70 Pages«<3536373839>»
SGR Progress thus far
#721 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 8:50:12 PM

kayhara wrote:

I have never heard you complain that planes should be landing in South C to make any economic sense, after all, you take cabs and pay that 1000/- from Embakasi to south C. Reli mwisho ni Syokimau, panda Nairobi commuter rail hapo ushukie railways tao.

Wacha nikusaidie kidogo Murchr because leo umenoa.

I'm a business persona and want to use the First Class Service.

Cost of the Plane

1. Taxi to Wilson or JKIA - ksh. 1000
2. Airline Ticket - ksh. 7000
3. Taxi from Mombasa Airport to Hotel - ksh. 1000

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour
3. Airport to Hotel - 1 hour

Total time in transit 3 hours maximum

Cost of First Class Train

1. Taxi to Machakos - ksh. 2000
2. First Class Ticket - ksh. 3000
3. Miritini to Mombasa - ksh. 2000

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

1. Taxi to Machakos - 1.5 hours
2. Train time - 5 hours
3. Miritini to Mombasa - 2 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

My friend, why not take the bus? I hear Spanish has aerodynamic buses or something.

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

1. From wherever to Tea Room - 100 Bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From Tea Room to Mabatha - 800 bob Chania - Time to Travel 8 hours
3. From Chania to Hotel - 40 bob - Time to Travel 30 minutes

Total Cost 840 bob Total Time 8 Hours 10 hours kama kuna jam

Now on the Reli

1. From wherever to town - 100 bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From town to Mayakos - 100 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours
3. From Mayakos to the Station - 50 bob - Time to travel 30 minutes
4. Train to mabatha - 700 bob - Time to travel 5 hours
5. From Miritini to Mabatha - My friend there's no bus, chukua teksi 2000 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours

Total Cost 2950. Total Time 9.5 hours

I know math is a difficult thing but how long do you think it will take the average Kenyan to say he has seen enough relis in his life.

There must be a way that connects commuters to a transport hub. If someone has not thought about that, then there's going to be a problem here.

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

Na nimekwambia, take that bus no problem. I took a bus in November and swore to NEVER AGAIN. Left Nrb 10:30 got to Msa past 11:00am Traffic at mariakani miritini is TERRIBLE. Had a 10pm ticket back got to Nrb past 10am tired, my fellow passengers had swollen feet so even after getting to town I had to get a cab....so wacha mimi nipande reli. Get to the bus, haujaambiwa usipande basi ama ndege..Madaraka express ni another option.

Hustler cost from
Bamburi to Kiambu on SGR

Bamburi to town 50/- matatu
Town to Miritini morning 40/-
Boda to station entrance 50/-
Train 700
Boda from Nairobi terminal to town 50/-
By the lunatic
Town to kiambu 50/-

Total cost 890/-
Time 4.5hrs train 2 hrs connecting

9am to 3pm
Plus soon we shall have buses going there just like to the airport you can take city hopper

Thought you first board the Magongo matatu, before connecting with the Miritini ones and alight at the very end? And viola! There is your SGR

#722 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 8:51:26 PM

C&P. Got this on my whatsapp....

SGR Coast packages

1. Amani Tiwi Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 13,500/- (All Inclusive)
2. Baobab Beach Resort - South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 15,500/- (All Inclusive)
3. The Reef Hotel North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 15,400/- (All Inclusive)
4. Neptune Paradise Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 15,300/- (All Inclusive)
5. Mombasa Beach Hotel North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 12,500/- (Half Board)
6. Travellers Beach Hotel -North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 13,800/- (Half Board )
7. Neptune Beach Resort North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 14,000/- (All Inclusive)
8. Sun Africa Beach Resort North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 14,200/- (Bed and Breakfast)
9. Neptune Village Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 14,300/- (All Inclusive)
10. Bamburi Beach Hotel North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 14,500/- (All Inclusive )

11. Voyager Beach Resort -North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 14,800/- ( All Inclusive)
12. Hillpark Amare Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 15,100/- (Full Board)
13. Neptune Paradise Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 15,300/- (All Inclusive)
14. PrideInn Paradise Beach Hotel -North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 16,600/- (Half Board)
15. Serena Beach Resort & Spa -North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 20,500/- (Half Board )
16. Sarova Whitesands Resort North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 17,000/- (Half Board )
17. Bahari Beach Hotel -North Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 17,600/- (Half Board)
18. Temple Point Resort Watamu 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 16,500/- Half Board
19. Turtle Bay Beach Resort Watamu 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 18,000/- All Inclusive)

20. Swahili Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 17,100/- (Half Board)
21. Southern Palms Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 17,800/- (All Inclusive)
22. Leisure Lodge Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 15,800/- (Half Board)
23. Diani Reef Beach Resort South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 17,100/- (Half Board)
24. The Sands at Chale Island South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 18,000/- (Half Board)
25. The Sands at Nomad South Coast 3 Days with SGR TICKETS and Transfers Ksh. 16,000/- (Bed & Breakfast)

ABOVE RATES INCLUDE:
• Return Economy Tickets on SGR #MadarakaExpress Train
• Train Station Shared Transfers to and fro the hotel
• 2 Nights Hotel accommodation in standard rooms
• All Inclusive (AI) Rates Include: Accommodation in a standard room, All meals during your stay (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner) all international buffet style. All drinks alcoholic or non-alcoholic, Snacks non-motorized water sports, supervised kids’ activities in the kids clubs, day and night entertainment not forgetting the ultimate relaxation.
• Half Board (HB) Includes-Breakfast, Lunch OR dinner.
• Full Board (FB) Includes- Breakfast, Lunch and dinner.

