wazua Tue, Dec 30, 2025

24 Pages«<21222324>
Elade Attack
#441 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 12:10:27 PM

Caveman wrote:
http://www.nation.co.ke/news/1056-3800246-3cwa1lz/index.html
I like the way they have embraced the use of surveillance drones and hitting their targets.
If they had 'hell fire' from the US, they would have finished those Alshabaab when they were still 2KM away.

Very heartening account of events. Proud of the boysApplause Applause Applause
wanyee
#442 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 12:13:18 PM

[quote=Njung'e][quote=Caveman]
All in all this is an improvement from Elade, we are getting somewhere. My guess is that next time the air support will be faster to deal with those bomb vehicles at a better distance than was in this case. You read the account of the Officer and you are in tears. Big up boys...... hakuna wamama huko for equality purposes smile

I want to believe that is why Kenya is going for this birds. They would have taken the VBEIDs quite easily and early enough. Anyway, lemme digress for i know nothing militarysmile. As for akina mama, wakae nyumbani!. Watapeleka nyege huko and then our mboys will be caught on the "hill"smile

it is better that it is publicized that crafts are crop dusters than being F22s' then the other side under rate the flying blues
#443 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 5:15:04 PM

Our boys tried but army and air calvary need to work in greater sync.
I find our approach was poor and too soft...our jets/gunships could have engaged them way before they approached the camp when they were 18kms away, given the drone spotted no anti-aircraft armaments!

Why give the al-sheitans opportunities to regroup and approach the camp - they should never be allowed to even come within 10km (range of some weapons) of the camp!!
Note our soldiers TWICE missed the blue Pajero svbied that passed the hesco barriers with the dependable Carl Gustav 84 mm anti-armour (this was a soft skin vbied ingeraruliwa kabsaa) and exploded, thereby taking away many KDF lives.

What we needed were like 3-4 a multiple rocket launch system to rain real effing fire of shock and awe anti-personnel submunitions on the al sheitans once the drone spots them, a modern version of the soviet-era BM-21 ...offensively take the war to them, not adopt a defensive approach of waiting for them to come to you,ama namna gani my friends?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-lGwyySrwY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEp7vnl2RUE (0-0.20)
#444 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 5:29:09 PM

Can we have something that can be 'poured' on these buggers, as they approach' that just burns and disables them kabisa (disfiguresmile ) but doen't kill or kills slowly. Just mad at them saitans Sad Sad Sad
#445 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 6:05:51 PM

Corporal Amani Ramadhan, another battle hardened soldier was the section commander and in charge at the first line of defence. “We were well prepared, the defence was organised. This was not a surprise because we had information. In terms of equipment we were prepared,” said Corporal Ramadhan.

He, continued fighting along with a colleague he identifies as Sergeant Asiz, who was firing using a mounted machine gun. “He told me he had fired the last bullet in the belt. I gave him another belt. He was shot as he loaded it. But he stood up and went on. He fired again before he was shot thrice..."

chemirocha
#446 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 7:37:08 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:
Our boys tried but army and air calvary need to work in greater sync.
I find our approach was poor and too soft...our jets/gunships could have engaged them way before they approached the camp when they were 18kms away, given the drone spotted no anti-aircraft armaments!

Why give the al-sheitans opportunities to regroup and approach the camp - they should never be allowed to even come within 10km (range of some weapons) of the camp!!
Note our soldiers TWICE missed the blue Pajero svbied that passed the hesco barriers with the dependable Carl Gustav 84 mm anti-armour (this was a soft skin vbied ingeraruliwa kabsaa) and exploded, thereby taking away many KDF lives.

What we needed were like 3-4 a multiple rocket launch system to rain real effing fire of shock and awe anti-personnel submunitions on the al sheitans once the drone spots them, a modern version of the soviet-era BM-21 ...offensively take the war to them, not adopt a defensive approach of waiting for them to come to you,ama namna gani my friends?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-lGwyySrwY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEp7vnl2RUE (0-0.20)

Good points although you have to remember that AMISOM is strictly speaking a peace-keeping mission and that severely restricts the terms of engagement.

On the matter of using heavy artillery to pummel the enemy, that is a Soviet tactic that I doubt our troops are conversant with. It would be interesting to know the involvement of the 50 Air Cavalry gunships because this is exactly what they were trained to do.
#447 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 8:27:43 PM

So what is alshabab's end game? Somalia is currently divided into 3 regions two of which are independent regions in the north i.e. Somaliland and Puntland, and the south which is governed from Mogadishu by the Somali govt with the rag tag alshabab confined in the bushes. If alshetanis are found in only a small portion of a third of Somalia how the hell do they ever think they will ever rule Somalia? Currently they are being pounded heavily by UNISOM, Somali national army and Puntland forces who are fellow Somalis. They are fighting a losing battle.

www.intelligencebriefs.c...untains-kill-over-dozen/

www.garoweonline.com/en/...habaab-fighters-state-tv

Taurrus
#448 Posted : Monday, February 06, 2017 9:44:43 PM

Can we have something that can be 'poured' on these buggers, as they approach' that just burns and disables them kabisa (disfiguresmile ) but doen't kill or kills slowly. Just mad at them saitans Sad Sad Sad

AA mko kwao,what do you expect them to do, sorry!
Caveman
#449 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 10:09:00 AM

"We took them (Shabaab) out from far away. They could not go past this place and so they decided to leave" #Kulbiyow

http://www.nation.co.ke/...02588-vtck8dz/index.html
#450 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 10:37:54 AM

@Chemirocha, multiple launch rocket systems are not a preserve of ex-soviet armies, ni mingi sana hata West.

