wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

# Should We Re-elect the Current Government ?
hindsight
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 12:25:59 PM

#No Bullshit (name calling /personalization /tribal lining/ ushenzi etc) just straight factual supported answers.

By Toni Kimani

The beauty of Democracy is that after a period of time (mostly 5 years or less), the people undertake an election for the purpose of choosing their next leaders or opt to retain some of them.

To the elected leaders, elections are akin to Armageddon.

Judgment day. The day when egos get a thrash.

When Uhuruto found themselves at the throne in 2013, they were full of themselves. UK shuttled the World like no other President before him. He flew to all corners enjoying himself and making merry.

Formula Ones in Dubai and partaking expensive wines in Europe. He spent more time abroad than he spent here in Kenya. The short time he was here, he donned military regalia and strutted the country like he owned it.

He was everywhere issuing title deeds and dismissing out of hand the opposition headed by Raila and Kalonzo. He even offered them jobs and brought a motion to Parliament to deny them their pension.

His people crafted draconian laws and media bills which were quickly passed by Parliament and ratified by him. Only the Courts’ came to our rescue.

Unlike Kibaki, he controlled both Parliament and Senate. What else would a President ask for?

Ruto on the other hand, was amassing wealth and trying to build his own dynasty. Drunk with power, he went round the country talking ill of opposition leaders and making fun of their political moves.

He had suddenly become a stand-up comedian. He made the poor congregants laugh with his funny anecdotes.

He became the new Robin Hood.

He gave Churches large amounts of money every week in Harambees. He invited leaders from all political divides to dinners and rewarded them heavily with money looted from the Coffers. Jubilee bought loyalty. And leaders were auctioned to the highest bidder.

Soon complacency set in.

They took everything for granted. PR became their sole agenda. Propaganda got airtime on our mainstream media. Online mandarins were all over with fictitious “FactsKe” crap. Uhuruto rubbished off the VISION 2030 blue-print, LAPPSET died a slow but sure death, KOMAZA became a cropper, Greenfields Project contracts were literally cancelled, the Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board lost its vigor after funding was slashed.

The Government of “Kusema na Kutenda” immersed itself in projects which were not predicated on any policies. Foreign debt increased exponentially. Looting became the order of the day. The economic environment became murky. Lay-offs and downsizing became the norm. Credit to the private sector reduced.

The economy was on a spiral.

When the Government was being criticized for looting and messing up the economy, UK and his side-kick came out guns blazing.

Everything was blamed on one man: RAILA.

Everything. Including the grand theft of public funds.

Now the chicken are coming home to roost and JP has realized that PR and propaganda are not giving the desired effect. That you cannot feed the people on rhetoric and electricity alone. The populace has become restless and unruly. Some even in front of their eyes, on the podium.

Meanwhile, the loud mouths of JP, Kindiki, Duale and Murkomen have gone on silence mode. Things are not the same again. After all, they will also be facing the same angry and frustrated electorate.

The President can now spare the time, go to Kameme and belt out mugithi lyrics, complete with a one man guitar.

Things are thick, my friend.

When you hear the President of a Republic on radio singing mugithi to appease the populace, know that shit has hit the fan.

And that, my friend, is the beauty of Democracy…

Things are thick, my friend.

When you hear the President of a Republic on radio singing mugithi to appease the populace, know that shit has hit the fan.

The above analogy(in red) have got me ......cracking n thinking ...oops how things comes full circle.

I am not holding anyone brief/political party ,but lets analyse the facts;

Am concerned about the current government, since as a tax payer i should be it’s my duty. Their performance/lack thereof should be the benchmark of any patriotic Kenyan voting come August 2017 regardless of their political affiliation/religion/tribe/sex/color etc.

The facts of current government leadership…

1) Uhuru presidency is a machination of Kanu Era elite maintaining status quo or to put it explicitly Kenyatta & Moi elite having one of their own protecting their interests.-Best cover by using a son of a former president,where their interests would converge without raising much conflict of interest.

2) Uhuru presidency was also out of convenience and self preservation with DP Ruto due to PEV cases in ICC.Voters (Kikuyus n Kalenjins plus others) were setup and used politically either by design or pure ignorance. The perfect betrayal of trust where individual charges was orchestrated to become national tribal issue.-Resulting to much loss of country direction and dignity both regionally and internationally. AU chairperson elections Loss (CS Amina), Funding of crucial projects,PR relations etc was a negative to the country.

