Fraudkenya
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 4:13:34 PM

Who is running this website?

Everysearch costs Kes 20
4Matic
#2 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 4:19:47 PM

Been asking myself the same question. I did a quick phone number search on some land seller and the results were pretty amazing. I still wonder how they gather one's info on past crimes committed.
rest.easy
#3 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 4:33:45 PM

Suspect's Phone Number:*
Your Name:*
First
Last
Visa/Mastercard Number:*
Expiry Month*
Expiry Year: *
CVV:
(Last 3 digits at the back of your card)*

That is what they are after. You are the one being scammed.

I could be wrong though Pray
#4 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 4:36:57 PM

Who is running this website?

Everysearch costs Kes 20

Only in Kenya.... Even the scam deterrent website is a scam powered by WordPress....

Museveni
#5 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 4:47:08 PM

rest.easy wrote:
First
Last
Expiry Month*
CVV:

This is basically opening your bank account to be 'cleaned' to the core. With all these those details mwenye website atakufanyia shopping or simply keep charging/deducting minute (20) any time they feel like. A low figure of 10000 card details and... y'all get it. Someone go through *the small print* - if there is any - too lazy to do it.

Mpesa option would be much better. Promised service is right on point.

Wapi mawinder ?
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
4Matic
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 5:20:53 PM

rest.easy wrote:
First
Last
Expiry Month*
CVV:

I have used the site before but I'm yet to see any funny charges on my credit card. Good observation though. But aren't those the same details required for any online transaction on any website worldwide?
Mtafiti
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 5:55:01 PM

4Matic wrote:
rest.easy wrote:
First
Last
Expiry Month*
CVV:

I have used the site before but I'm yet to see any funny charges on my credit card. Good observation though. But aren't those the same details required for any online transaction on any website worldwide?

@ Swenani, answered?
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 6:10:54 PM

4Matic wrote:
rest.easy wrote:
First
Last
Expiry Month*
CVV:

The site is not transport secure (TLS/HTTPS)...a secure link is established by acquiring and installing a security certificate from a reputable certification authority. For a site requesting credit card details, that is a red flag
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 6:28:05 PM

These are not red flags

1. Using wordpress - only newbies think like that
2. Not using https - only newbies think like that but there's a disclaimer below

This is the information to make your own choices

Phone is by one Phillip Ndwiga in Kahawa West

The hosting company is one of those that allow any type of payment including the ones that allow one to hide their identities..

My red flags

1. that gmail account contact
2. Too many details for you credit card - now add the lack of SSL tech makes it stink. You can do without an SSL cert if you have a merchant account that conducts the transactions off site. Just like stripe does

Biggest Red Flags

1. 650,000 frauds in Kenya. My friend lawyers would be very happy with such a number...Are these the ones found on facebook or in court cases?

2. A newbie with 3 posts who's only telling us how his money has not been stolen

Shauri yenu....

Chaka
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 6:54:39 PM

We might all be criminals on that database?I would have been happier with a .co.ke domain
and the banner on the site looks pretty cheap..
Hobitke
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 7:05:41 PM

These are not red flags

2. Not using https - only newbies think like that but there's a disclaimer below

The hosting company is one of those that allow any type of payment including the ones that allow one to hide their identities..

My red flags

2. Too many details for you credit card - now add the lack of SSL tech makes it stink. You can do without an SSL cert if you have a merchant account that conducts the transactions off site. Just like stripe does

Biggest Red Flags

1. 650,000 frauds in Kenya. My friend lawyers would be very happy with such a number...Are these the ones found on facebook or in court cases?

2. A newbie with 3 posts who's only telling us how his money has not been stolen

Shauri yenu....

Site has ssl, even if its self signed . WHOis privacy is common nowadays.
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 26, 2017 7:21:33 PM

Hobitke wrote:
These are not red flags

My red flags

Biggest Red Flags

Shauri yenu....

Site has ssl, even if its self signed . WHOis privacy is common nowadays.

That SSL was setup as I was typing stuff on wazua. Ama you think we don't know what we are saying?

Tumelewa kama Kabogo?

These are the type of sites that give ecommerce in Kenya a bad name.

I hope someone listed here will sue the heck out of them.

And don't go giving your credit card details to sites online who's owners you do not know or can verify.

Then you start crying here that you have been conned by the internet.

Lastly a lawyer can advise us on the legallity of such statements

ou’ll get a list of all the criminal activities related to that phone number and the last known location.

Who is this at Safaricom giving out information about phone locations?

Don't give your credit card numbers willy nilly. Lakini pesa ni zenyu.

Mike Ock
#13 Posted : Thursday, April 27, 2017 4:56:14 AM

If you are looking for conmen, Google their name with the word fraud at the end(e.g Mike Sonko fraud), or just search kenyalaw.org
Anbu
#14 Posted : Thursday, April 27, 2017 11:22:02 AM

Anyone with credible links to contacts which can help me find info on locally registered private companies?
The struggle continues
businessmarketing37
#15 Posted : Saturday, May 06, 2017 6:52:28 PM

This was really helpful, hoping all get tips with tribalpearlmedia, as this proved to be really thoughtful in giving techniques about marketing
bennry
#16 Posted : Monday, May 08, 2017 9:39:49 AM

Anbu wrote:
Anyone with credible links to contacts which can help me find info on locally registered private companies?

Shida yako ni gani exactly. I can help
mwania
#17 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 7:01:33 PM

Download an App called Pokeza and Use it to report issuers of bad cheques, bad debtors and those who have defrauded you. It will also allow you to manage your credit to others by providing a credit management platform for all users. All services are free for now.
Chaka
#18 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 7:49:04 PM

What about malicious reporting.How is that handled?:
quote=mwania]Download an App called Pokeza and Use it to report issuers of bad cheques, bad debtors and those who have defrauded you. It will also allow you to manage your credit to others by providing a credit management platform for all users. All services are free for now.[/quote]
mwania
#19 Posted : Monday, June 05, 2017 7:55:46 PM

More analysis is carried out on information provided. Never posted for public use until this is done.