wazua Tue, Nov 4, 2025

70 Pages«<3435363738>»
SGR Progress thus far
wazuaguest
#701 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 8:18:35 AM

The cost for the road transport is 50000 to Nairbi.Who caters for the bribes at Toll station?The transporter or the cargo owner?
Africa belongs to Africans.
#702 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 8:44:03 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
The cost for the road transport is 50000 to Nairbi.Who caters for the bribes at Toll station?The transporter or the cargo owner?

The cost of bribes is inclusive in the total cost.

Iganamagana
#703 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 8:45:47 AM

Let's see what the buffoon will do if he wins Nairobi.

This is the stuff nightmares are made of.
#704 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 9:02:21 AM

Iganamagana wrote:
Let's see what the buffoon will do if he wins Nairobi.

This is the stuff nightmares are made of.

Its going to be a total disaster....total!
#705 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 9:31:53 AM

[quote=murchr]Kiulizo. On the inaugural trip the train is said to have had 216TEU's at 50 000 does that mean the train made 10,800,000?

In other news, Phase 2a is right on course

GOOD!...Let's not just see opportunities of the first phase......To the next part now and i am looking ahead. The aim of the 3rd phase is to take cargo and passengers to the Lake town of Kisumu. From here, one has access to Musoma, Bukoba, Mwanza, Jinja, Entebbe and Kampala. Bukoba and Jinja would be of much interest since this gives direct access and very close proximity to UG, Rwanda, Burundi and Eastern DRC. I think this is where money lies.Shouldn't i start dreaming of something similar to the pictures below? I want to seize the opportunity so let's cut idle wazua talk.

#706 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 9:41:16 AM

Kiulizo. On the inaugural trip the train is said to have had 216TEU's at 50 000 does that mean the train made 10,800,000?

How many functional wagons are available at kpa and what's their maximum capacity.

Chaka
#707 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 10:27:52 AM

Does Kenya Railways still exist?
#708 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 10:41:53 AM

Chaka wrote:
Does Kenya Railways still exist?

Yes they do.
Went to SGR Nbi Terminus jana, and they said they were considering using KR to be transporting travellers from the terminus to Nbi Railways Statn, n ditto in Msa.

For now they will have a daily express train, leaving Nai at 9am. It took 4hrs 40 min to reach Miritini. Plus they are dead serious about being on schedule...the train actually starts leaving at 9am meaning you have to have been on board by 8.40am..scores of passengers were left out coz of keeping the famous african time.

SGR guys are only accepting cash n cards for now, working on getting incorporating mpesa as one of their channels of payment.

ION, the Zimbabweans on twirra had a lot of goodwill for the Kenyan SGR on its launch, and boy you should see the pics frm the neglected Bulawayo Railway Station ndio ujue tuko mbele...
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#709 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 11:05:45 AM

we should be riding on electric trains like ethiopia sio trains za dithero!!!!! lol. any congrats to sgr so far
gmg
#710 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 11:15:05 AM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
we should be riding on electric trains like ethiopia sio trains za dithero!!!!! lol. any congrats to sgr so far

Remember we are only generating 2300MW of power so ikienda kwa reli tutawachiwa nini?
#711 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 11:40:47 AM

Then stima zipotee when you are at man eaters Tsavo....and you spend the night in the bush....
#712 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 11:40:56 AM

gmg wrote:

Remember we are only generating 2300MW of power so ikienda kwa reli tutawachiwa nini?

Accept what Jubilee has done for 'us' and move on smile
wazuaguest
#713 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 1:03:30 PM

Then stima zipotee when you are at man eaters Tsavo....and you spend the night in the bush....

We should reform Kenya Power first otherwise you will start hearing "Sweetie bado tumekwama Voi stima zilipotea"
#714 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 1:16:17 PM

[quote=murchr]Kiulizo. On the inaugural trip the train is said to have had 216TEU's at 50 000 does that mean the train made 10,800,000?

GOOD!...Let's not just see opportunities of the first phase......To the next part now and i am looking ahead. The aim of the 3rd phase is to take cargo and passengers to the Lake town of Kisumu. From here, one has access to Musoma, Bukoba, Mwanza, Jinja, Entebbe and Kampala. Bukoba and Jinja would be of much interest since this gives direct access and very close proximity to UG, Rwanda, Burundi and Eastern DRC. I think this is where money lies.Shouldn't i start dreaming of something similar to the pictures below? I want to seize the opportunity so let's cut idle wazua talk.

You're too old to seize any opportunity smile smile smile smile smile !!!
kayhara
#715 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 1:55:13 PM

I have never heard you complain that planes should be landing in South C to make any economic sense, after all, you take cabs and pay that 1000/- from Embakasi to south C. Reli mwisho ni Syokimau, panda Nairobi commuter rail hapo ushukie railways tao.

Wacha nikusaidie kidogo Murchr because leo umenoa.

I'm a business persona and want to use the First Class Service.