3) Uhuru and Ruto were just trying to "make it" (before being elected) in national politics through cronyism of being promoted and given government positions -Mostly Uhuru. This resulted to naivety and poor perception of how to handle things right in government. What resulted is amateurish way of doing things,from manifestos...mega projects (not necessary)...complacency on relations with local players,regional and international except East (China etc). Results were total chaos on how to run a government in terms of strategy & management and importantly financial acumen .

4) The Uhuru Ruto government pain in the ass is/was handling public perception in any of the projects/scandal that emerged. This was due to self-entitlement of the two coupled by their lieutenants and sycophants as well as advisers incompetency or lack of insight beyond power influence and who gains out of the chaos within government through looting and political growth.

The results is mega corruption even touching on the top two associates and families.This puts them on collision be it as ambassadors of fighting corruption or protecting the wananchi issues without seeming off the mark.The aftermath is whole government lacking merit to its citizens of being there for them however you spin it.

5) There is always a problem when a people of country that endears to grow, believes in tribalism. I believe Uhuru Ruto should have done better on this issue. More so ,they have experienced firsthand on 2007/8 and 2012/13 how deep the problem is.

But against all odds, they have been good on "kusema" kuliko "kutenda",think of pangani 6 ,the molly bad cohesion of Ole kaparo...we have even seen them on vernacular stations and on campaign uttering not so uniting tone through their local-tribal languages.

What this leads to is more disintegration and wounds being opened afresh to those who were affected..resulting to more negative ethnicity and tribalism.

6) Lastly but not least, Uhuru Ruto came on promise of creating jobs especially for the youth and women. The funds (4/5) were launched with much fun fare. We are yet to see clear stats on their viability if much.

Then came the AGPO for youth and women on government tenders. The story is well illustrated on NYS/Health saga that mainly the old/cronyism still benefits than intended populace.

What about healthcare...there seems a real disconnect with ruling elite and local mwananchi. If a strike can go for so long without real intervention by government that tells you what kind of leadership we have.

OOh when you haven't heard the experiences of your mother /sibling/relative walking 20 +km to seek maternity/medical help..really you can't understand the suffering that is out there (Margret Kenyatta efforts commendable though ,but not effective alone).

The above illustrates lots of disheartening experiences under Uhuru Ruto government. Is there good they have done. Yes there is....like electricity,roads ,education just to mention a few.

However my duty as a tax payer is to evaluate the "promised and manifestos" mandate of what TNA then were elected on and how they fared from their results,then objectively raise concerns that are factual.

This information will allow me make informative decision based on their perfomance. The jury is out but as some said , lots of the current government game plan cards are falling out as the election approaches come August 2017.

Who Will you vote ?

#No Bullshit (name calling /personalization /tribal lining/ ushenzi etc) just straight factual supported answers.
Live your life well, don't settle nor conform to people expectations. It's one of the best way to live life full of bliss and contentment.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 12:29:58 PM

I can't read all you've posted so I'll go strait to the title question.

My answer is no. This government does not deserve to be re-elected. Sadly, the alternative is not better. Eventually, it might come down to 'better the devil you know' situation and that would see them come back.

Anti_Burglar
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 12:35:23 PM

I will sit out this one and let the established politicians slug it out.
Liv
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 12:46:33 PM

@ hindsight,
1. What a question you have asked..... "We as who?"... The armchair analysts here

2. From your analysis and what you've written to support your question, the title of the the topic should be: "why the current government should not be re-elected"....

Or can you be more objective to support your question?
Ngalaka
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 12:54:34 PM

In the abstract the answer to the question is 'No'.

But the aren't we supposed to have a choice between this vs that or can we just have a void!

Who/what is the alternative is just as crucial.

I wish we get better alternative(s).

Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#6 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 12:58:42 PM

I can't read all you've posted so I'll go strait to the title question.

My answer is no. This government does not deserve to be re-elected. Sadly, the alternative is not better. Eventually, it might come down to 'better the devil you know' situation and that would see them come back.

My answer is yes because of your very explanation.

There is no compelling reason to bring them back but Baba is not the option.So we remain with the devil we know.
hindsight
#7 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 1:11:19 PM

Liv wrote:
@ hindsight,
1. What a question you have asked..... "We as who?"... The armchair analysts here

2. From your analysis and what you've written to support your question, the title of the the topic should be: "why the current government should not be re-elected"....

