wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

M-Kura
#1 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 9:49:24 PM

We have the technology to transfer money over the phone M-Pesa. What is so difficult about elections that we cannot have an M-Kura?

What are the issues that would need to be worked out to make it possible?

Is there a legislator here who can make the necessary laws to make this a possibility in 2022?

#2 Posted : Friday, April 21, 2017 10:16:36 PM

Number of registered voters by Dec. 2016 - 16 million

M-Pesa active users by Apr. 2016 - 19 million

Number of Kenyans with IDs - 25 million

Granted some of the M-pesa accounts are businesses and people with multiple accounts but still that is a really good database right there with all the identity verifications already done.
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 2:37:43 AM

You are not the only person who asks this question every election year. I invite you to search through this forum for answers given to this exact question asked since 2012. Last person to ask it was Swenani
thuks
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 7:22:10 AM

It would simply kill the thrill that goes with the voting process. Not interested...
I care!
#5 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 11:13:39 AM

Hard to rig, some people may not win.
#6 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 11:22:47 AM

We have the technology to transfer money over the phone M-Pesa. What is so difficult about elections that we cannot have an M-Kura?

Is there a legislator here who can make the necessary laws to make this a possibility in 2022?

@Masukuma have been answering this question since time immemorial. I doubt he will be willing to repeat smile smile
TSi
#7 Posted : Saturday, April 22, 2017 2:42:14 PM

@Masukuma have been answering this question since time immemorial. I doubt he will be willing to repeat smile smile

Ata mimi sijawahi elewa kwanini tusifaye kura kwa simu. It is not that complicated, but last i heard about this discussion is that not every eligible voter has a phone... bla bla. Lakini ni excuse tu
#8 Posted : Sunday, April 23, 2017 8:45:32 AM

TSi wrote:

Ata mimi sijawahi elewa kwanini tusifaye kura kwa simu. It is not that complicated, but last i heard about this discussion is that not every eligible voter has a phone... bla bla. Lakini ni excuse tu

Eti the 85 yr old cucu can't vote with a phone.

#9 Posted : Sunday, April 23, 2017 9:00:25 AM

If a blackout happens for 4 days as often happens in some shags area, all the technos lose charge to the point of having to be boosted by a universal charger e.t.c, some people will cry "no peace" and declare it stealing. People would have been voting by posta ages ago if it were convenience that mattered. NO ONE on earth can design a "technology" to manage an election, never ever, some things can only be done by humans, like analyzing a "computer error", the system can never analyse itself ever, hata AI ama sijui deep blue which can play chess with a human cannot do something that simple incidentally. So opportunities for major conflict.
Flo-ology
#10 Posted : Sunday, April 23, 2017 9:02:45 AM

TSi wrote:

Eti the 85 yr old cucu can't vote with a phone.

That argument doesn't hold. The granny can be helped. That every eligible voter doesn't have a phone can also be solved easily. I am sure even the politicians can buy phones for these people instead of the 1k handouts
Reflection Eternal
#11 Posted : Sunday, April 23, 2017 9:21:53 AM

Here are some of the bitter stories of some countries that tried, fro a system theorist perspective it is simply impossible, also just google electronic voting and study the results, sounds like a "good idea" always turns out to be garbage. In systems language, Garbage in Garbage out.

“Through working on this I came to the conclusion, now shared by most computer scientists, that e-voting cannot be delivered securely and reliably with current technology. So I stopped developing the system but continued to campaign on and research the issues,” he said
#12 Posted : Sunday, April 23, 2017 10:08:49 AM

It would not work. We would not trust the results were not tampered with.