#161 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:45:11 PM

thuks wrote:
Mexico to pay for the wall...

Reuters wrote:
The White House on Thursday floated the idea of imposing a 20 percent tax on goods from Mexico to pay for a wall at the southern U.S. border, sending the peso tumbling and deepening a crisis between the two neighbors.

Mexican President Enrique Pena Nieto announced on Twitter around midday on Thursday that he was scrapping a planned trip to meet with U.S. President Donald Trump, who has repeatedly demanded that Mexico pay for a wall on the U.S. border.

Later in the day, White House spokesman Sean Spicer sent the Mexican peso falling to its low for the day when he told reporters that Trump wanted a 20 percent tax on Mexican imports to pay for construction of the wall.

Spicer gave few details, but his comments resembled an existing idea, known as a border adjustment tax, that the Republican-led U.S. House of Representatives is considering as part of a broad tax overhaul.

When the import tax increases, who pays? Hii hesabu yanishinda

Shida ya kusomea kwa dirisha.

They think the 20% will be paid by the mexican exporter forgeting that it's the Americna imported who ordered for goods, will pay the 20% tax and pass it on to the consumers!

If lets say a "made in mexico" shirt was going for USD10 while the one made in the US was USD11, and now the mexican one has been slapped with 20% tax, it pushes price to USD12 and makes it more expensive than the US made one, thus less competitive. Assuming the quality is more or less the same, what this means is that consumers will now buy the US made shirt which will benefit the US manufacturers, factory workers and by extension the US cotton growers and the whole chain - seed companies, pesticides firms, transporters etc. But if someone still insists that they want to buy the mexican shirt, then the 20% goes to the wall.

This argument is so lame! It's like you arguing that we can slap Saudi Arabia oil with 20% tax to reduce our trade deficit!!!! Try to get info on what US imports from and exports to Mexico
Ngalaka
#162 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 3:05:41 PM

Trump white house is at sea!
Mixed up, and unsure of what to do!
It's trial and error method now!

We were told obamacare will go on day one! then we heard (directed to congress), oh no dont, be careful not to make it our (GOP) problem, just let it be. Then on taking office he signed some ambiguous if inconsequential executive order to hoodwink the base.
Then at the GOP retreat in Philadelphia - said why dont we just let obamacare collapse of its own weight in two years time!

Now the matter of the wall - how many times has the position on this one been shifting!
The latest has been a tax form of payment. 20% was suggested, then after criticism, we heard maybe 5% or something in between.

Look if you tax incoming goods, it is the US citizens who will pay - period.
Stories of - oh the Mexican goods will be less attractive so US goods will have a better competitive edge - that's a different issue altogether - commerce matters - promoting american made goods.
In any case taking them on that argument, if then the Mexican goods are less attractive - then where will the tax money for the wall come from!

At the end of the day, US citizens will pay for the wall.
Trump white house should be bold enough to tell his voters the truth.

While at it Trump should be careful not to unnecessarily spur resentment from his neighbours and other countries towards the US
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#163 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 3:40:27 PM

If Kenya slapped a 20% tax on Ugandan eggs it would mean the foreign eggs would become more expensive and stop flooding our market and Kenyan poultry farmers would have a place to sell their eggs instead of the current situation where egg brokers troop to Uganda to get cheap eggs to flood the Kenyan market. This would increase kenyan farmer incomes and create jobs and wealth.

The US situation is even worse because when Toyota wants to sell cars to US consumers they build factories across the border in Mexico then take advantage of free trade deals and ship the cars to the US. With huge taxes for goods from Mexico it means Toyota and others will now have to move their factories to the US for their cars to be competitive. This will cretae jobs in the US and billions which woild have gone to mexico will remain in the US.
Ngalaka
#164 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 3:43:58 PM

Trade matters, protecting local production is different from funding the wall!!!
#165 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 3:52:25 PM

Ngalaka wrote:
Trade matters, protecting local production is different from funding the wall!!!