Its time we moved from surveillance drones to armed/ weaponised drones, for sure we cant get from Uncle Sam but so what, the Chinese offer a very good substitute, the CH-4 armed drone

Hii ni mambo byaad, ikiona watu mbaya, mambo ni...fimboooo chapaaa!
They have laser-guided munition.
Si mambo ya kutuma tu videos kama scan eagle.
And they are cheap at $1m (KShs 103m),hio hata wakipatia raia paybill number tutachanga, rather than spend millions on lost kdf lives.

#451 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 10:52:47 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:
@Chemirocha, multiple launch rocket systems are not a preserve of ex-soviet armies, ni mingi sana hata West.

Its time we moved from surveillance drones to armed/ weaponised drones, for sure we cant get from Uncle Sam but so what, the Chinese offer a very good substitute, the CH-4 armed drone

And they are cheap at $1m (KShs 103m),hio hata wakipatia raia paybill number tutachanga, rather than spend millions on lost kdf lives.

Laughing out loudly Okay. The Chinese can reverse engineer anything. Is the CH-4 not a Reaper other than for the name?smile. I like the price.smile Anyway,we may get the CH-4 at cheap but how about the expertise and cost of running and maintaining it?
#452 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 11:05:55 AM

Exclusive video from the camp.

#453 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 11:15:12 AM

So what is alshabab's end game? Somalia is currently divided into 3 regions two of which are independent regions in the north i.e. Somaliland and Puntland, and the south which is governed from Mogadishu by the Somali govt with the rag tag alshabab confined in the bushes. If alshetanis are found in only a small portion of a third of Somalia how the hell do they ever think they will ever rule Somalia? Currently they are being pounded heavily by UNISOM, Somali national army and Puntland forces who are fellow Somalis. They are fighting a losing battle.

www.intelligencebriefs.c...untains-kill-over-dozen/

www.garoweonline.com/en/...habaab-fighters-state-tv

I thought you would know by now what the end game is...
The strategy is to simply wait it out on the sidelines, rack up the enemy body count from sporadic attacks and wait until they get fed up, run out of budget and leave... Then recapture territory with minimal resistance from the poorly trained and poorly equiped local forces...

Check out Iraq and Afghanistan for reference points....
gregory
#454 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 11:29:25 AM

let's now wait for the Mujahideen's video we compare notes
chemirocha
#455 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 11:29:41 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:

My point was that the use of artillery is primarily a Soviet tactic as seen in the Ukraine conflict.

Aerial warfare to support the ground units is the way to go when considering the enemy and the harsh terrain.
#456 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 11:50:37 AM

I am worried. Near the end of that video (at 9.30) there are satellite/aerial/drone images of the camp and the geographical coordinates on those images mean the camp is in Kenyan territory. I have input the cordinates into google maps/earth and the camp is in kenya not inside somalia. Infact it is about 700m (on Kenyan side) from the border. This means alshetanis crossed into kenya and attacked us on our own soil. It means they attacked soldiers guarding our border.
#457 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 12:12:40 PM

Laughing out loudly Okay. The Chinese can reverse engineer anything. Is the CH-4 not a Reaper other than for the name?smile. I like the price.smile Anyway,we may get the CH-4 at cheap but how about the expertise and cost of running and maintaining it?

Expertise iko - si ni fighter pilots tu, only that hawaendi kwa field physically. Easy stuff for KDF drone sch to train. Maintenance costs are also cheap.

The al sheitans have now conclusively known svieds are a failed tactic. Sasa watarudia ambushing convoys and support chains. So for KDF now has to find the svieds/ bomb makers (I suspect likely these are foreign fighters) and financiers.

And its sad they have to force small boys from poor families to join them.Sad
#458 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 12:21:22 PM

SVIEDS can be nasty, see this explosion captured on cctv (over 5 tons of tnt explosives, meaning the bomb was almost 10X the 1998 Coop Bank/Ufundi one of 800kg) on an Iraqi military Humvee convoy in 2007... your guess is as good as mine on the casualties, they would have been lucky to even find a human hand Sad

Iraqi Convoy hit by massive svied

#459 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 4:37:13 PM

chemirocha wrote:
Intelligentsia wrote:

My point was that the use of artillery is primarily a Soviet tactic as seen in the Ukraine conflict.

Aerial warfare to support the ground units is the way to go when considering the enemy and the harsh terrain.

@chemirocha, which Ukraine artillery are you talking about. Are you looking at things with a rear mirror flipping over images?

#460 Posted : Tuesday, February 07, 2017 5:18:05 PM

I am worried. Near the end of that video (at 9.30) there are satellite/aerial/drone images of the camp and the geographical coordinates on those images mean the camp is in Kenyan territory. I have input the cordinates into google maps/earth and the camp is in kenya not inside somalia. Infact it is about 700m (on Kenyan side) from the border. This means alshetanis crossed into kenya and attacked us on our own soil. It means they attacked soldiers guarding our border.

Now i got a very interesting message from an army pal...but because you guys will bash me let me just pass...