming back.
For those waiting share price appreciation sorrryyy
Look at this clause also
"The government is, however, more concerned with the loans owed to local banks since Barclays Bank Plc, Citibank and JP Morgan have the option of selling KQ’s planes to recover their funds with β€œminimal residual risk to government.”

If it had a problem repaying sh.25bn what about 77bn with competition from SGR in the domestic scene.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Pesa Nane
#7694 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:52:06 AM

Readable version
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#7695 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 10:57:20 AM

Gosh this is bad..
Ericsson
#7696 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:05:40 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Readable version

Rights issue is to retire part of the bank's debt.
VVS at least you will salvage something
Kausha
#7697 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:08:35 AM

The paper version of Business Daily has the detailed story. It is very clear Banks will convert to equity. There is no rights issue but a new share issue to retire the debt by conversion
Ericsson
#7698 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 11:13:25 AM

Kausha wrote:
The paper version of Business Daily has the detailed story. It is very clear Banks will convert to equity. There is no rights issue but a new share issue to retire the debt by conversion

Wewe read the cautionary statement
What does company shareholders will be invited to particpate in a new issue of equity on a pro-rata basis although at a significant dilution to the current positions mean.
kawi254
#7699 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 12:12:33 PM

Waiting for the loan write offs to find out which bank was swimming naked
#7700 Posted : Thursday, June 08, 2017 1:20:03 PM

They will probably create a special class of shares/ hybrid security for the banks.

Banks are not stupid.