wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

90 Pages«<678910>»
POTUS TRUMP
#141 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 8:37:39 AM

I keep seeing "Post Truth" as the title of this thread! I guess I am seeing the world as I am not as it is.
Anti_Burglar
#142 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 8:59:56 AM

I keep seeing "Post Truth" as the title of this thread! I guess I am seeing the world as I am not as it is.

Makes sense.
#143 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 10:29:02 AM

Mexico to pay for the wall...

Reuters wrote:
The White House on Thursday floated the idea of imposing a 20 percent tax on goods from Mexico to pay for a wall at the southern U.S. border, sending the peso tumbling and deepening a crisis between the two neighbors.

Mexican President Enrique Pena Nieto announced on Twitter around midday on Thursday that he was scrapping a planned trip to meet with U.S. President Donald Trump, who has repeatedly demanded that Mexico pay for a wall on the U.S. border.

Later in the day, White House spokesman Sean Spicer sent the Mexican peso falling to its low for the day when he told reporters that Trump wanted a 20 percent tax on Mexican imports to pay for construction of the wall.

Spicer gave few details, but his comments resembled an existing idea, known as a border adjustment tax, that the Republican-led U.S. House of Representatives is considering as part of a broad tax overhaul.
#144 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 10:47:12 AM

Reuters wrote:
The White House on Thursday floated the idea of imposing a 20 percent tax on goods from Mexico to pay for a wall at the southern U.S. border, sending the peso tumbling and deepening a crisis between the two neighbors.

Mexican President Enrique Pena Nieto announced on Twitter around midday on Thursday that he was scrapping a planned trip to meet with U.S. President Donald Trump, who has repeatedly demanded that Mexico pay for a wall on the U.S. border.

Later in the day, White House spokesman Sean Spicer sent the Mexican peso falling to its low for the day when he told reporters that Trump wanted a 20 percent tax on Mexican imports to pay for construction of the wall.

Spicer gave few details, but his comments resembled an existing idea, known as a border adjustment tax, that the Republican-led U.S. House of Representatives is considering as part of a broad tax overhaul.

this is how wars are started... by bullying and robbing people

We have been forced into a conflict, for we are called, with our allies, to meet the challenge of a principle which, if it were to prevail, would be fatal to any civilized order in the world.

It is a principle which permits a state, in the selfish pursuit of power, to disregard its treaties and its solemn pledges, which sanctions the use of force or threat of force against the sovereignty and independence of other states.

Such a principle, stripped of all disguise, is surely the mere primitive doctrine that might is right, and if this principle were established through the world, the freedom of our own country and of the whole British Commonwealth of nations would be in danger.
#145 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 11:35:33 AM

80% of mexico's exports are to the US. They have to kiss Trumps feet and pay for the wall. Already their currency (peso) has gotten a thorough beating.
#146 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 11:44:30 AM

It's about time we honoured the 45 POTUS with his own thread.

Copy That.

Jared Kushner, President Trump's son-in-law and one of his closest White House advisers, is registered to vote in both New Jersey and New York, while White House Press Secretary Sean Spicer is on the rolls both in Virginia and his home state of Rhode Island, according to elections officials and voting registration records.

Trump said this week that the fact that many voters are registered in two states is a sign of widespread voter fraud, calling for a “major investigation” into his unsubstantiated claim that millions of people cast illegal ballots in November.

“You have people that are registered who are dead, who are illegals, who are in two states,” the president told ABC's David Muir on Wednesday.

“You have people registered in two states.

They're registered in a New York and a New Jersey.

They vote twice.

There are millions of votes, in my opinion.”

It is NOT illegal to be registered to vote in two states, and elections officials say that does not mean voters are casting ballots in two locations.

In fact, it is quite common for out-of-date registrations to linger on the rolls, due to voters dying or moving to new jurisdictions.

A 2012 Pew Center on the States study that Trump has erroneously cited as evidence of voter fraud found that about 2.75 million people were registered in more than one state — largely because voters did not report when they moved to new jurisdictions.

Link from the Washington Post
#147 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 11:57:34 AM

Liking this Trump guy. He is the true version of kusema(while campaigning) na kutenda(when in office).

No hot air like from his predecessors and Kenyan leaders

Whether he is right or wrong is another thing. If he's wrong, it's not just him who is wrong it's the whole of AMerica through their funny electoral system. For they knew what the guy stood for and planned to do but still voted him in.
Anti_Burglar
#148 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 12:03:41 PM

Reuters wrote:

this is how wars are started... by bullying and robbing people

We have been forced into a conflict, for we are called, with our allies, to meet the challenge of a principle which, if it were to prevail, would be fatal to any civilized order in the world.

It is a principle which permits a state, in the selfish pursuit of power, to disregard its treaties and its solemn pledges, which sanctions the use of force or threat of force against the sovereignty and independence of other states.

Such a principle, stripped of all disguise, is surely the mere primitive doctrine that might is right, and if this principle were established through the world, the freedom of our own country and of the whole British Commonwealth of nations would be in danger.

Maskuma, about time! This is how it has been long before POTUS Trump. It is hardly news. It is what opponents of the Demoracts, like myself, have been saying. For too long that has been the case.
#149 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 12:28:53 PM

Hello babe, Hapy new year

Users browsing this topic
Guest (6), Mseto binti, Swenani
#150 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 1:06:27 PM

Liking this Trump guy. He is the true version of kusema(while campaigning) na kutenda(when in office).

Whether he is right or wrong is another thing. If he's wrong, it's not just him who is wrong it's the whole of AMerica through their funny electoral system. For they knew what the guy stood for and planned to do but still voted him in.

