wazua Sun, Feb 23, 2025

4 Pages«<234
NMG Closes Broadcast Stations
#61 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 7:55:02 AM

Case study on the works...these jonalists think it was just a visit
#62 Posted : Saturday, January 07, 2017 8:35:12 AM

Thesis on death of print media in Africa.
#63 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 5:15:59 PM

#64 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 5:21:31 PM

in the meantime seems like nobody is seeing the potential of wazua; not even its owners.
#65 Posted : Wednesday, February 01, 2017 5:57:48 PM

mkenyan wrote:

in the meantime seems like nobody is seeing the potential of wazua; not even its owners.

Apart from us the addicts
chiaroscuro
#66 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 12:58:31 PM

I find it easy to navigate from BusinessDaily to Daily Nation than vice verss, anybody else with same problem. Then same stories are same kabisa word for word on both sites, including errors!!!!

Nowadays, BD is the business desk of DN. Stories are simply lifted across.

NMG is doing a fisi trick...BD was dead on arrival but they hope it'll turn around. DN is dying before their very eyes - ad revenues shrinking annually. So, NMG is caught in between!
Mike Ock
#67 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 1:57:46 PM

Seems like a small experiment to me.
#68 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 2:40:04 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

You don't acquire an internet company so that you can implement your own failed methods.

Ask Ghafla.

You want to be acquired by someone who's better than you and only needs to either get rid of our brand or leverage on what they know.

Exactly what new thing is Nation going to add to Kenyan Buzz? Money? I know Kenyan buzz owners are very happy. As for Nation.....again ask Ghafla and

My goodness just been informed they were acquired for 2 million. A 10 year old site that's supposed to be the best in the country cannot be sold for 2 million.

Unless of course someone is lying...Either the author of the rumor or Kenyan Buzz owners...I'd rather die in poverty than give out a 10 year old site for 2 million.

#69 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 4:31:57 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

You don't acquire an internet company so that you can implement your own failed methods.

Ask Ghafla.

You want to be acquired by someone who's better than you and only needs to either get rid of our brand or leverage on what they know.

Exactly what new thing is Nation going to add to Kenyan Buzz? Money? I know Kenyan buzz owners are very happy. As for Nation.....again ask Ghafla and

My goodness just been informed they were acquired for 2 million. A 10 year old site that's supposed to be the best in the country cannot be sold for 2 million.

Unless of course someone is lying...Either the author of the rumor or Kenyan Buzz owners...I'd rather die in poverty than give out a 10 year old site for 2 million.

Why ask Ghafla? What happened to them?

This acquisition is good for Nation whether they run it well or not. It's easier for a big organisation to acquire than build afresh because customer acquisition is a nightmare and failure rate higher since they'd be going for the same clientele, also losing to the inferior competitor would be doom.

#70 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 4:48:55 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

Ask Ghafla.

This acquisition is good for Nation whether they run it well or not. It's easier for a big organisation to acquire than build afresh because customer acquisition is a nightmare and failure rate higher since they'd be going for the same clientele, also losing to the inferior competitor would be doom.

Exactly what is happening here is what happened with Ghafla.

You get bought by a company which doesn't know your business.

Now tell me, who's going to be running this company? Linus Gitahi?

And stop lying to people. Customer acquisition is not a nightmare. Mpasho did it in 6 months. Just writing about Vera Sidika's buttocks. Just say these fellows don't know how to do it.

If they ran down Nsoko which is just like Kenyan Buzz, what makes you think they won't destroy this one too?

Oh, by the way, just saw a post by the former kenyanlyrics on wazua...I can see he agrees with me.

#71 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 5:29:52 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

Ask Ghafla.

And stop lying to people. Customer acquisition is not a nightmare. Mpasho did it in 6 months. Just writing about Vera Sidika's buttocks. Just say these fellows don't know how to do it.

If they ran down Nsoko which is just like Kenyan Buzz, what makes you think they won't destroy this one too?

Oh, by the way, just saw a post by the former kenyanlyrics on wazua...I can see he agrees with me.

If customer acquisition was that easy there would be no need for acquisitions and mergers. And Linus Gitahi is not at Nation, he started a pr agency.

#72 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 7:55:00 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

Ask Ghafla.

