70 Pages«<3233343536>»
SGR Progress thus far
kivairu
#661 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 1:02:56 PM

We’ll hang vandals, warns President Uhuru Kenyatta

http://www.nation.co.ke/...9514-3bqgk0z/index.html

This is how tyranny of numbers will end! Rubbing my hands in glee..Drool

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
#662 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 1:11:04 PM

mkeiy wrote:
I don't get some people... watu wanalalamika na SGR iko hapa already Eish! Bickering about the price and usefulness of SGR will not help anyone! Iko hapa already! Ni kama Thika road... iko hapa...haiendi mahali!! Start getting some utility out of it! Si some people in 2007 were complaining eti in 40 something years of independence hatujawahi ongeza hata inch moja ya reli? Sasa iko hapa mnaanza kulalamika bei? Reli sio plot ruai!!

@Masukuma, chills bana. Ni Madaraka Day.

Have people complained, or, are they highlighting some issue,PRICING? What's wrong with that?

If the king is naked, he ought to be told so.

Here is why. SGR-cargo-pricing

according to Business daily, a 20ft container @50k to ICD, then another 10k - 20k approx trucking to the door. Total=60k70k.Compare that to using road from Msa to your door(not beyond Nai) at 50k.

For a 40ft container weighing 29tons, going by Business daily, 7 Shs per ton per km. This container will cost me;
7shs*29ton*450km=91,350Shs to ICD.
add another 15k-20k to my door to make it 106k - 121k.

On the road, I get the same at 90k,to my door.
As I write this, I have one on the road from Msa, what would persuade me to use SGR?
Ama mambo ya economic sense tutupilie mbali?

Thanks @mkeiyApplause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

I have been hoping this debate would be taken up by people who actually use these services. Sadly, its been hopelessly politicized and anyone who dares question is an enemy of development.

All in all, from the look of things, we might just have to be ready to run SGR as a national pride thing. Not a commercially viable enterprise.
#663 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 2:25:52 PM

To add on to what Mkeiy just laid out in numbers. Let me talk about the passenger side.

The train to mombasa is ksh. 700 Great

You forget it's not in Nairobi, it's Syokimau. So you have to find your way through Nairobi to Syokimau to pay 700

When you get to Mombasa, you are not really in Mombasa. You are in Miritini. For those who know the traffic from Miritini to the island, you know what hell means.

I actually love the fact that it ends in such far off areas. So it's now upto the gov't to create an easier way for people to get to these areas.

Otherwise, we shall all have to do with going to Tea Room to get that bus. It's more convinient. For now.

I do support the railway by the way...However, numbers don't lie.

#664 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 3:04:45 PM

No one is forcing anyone to use the SGR. You are free to use road transport.

#665 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 3:13:51 PM

Hardwood, on this one you are losing it.

No one is saying that its not a good thing. If I remember correctly this was a Kibaki idea. So chill kidogo.

We are talking numbers here and areas of improvement.

First as Mkeiy has clearly explained to you, the costs for a transporter are not worth the hassle. Maybe if you read what he said, he meant. Can SGR consider reducing the costs for transporters on the reli?

I didn't see anywhere he said Jubilee failed. Which seems to be your come back position.

I have just explained why a reasonable person will not go to Syokimau to take the train.

Do you know the matatu to Miritini? You do know there is no public transport to Miritini don't you?

So I take a cab to Syokimau for 1k. Meander through that Mombasa road traffic. Then I pay 700 bob to Miritini. Then I get stuck there coz there's no way to get to the Island. And the traffic from Miritini to Mombasa. Have you ever been there? Ama ni domo domo tu.

You know sometimes always supporting things to get paid on social media or to support uthamakistan requires reality.

What we are saying is that kazi ya SGR ndio imeanza. So let them fix the issues from this great Kibaki idea. Sawa?

#666 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 3:14:39 PM

Na hiyo ugali ya Jakom haina hata omena jamaneni?smile
#667 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 3:33:07 PM

No one is saying that its not a good thing. If I remember correctly this was a Kibaki idea. So chill kidogo.

First as Mkeiy has clearly explained to you, the costs for a transporter are not worth the hassle. Maybe if you read what he said, he meant. Can SGR consider reducing the costs for transporters on the reli?

