wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

Machakos County partial laws
Realtreaty
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 09, 2017 10:18:23 PM

It is shame and tribal for this great county to start playing bad politics that denies Kenyans from every corner to own property freely.

It is in Machakos where County Inspectors are moving around disturbing citizens who have bought land to build their living houses.
Those who tend to be called "foreigners" are asked to obtain permits to build normal homes from County govt.

The "Locals' are free to build without permits.
At the end Kenyans are being forced to part with bribes so that they escape the tedious process of paying upto 100000 for any house even costing 300000.
Is this the Kenya we want.
Mostly affected areas are Kangundo road Joska, Kamulu, KBC where "foreigners" are said to be buying land and settling.

The word foreigners here refers to those others than the Kambas.
Walking to Machakos county for any assistance is very chaotic that there are so many Inspectors posing as brokers who will tell you not to go in but bribe them to get a permit.

Is this the Kenya we want?

Where is governor Mutua to unlock this and give a statement who is supposed to pay for licence or permit to build a house on free hold land where there is no County facilities like drainage,roads, water etc?

Why should I need Surveyor when the area has been surveyed by the land selling company and accepted by the County council?
Were Syokimau houses approved the same way then demolished?

Please Help the poor!!!!

Thitifini
#2 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 1:17:08 AM

Realtreaty wrote:
It is shame and tribal for this great county to start playing bad politics that denies Kenyans from every corner to own property freely.

It is in Machakos where County Inspectors are moving around disturbing citizens who have bought land to build their living houses.
Those who tend to be called "foreigners" are asked to obtain permits to build normal homes from County govt. (The law says so! Did the "foreigners" build without it? They should be demolished!)

At the end Kenyans are being forced to part with bribes so that they escape the tedious process of paying upto 100000 for any house even costing 300000.
Mostly affected areas are Kangundo road Joska, Kamulu, KBC where "foreigners" are said to be buying land and settling.

Walking to Machakos county for any assistance is very chaotic that there are so many Inspectors posing as brokers who will tell you not to go in but bribe them to get a permit.

Where is governor Mutua to unlock this and give a statement (hope you're not serious!) who is supposed to pay for licence or permit to build a house on free hold land where there is no County facilities like drainage,roads, water etc?

Why should I need Surveyor when the area has been surveyed by the land selling company and accepted by the County council?

Please Help the poor!!!!

Jesus, Kenyans!

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
#3 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 6:08:45 AM

just follow the law.get a permit.playing the tribal crybaby makes to take short cuts makes you no better
#4 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 7:22:11 AM

That is the county law not Mutua's, follow it. If you think it is too high, then there are channels to address that.
marko
#5 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 7:57:22 AM

Kwani nyinyi watatu ni hao brokers wanatajwa?
WHO DARES WINS
majimaji
#6 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 8:51:37 AM

Realtreaty wrote:

Those who tend to be called "foreigners" are asked to obtain permits to build normal homes from County govt.

Where is governor Mutua to unlock this and give a statement who is supposed to pay for licence or permit to build a house on free hold land where there is no County facilities like drainage,roads, water etc?

Please Help the poor!!!!

I feel you, I see how Mutua County guys disturb struggling families trying to construct a roof over their heads in Mavoko, the process for approval is extortionist. Come to Nairobi, we build without any reference to Kidero.
#7 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 9:03:27 AM

Even wazua pays hosting permints, and domain name permits. I don't see them crying ati sijui mzungus are milking the black man dry.

Lipa permit or you think Mayakos is Nairobi?

#8 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 11:15:36 AM

We are the same people who complain about the ugly unplanned illegal buildings in nairobi where anyone wakes up and puts up whatever they want, even flats some of which have collapsed. That is why eastlands has deteriorated so much and become an eyesore with the many illegal and unplanned structures, while kidero is asleep. And the law is very clear that all buildings must be approved. So let machakos follow the law. The madness in eastlands must not be allowed to extend into machakos county.
sitaki.kujulikana
#9 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 7:14:30 PM

majimaji wrote:
Realtreaty wrote:

Please Help the poor!!!!

I feel you, I see how Mutua County guys disturb struggling families trying to construct a roof over their heads in Mavoko, the process for approval is extortionist. Come to Nairobi, we build without any reference to Kidero.

Realtreaty
#10 Posted : Friday, February 10, 2017 8:06:21 PM

We are the same people who complain about the ugly unplanned illegal buildings in nairobi where anyone wakes up and puts up whatever they want, even flats some of which have collapsed. That is why eastlands has deteriorated so much and become an eyesore with the many illegal and unplanned structures, while kidero is asleep. And the law is very clear that all buildings must be approved. So let machakos follow the law. The madness in eastlands must not be allowed to extend into machakos county.

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
When I say "Locals and Foreigners' I do not mean Kenyans and Wazungus, I mean Kambas and other Kenyan citizens.Shame on you Shame on you

Can you imagine a Kamba building the same house is not asked for that permit but a Kisii doing it is asked to get permit with a deep biting teeth ending in bribes?

The real thing here is not permit but denial of same and stoppage of work to give a heavy bribe to these inspectors who themselves do not get similar permits to build.

It is politics time.
Who can tell me that they are asked for permits to build their rural living houses where there are no municipal plans?

This only happens in areas demarcated by municipal for various developments.
#11 Posted : Saturday, February 11, 2017 4:29:28 AM

I have never understood the whole "permits" and "licensing" thing over and above quality control! We are so used to having money taken from us we cannot ask... WHY DO WE HAVE TO PAY EXORBITANT AMOUNTS TO BUILD YOUR HOUSE ON YOUR PIECE OF LAND!
Realtreaty
#12 Posted : Sunday, February 26, 2017 9:07:23 PM

I have never understood the whole "permits" and "licensing" thing over and above quality control! We are so used to having money taken from us we cannot ask... WHY DO WE HAVE TO PAY EXORBITANT AMOUNTS TO BUILD YOUR HOUSE ON YOUR PIECE OF LAND!

Sad And to make matters worse they money extorted from us never reaches the govt but help cartels become billionaires.