Market
Technical
Sufferingcom!!
Rank: New-farer Joined: 8/23/2015 Posts: 64 Location: nairobi
How can the entire network be disabled!!
point wrote:How can the entire network be disabled!! Sorted possunt quia posse videntur
maka wrote:point wrote:How can the entire network be disabled!! Sorted Wapi huko tuje? I care!
thuks wrote:maka wrote:point wrote:How can the entire network be disabled!! Sorted Wapi huko tuje? Seems to have come on shortly but it's gone again Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:thuks wrote:maka wrote:point wrote:How can the entire network be disabled!! Sorted Wapi huko tuje? Seems to have come on shortly but it's gone again Lol,are you talking about your landing gear? Poor Julie Tell her to Jump-start you If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
thuks wrote:maka wrote:point wrote:How can the entire network be disabled!! Sorted Wapi huko tuje? At sarit near Safaricom and having network issues, both data and voice. Reflection Eternal
A crisis facing millennials - here's how they are coping:
Am afraid today heads will roll You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
Wanasema ni Jubilee to throw a spanner into nominations
Had to miss lunch, mpesa will wreck havoc on our lives today, many are definitely stranded! A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:Had to miss lunch, mpesa will wreck havoc on our lives today, many are definitely stranded! Pole If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
this is ridiculous.a whole network going down?? i am imagining all those switches,servers,routers etc etc being disabled.this is a very poor network plan.looks like the network has one sweet point of failure.
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:this is ridiculous.a whole network going down?? i am imagining all those switches,servers,routers etc etc being disabled.this is a very poor network plan.looks like the network has one sweet point of failure. Looks like they have one provider for main and redundant link which should not be the case. Rumor has it that Huawei has cannibalized the previous players like Nokia and Ericson and now control over 70% of the infrastructure. Safaricom needs to re-look into this to spread/mitigate such risks Reflection Eternal
Flo-ology wrote:Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:this is ridiculous.a whole network going down?? i am imagining all those switches,servers,routers etc etc being disabled.this is a very poor network plan.looks like the network has one sweet point of failure. Looks like they have one provider for main and redundant link which should not be the case. Rumor has it that Huawei has cannibalized the previous players like Nokia and Ericson and now control over 70% of the infrastructure. Safaricom needs to re-look into this to spread/mitigate such risks kwani how do mobile networks operate, I doubt all the base stations were down, I thought its the central routing system that had issues not the numerous infrastructure nodes spread all over the country. some might have noted in the mpesa messages yesterday, I think they rolled back to a previous working system as they sorted out the issue and once it was sorted they reverted to the 'newer' system.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/6/2016 Posts: 165 Location: Nairobi
so many technical 'experts' on forum, i wonder what the true story is now
Send money on M-Pesa free, midnight to midnight
Found a vert big bundle in my sim, fibre was down, so checked balance *544# and received a message of huuuuge bundle siui FLEX bundles 1150000 valid for a month it's the one am using, wasn't there when i last used modem, balance was 0 and i bought kes 99/- bundle, or was this the stuff being loaded into our accounts jana? A New Kenya
so they are now saying the backups were the ones that failed! looks like they never tested their backups and you know if you donot test your backup you donot have a backup in the first place.hope CA can take this logic and punish safcom.am sure safaricom are heavy on huawei (Chinese) hardware and software so put that in the mix.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:so they are now saying the backups were the ones that failed! looks like they never tested their backups and you know if you donot test your backup you donot have a backup in the first place.hope CA can take this logic and punish safcom.am sure safaricom are heavy on huawei (Chinese) hardware and software so put that in the mix.
Backups do fail, even when you test them regularly ...Murphy's law. The thing is you are supoosed to have a backup to the backup...some call it disaster recovery...but it is expensive having all these redundancies, even blue chips cut corners considering cost and that capacity sits idle during normal times. Not trying to defend safcom or minimize the scale of damage done to the economy, just talking as a techie who has lived through these sorts of issues. On another front, CA requiring an expansive explanation is pointless. They should stick to monitoring and enforcing SLAs. Safcom can spin any old story they want about what happened, only the troubleshooting engineers know the whole truth...even Collymore himself could have been served a massaged and spinned story by the techs, smoothing out the very worst of it..or even outright lies..what is he going to do, argue with experts over engineering technicals?
quicksand wrote:Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:so they are now saying the backups were the ones that failed! looks like they never tested their backups and you know if you donot test your backup you donot have a backup in the first place.hope CA can take this logic and punish safcom.am sure safaricom are heavy on huawei (Chinese) hardware and software so put that in the mix.
Backups do fail, even when you test them regularly ...Murphy's law. The thing is you are supoosed to have a backup to the backup...some call it disaster recovery...but it is expensive having all these redundancies, even blue chips cut corners considering cost and that capacity sits idle during normal times. Not trying to defend safcom or minimize the scale of damage done to the economy, just talking as a techie who has lived through these sorts of issues. On another front, CA requiring an expansive explanation is pointless. They should stick to monitoring and enforcing SLAs. Safcom can spin any old story they want about what happened, only the troubleshooting engineers know the whole truth...even Collymore himself could have been served a massaged and spinned story by the techs, smoothing out the very worst of it..or even outright lies..what is he going to do, argue with experts over engineering technicals? Hapo I agree, backups fail. These CEO's will always give the best explanation given by the techies even if it is not the truth.
Market
Technical
Sufferingcom!!