Or can you be more objective to support your question?

@Liv "we as who"

i mean't Kenyans of good will. Being wazuans, we are also Kenyans(those are not ,do not apply.)

@Liv "can you be more objective to support your question?"

Just started a thread with aim of starting a healthy informative debate. It was deliberate to give out facts that can inform the question(s) ,and that's why i made the title of the topic that way.I went further and quoted @maka who also quoted Toni Kimani.

That showcases objectivity of the issues intended to be impartial political discussion with divergent articulated views welcomed.
Live your life well, don't settle nor conform to people expectations. It's one of the best way to live life full of bliss and contentment.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 1:51:07 PM

hindsight wrote:

Or what?

This is not kindergarten, neither are you tisha masho ine.

I will bullshit until The Office of the Administrator censors me.

I just got personal by calling you maisho ine.

When you start implying, or anticipating that Citizens of the Virtual Republic will bring ushenzi, I translate that to mean you are "ushenzi" and you are therefore telling the other "ushenzi" to keep off.

I am a tribalist.

You are a newfarer. That is a fact.

Speak for yourself. Live "We" out of it.

hindsight
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:02:38 PM

aemathenge wrote:
hindsight wrote:

Or what?

When you start implying, or anticipating that Citizens of the Virtual Republic will bring ushenzi, I translate that to mean you are "ushenzi" and you are therefore telling the other "ushenzi" to keep off.

I am a tribalist.

Noted 100%. Unfortunately facts are stubborn.Re-read what you have wrote,then kindly stop and think,before you write.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:04:53 PM

Unfortunately "we" Kenyans of goodwill aren't a significant force in matters of election. Either our numbers don't make a difference or our elitist attitude doesn't allow "us" to vote with the ignorant tribal masses hence we don't turn up to vote. We armchair analysts (and voters?) Are yet to attain the critical mass to make an difference in how this country is governed.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:10:34 PM

hindsight wrote:
aemathenge wrote:
hindsight wrote:

Or what?

I am a tribalist.

Noted 100%. Unfortunately facts are stubborn.Re-read what you have wrote,then kindly stop and think,before you write.

one, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten.

Or what?

I am a tribalist.

hindsight
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:13:03 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Unfortunately "we" Kenyans of goodwill aren't a significant force in matters of election. Either our numbers don't make a difference or our elitist attitude doesn't allow "us" to vote with the ignorant tribal masses hence we don't turn up to vote. We armchair analysts (and voters?) Are yet to attain the critical mass to make an difference in how this country is governed.

Either way , the good thing is we can play a part on determining the direction the country takes. Just one vote,one people one country mantra.

Do your part,follow your conscious and the rest will follow in place.

Democracy means different "analogy" depending on who you ask.

wukan
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:29:30 PM

What's the need for this discussion. It's a forgone conclusion that Uhuruto will be re-elected for following reasons

1. The Stockholm syndrome-from the colonial experience kenyans tend to identify with the captors of state power as a survival strategy. The colonialists were here for around 65 years with little challenge. The colonialists then left power to a targeted african elite who are still in-charge. The current drought with expected depressed long rains means the incumbent calls the shots.

2. Capital(goods that can produce other goods)-KANU elite plus China capital needs protection. Leadership is usually decided by the capital interests that are being protected. The election is more like a beauty pageant for entertainment of the masses.

3. Performance/Corruption is a non-issue in elections-corruption is how the power elite protects its interests by buying protection. The 2017 elections is really about exclusion(tribalism) not a change of policy.

4. Issues about healthcare, jobs, AGPO are best left for socialist/marxist writers and intellectuals. The intellectuals have no power and that's why it's easy to ignore doctors, teachers without little political repercussions. Power resides where people believe power resides.

Are we likely to see any change soon? No not until a merchant class emerges to take away power from the current power elites.