Cost of the Plane

1. Taxi to Wilson or JKIA - ksh. 1000
2. Airline Ticket - ksh. 7000
3. Taxi from Mombasa Airport to Hotel - ksh. 1000

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour
3. Airport to Hotel - 1 hour

Total time in transit 3 hours maximum

Cost of First Class Train

1. Taxi to Machakos - ksh. 2000
2. First Class Ticket - ksh. 3000
3. Miritini to Mombasa - ksh. 2000

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

1. Taxi to Machakos - 1.5 hours
2. Train time - 5 hours
3. Miritini to Mombasa - 2 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

My friend, why not take the bus? I hear Spanish has aerodynamic buses or something.

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

1. From wherever to Tea Room - 100 Bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From Tea Room to Mabatha - 800 bob Chania - Time to Travel 8 hours
3. From Chania to Hotel - 40 bob - Time to Travel 30 minutes

Total Cost 840 bob Total Time 8 Hours 10 hours kama kuna jam

Now on the Reli

1. From wherever to town - 100 bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From town to Mayakos - 100 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours
3. From Mayakos to the Station - 50 bob - Time to travel 30 minutes
4. Train to mabatha - 700 bob - Time to travel 5 hours
5. From Miritini to Mabatha - My friend there's no bus, chukua teksi 2000 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours

Total Cost 2950. Total Time 9.5 hours

I know math is a difficult thing but how long do you think it will take the average Kenyan to say he has seen enough relis in his life.

There must be a way that connects commuters to a transport hub. If someone has not thought about that, then there's going to be a problem here.

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

Na nimekwambia, take that bus no problem. I took a bus in November and swore to NEVER AGAIN. Left Nrb 10:30 got to Msa past 11:00am Traffic at mariakani miritini is TERRIBLE. Had a 10pm ticket back got to Nrb past 10am tired, my fellow passengers had swollen feet so even after getting to town I had to get a cab....so wacha mimi nipande reli. Get to the bus, haujaambiwa usipande basi ama ndege..Madaraka express ni another option.

Hustler cost from
Bamburi to Kiambu on SGR

Bamburi to town 50/- matatu
Town to Miritini morning 40/-
Boda to station entrance 50/-
Train 700
Boda from Nairobi terminal to town 50/-
By the lunatic
Town to kiambu 50/-

Total cost 890/-
Time 4.5hrs train 2 hrs connecting

9am to 3pm
Plus soon we shall have buses going there just like to the airport you can take city hopper

To Each His Own
#716 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 2:13:31 PM

Mkeiy ,if you read my post well you will realise that we are speaking the same thing.

2x20 LIGHT(co-load)=1x40= I TRUCK=80k
1x20 HEAVY(single load)= 1 TRUCK = 80k
1x 40 (regardless of weight)= 1TRUCK= 80k

Extra weight attracts a fine.

As a transporter you can decide to charge as little as 50k for 1x20 on the RETURN LEG to Mombasa/ NBO instead of going back empty after drop off.

Ama namna gani my fren.
No loss on you.

There is no return leg to Mombasa, during the return leg you are required to return the empty container back to the shippers, so 50K is generally both ways.

The only bit the train fare has not factored is the last mile fee which will be a minimum of 10K and the double handling charges i.e load on train, unload at Nairobi, Load on Truck, Unload from truck to train again.
wazuaguest
#717 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 2:40:45 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Mkeiy ,if you read my post well you will realise that we are speaking the same thing.

2x20 LIGHT(co-load)=1x40= I TRUCK=80k
1x20 HEAVY(single load)= 1 TRUCK = 80k
1x 40 (regardless of weight)= 1TRUCK= 80k

Extra weight attracts a fine.

As a transporter you can decide to charge as little as 50k for 1x20 on the RETURN LEG to Mombasa/ NBO instead of going back empty after drop off.

Ama namna gani my fren.
No loss on you.

There is no return leg to Mombasa, during the return leg you are required to return the empty container back to the shippers, so 50K is generally both ways.

The only bit the train fare has not factored is the last mile fee which will be a minimum of 10K and the double handling charges i.e load on train, unload at Nairobi, Load on Truck, Unload from truck to train again.

Can those containers be loaded with potatoes,kales and Spinach from Kinangop?
#718 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 5:17:57 PM

argh.

Client A contracts mkeiy to deliver a full container load to Industrial area.
Contract comes with a 2 free offloading days.
Day 3 the client hasn't offloaded from truck so to avoid incurring detention he agrees to remain with container and release mkeiy.

Rem the transport rate of 80k is inclusive of return of empty container back to mombasa.
Mkeiy grabs an opportunity and decides to carry client B's 20ft goods at 45k ..No loss whatsover as his return to Mba fee has already been catered for by client A.

Such transporters make life bearable for us but are in high demand so getting them is not easy.

#719 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 5:24:23 PM

Back up! back up.

But c'mmon there's a huge capacity diff.between the 2 rail systems.

Let's not be naive..

We are selling SGR as a milestone to attract investors to use MBA port instead of DAR.Don't rubbish that because they too appreciate the progress made actually the whole world does except few Kenyans.

#720 Posted : Friday, June 02, 2017 5:29:20 PM

Kiulizo. On the inaugural trip the train is said to have had 216TEU's at 50 000 does that mean the train made 10,800,000?

Dream on guka, this world revolves because of dreamers like you.