Pokot herders
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Elephants have very long memories. They learn from the older generations. And their intelligence is under-rated. They too know not to mess with Maasai.
But the Maasai are also playing with fire because a rogue elephant that is in musk is unpredictable.
hardwood wrote:The herders are actually samburu and maasai. Hata Mimi nashindwa pokot wametoka wapi. The ranch owners hired samburus and went ahead to allocate them land within the ranch for their animals to graze. This agitated the neighbouring masais who are sworn enemies to the samburus. They felt sidelined.. The masais plotted a revenge attack forcing the owners to call for reinforcements from cops who came in renegade style and ended up shooting one of them in the process. The angry morans retaliated by burning the lodge, looting everything and killing the animals including 2 pet dogs... Listening to the farm workers one gets the feeling that there is a incitement by people who purport to speak on behalf of the locals. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:hardwood wrote:The herders are actually samburu and maasai. Listening to the farm workers one gets the feeling that there is a incitement by people who purport to speak on behalf of the locals. You got it upside down dear. The aggressors are Samburus mostly from Laikipia North and they are really against "non" Laikipians thus the ranch owners,Kikuyus,Tugen, Pokot,Turkanas and others. Lemme jog your memory. Do you remember a meeting of politicians a couple of weeks back where some party big wig was talking about historical land injustices? Do you remember this meeting from the picture below? Do you know the brown guy seated next to his party boss? If you do, you know who the key inciting suspects are! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:essyk wrote:hardwood wrote:The herders are actually samburu and maasai. Listening to the farm workers one gets the feeling that there is a incitement by people who purport to speak on behalf of the locals. You got it upside down dear. The aggressors are Samburus mostly from Laikipia North and they are really against "non" Laikipians thus the ranch owners,Kikuyus,Tugen, Pokot,Turkanas and others. Lemme jog your memory. Do you remember a meeting of politicians a couple of weeks back where some party big wig was talking about historical land injustices? Do you remember this meeting from the picture below? Do you know the brown guy seated next to his party boss? If you do, you know who the key inciting suspects are! Finally, this idiot has been apprehended . The blood of many, including that of Sosian ranch owner Tristan Voorspuy, is in his hands. Now, let the noise from his masters begin. Jinga sana. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:Njung'e wrote:essyk wrote:hardwood wrote:The herders are actually samburu and maasai. Listening to the farm workers one gets the feeling that there is a incitement by people who purport to speak on behalf of the locals. You got it upside down dear. The aggressors are Samburus mostly from Laikipia North and they are really against "non" Laikipians thus the ranch owners,Kikuyus,Tugen, Pokot,Turkanas and others. Lemme jog your memory. Do you remember a meeting of politicians a couple of weeks back where some party big wig was talking about historical land injustices? Do you remember this meeting from the picture below? Do you know the brown guy seated next to his party boss? If you do, you know who the key inciting suspects are! Finally, this idiot has been apprehended . The blood of many, including that of Sosian ranch owner Tristan Voorspuy, is in his hands. Now, let the noise from his masters begin. Jinga sana. Isn't it much simpler if we just accept that the govt of the day failed to guarantee the security of the ranchers, their employees and their properties. Dragging the image of RAO into it immediately clouds my judgement "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Njung'e wrote:Njung'e wrote:essyk wrote:hardwood wrote:The herders are actually samburu and maasai. Listening to the farm workers one gets the feeling that there is a incitement by people who purport to speak on behalf of the locals. You got it upside down dear. The aggressors are Samburus mostly from Laikipia North and they are really against "non" Laikipians thus the ranch owners,Kikuyus,Tugen, Pokot,Turkanas and others. Lemme jog your memory. Do you remember a meeting of politicians a couple of weeks back where some party big wig was talking about historical land injustices? Do you remember this meeting from the picture below? Do you know the brown guy seated next to his party boss? If you do, you know who the key inciting suspects are! Finally, this idiot has been apprehended . The blood of many, including that of Sosian ranch owner Tristan Voorspuy, is in his hands. Now, let the noise from his masters begin. Jinga sana. Isn't it much simpler if we just accept that the govt of the day failed to guarantee the security of the ranchers, their employees and their properties. Dragging the image of RAO into it immediately clouds my judgement So what about the Baringo mess .... In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Njung'e wrote:[quote=Njung'e][quote=essyk][quote=hardwood]
Dragging the image of RAO into it immediately clouds my judgement Funny how you only see baba in that picture Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
The poisonous mpig has been charged with the murder of Tristan. Who rushes over to be his lawyer? Your guess is as good as mine. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
KDF deployed. Those thugs will sing. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:KDF deployed. Those thugs will sing. Why wasnt this done earlier??? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
NTV exlusive. 'Hii serikali ndio imekuja kuharibu kabisa. Mtu akipiga wewe ngumi si hata wewe lazima upige.Sisi tuachiwe hao marakwet tupige hao kiasi watatulia# Says a rough looking Pokot warrior slaughtering a SNAKE for lunch.. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
essyk wrote:NTV exlusive.
