Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
Several years ago there was talk of a train terminus at JKIA for transporting passengers to/fro from city centre?What happened to that plan? obiero wrote:Ericsson wrote:SGR will grab some of the passengers KQ and JJ used to fly to mombasa. Turnaround of KQ will depend on managing costs and increasing passenger numbers. Kazi ianze Bw.Sebastian Mikosz @Ericsson you are somewhat right, but I prefer that you first use the train before issuing the forecast.. Hii kitu inasimamia kati ya msitu
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 10,779 Location: NAIROBI
@Obiero Any African thinking of leading KQ should first study the turnaround of Qantas Airlines. Very many key lessons can be learnt from there which can be applied to KQ case Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/23/2009 Posts: 13,796 Location: nairobi
ProverB wrote: For the year ended 31st March 2010, Kenya Airways Ltd recorded Total revenue of Kshs 70,743,000,000.00, and the company’s Operating Profit amounted to Kshs 1,839,000,000.00 Operating margin = (Operating Profit /Revenues) x 100. = (1,839,000,000.00 / 70,743,000,000.00) x 100 = 2.6% Out of every Kshs1.00 Kenya Airways collected as revenue in the year, it retained only Kshs 0.03, as operating profit after paying for the operational expenses incurred in getting that Kshs 1.00 It is out of that 3Cents that Kenya Airways is to pay out financial costs as well as taxes and the balance retained as profits for share holders. Should we choose to focus only on the company’s core business operations, Kenya Airways operational performance for the just ended period is rather dismal compared to the previous periods For 2010, Kenya Airways had an operating margin of 2.6% For 2009, the operating margin was 5.6% For 2008, the operating margin was 11.6% For 2007, the operating margin was 13.1% Declining operating margins over time should be a warning sign to any investor. On average, out of every kshs1 in revenues that Kenya Airways collects annually, it has overtime paid more and more in operational costs. It could imply that the c ompany is having difficulty in bringing in revenues considering that it registered slightly declined revenues compared to the previous year, or that the management is facing increasing challenges in improving the company’s Operational Efficiency. The 54.5% decline in Operating Profits might explain why despite reporting 148% improvement in earnings, the share registered a 8% decline in trading price as soon as results were published. A lot is learnt by observing Operating profits trend over time, but it should not be the only factor one considers when planning whether or not the Kenya Airways shares are a viable investment. Ceteris paribus. Back to basics.. Now that KQ is profitable at the operating level. Where do we go from here? In my view, the only way is up Kenya Airways operating margin trend 2016 0.84% 2015 -3.52% 2014 -2.2% 2013 -9.11% .. 2010 2.6% 2009 5.6% 2008 11.6% 2007 13.1% COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
enyands wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:maka wrote:21st July...thats Thursday I believe... What will happen by then? Yves last working day? 9 days to go.. The rally is full on as predicted by @karasinga Thursday as @Maka states. CS Treasury hints at an equity partner within one month from now. They will play with it to favour them. Interesting. Thursday is the day ,then a month time is when true shareholding will be realised! !!hope not dilution of current shareholders by creating more shares! ! The exchange bar confirms that dilution is on the way.. In this scenario KQ does not have the capital to service current liabilities and the firm is hindered from issuing new debt due to covenants of existing debt and a rights issue cannot even be mentioned. PJT Partners proposes equity offering of new shares worth KES 60B.. It will be an ebb and flow, dying to live or living to die.. I speak in code COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
obiero wrote:enyands wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:maka wrote:21st July...thats Thursday I believe... What will happen by then? Yves last working day? 9 days to go.. The rally is full on as predicted by @karasinga Thursday as @Maka states. CS Treasury hints at an equity partner within one month from now. They will play with it to favour them. Interesting. Thursday is the day ,then a month time is when true shareholding will be realised! !!hope not dilution of current shareholders by creating more shares! ! The exchange bar confirms that dilution is on the way.. In this scenario KQ does not have the capital to service current liabilities and the firm is hindered from issuing new debt due to covenants of existing debt and a rights issue cannot even be mentioned. PJT Partners proposes equity offering of new shares worth KES 60B.. It will be an ebb and flow, dying to live or living to die.. I speak in code You seem disillusioned by the way of your comments. Your early KQ views have plunged into unpredictability! John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
Spikes wrote:obiero wrote:enyands wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:maka wrote:21st July...thats Thursday I believe... What will happen by then? Yves last working day? 9 days to go.. The rally is full on as predicted by @karasinga Thursday as @Maka states. CS Treasury hints at an equity partner within one month from now. They will play with it to favour them. Interesting. Thursday is the day ,then a month time is when true shareholding will be realised! !!hope not dilution of current shareholders by creating more shares! ! The exchange bar confirms that dilution is on the way.. In this scenario KQ does not have the capital to service current liabilities and the firm is hindered from issuing new debt due to covenants of existing debt and a rights issue cannot even be mentioned. PJT Partners proposes equity offering of new shares worth KES 60B.. It will be an ebb and flow, dying to live or living to die.. I speak in code You seem disillusioned by the way of your comments. Your early KQ views have plunged into unpredictability! LOL COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
obiero wrote:enyands wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:obiero wrote:ArrestedDev wrote:maka wrote:21st July...thats Thursday I believe... What will happen by then? Yves last working day? 9 days to go.. The rally is full on as predicted by @karasinga Thursday as @Maka states. CS Treasury hints at an equity partner within one month from now. They will play with it to favour them. Interesting. Thursday is the day ,then a month time is when true shareholding will be realised! !!hope not dilution of current shareholders by creating more shares! ! The exchange bar confirms that dilution is on the way.. In this scenario KQ does not have the capital to service current liabilities and the firm is hindered from issuing new debt due to covenants of existing debt and a rights issue cannot even be mentioned. PJT Partners proposes equity offering of new shares worth KES 60B.. It will be an ebb and flow, dying to live or living to die.. I speak in code Who will provide 60Bn equity to a company with -45Bn shareholders' funds? Junk bonds maybe, equity never. Life is short. Live passionately.