Note
• Single rates and nonresident supplements apply
• Transfers are based on 8 pax in a van hence small number can lead to adjust of the rate for transfers
• Rates are subject to availability that’s including the train tickets
• Hotel rates may change due to occupancy increase.
• FOR FIRST CLASS ADD KSH 4,500

BOOK NOW !! Email to deals@bonfireadventures.com or call +254715281211, +254722879629,+254733527398, +254729836336, +254726824834, +254711222444
www.bonfireadventures.com

Visit our offices:
• NAIROBI CBD: Yala towers - 4th floor, Junction of Koinange/Biashara Streets
• LAVINGTON: Chandarana -Lavington Green Mall,2nd Floor
• RUNDA: Nakumatt - Ridgeways Mall, Ground Floor
• THIKA RD-Garden City Mall,Ground Flr (Next to Nakumatt )
• MOMBASA ROAD – Nextgen Mall ground floor
• NAKURU: Nakumatt - Westside Mall, 1st Floor
#723 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 9:08:28 PM

^^that's creative of those guys @hardwood
#724 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 10:30:44 PM

One can choose to either make millions from the SGR or spend all their time criticizing the new rail. The choice is yours.
#725 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 5:26:04 AM

One can choose to either make millions from the SGR or spend all their time criticizing the new rail. The choice is yours.

D- could not see this far. His county is the biggest beneficiary yet nyef nyef kila wakati.
#726 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 9:37:28 AM

middle crass @alma!
#727 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 11:02:08 AM

Harrydre it's very important you understand why people like me are very important to jubilee.

When I first wrote about this issue, wewe na wengine ambao ni ma ostrich said it was a non-existent issue. The reli was perfect.

I laid down my facts. Now look. The powers that you bow down too listened to me and not you.

The issue of the last mile is a major issue. Even now with the reli buses which would not have existed without my posts on wazua are only on offer until June 6th...After that, what?

The problem is still there.

Sometimes it's good to accept when you are wrong and try to fix issues rather than thinking everything on this earth is about Nasa vs Jubilee. If it is tedious to get to that reli, it will sink.

Read you own links tafadhali.

The corporation plans to release a schedule of the trips by the end of next week.

“During this promotion period, we are working the best timings to offer passengers. We already have a draft but we are also consulting passengers on their preferred timings for travel with Madaraka Express.”

Ipso facto, there was no way to get people to use the reli. They don't even have a schedule. They are running buses as a promotion. There is still no permanent solution to this issue which can kill any transportation system. They have to figure it out soon rather than later. The Chinese are going to start charging interest soon.

Tumeelewana?

#728 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 2:14:54 PM

#729 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 2:17:24 PM

Its only some Kenyans who are unhappy with the reli.

#730 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 4:12:35 PM

#731 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 5:01:33 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Gaizz!!! This is so eggzaiting!! O.M.G. HairHostess!! Bazically!!
#732 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 6:44:45 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Gaizz!!! This is so eggzaiting!! O.M.G. HairHostess!! Bazically!!

I think we are late,I hope we are not late.

#733 Posted : Saturday, June 03, 2017 8:08:51 PM

I think we are late,I hope we are not late.

Let people enjoy the #madarakaexpress as others "wasio tosheka" spend all their time and energy complaining.....makelele ya chura haizuii ngombe kunywa maji, haizuii ufike mombasani.
#734 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 11:42:55 AM

Posta corporation is taking up the last mile either end at Kshs 100 only. there are those who see qpportunities where others see very steep mountains
#735 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 11:45:13 AM

Posta corporation is taking up the last mile either end at Kshs 100 only. there are those who see qpportunites where others see very steep mountains

This is great, though it was a big oversight on the part of #SGR smile
#736 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 1:05:01 PM

Posta corporation is taking up the last mile either end at Kshs 100 only. there are those who see qpportunites where others see very steep mountains

So the actual fare is Kes.900 for this SGR journey?

#737 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 1:18:48 PM

So the actual fare is Kes.900 for this SGR journey?

I guess that you also complain that your fare to town is 150 Bob and not the matatu advertised 50 Bob because you have to hire a boda boda at 50 Bob to take you from your shack in mukuru-kwa-Njenga to the matatu stage....and back.
majimaji
#738 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 2:48:40 PM

How is the First Class travel, does one get their own cubicle? Is there privacy for fish?
#739 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 3:14:29 PM

majimaji wrote:

How is the First Class travel, does one get their own cubicle? Is there privacy for fish?

Fish?Far from it.
Cubicle?Do not dream!

The first class are just wide seats which can swing 180 degreea, can lie some 125 degrees,are wider than your matatu seats...and that's it folk.

The sleeper cubicle you will need to board the famous Lunatic Express.

"Kenyans" asked for faster trains,with it went the romantic trips...with high speeds the journey is not an event but just a means to get to the event.

#740 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 4:53:13 PM

Not really an oversight. The Nairobi Metro rail was supposed to be complete by now. The lunatic is available btw to railway jam free but its prone to break down. This is what is gathering dust at the Mayors(sorry Governors office).