70 Pages«<3334353637>»
SGR Progress thus far
#681 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:35:18 PM

#682 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:39:37 PM

Some wonder why Mwafrika is behind in everything, it's some kind of reasoning I see here. These people opposing infrastructure expansion, go out there, visit the world we are eons behind.

Heck even if the SGR is double the cost, can you think outside the box on the pros, time saved, reduced congestion, quick flow of goods, roads damage, amount of cargo one round will transport etc etc. Nini mbaya na watu??

My friend, i don't know about others, but I'm in total support of the reli. Just love it.

However, that does not mean that I don't see the problems. Someone forgot to link consumers to the reli. That must be fixed otherwise you are staring at train that only tourists will use.

Mine as a consumer I have just illustrated to you in numbers. Patriotism and money will never ever work. I guess that is something strange to some people.

Fix the connections issues for both passengers and transpoters and we shall have a great reli.

Pretend as you are right now that it doesn't matter and get ready to pay taxes to Chinese for a white elephant.

By the way, I don't know what you mean by travel the world. But in the world, the world I have seen, trains terminate in an easy to reach place. Boston Station, Kati kati ya town. New York, kati kati ya town. So use some other logic tafadhali.

#683 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:41:00 PM

I have never heard you complain that planes should be landing in South C to make any economic sense, after all, you take cabs and pay that 1000/- from Embakasi to south C. Reli mwisho ni Syokimau, panda Nairobi commuter rail hapo ushukie railways tao.

Wacha nikusaidie kidogo Murchr because leo umenoa.

I'm a business persona and want to use the First Class Service.

Cost of the Plane

1. Taxi to Wilson or JKIA - ksh. 1000
2. Airline Ticket - ksh. 7000
3. Taxi from Mombasa Airport to Hotel - ksh. 1000

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour
3. Airport to Hotel - 1 hour

Total time in transit 3 hours maximum

Cost of First Class Train

1. Taxi to Machakos - ksh. 2000
2. First Class Ticket - ksh. 3000
3. Miritini to Mombasa - ksh. 2000

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

1. Taxi to Machakos - 1.5 hours
2. Train time - 5 hours
3. Miritini to Mombasa - 2 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

My friend, why not take the bus? I hear Spanish has aerodynamic buses or something.

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

1. From wherever to Tea Room - 100 Bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From Tea Room to Mabatha - 800 bob Chania - Time to Travel 8 hours
3. From Chania to Hotel - 40 bob - Time to Travel 30 minutes

Total Cost 840 bob Total Time 8 Hours 10 hours kama kuna jam

Now on the Reli

1. From wherever to town - 100 bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From town to Mayakos - 100 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours
3. From Mayakos to the Station - 50 bob - Time to travel 30 minutes
4. Train to mabatha - 700 bob - Time to travel 5 hours
5. From Miritini to Mabatha - My friend there's no bus, chukua teksi 2000 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours

Total Cost 2950. Total Time 9.5 hours

I know math is a difficult thing but how long do you think it will take the average Kenyan to say he has seen enough relis in his life.

There must be a way that connects commuters to a transport hub. If someone has not thought about that, then there's going to be a problem here.

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

Na nimekwambia, take that bus no problem. I took a bus in November and swore to NEVER AGAIN. Left Nrb 10:30 got to Msa past 11:00am Traffic at mariakani miritini is TERRIBLE. Had a 10pm ticket back got to Nrb past 10am tired, my fellow passengers had swollen feet so even after getting to town I had to get a cab....so wacha mimi nipande reli. Get to the bus, haujaambiwa usipande basi ama ndege..Madaraka express ni another option.
#684 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:48:08 PM

I have never heard you complain that planes should be landing in South C to make any economic sense, after all, you take cabs and pay that 1000/- from Embakasi to south C. Reli mwisho ni Syokimau, panda Nairobi commuter rail hapo ushukie railways tao.

Cost of the Plane

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

2. Train time - 5 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

My friend, why not take the bus? I hear Spanish has aerodynamic buses or something.

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

Now on the Reli

5. From Miritini to Mabatha - My friend there's no bus, chukua teksi 2000 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours

I know math is a difficult thing but how long do you think it will take the average Kenyan to say he has seen enough relis in his life.

