#21 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 9:54:06 AM

Ryko wrote:
tnai9 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:
bird_man wrote:
Coolbull wrote:
[quote=Ngogoyo]I have 2008 Sub not-turbo Legacy saloon.

A 1500cc Impreza non turbo will consume as much as a 2000cc non turbo Legacy.
Not too sure of the 2010 Legacy...2500cc CVT engine.I suspect consumption is even better than the older Legacy or Impreza.

Ridiculous statement Shame on you Shame on you

I owned a subaru impreza 1.5cc AWD 2006 model for about 9 months, and that was the worst consumer I have ever had. It would consume as much as the legacy, if not more. I even went for diagnosis and nothing wrong was found. The car was also terribly under powered(1290kg being powered by a 1500cc engine). For a 400km trip, the subaru would require Ksh 4200 yet a corolla fielder consumed about Ksh 3200(same price/liter) with same driving habits

Did you factor in your driving habits?

On powering, I thin it's more to do with the service parts. Courtesy of the kinungi hill, I have seen 1500cc doing much better than a prado on that climb

Lyk seriously, a Subaru does the Kinungi hill better than a prado? I owned a subaru and the only hill i used to go was the Kinungi & salgaa. I always pressed the power button on those hills but i would see Prados flying past me. I think Subarus at times are over-estimated... They are good on hills but i doubt they can beat a prado.

Yes and as I said, depends on where/what service parts you buy!
tnai9
#22 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:04:49 AM

Did you factor in your driving habits?

On powering, I thin it's more to do with the service parts. Courtesy of the kinungi hill, I have seen 1500cc doing much better than a prado on that climb

@Swenani, hapa si ukweli, kabisa.

if a prado driver is not enthusiastic and is driving at 50km/hr up Kinungi and a vitz wants to prove a point and pushes 70km, it will overtake the prado. That doesnt in any way suggest the vitz is a better performer than a prado. I have zoomed past Subarus/prados/harries over these hills with an 1800cc Toyota, but i know its no match if those guys decided to unleash the true power of their machines.

"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
chemirocha
#23 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:15:48 AM

tnai9 wrote:

I owned a subaru impreza 1.5cc AWD 2006 model for about 9 months, and that was the worst consumer I have ever had. It would consume as much as the legacy, if not more. I even went for diagnosis and nothing wrong was found. The car was also terribly under powered(1290kg being powered by a 1500cc engine). For a 400km trip, the subaru would require Ksh 4200 yet a corolla fielder consumed about Ksh 3200(same price/liter) with same driving habits

In November I did Nairobi-Eldoret-Kitale with the older generation "bug-eye" model. A full tank was more than enough to get me there and run my errands.

Are you sure about your driving habits?
tnai9
#24 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:25:50 AM

chemirocha wrote:

In November I did Nairobi-Eldoret-Kitale with the older generation "bug-eye" model. A full tank was more than enough to get me there and run my errands.

Your Subaru must be a FWD. That time there were colleagues with the subru FWD version and they never used to complain about consumption.
"The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence." ― Charles Bukowski
chemirocha
#25 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 10:53:33 AM

tnai9 wrote:
chemirocha wrote:

Your Subaru must be a FWD. That time there were colleagues with the subru FWD version and they never used to complain about consumption.

1.5 AWD version. Naturally the FWD will have better fuel economy.
Ngogoyo
#26 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 2:41:39 PM

bird_man wrote:
Coolbull wrote:
Ngogoyo wrote:
I have 2008 Sub not-turbo Legacy saloon.

Good car. I want to trade it with 2010 one. The 2010 one is just awesome. Stability, reliability, hardy is words i can use on Legacy saloon 2.5

How is the consumption, km/l?

I have been eyeing Subarus but I have no information on consumption. Would it be advisable I start with a 1500cc Subaru and move up?

Not too sure of the 2010 Legacy...2500cc CVT engine.I suspect consumption is even better than the older Legacy or Impreza.

The 1500cc impreza is heavy thus underpowered. It tends to consume more compared to a normal 1500 lets say VW.

The 2000cc gives me 10km/l but am usually heavy on the metal (average 110-120km/hr on the highway...i never seem to wake up early enoughSad

on eco mode i do 11km/l at 90-110km/l

am sure the 2500cc with cvt will do the same as a 2000cc.