I didn't see anywhere he said Jubilee failed. Which seems to be your come back position.

I have just explained why a reasonable person will not go to Syokimau to take the train.

Do you know the matatu to Miritini? You do know there is no public transport to Miritini don't you?

So I take a cab to Syokimau for 1k. Meander through that Mombasa road traffic. Then I pay 700 bob to Miritini. Then I get stuck there coz there's no way to get to the Island. And the traffic from Miritini to Mombasa. Have you ever been there? Ama ni domo domo tu.

You know sometimes always supporting things to get paid on social media or to support uthamakistan requires reality.

What we are saying is that kazi ya SGR ndio imeanza. So let them fix the issues from this great Kibaki idea. Sawa?

Kiwaru will choke and kill you.....meanwhile wananchi wameamua...

#668 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 3:55:10 PM

You can ask Ohuru to extend the SGR to your door hapo South C.

mkeiy
#669 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:13:00 PM

mkeiy wrote:
I don't get some people... watu wanalalamika na SGR iko hapa already Eish! Bickering about the price and usefulness of SGR will not help anyone! Iko hapa already! Ni kama Thika road... iko hapa...haiendi mahali!! Start getting some utility out of it! Si some people in 2007 were complaining eti in 40 something years of independence hatujawahi ongeza hata inch moja ya reli? Sasa iko hapa mnaanza kulalamika bei? Reli sio plot ruai!!

Have people complained, or, are they highlighting some issue,PRICING? What's wrong with that?

according to Business daily, a 20ft container @50k to ICD, then another 10k - 20k approx trucking to the door. Total=60k70k.Compare that to using road from Msa to your door(not beyond Nai) at 50k.

For a 40ft container weighing 29tons, going by Business daily, 7 Shs per ton per km. This container will cost me;

As I write this, I have one on the road from Msa, what would persuade me to use SGR?

I think the issue of 'pricing' should be debated on the angle of 'use' as opposed to 'the cost of building it'. The last one does not matter! The cost of use is a more 'useful' angle of debate but it's all up to customers! Si wache tuone kama watu hawatatumia reli kubeba mizigo! ukitaka kungoja mzigo itoke Mombasa by road - ni sawa! kuna wale watabeba na reli depending na ni nini hiyo inabebwa! wacha tuone!

@Masukuma. Hata wewe ume-stoop this low? Please leave that akina @harrydre na @Muchknow.

My focus is on PRICING. Have you seen any comment from me on SGR's construction? I support it.
However, without looking at the economic sense, we'll be losing it. Building for the heck of it. Not for economic transformation.

I would be happy if market forces determine how I transport.
But when you hear of 40% of cargo being allocated to SGR(which may be approx 20% more expensive) , then dear @Wazuans I ask, WHAT IS IT WE WERE AIMING AT?
#670 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:16:28 PM

To add on to what Mkeiy just laid out in numbers. Let me talk about the passenger side.

You forget it's not in Nairobi, it's Syokimau. So you have to find your way through Nairobi to Syokimau to pay 700

When you get to Mombasa, you are not really in Mombasa. You are in Miritini. For those who know the traffic from Miritini to the island, you know what hell means.

I actually love the fact that it ends in such far off areas. So it's now upto the gov't to create an easier way for people to get to these areas.

Otherwise, we shall all have to do with going to Tea Room to get that bus. It's more convinient. For now.

@Alma, Some business will emerge to fill the gap, similar to how boda bodas emerged to ferry people from the main roads to the interiors. The saving in time comparing the road and the rail far outweighs the inconveniences of getting to/out of the stations. Let this good idea bring forth better ones.
mkeiy
#671 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:17:30 PM

No one is forcing anyone to use the SGR. You are free to use road transport.

Yes,they are about to use'force'. If they go with their proposal of 40% of cargo being allocated to SGR,which will be approx 20% costlier.
#672 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:25:29 PM

Gathige wrote:

@Alma, Some business will emerge to fill the gap, similar to how boda bodas emerged to ferry people from the main roads to the interiors. The saving in time comparing the road and the rail far outweighs the inconveniences of getting to/out of the stations. Let this good idea bring forth better ones.