There must be a way that connects commuters to a transport hub. If someone has not thought about that, then there's going to be a problem here.

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

Na nimekwambia, take that bus no problem. I took a bus in November and swore to NEVER AGAIN. Left Nrb 10:30 got to Msa past 11:00am Traffic at mariakani miritini is TERRIBLE. Had a 10pm ticket back got to Nrb past 10am tired, my fellow passengers had swollen feet so even after getting to town I had to get a cab....so wacha mimi nipande reli. Get to the bus, haujaambiwa usipande basi ama ndege..Madaraka express ni another option.

Agreed kila mtu na utamu wake.

But don't forget this is supposed to be a MASS transport system. Yaani kwa kiswahili watu wengi. Have no doubt that cost is a huge factor to the masses who this reli is supposed to serve.

it's so bad that now the gov't is forcing transporters to use that reli. Why? If it is true that costs will come down 60% you don't have to force 40% of the goods at the port to use the thing. Or do you?

The price of unga just went up 60 bob and the masses were complaining. Now you are telling them to love the country so much, to think about the macro economic advantages and to know there's maendeleo. All while increasing their fare from Mombasa to Nairobi. Are you kidding me?

Please tell me you are just kidding.

The project shall only be complete when the final mile is dealt with. It is that simple. But if you don't believe me, wait for 2022 when all the euphoria has waned and uthamakistan is gone.

Haya...nachelewa viceroy. Tuonane mabatha.

#685 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:00:53 PM

I think alma/alma1 has a point. That last mile connection is also important. Which brings me to my question:

What are the roles and responsibilities of the county governments impacted by the MadarakaExpress?
#686 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:05:49 PM

Some wonder why Mwafrika is behind in everything, it's some kind of reasoning I see here. These people opposing infrastructure expansion, go out there, visit the world we are eons behind.

Heck even if the SGR is double the cost, can you think outside the box on the pros, time saved, reduced congestion, quick flow of goods, roads damage, amount of cargo one round will transport etc etc. Nini mbaya na watu??

My friend, i don't know about others, but I'm in total support of the reli. Just love it.

However, that does not mean that I don't see the problems. Someone forgot to link consumers to the reli. That must be fixed otherwise you are staring at train that only tourists will use.

Mine as a consumer I have just illustrated to you in numbers. Patriotism and money will never ever work. I guess that is something strange to some people.

Fix the connections issues for both passengers and transpoters and we shall have a great reli.

Pretend as you are right now that it doesn't matter and get ready to pay taxes to Chinese for a white elephant.

By the way, I don't know what you mean by travel the world. But in the world, the world I have seen, trains terminate in an easy to reach place. Boston Station, Kati kati ya town. New York, kati kati ya town. So use some other logic tafadhali.

The National Govt has done it's part, now it's the work of county Govt to sort the metro transportation issues. I know Sonko will do it, I know Omar Hassan will do it. They can also build a Secure Parking at Syokimou and you can drive your Junk, park (for a week or month) and take the train! You know how it works in Boston wacha kujifanya hapa.
#687 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:08:59 PM

I think alma/alma1 has a point. That last mile connection is also important. Which brings me to my question:

What are the roles and responsibilities of the county governments impacted by the MadarakaExpress?

The Ma3 guys will jump right on to the opportunity as County Govt sorts itself, there will soon be Syokimou Express Ma3's
#688 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:11:53 PM

Cost of the Plane

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

2. Train time - 5 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

Now on the Reli

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

But don't forget this is supposed to be a MASS transport system. Yaani kwa kiswahili watu wengi. Have no doubt that cost is a huge factor to the masses who this reli is supposed to serve.

it's so bad that now the gov't is forcing transporters to use that reli. Why? If it is true that costs will come down 60% you don't have to force 40% of the goods at the port to use the thing. Or do you?

The price of unga just went up 60 bob and the masses were complaining. Now you are telling them to love the country so much, to think about the macro economic advantages and to know there's maendeleo. All while increasing their fare from Mombasa to Nairobi. Are you kidding me?

The project shall only be complete when the final mile is dealt with. It is that simple. But if you don't believe me, wait for 2022 when all the euphoria has waned and uthamakistan is gone.