There are many other goods that Mexico will still try to sell to the US eg Mexican beer and tequila and that is what will build the wall. All these things are interrelated. Even us Kenyans we slapped some tax on all imports to fund the SGR. If our import tax is building our reli then Trumps import tax will build the wall.
#166 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 3:59:16 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:
The White House on Thursday floated the idea of imposing a 20 percent tax on goods from Mexico to pay for a wall at the southern U.S. border, sending the peso tumbling and deepening a crisis between the two neighbors.

Mexican President Enrique Pena Nieto announced on Twitter around midday on Thursday that he was scrapping a planned trip to meet with U.S. President Donald Trump, who has repeatedly demanded that Mexico pay for a wall on the U.S. border.

Later in the day, White House spokesman Sean Spicer sent the Mexican peso falling to its low for the day when he told reporters that Trump wanted a 20 percent tax on Mexican imports to pay for construction of the wall.

Spicer gave few details, but his comments resembled an existing idea, known as a border adjustment tax, that the Republican-led U.S. House of Representatives is considering as part of a broad tax overhaul.

It means mexican goods become less competitive, discourages imports and therefore US industries, workers and economy benefit. The money that would have gone to mexico remains in the US.

My friend, stop believing anything that comes out from Trump's rectum

Mexico, US Trade facts

U.S. exports to Mexico account for 15.7% of overall U.S. exports in 2015

Mexico was the United States' 2nd largest goods export market in 2015.

Mexico was the United States' 3rd largest supplier of goods imports in 2015.

U.S. foreign direct investment (FDI) in Mexico (stock) was $107.8 billion in 2014 (latest data available), a 5.3% increase from 2013. U.S. direct investment in Mexico is led by nonbank holding companies, manufacturing, and finance/insurance.

Mexico's FDI in the United States (stock) was $17.7 billion in 2014 (latest data available), up 4.0% from 2013. Mexico's direct investment in the U.S. is led by manufacturing, wholesale trade, and depository institutions.

Sales of services in Mexico by majority U.S.-owned affiliates were $43.4 billion in 2013 (latest data available), while sales of services in the United States by majority Mexico-owned firms were $7.5 billion.

Then I read this stupidity somewhere
Who told them that Mexico won't retaliate by applying a 30% tax on USA imports too?

Under that plan, exports from the United States would be tax-exempt, but imports would be taxed at the border

let's face it.. he is appealing to his masses... treat mexicans badly.. bully mexico... arm twist them... show them who is boss! I always think if it comes to a point where you have to show someone "who is boss"... you lost it...YOUR BEING "BOSS" IS NOT OBVIOUS!! let's face it the rest of the world was only good when wazungus could show us pity... magnanimity...charity... when dealing with them on equal footing brings this type of response - you have scratched the giant. you see - they just have to give money towards a cause that is almost as much as "a cup of coffee" and tell themselves they are good! you are the boogyman... the one they tell their kids about when they don't finish their veggies... "eat up your veggies - there is a kid in africa dying because they cannot get food". So when a 3rd country starts threatening a superpower and get's this response- they should feel proud of themselves... when they become the agenda of an election and the person who puts them as an agenda wins - they have gone where no man has gone before. they have shaken the tree and drawn attention. they are like the 300 men of sparta. They are saying

The world will know that free men stood against a tyrant. That few stood against many and before this battle was over that even a God King can bleed.

and to all those uncle toms, all you f*ckers cheering the Xerxes led side will never be considered equal to the ones you side with. you are one of us when Xerses says
There will be no glory in your sacrifice. I will erase even the memory of Sparta from the histories, every piece of Greek parchment shall be burned.

Every Greek historian and every scribe shall have their eyes put out and their tongues cut from their mouth.

Why honoring the very name of Sparta or Leonidas will be punishable by death. The world will never know you existed at all.

you will be erased with the rest of use...
Ngalaka
#167 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:06:44 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

There are many other goods that Mexico will still try to sell to the US eg Mexican beer and tequila and that is what will build the wall. All these things are interrelated. Even us Kenyans we slapped some tax on all imports to fund the SGR. If our import tax is building our reli then Trumps import tax will build the wall.