Conclusion: Sit this election out, you give power to the elite when you participate in their stupid games.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:37:01 PM

Rahatupu wrote:

Well put.If the number of anti jubilee articles,news items ,trends on social media etc were the indicators of how well the government is doing jubilee would be polling at 1% but in contrast what matters most during elections I.e voters jubilee is ahead.And there lies the answer to your question ata tufike 1000 posts on this thread.
josimar
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 2:48:20 PM

If You have a keen eye You will notice something strange happening within Our borders which is a soft attack on Our sovereignty . Uganda are posting their special forces in Migingo Island , Ethiopia goes ahead with Gibe Dam construction despite the negative impact it will have on the socio-economic livelihood of Northern Kenya specifically Turkana. Somali have taken Kenya to the International Court in dispute of Our Maritime Border and likewise Ilemi Triangle is being contested by South Sudan. This happens when strong leadership is lacking , a country loses its soul when it lacks unity and is divided ethnically . We need fresh leadership who can inspire unity in Kenya.
hindsight
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 3:14:58 PM

wukan wrote:
What's the need for this discussion. It's a forgone conclusion that Uhuruto will be re-elected for following reasons

1. The Stockholm syndrome-from the colonial experience kenyans tend to identify with the captors of state power as a survival strategy. The colonialists were here for around 65 years with little challenge. The colonialists then left power to a targeted african elite who are still in-charge. The current drought with expected depressed long rains means the incumbent calls the shots.

2. Capital(goods that can produce other goods)-KANU elite plus China capital needs protection. Leadership is usually decided by the capital interests that are being protected. The election is more like a beauty pageant for entertainment of the masses.

3. Performance/Corruption is a non-issue in elections-corruption is how the power elite protects its interests by buying protection. The 2017 elections is really about exclusion(tribalism) not a change of policy.

4. Issues about healthcare, jobs, AGPO are best left for socialist/marxist writers and intellectuals. The intellectuals have no power and that's why it's easy to ignore doctors, teachers without little political repercussions. Power resides where people believe power resides.

Are we likely to see any change soon? No not until a merchant class emerges to take away power from the current power elites.

Conclusion: Sit this election out, you give power to the elite when you participate in their stupid games.

@Wukan, i agree with you on many fronts.However the last part (Conclusion:) i disagree with you because;

1) Sitting out gives the opponent confidence -if he wins on a landslide.

2) Numbers are key even to the loosing side,enables them to have sustained politics for the next round. Hence any vote be it to the winner or looser is very important.

3) There is always something immortal when you participate in an event ,as your active participation goes to the history books and lessons learn't are passed on.

4) Sitting out ,is the least inaction for one to do,who is affected by either outcome. Imagine your daughter or son asking you while in your late years, where were you when all this was happening? it will definitely sink you to "i wish.." i did something,of course to no avail.

The list goes on and on...
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 3:20:20 PM

wukan wrote:
The election is more like a beauty pageant for entertainment of the masses.

Conclusion: Sit this election out, you give power to the elite when you participate in their stupid games

Wow, a kindred spirit.

I did not register for the 2013 erections, choosing instead to sit it out due to some land issues among members of our family.

I am contemplating sitting out this erection too but that is an entirely new thread.

I have, however, been invited to join a team of social media warriors for a local (Kirinyaga) politician.

I have told the politician that I am not a registered voter and I do not intend to register.

The Politician does not mind this and in fact offered me a very handsome retainer with a “handsome” cash advance already in my sack.

The icing in the cake for me is that I have recognized the opposing politician’s lead social media warrior and we have a history.

It will be fun slugging it out like old times.

In your opinion, is this participating in the games, but not actually voting, sitting it out?
Vallerrie
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 3:36:47 PM

It's very obvious who's gonna win this year's election. Africa doesn't do one term presidents. This government has been a total failure but its supporters will tell you 'There's no better alternative'. I wonder where that phrase came from.
Anyway, I gave up on this country a long time ago. Brace yourselves for 5 more years of mega corruption scandals and the same old 'When the opposition was in government they did it too', 'There's no better alternative' etc etc
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 3:42:44 PM

Vallerrie wrote:
It's very obvious who's gonna win this year's election. Africa doesn't do one term presidents. This government has been a total failure but its supporters will tell you 'There's no better alternative'. I wonder where that phrase came from.
Anyway, I gave up on this country a long time ago. Brace yourselves for 5 more years of mega corruption scandals and the same old 'When the opposition was in government they did it too', 'There's no better alternative' etc etc

Nigeria, Ghana?
Vallerrie
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 3:51:34 PM

Vallerrie wrote:

Nigeria, Ghana?

Okay lemme fix that; KENYA doesn't do one term presidents.