'Hii serikali ndio imekuja kuharibu kabisa. Mtu akipiga wewe ngumi si hata wewe lazima upige.Sisi tuachiwe hao marakwet tupige hao kiasi watatulia#
Says a rough looking Pokot warrior slaughtering a SNAKE for lunch..
I saw that warrior speak and i thought for a minute whether i'm in 254? Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
Coolio wrote:essyk wrote:NTV exlusive.
'Hii serikali ndio imekuja kuharibu kabisa. Mtu akipiga wewe ngumi si hata wewe lazima upige.Sisi tuachiwe hao marakwet tupige hao kiasi watatulia#
I saw that warrior speak and i thought for a minute whether i'm in 254? Same here, while carrying a gun. Those guys are crazy. How are KDF doing there? In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Angelica _ann wrote:Coolio wrote:essyk wrote:NTV exlusive.
I saw that warrior speak and i thought for a minute whether i'm in 254? Same here, while carrying a gun. Those guys are crazy. How are KDF doing there? It won't end well for those Pokots. KDF has a polished PR machine on one end, and ruthless, bone-crushing, grind-to-dust operatives on the other. A very chilling combination.
quicksand wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Coolio wrote:essyk wrote:NTV exlusive.
I saw that warrior speak and i thought for a minute whether i'm in 254? Same here, while carrying a gun. Those guys are crazy. How are KDF doing there? It won't end well for those Pokots. KDF has a polished PR machine on one end, and ruthless, bone-crushing, grind-to-dust operatives on the other. A very chilling combination. Yap reminds one of Matakwei (sp) and his Saboat land defence force .... In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
I am sure Kuki Gallman would feel more comfortable if the Pokots and Samburu just stayed in one place and allowed their cattle and themselves to starve to death so that she can go and feel philanthropic helping them with food. She says that she has all the papers to show that she owns her ranch which is 98,000 acres!!!! (ninety eight thousand acres!!!!) The Samburus and Pokots have lived in those areas for hundreds of years, their title is in their blood. I agree with that Pokot warrior. For way too long both the colonialists and subsequent Kenyan governments have had nothing but madharau for the Pokot and other pastoralist communities. They have made it OK to trick them and steal their land. I do not think the leaders being accused of incitement have done anything more than just open their eyes to their current condition. 98,000 acres fenced off so that a few white people can live like this: While your cows (your only way of life) are dying.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Kusadikika wrote:I am sure Kuki Gallman would feel more comfortable if the Pokots and Samburu just stayed in one place and allowed their cattle and themselves to starve to death so that she can go and feel philanthropic helping them with food. She says that she has all the papers to show that she owns her ranch which is 98,000 acres!!!! (ninety eight thousand acres!!!!) The Samburus and Pokots have lived in those areas for hundreds of years, their title is in their blood. I agree with that Pokot warrior. For way too long both the colonialists and subsequent Kenyan governments have had nothing but madharau for the Pokot and other pastoralist communities. They have made it OK to trick them and steal their land. I do not think the leaders being accused of incitement have done anything more than just open their eyes to their current condition. 