wazua Thu, Mar 19, 2026

17 Pages«<34567>»
The Cancer Menace
#41 Posted : Sunday, October 16, 2016 11:19:13 PM

The smoking thing & cancer really puzzles me. How cone when i was growing up there were wazee smoking heavily and snorting tobacco but cancer was not such a menace. Again my village grows tobacco and the leaf 'burning - preparation' process is not for the faint hearted yet cancer has not been that serious among the rural folks. It is the urban guys and women (breast and cervix) with high numbers.

There's the small matter of accurate diagnosis. As a young kid, I was told the story of a distant relative who died of what they at the time described as an unhealing wound. I did manage to somehow follow it up when I was older and my conclusion was she most likely had undiagnosed bone cancer.

There's a lot that science doesn't yet know about some of these ailments and new info comes from research almost daily. Thing with cancer is that it requires a somewhat complex interplay of both genetics and environmental factors. Short of massive genetic testing, it'd be difficult for one o know whether they are predisposed or not.

Not forgetting, no two people can ever be the same really. Some will smoke for life and die of old age, others will smoke for 10yrs and die of lung cancer, among others.
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2017 12:24:27 PM

Baba sitakufa

urvival rates for acute childhood leukemia in India is about 70 per cent. Princess's chances of survival plummeted dangerously when she returned to Kenya, where only one in 10 children survive cancer

Why can't someone just sort our healthcare?
sitaki.kujulikana
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2017 3:16:50 PM

Baba sitakufa

urvival rates for acute childhood leukemia in India is about 70 per cent. Princess's chances of survival plummeted dangerously when she returned to Kenya, where only one in 10 children survive cancer

Why can't someone just sort our healthcare?

Treatment is expensive and while oncologists initially thought some children didn't fare well in cancer recovery due to genetic pre-disposition, they now believe it is poverty that contributes to mortality.

our priorities are elsewhere, our turns to eat is the order of the day hapa, I have always thought that things like education, healthcare and security should be at the fore front of any administration wacha sijui SGR, wind mills, super highways, NSE all those should be secondary lakini at the end of the day its mkuki kwa nguruwe, most guys incharge of the same are middle class and above and they are not usually affected by such, so nothing happens.
#44 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 6:09:43 PM

It's horrible.
It took away my dad.
#45 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 6:14:50 PM

Every person I meet seems to have a relative who is suffering from this thing.
Took away my dad.

Yes.

Very sad and scaring.

From January last year todate I have 4 cases known to me.2 have succumbed and 2 are fighting on.The scaring thing is nobody seems to know cause making it difficult to know how to avoid it or treat it.
#46 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 6:23:37 PM

Every person I meet seems to have a relative who is suffering from this thing.
Took away my dad.

Yes.

Very sad and scaring.

From January last year todate I have 4 cases known to me.2 have succumbed and 2 are fighting on.The scaring thing is nobody seems to know cause making it difficult to know how to avoid it or treat it.

Misdiagnosis by doctors.
They put you on medication thinking that they are treating a simple case of acidity or indigestion.

Forester
#47 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 8:07:11 PM

Is Cancer hereditary? My grand dad currently has both colon and prostate cancer. It pains me to see him waste away like that despite going for regular chemo and being treated by one of the best Oncologist in the country. My father, had Multiple Myeloma but through treatment in India and God's grace, pulled through and is back on his feet again and regained his earlier frame - review after 5 years. My dad's brother also had to go for a pet scan though i'm not privy to the results.

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
#48 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 5:57:57 AM

It's horrible.
It took away my dad.

Pole.
Tokyo
#49 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 6:50:27 AM

Cancer incidences will continue to increase. Pollution and lack of proper disposal of cancer causing agents are the leading causes.
work to prosper
Mainat
#50 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 6:58:05 AM

Early detection is a must to reduce this killer disease, but in most cases especially mashinani, hospitals/clinics don't have the equipment or knowhow.

If you are able, encourage wazazi to go for annual check ups...
Sehemu ndio nyumba
17 Pages«<34567>»