If we had leaders like Trump who do what they promised to do during the campaigns then the world would be a better place to live. Uhuru has also tried since he has delivered the SGR, laptops/tablets, electricity connections, etc etc.
#151 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 1:12:19 PM

If we had leaders like Trump who do what they promised to do during the campaigns then the world would be a better place to live. Uhuru has also tried since he has delivered the SGR, laptops/tablets, electricity connections, etc etc.

First Trump has delivered nothing. Guys what has he delivered? He just signed some pieces of paper. Be patient we were here before with Uhuru, remember the matching ties?

But I have to say Hardwood, I know you are a diehard Trumpian but I really didn't know you are also a comedian..

Ati Uhuru delivered laptops? Where are they? SGR, the one Kibaki and Raira came up with? Electricity, that's a godammed private company with gov't as a shareholder.

Just made my Friday...Uhuru delivers....like Trump..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

#152 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 1:29:48 PM

First Trump has delivered nothing. Guys what has he delivered? He just signed some pieces of paper. Be patient we were here before with Uhuru, remember the matching ties?

But I have to say Hardwood, I know you are a diehard Trumpian but I really didn't know you are also a comedian..

Ati Uhuru delivered laptops? Where are they? SGR, the one Kibaki and Raira came up with? Electricity, that's a godammed private company with gov't as a shareholder.

Just made my Friday...Uhuru delivers....like Trump..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Even if you don't like Ohuru, at least appreciate what he has done. He has kept his promises. You cannot run away from the "facts".

laptops:

SGR

Thitima!!!

#153 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 1:47:23 PM

Even if you don't like Ohuru, at least appreciate what he has done. He has kept his promises. You cannot run away from the "facts".

laptops:

SGR

Thitima!!!

you forgot these ones

Yaani it's as if we live in a different country....

One where the kenya shilling has not gone from ksh 86 to the dollar to sijui 104 in 4 years....

kazi zingine ni ngumu jameni....

thuks
#154 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:11:30 PM

Reuters wrote:

When the import tax increases, who pays? Hii hesabu yanishinda
I care!
#155 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:18:25 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

Shida ya kusomea kwa dirisha.

They think the 20% will be paid by the mexican exporter forgeting that it's the Americna imported who ordered for goods, will pay the 20% tax and pass it on to the consumers!
#156 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:19:01 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

It means mexican goods become less competitive, discourages imports and therefore US industries, workers and economy benefit. The money that would have gone to mexico remains in the US.
#157 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:28:07 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

It means mexican goods become less competitive, discourages imports and therefore US industries, workers and economy benefit. The money that would have gone to mexico remains in the US.

I think you actually believe what Trump told you, that the Mexican economy shall die without the US.

Go learn a bit about trade.

Millions of jobs in America are at risk if Mexico also retaliates. Americans sell goods to Mexico remember.

Mexico is currently our 3rd largest goods trading partner with $531 billion in total (two way) goods trade during 2015. Goods exports totaled $236 billion; goods imports totaled $295 billion. The U.S. goods trade deficit with Mexico was $58 billion in 2015.

Raise Mexican taxation, your consumers pay more...I know of very few Americans who grow cabbages and sukuma wiki...They depend on those things from Mexico.

Mexico retaliates and we are left at square one.

Trade is not a campaign trip....

But as we said, tungoje tu.

We were all excited too, remember?

Anti_Burglar
#158 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:28:26 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

Or they will not get that money same difference as simply handing it over. Apprentice shrewdness. This is reality television on whole new level. After all we are dealing with a shrewd successful capitalist business man. lol.
#159 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:35:32 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

Shida ya kusomea kwa dirisha.

They think the 20% will be paid by the mexican exporter forgeting that it's the Americna imported who ordered for goods, will pay the 20% tax and pass it on to the consumers!

If lets say a "made in mexico" shirt was going for USD10 while the one made in the US was USD11, and now the mexican one has been slapped with 20% tax, it pushes price to USD12 and makes it more expensive than the US made one, thus less competitive. Assuming the quality is more or less the same, what this means is that consumers will now buy the US made shirt which will benefit the US manufacturers, factory workers and by extension the US cotton growers and the whole chain - seed companies, pesticides firms, transporters etc. But if someone still insists that they want to buy the mexican shirt, then the 20% goes to the wall.
#160 Posted : Friday, January 27, 2017 2:38:09 PM

thuks wrote:

Reuters wrote:

My friend, stop believing anything that comes out from Trump's rectum

Mexico, US Trade facts

U.S. exports to Mexico account for 15.7% of overall U.S. exports in 2015

Mexico was the United States' 2nd largest goods export market in 2015.

Mexico was the United States' 3rd largest supplier of goods imports in 2015.

U.S. foreign direct investment (FDI) in Mexico (stock) was $107.8 billion in 2014 (latest data available), a 5.3% increase from 2013. U.S. direct investment in Mexico is led by nonbank holding companies, manufacturing, and finance/insurance.

Mexico's FDI in the United States (stock) was $17.7 billion in 2014 (latest data available), up 4.0% from 2013. Mexico's direct investment in the U.S. is led by manufacturing, wholesale trade, and depository institutions.

Sales of services in Mexico by majority U.S.-owned affiliates were $43.4 billion in 2013 (latest data available), while sales of services in the United States by majority Mexico-owned firms were $7.5 billion.

Then I read this stupidity somewhere
Who told them that Mexico won't retaliate by applying a 30% tax on USA imports too?

Under that plan, exports from the United States would be tax-exempt, but imports would be taxed at the border