Nani alikuambia masses want to ride on first class and take cabs? Masses will take a tuktuk (max 100) to miritini, pay 700 to syokimau, get to the commuter train from syokimau to cbd. At the end cost from Msa to Nrb will be about 1K. Hii ingine ni siasa tu. Lakini, options ziko.

I'll leave Kysse to explain the cargo portion - read up there she says all the customer wants is to get their goods in time
#689 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:20:36 PM

Cost of the Plane

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

2. Train time - 5 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

Now on the Reli

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

Nani alikuambia masses want to ride on first class and take cabs? Masses will take a tuktuk (max 100) to miritini, pay 700 to syokimau, get to the commuter train from syokimau to cbd. At the end cost from Msa to Nrb will be about 1K. Hii ingine ni siasa tu. Lakini, options ziko.

I'll leave Kysse to explain the cargo portion - read up there she says all the customer wants is to get their goods in time

Murchr I'm going to give you 1k right now to do what you have just said. Like I've been offering here and there are no takers yet.

Which tuktuk in Mabatha charged you 100 bob? Do you know where Miritini is from the Island? Or do you just feel like typing today? Which matatu number do you take to Miritini? Since you have done the research, please inform us.

Don't be defensive all the time. This is not a reli hating observation. I'm just stating clearly the things that need to be worked on. I have told you, I fully support huge infrastructure projects.

If they are done Jubilee shall rule for 100 years. I know that's what you want. So take my observations as a challenge not an argument.

If they build a transport system to the termination points to these stations, not only will the train do well, but the whole economy will boom.

Something was left out and it is a critical issue. As for Harrydre, tafadhali learn to speak about things you know about. The MBTA terminates right across my street. If I want to go to Dandora it's just hop skip and jump to the next train, matatu, bus or cab...

Sio kubebana na watoto kuenda Machakos.

And next time you say that we should leave our transport system at the mercy of boda boda riders and matatus then I will repost Hardwoods photos on Nairobi transport mess.

#690 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:21:11 PM

The Ma3 guys will jump right on to the opportunity as County Govt sorts itself, there will soon be Syokimou Express Ma3's

I was optimistic when Gov. Kidero (after countless bench marking trips abroad) engaged JICA to come up with a mass transit plan for the county with construction set to commence February 2016:

Ref - https://www.standardmedi...uct-mass-transit-system

However, after the plan was released and KES 2B shillings thereabouts spent, he said it cannot work and that story died there.

So as NASA folks try discredit the national government on the MadarakaExpress, please update us with Gov. Kidero's mass transit plans?

Please also tell us whether performance was a criteria in handing this man a "direct" ODM nomination and effective head start in the Nairobi Governorship 2017 race.
#691 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:28:52 PM

Cost of the Plane

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

2. Train time - 5 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

Now on the Reli

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

Murchr I'm going to give you 1k right now to do what you have just said. Like I've been offering here and there are no takers yet.

Which tuktuk in Mabatha charged you 100 bob? Do you know where Miritini is from the Island? Or do you just feel like typing today? Which matatu number do you take to Miritini? Since you have done the research, please inform us.

Don't be defensive all the time. This is not a reli hating observation. I'm just stating clearly the things that need to be worked on. I have told you, I fully support huge infrastructure projects.

If they are done Jubilee shall rule for 100 years. I know that's what you want. So take my observations as a challenge not an argument.

If they build a transport system to the termination points to these stations, not only will the train do well, but the whole economy will boom.

Something was left out and it is a critical issue. As for Harrydre, tafadhali learn to speak about things you know about. The MBTA terminates right across my street. If I want to go to Dandora it's just hop skip and jump to the next train, matatu, bus or cab...

Sio kubebana na watoto kuenda Machakos.

And next time you say that we should leave our transport system at the mercy of boda boda riders and matatus then I will repost Hardwoods photos on Nairobi transport mess.

Leta hio elfu mbili uone kama sita enda mombasa na nirudi
#692 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:32:32 PM

I was optimistic when Gov. Kidero (after countless bench marking trips abroad) engaged JICA to come up with a mass transit plan for the county with construction set to commence February 2016:

However, after the plan was released and KES 2B shillings thereabouts spent, he said it cannot work and that story died there.

So as NASA folks try discredit the national government on the MadarakaExpress, please update us with Gov. Kidero's mass transit plans?