98,000 acres fenced off so that a few white people can live like this: While your cows (your only way of life) are dying. The problem lies elsewhere, not with Kuki Gallman. We don't know the provenance of her ownership documents and for that let us give her the benefit of the doubt. If she acquired this property legally (it says on the interwebs she came to Kenya in 1972 -after independence), there is no case. We cannot claim to be a capitalist economy and then turn around and pick up guns and "reclaim" validly acquired property. It is a very dangerous and slippery slope. Today you see the unfairness of Kuki Gallman and her 98,000 acres, tomorrow it will be you and your 10 acre piece just south of Kajiado. In fact, we already have precedent in the cases of Enoosupukia when the Maasai, incited by selfish politicians, used this flimsy guise of "community land" and picked up machetes and spears and started chasing out people who had bought land with their hard earned savings -with deadly consequences. "You will lie low like envelopes"...went the saying. Kenyans have disastrously short memories. Kuki Gallman and her land is fait accompli. Not to say that it cannot be remedied but let it be done properly. Investigate if it was acquired legally and fairly under the law of the day. Next, craft law that defines -and demarcates -this community land, whatever it is and governs its economic activity (sale, lease, use) ....if it should be reacquired, pay the woman the market price (assuming she is willing to sell it) and release it to the herders and their animals. If the government is incapable of doing this in a civilized manner like a modern democracy, that is our fault as Kenyans. We elect thieves and criminals. Leaving aside Kuki Gallman and her vast 98,000 acres, these herders have been living like criminals -the raids with the murders, theft and rape. It is indefensible. The raiding, without any consequences, has given these guys the cojones to think they can just invade anywhere, attack, maim, kill and destroy property without any ramifications. Ati send police? They kill an entire contingent. A nation-state can ignore criminal activities until those activities start challenging its monopoly of violence and subjugation over a populace. The state then brings the aggressors ruthlessly to heel,..and guess what? People look away and pretend nothing is happening. Not defending govt actions, just stating facts and history. "Wamezidi, wacha wanyoroshwe" is the general sentiment. Examples abound...the Mungiki, when it took to beheading people in Eastlands brought out the police murder squads, resulting in a week of sustained extra-judicial killings. Whatever remnants of Mungiki remain were permanently cured of their murderous tendencies. Was anyone prosecuted? Did you hear or see any protests from the populace? Next, the Sabaot Land Defence Force...again with the killing and cutting off people's ears ....Mombasa Republican Council .... The Pokot, the Marakwet, the Turkana, the Samburu (and all the other raiders) should read the writing on the wall, surrender guns and forget completely about the raiding lifestyle... because if history is anything to go by, things are going to get ugly and very soon. And the rest of Kenya won't care.
Quote:Investigate if it was acquired legally and fairly under the law of the day. Next, craft law that defines -and demarcates -this community land, whatever it is and governs its economic activity (sale, lease, use) ....if it should be reacquired, pay the woman the market price (assuming she is willing to sell it) She doesn't need to be willing. Under compulsory acquisition, you can only dispute the compensation
Kusadikika wrote: 98,000 acres fenced off so that a few white people can live like this: While your cows (your only way of life) are dying. Watched a talk by a Kenyan conservationist Mordecai Ogada based on his book “The Big Conservation Lie” It gave me a different perspective: In short..follow the money: -White conservationist get a lot of money donated to them to conserve the animals, essentially for their fellow tourists who also pay for the privilege to come see the animals. Some of the money is for “science” provided by conservation agencies/USAID etc and the grants are unmonitored -There is an uncanny mapping of those ‘conserved’ lands to where natural resources have been recently discovered. -Conservation in Kenya means building fences to keep out people that have grazed those lands for centuries. -Activities of conservation agencies includes birth control-you know…we need for people not to reproduce so much…So animals can have priority. The talk is long but worth a listen: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3_YuC29wS0c
Pokot herders