Going back to Egypt.... possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:Going back to Egypt.... Meaning what @Maka?
Sir Jones wrote:maka wrote:Going back to Egypt.... Meaning what @Maka? Code share signed with Egypt Air...4 flights per week. possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:Sir Jones wrote:maka wrote:Going back to Egypt.... Meaning what @Maka? Code share signed with Egypt Air...4 flights per week. Ohh and this is Mikosz 1st announcement  It was being worked on since late last year.... possunt quia posse videntur
Sir Jones wrote:maka wrote:Going back to Egypt.... Meaning what @Maka? Kenya Airways (KQ) enters into a codeshare agreement with EgyptAir on Nairobi-Cairo route Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:Sir Jones wrote:maka wrote:Going back to Egypt.... Meaning what @Maka? Kenya Airways (KQ) enters into a codeshare agreement with EgyptAir on Nairobi-Cairo route Thanks @ Ericsson for clarification. Hope this one brings some value addition to the National carrier not like the KLM arrangement.
maka wrote:Jibabe wrote:Who's Geoffrey Mugendo hear a parking spot at KQ labeld as such Really by name?He is in supply chain... His initiatives saved KQ the most money last year...Sadly today is his last day at the company. Onward to greener pastures... possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/20/2015 Posts: 2,811 Location: Mombasa
7/- Bob handle wiped off as we staircase south following news of 60B equity injection shakes up the status quo due to likely massive dilution. John 5:17 But Jesus replied, “My Father is always working, and so am I.”
https://ir.citi.com/K48NmnoXhQiTE4FHzCmUD9%2F8fcRugHm76eyZA4lXT9lx5Hml4Yil9g%3D%3DEquity increase details to be released by July — We continue to model a US$400m (KSh 41.4bn) equity rights issue, which would increase share count 5 -fold at the current share price,more if discounted, heavily diluting existing shareholders.This would enable Kenya Airways to repay KSh25bn bridging loan from the Government and Afreximbank and maintain cash at c.30% of revenue. Our EPS estimates will depend critically on the terms of the rights issue. We expect the Government (29.8%holder) and KLM (26.7%) to take up their rights. There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
littledove wrote:https://ir.citi.com/K48NmnoXhQiTE4FHzCmUD9%2F8fcRugHm76eyZA4lXT9lx5Hml4Yil9g%3D%3DEquity increase details to be released by July — We continue to model a US$400m (KSh 41.4bn) equity rights issue, which would increase share count 5 -fold at the current share price,more if discounted, heavily diluting existing shareholders.This would enable Kenya Airways to repay KSh25bn bridging loan from the Government and Afreximbank and maintain cash at c.30% of revenue. Our EPS estimates will depend critically on the terms of the rights issue. We expect the Government (29.8%holder) and KLM (26.7%) to take up their rights. Obiero kuja hapa...whooooshhhhh possunt quia posse videntur
littledove wrote:https://ir.citi.com/K48NmnoXhQiTE4FHzCmUD9%2F8fcRugHm76eyZA4lXT9lx5Hml4Yil9g%3D%3DEquity increase details to be released by July — We continue to model a US$400m (KSh 41.4bn) equity rights issue, which would increase share count 5 -fold at the current share price,more if discounted, heavily diluting existing shareholders.This would enable Kenya Airways to repay KSh25bn bridging loan from the Government and Afreximbank and maintain cash at c.30% of revenue. Our EPS estimates will depend critically on the terms of the rights issue. We expect the Government (29.8%holder) and KLM (26.7%) to take up their rights. Wolololoooo Obiero can't even talk,massive dilution expected if it goes as per by the report;an additional 7.3bn shares to be issued and gava won't contribute a cent;their debt will be converted to equity Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson wrote:littledove wrote:https://ir.citi.com/K48NmnoXhQiTE4FHzCmUD9%2F8fcRugHm76eyZA4lXT9lx5Hml4Yil9g%3D%3DEquity increase details to be released by July — We continue to model a US$400m (KSh 41.4bn) equity rights issue, which would increase share count 5 -fold at the current share price,more if discounted, heavily diluting existing shareholders.This would enable Kenya Airways to repay KSh25bn bridging loan from the Government and Afreximbank and maintain cash at c.30% of revenue. Our EPS estimates will depend critically on the terms of the rights issue. We expect the Government (29.8%holder) and KLM (26.7%) to take up their rights. Wolololoooo Obiero can't even talk,massive dilution expected if it goes as per by the report;an additional 7.3bn shares to be issued and gava won't contribute a cent;their debt will be converted to equity The stated dilution will result in a strong company.. Ebb and flow. Let the good times roll COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; IMH 5,000 ABP 35.55; KQ 604,200 ABP 6.96; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
What? I wish I exited last week. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Investor
Stocks
Kenya Airways...why ignore..