Please also tell us whether performance was a criteria in handing this man a "direct" ODM nomination and effective head start in the Nairobi Governorship 2017 race.

We were dreaming about it a while back here but eventually lost hope

Even Joho was once a dreamer

#693 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:36:41 PM

Kenyans (& African's in General) need to change some of their attitude. Unataka ufanyiwe kila kitu. You feel like the Govt owes you something. Don't be lazy. 500km + have been sorted for you and you are here complaining of the 1st or last 1KM. You also want it cheapest or even free. Don't you think the rail need maintenance, you need that service at that level everyday yet hutaki kulipa. Sytle up man!!!!Pay your fair share.

#694 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:37:07 PM

Let's see what the buffoon will do if he wins Nairobi.
#695 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 6:38:37 PM

As someone pointed out, the government has done it's part, they have opened up the opportunity. County governments will not do much since they their roles unfortunately is politics and not to build the nation. We were fortune that the stations were build within the project and not by the counties. Now it's the role of me & you, business people to figure out how to exploit the opportunities. Forget these useless county governments, Kibaki would have called them "useless ** ya kuku". Think about it, name one project Kidero has done??? And those yellow boxes on the roads and Kidero grass don't count.

#696 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 7:50:15 PM

We were dreaming about it a while back here but eventually lost hope

Even Joho was once a dreamer

NASA sponsors 1 and 2 away from Wanjigi..
mkeiy
#697 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 7:55:31 PM

Mkeiy have you got the train freight schedule?

I want to do a practical on 2 fcls released from port at same time to determine the timeframe.That's all that clients are interested in.

I also like looking at the bright side of things.
Road Traffic from mombasa port/Long queues by truckers waiting to enter port,delays if truck doesn't meet kpa requirements,Strikes by truckers,Corruption at Weighbridges and kangaroo roadside courts/ Goods pilferage,etc etc

The pros outweigh the cons.
KPA ball is in your court.You must deliver in a timely fashion and support the project.

Whatever the case.. be prepared for congestion at ICD.Some of these trucks are 9km long..x several trips.

@Essyk. I don't have the schedule yet. If you get a copy, please share.

That part highlighted in red will stifle maximum optimization.
Something the likes of @harrydre & @hardwood don't want to hear.

What harm is there in thinking of how to make it BETTER?

Right there @harrydre, is what is holding Africa back. Just refusing to think on how to improve/make better.
#698 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 8:32:12 PM

I see challenges for freight as follows:

-pricing will be a serious issue
-shunting in Nairobi will be a nightmare
-loading/offloading the train

May work for containers to Nairobi, rest will keep using trucks I think.
mkeiy
#699 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 8:36:09 PM

Heck even if the SGR is double the cost, can you think outside the box on the pros, time saved, reduced congestion, quick flow of goods & services, roads damage, amount of cargo one round of train will transport etc etc. Nini mbaya na watu?? Lets review 1 Yr later and see. I recall people made noise on Thika Highway, these days wamenyamaza!

Heck, business is about profits and the margins are highest using road cargo for now, ceteris paribus.

At the moment, trucking on the road is cheaper & convenient.

I am wondering people who are not direct consumers of this SGR Cargo, are lecturing others.

@harrydre. As it is;
It's not saving time (congestion at ICD)& delays at Terminal 2 in Msa. Hence no such quick flow of goods.
It's expensive.

These are the ONLY major factors a consumer (exporter or importer) will consider. Once they are fixed, we won't have reason to use road. I will benefit directly. Why would I oppose such a thing?

Stuff like road congestion, amount of cargo moved per trip etc, those are for the masses.
Masses do not transport cargo, individuals and businesses do.
Fortunately, in business,it's more about business sense, unlike in our politics were other factors reign supreme.

At the moment,
Only @Essyk is seeing it as a consumer. She's going to try transporting using SGR Cargo, I am sticking to the road.
Acheni siaza za Jubilee/Nasa, hii ni Biashara;
@harrydre @Muchknow @Murchr @hardwood, what are you doing about it? Mwatumia SGR Cargo ama la?

#700 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 11:05:39 PM

Kiulizo. On the inaugural trip the train is said to have had 216TEU's at 50 000 does that mean the train made 10,800,000?

In other news, Phase 2a is right on course