Hence - bottom line - the citizens pay for the construction - period
Ngalaka
#168 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:09:00 PM

we in Kenya can not argue that since some tax was added on Oil, then it is Saudi Arabia paying for the SGR - for instance.
#169 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:13:34 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

Shida ya kusomea kwa dirisha.

They think the 20% will be paid by the mexican exporter forgeting that it's the Americna imported who ordered for goods, will pay the 20% tax and pass it on to the consumers!

If lets say a "made in mexico" shirt was going for USD10 while the one made in the US was USD11, and now the mexican one has been slapped with 20% tax, it pushes price to USD12 and makes it more expensive than the US made one, thus less competitive. Assuming the quality is more or less the same, what this means is that consumers will now buy the US made shirt which will benefit the US manufacturers, factory workers and by extension the US cotton growers and the whole chain - seed companies, pesticides firms, transporters etc. But if someone still insists that they want to buy the mexican shirt, then the 20% goes to the wall.

Don't forget about the demand and supply curve as you argue. When the price of the shirt goes up by 20%, there is a whole segment of consumers who are priced out of the market for the shirts, along with them goes atleast 20% of the shirt trade value chain of jobs, suppliers, distributors etc. plus the 20% extra costs will also squeeze other competing goods out of the market (you know the opportunity cost thing).

So assuming all things constant, slapping the 20% tax on imports only effect will be to increase the cost of goods in the USLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ok, and also tax Americans who can afford to pay 20% more for the shirt to build the wall.
#170 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:25:38 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

If e.g. 100b was initially going to Mexico and after the Trump wall tax and trade reforms only 40B will be going to Mexico then it is the difference or the 60b that remains in the US (that would otherwise would have gone to Mexico) that will build the wall. Whichever way you look at it Mexico will end up paying for the wall. The least painful way Mexico would have paid for the wall was to write a cheque (pay upfront) as trump had suggested but they refused and now the trade war way will be devastating to Mexico for a very long time. Already many companies have shelved plans to invest in Mexico and plan to move to the US.
#171 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:36:56 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

If e.g. 100b was initially going to Mexico and after the Trump wall tax and trade reforms only 40B will be going to Mexico then it is the difference or the 60b that remains in the US (that would otherwise would have gone to Mexico) that will build the wall. Whichever way you look at it Mexico will end up paying for the wall. The least painful way Mexico would have paid for the wall was to write a cheque (pay upfront) as trump had suggested but they refused and now the trade war way will be devastating to Mexico for a very long time. Already many companies have shelved plans to invest in Mexico and plan to move to the US.

#172 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:37:50 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

whichever way you look at it its the US taxpayer who will build the wall. He adds tax to the commodities the producer hikes the price, trade war am sure the max trump will make is the usual 4 years, second term ...... nah
#173 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:39:55 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

The problem Hardwood that you Trumpians never understood about this conman is that he was lying from his teeth from day 1.

The world moved on from those days of tariffs and taxes to simply more efficient production.

Those American car manufacturers you love so much don't even make their parts in the US. Even the Japanese don't make their parts in Japan. Increase that tax in Mexico and tomorrow morning parts prices rise. Not the fake sijui 20 year gimmick his people are lying to you about.

The good thing about Trump is that he's America's problem.

The Chinese must be the happiest fellas in the world right now. Because surely other countries are watching this fella just go bananas.

Hardwood, we are not saying this stuff because he won...His winning is not important now.

We are just saying this just incase we get a madman here who wants to impose 20% tax on imports. Ati because by doing so, more Kenyans will get jobs. That's not even economics.

Americans can lie with the devil they got...

#174 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 4:44:06 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Seriously??!!!
#175 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:01:07 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

Mexico will end up paying for the wall either directly via taxes or indirectly via lost trade opportunities and lost investments.
Ngalaka
#176 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:05:58 PM

Lest you forget;
As a candidate Trump said take the oil - Iraqi oil.
As president - after inauguration he reiterated the same - take the oil.