As it is today.

You can't with all honesty say that it's better to use the train rather than the buses. I dare anyone on wazua to do the same and give us the cost benefit analysis. Sure it's cool but it ain't easy. In fact what I'd like to do is pay for Hardwood right now leo to go on the trip. He doesn't have to wait for marupurupu ya blogging. I'll pay for him.

This is a good idea but good ideas especially in this country are known to become white elephants very quickly. If there is no way for the consumer to get to the railway, then the consumer will continue using the bus. If there is no cost saving for the transporter. I don't see how a transporter pays more so that he can look patriotic.

That's just how the cookie crumbles in business. If its too costly businesses won't use it. If it's too combersome, people will stick to Chania buses on river road.

So let them think harder and complete the process. The celebrations came tooooo early in my opinion.

mkeiy
#673 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:31:06 PM

thuks wrote:
mkeiy wrote:

I think the issue of 'pricing' should be debated on the angle of 'use' as opposed to 'the cost of building it'. The last one does not matter! The cost of use is a more 'useful' angle of debate but it's all up to customers! Si wache tuone kama watu hawatatumia reli kubeba mizigo! ukitaka kungoja mzigo itoke Mombasa by road - ni sawa! kuna wale watabeba na reli depending na ni nini hiyo inabebwa! wacha tuone!

Truck inachukua masaa ngapi to nbo from msa, jam free?

@thuks. Under normal circumstances, if you load your container in the evening, the following morning you have it. Latest 10am, earliest could even be 5am.

Another thing to look at apart from cost is infrastructure at ICD.
In Mombasa, you have several CFS,with their infrastructure, at ICD, what is the capacity? Those in the know, please share.

More needs to be done in terms of infrastructure at ICD.

About passenger train, leo ndio Uhuru amesema Matata terminal ijengwe. Today if ordinary from Nyeri wishes to use Madaraka Express, how do they catch it?
#674 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:31:25 PM

Gathige wrote:

As it is today.

You can't with all honesty say that it's better to use the train rather than the buses. I dare anyone on wazua to do the same and give us the cost benefit analysis. Sure it's cool but it ain't easy. In fact what I'd like to do is pay for Hardwood right now leo to go on the trip. He doesn't have to wait for marupurupu ya blogging. I'll pay for him.

This is a good idea but good ideas especially in this country are known to become white elephants very quickly. If there is no way for the consumer to get to the railway, then the consumer will continue using the bus. If there is no cost saving for the transporter. I don't see how a transporter pays more so that he can look patriotic.

That's just how the cookie crumbles in business. If its too costly businesses won't use it. If it's too combersome, people will stick to Chania buses on river road.

So let them think harder and complete the process. The celebrations came tooooo early in my opinion.

Haujalazimishwa kupanda reli, you can board those cockroach infested buses because they make economic sense to you. Ok, pia wao ni watoa ushuru roads are built for them? Wale wanaishi Syokimau hawataongea. The wearer of the shoe knows where it pinches
#675 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:41:32 PM

Gathige wrote:

As it is today.

Haujalazimishwa kupanda reli, you can board those cockroach infested buses because they make economic sense to you. Ok, pia wao ni watoa ushuru roads are built for them? Wale wanaishi Syokimau hawataongea. The wearer of the shoe knows where it pinches

You see..The usual jubilee jibberish when they are caught with the hands in the cookie jar.

I know you have been peddling this 700 bob to go to Mombasa nonsense.

Again instead of being annoyed with me, why don't you take a trip today and tell us how long it took you to get to Mombasa Town with the reli. And the exact cost...Sio matusi.

Just saying...Now if you can't even acknowledge that this is a problem, why would I bother having you fix it?

Museme nitume pesa wapi muende na mupige piksha muweke hapa hapa wazua.

mkeiy
#676 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:49:56 PM

Gathige wrote:

As it is today.

SGR mzima tuachie watu wa Syokimau sasa? Wao wanaenda Msa daily ama ni Nai?

@Murchr. The discussion should be how we maximize SGR's. Talking as if you guys are the only taxpayers ain't helping anyone.
There is Railway Development Levy on every shipment,a direct cost to business.
This about BUSINESS,not politics
#677 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 4:50:48 PM

Mkeiy have you got the train freight schedule?