The last time I saw that man, he was checking out some fish who was stocking doom up the shelves of Nakumatt TRM. I must confess, there's no way any eye would miss that behind. Laughing out loudly
#73 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 8:40:00 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

Ask Ghafla.

The last time I saw that man, he was checking out some fish who was stocking doom up the shelves of Nakumatt TRM. I must confess, there's no way any eye would miss that behind. Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly it's obvious I don't know anyone in Nation. I only know of Madowo and James Smart and tafakari ya babu at nation...Hao wengine sijui kaikai, gitahi etc I just read about on wazua.Laughing out loudly

#74 Posted : Thursday, February 02, 2017 9:12:48 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Note to Nation.

Ask Ghafla.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly it's obvious I don't know anyone in Nation. I only know of Madowo and James Smart and tafakari ya babu at nation...Hao wengine sijui kaikai, gitahi etc I just read about on wazua.Laughing out loudly

Wameenda wengi. On acquisition of Kenyabuzz, this is Nation getting into the lifestyle magazine business. Just like the way NBC owns E! Entertainment and ET is owned by CBS TV. The young lads are tired of news/siasa 24/7. However, I hope they grow to create tv content and leave madowo out of it
Mike Ock
#75 Posted : Friday, February 03, 2017 6:06:09 PM

Ghafla was bought out last year by a Swiss multinational called Ringier and the union lasted only three months before the previous owner took it back. Ringier really run it down trying to change it into a competitor for Standard. Can you imagine Ghafla giving people business news about Davos conference? Laughing out loudly those Ringier guys are a big multinational, but they were clueless about the situation in digital in Kenya, just like Nation who are currently spending billions expanding their printing press. Anyway, now Ghafla is back to it's entertainment bread and butter.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...957860-3484796-s7pncyz/

Don't idealize big corporates, sometimes a startup environment is better. Corporates can be full of politics, bureaucracy and corruption that stifle growth. Now I'm also hearing KenyaBuzz was bought for a measly 2m, so the shafting by NMG has begun in earnest. I won't be surprised if we start hearing about disgruntlement in that corner soon as well
#76 Posted : Tuesday, January 23, 2018 6:10:36 PM

More bigwigs fall in Nation Centre purge

Nation Media Group Head of Content Tim Wanyonyi and senior reporter Bernard Namunane are the latest victims of a major purge that is ongoing at Nation Centre.

Wanyonyi was until early last year the Managing Editor, Saturday Nation, before he was moved to the news desk in a similar restructuring that saw several staffers, including News Editor Shimoli axed. He is also a former Quality Editor at the media house.

Others in the editorial department who have been retrenched in the latest programme include NTV News Manager Emmanuel Juma, Saturday magazine editor Wayua Muli, Nakuru regional editor Caroline Wafula, NTV Swahili news anchor Lolani Kalu and NTV Head of Graphics Cromwel Onyango and NTV reporter Steve Mwei.

As Head of Content, Wanyonyi, he was responsible for generation of content in a converged set up. All reporters and the news reporting teams reported to him.

According to the media house, the latest exercise is part of its continued restructuring to transform into a 21st century digital media house.
mkeiy
#77 Posted : Thursday, January 25, 2018 2:10:39 PM

More bigwigs fall in Nation Centre purge

Nation Media Group Head of Content Tim Wanyonyi and senior reporter Bernard Namunane are the latest victims of a major purge that is ongoing at Nation Centre.

Wanyonyi was until early last year the Managing Editor, Saturday Nation, before he was moved to the news desk in a similar restructuring that saw several staffers, including News Editor Shimoli axed. He is also a former Quality Editor at the media house.

Others in the editorial department who have been retrenched in the latest programme include NTV News Manager Emmanuel Juma, Saturday magazine editor Wayua Muli, Nakuru regional editor Caroline Wafula, NTV Swahili news anchor Lolani Kalu and NTV Head of Graphics Cromwel Onyango and NTV reporter Steve Mwei.

As Head of Content, Wanyonyi, he was responsible for generation of content in a converged set up. All reporters and the news reporting teams reported to him.

According to the media house, the latest exercise is part of its continued restructuring to transform into a 21st century digital media house.

No more Bull's Eye? Sad!
Anyway,has it been airing lately?
kayhara
#78 Posted : Friday, January 26, 2018 7:43:37 AM

Lolani Kalu,wonder why they had to let him go now,he survived many an axe.
To Each His Own