How reckless can it get!

US troops are currently in Iraq!
thuks
#177 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:07:34 PM

Ngalaka wrote:

Mexico will end up paying for the wall either directly via taxes or indirectly via lost trade opportunities and lost investments.

How will Mexico losing trade put money in Prezos hands to build the wall?
I care!
#178 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:19:38 PM

@hardwood, ask them to go pick on somebody their own size! Uncle Sam should leave little Mexico alone and pick on someone his own size. Russia said we won't bend a knee for them... China said they won't bend a knee for them... Now they couldn't face these two who stood up to him, now they are abusing a little guy who cannot fight back!

This is a war against the biggest oppressor the world has ever known, which side should you be brother @hardwood! Should you be cheering the bully?
Ngalaka
#179 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:25:07 PM

@hardwood, ask them to go pick on somebody their own size! Uncle Sam should leave little Mexico alone and pick on someone his own size. Russia said we won't bend a knee for them... China said they won't bend a knee for them... Now they couldn't face these two who stood up to him, now they are abusing a little guy who cannot fight back!

This is a war against the biggest oppressor the world has ever known, which side should you be brother @hardwood! Should you be cheering the bully?

Trump is also arguing with China.
In a way that is not too wise.
Just shooting from the hip.
#180 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 5:29:49 PM

"Well, I'd say very simply that they are going to pay for it. I never said they're gonna pay from the start. I said Mexico will pay for the wall."

DAVID MUIR: Mr. President, I want to start — we’re five days in. And your campaign promises. I know today you plan on signing the order to build the wall.

PRESIDENT TRUMP: Correct.

DAVID MUIR: Are you going to direct U.S. funds to pay for this wall? Will American taxpayers pay for the wall?

PRESIDENT TRUMP: Ultimately it’ll come out of what’s happening with Mexico. We’re gonna be starting those negotiations relatively soon. And we will be in a form reimbursed by Mexico which I will say …

DAVID MUIR: So, they’ll pay us back?

PRESIDENT TRUMP: Yeah, absolutely, 100 percent.

DAVID MUIR: So, the American taxpayer will pay for the wall at first?

PRESIDENT TRUMP: All it is, is we’ll be reimbursed at a later date from whatever transaction we make from Mexico. Now, I could wait a year and I could hold off the wall. But I wanna build the wall. We have to build the wall. We have to stop drugs from pouring in. We have to stop people from just pouring into our country. We have no idea where they’re from. And I campaigned on the wall. And it’s very important. But that wall will cost us nothing.

DAVID MUIR: But you talked — often about Mexico paying for the wall. And you, again, say they’ll pay us back. Mexico’s president said in recent days that Mexico absolutely will not pay, adding that, “It goes against our dignity as a country and our dignity as Mexicans.” He says …

(OVERTALK)

PRESIDENT TRUMP: David, he has to say that. He has to say that. But I’m just telling you there will be a payment. It will be in a form, perhaps a complicated form. And you have to understand what I’m doing is good for the United States. It’s also going to be good for Mexico.

We wanna have a very stable, very solid Mexico. Even more solid than it is right now. And they need it also. Lots of things are coming across Mexico that they don’t want. I think it’s going to be a good thing for both countries. And I think the relationship will be better than ever before.

You know, when we had a prisoner in Mexico, as you know, two years ago, that we were trying to get out. And Mexico was not helping us, I will tell you, those days are over. I think we’re gonna end up with a much better relationship with Mexico. We will have the wall and in a very serious form Mexico will pay for the wall.

DAVID MUIR: What are you gonna say to some of your supporters who might say, “Wait a minute, I thought Mexico was going to pay for this right at the start.”

PRESIDENT TRUMP: Well, I’d say very simply that they are going to pay for it. I never said they’re gonna pay from the start. I said Mexico will pay for the wall. But what I will tell my supporters is, “Would you like me to wait two years or three years before I make this deal?” Because we have to make a deal on NAFTA. We have to make a new trade deal with Mexico because we’re getting clobbered.