I want to do a practical on 2 fcls released from port at same time to determine the timeframe.That's all that clients are interested in.

I also like looking at the bright side of things.
Road Traffic from mombasa port/Long queues by truckers waiting to enter port,delays if truck doesn't meet kpa requirements,Strikes by truckers,Corruption at Weighbridges and kangaroo roadside courts/ Goods pilferage,etc etc

The pros outweigh the cons.
KPA ball is in your court.You must deliver in a timely fashion and support the project.

Whatever the case.. be prepared for congestion at ICD.Some of these trucks are 9km long..x several trips.

#678 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:03:00 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Gathige wrote:

As it is today.

SGR mzima tuachie watu wa Syokimau sasa? Wao wanaenda Msa daily ama ni Nai?

@Murchr. The discussion should be how we maximize SGR's. Talking as if you guys are the only taxpayers ain't helping anyone.
There is Railway Development Levy on every shipment,a direct cost to business.
This about BUSINESS,not politics

I have never heard you complain that planes should be landing in South C to make any economic sense, after all, you take cabs and pay that 1000/- from Embakasi to south C. Reli mwisho ni Syokimau, panda Nairobi commuter rail hapo ushukie railways tao.
#679 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:27:38 PM

I have never heard you complain that planes should be landing in South C to make any economic sense, after all, you take cabs and pay that 1000/- from Embakasi to south C. Reli mwisho ni Syokimau, panda Nairobi commuter rail hapo ushukie railways tao.

Wacha nikusaidie kidogo Murchr because leo umenoa.

I'm a business persona and want to use the First Class Service.

Cost of the Plane

1. Taxi to Wilson or JKIA - ksh. 1000
2. Airline Ticket - ksh. 7000
3. Taxi from Mombasa Airport to Hotel - ksh. 1000

Total Cost 9k

Time to travel

1. Taxi to Jkia - 1 hour
2. in flight - 1 hour
3. Airport to Hotel - 1 hour

Total time in transit 3 hours maximum

Cost of First Class Train

1. Taxi to Machakos - ksh. 2000
2. First Class Ticket - ksh. 3000
3. Miritini to Mombasa - ksh. 2000

Total Cost 7k

Time to Travel

1. Taxi to Machakos - 1.5 hours
2. Train time - 5 hours
3. Miritini to Mombasa - 2 hours

Total time 8.5 hours

My friend, why not take the bus? I hear Spanish has aerodynamic buses or something.

Now Imagine the Commoner

Cost to Mabatha Raha

1. From wherever to Tea Room - 100 Bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From Tea Room to Mabatha - 800 bob Chania - Time to Travel 8 hours
3. From Chania to Hotel - 40 bob - Time to Travel 30 minutes

Total Cost 840 bob Total Time 8 Hours 10 hours kama kuna jam

Now on the Reli

1. From wherever to town - 100 bob - Time to travel 1 hour
2. From town to Mayakos - 100 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours
3. From Mayakos to the Station - 50 bob - Time to travel 30 minutes
4. Train to mabatha - 700 bob - Time to travel 5 hours
5. From Miritini to Mabatha - My friend there's no bus, chukua teksi 2000 bob - Time to travel 1.5 hours

Total Cost 2950. Total Time 9.5 hours

I know math is a difficult thing but how long do you think it will take the average Kenyan to say he has seen enough relis in his life.

There must be a way that connects commuters to a transport hub. If someone has not thought about that, then there's going to be a problem here.

Sawa? Tumeelewana?

#680 Posted : Thursday, June 01, 2017 5:32:16 PM

Some wonder why Mwafrika is behind in everything, it's some kind of reasoning I see here. These people opposing infrastructure expansion, go out there, visit the world we are eons behind.

Heck even if the SGR is double the cost, can you think outside the box on the pros, time saved, reduced congestion, quick flow of goods & services, roads damage, amount of cargo one round of train will transport etc etc. Nini mbaya na watu?? Lets review 1 Yr later and see. I recall people made noise on Thika Highway, these days wamenyamaza!