Subarus are normally heavy to handle the road better and thus consume marginally higher compared to another car make with same cc
#27 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 3:47:22 PM

bird_man wrote:
Coolbull wrote:
Ngogoyo wrote:
I have 2008 Sub not-turbo Legacy saloon.

Good car. I want to trade it with 2010 one. The 2010 one is just awesome. Stability, reliability, hardy is words i can use on Legacy saloon 2.5

How is the consumption, km/l?

I have been eyeing Subarus but I have no information on consumption. Would it be advisable I start with a 1500cc Subaru and move up?

Now regarding this turbo vs non-turbo maneno, i thought turbo squeezes more power from a given amount of fuel than a naturally aspirated (non turbo) engine by feeding more oxygen/air into the combustion chamber ensuring a better/complete fuel burn and thus more power output. And thus a turbo engine should be more fuel efficient.

<<HOW TURBO WORKS>>

xrice
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 4:38:40 PM

[quote=bird_man][quote=Coolbull]
Now regarding this turbo vs non-turbo maneno, i thought turbo squeezes more power from a given amount of fuel than a naturally aspirated (non turbo) engine by feeding more oxygen/air into the combustion chamber ensuring a better/complete fuel burn and thus more power output. And thus a turbo engine should be more fuel efficient.

I have a 2000cc Toyota (2010 Premio, NA) and a 2000cc VW (2009 GTI, Turbo). I use both regularly to travel to shags, about 200km of highway. The GTI is of course much faster, but when I drive both cars economically, the Premio easily gives me on average 20KM/L on the highway, while the GTI gives me on average 14-16KM/L.
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 6:49:21 PM

-
Jon Jones
#30 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 1:20:11 PM

xrice wrote:
[quote=bird_man][quote=Coolbull]

I have a 2000cc Toyota (2010 Premio, NA) and a 2000cc VW (2009 GTI, Turbo). I use both regularly to travel to shags, about 200km of highway. The GTI is of course much faster, but when I drive both cars economically, the Premio easily gives me on average 20KM/L on the highway, while the GTI gives me on average 14-16KM/L.

I highly doubt. I have used a 2010 primeo on numerous occasions and it gives 12km/l-14km/l
Since men have learned to shoot without missing, I have learned to fly without perching
xrice
#31 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 10:53:52 AM

Jon Jones wrote:
[quote=xrice][quote=hardwood]
I highly doubt. I have used a 2010 primeo on numerous occasions and it gives 12km/l-14km/l

On the highway I repeatedly achieve > 20Km/L with the 2000cc valvematic engine. Moderate driving at 100KPH max. Mixed town and highway driving during the week gives an average of 10-13Km/L
sitaki.kujulikana
#32 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 2:54:51 PM

xrice wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

On the highway I repeatedly achieve > 20Km/L with the 2000cc valvematic engine. Moderate driving at 100KPH max. Mixed town and highway driving during the week gives an average of 10-13Km/L

impressive, on average how much do you spend going say from nairobi to nakuru, or nairobi to mombasa, this car might be cheaper than using a matatu.
#33 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 4:38:04 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
xrice wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

impressive, on average how much do you spend going say from nairobi to nakuru, or nairobi to mombasa, this car might be cheaper than using a matatu.

Nairobi to Msa is 484Km
Therefore, smile smile 484/20=24.2litres of fuel
Return trip consumption=24.2*2=48.4
Cost= 48.4*96.4=4,665.76

Impossible!
#34 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 4:47:04 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
xrice wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

Nairobi to Nakuru is 484Km
Cost= 48.4*96.4=4,665.76

Impossible!

What of the distance from Nairobi to Kitale??
#35 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 9:59:04 PM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
xrice wrote:
Jon Jones wrote:

Nairobi to Nakuru is 484Km
Cost= 48.4*96.4=4,665.76

Impossible!

484 km? wacha landings kijana.
#36 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 10:40:48 PM

I meant Nairobi to Mombasa.....corrected
#37 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 4:34:43 PM

I meant Nairobi to Mombasa.....corrected

oh. that sub 5k to and from mombasa for a 2000cc engine sounds like vitanda mbili.