SGR Progress thus far
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
aemathenge wrote:Quote:Yada yada yada.
China eyes African ports
Experts say Chinese infrastructure investment in Africa is not about altruism.
Funding railways benefits China by connecting ports and facilitating the movement of raw commodities that are badly needed to fuel China's development.
“East Africa, particularly the ports in Kenya, ports in Tanzania and especially ports in Djibouti, these are very important for the Chinese just for the exports,”
Yada yada yada. Rink From the Voice of America. So your goggles never let you see this: Quote:Hwang says that for China, these projects will take a long time to pay dividends.
By contrast she said African economies are likely to see an immediate impact.
“These are big transportation projects that will stimulate local economies, these are good for basic infrastructure,” she says.
“When we talk about China and Africa and interests, people talk about natural resources, but one of our findings was that actually there isn't a clear pattern in terms of the amounts of loans to countries and how well endowed they are with natural resources,” says Janet Eom, a research manager at the China-Africa Research Initiative.
Oil-rich Angola received the largest amount of funding, Eom says. But resource-poor Ethiopia came in second.
China views its investment abroad as part of its “One Belt, One Road” policy. Spearheaded by Beijing, this effort is a Chinese public-private partnership, Hwang says, “even though technically no company is truly private in China.”
It aims to develop a modern “silk road” where goods and commodities can be easily transported between China and its surrounding region. Eventually, China says, it would like to shift labor-intensive industrial work to places like Africa.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
hardwood wrote:aemathenge wrote:Quote:Yada yada yada.
China eyes African ports
Experts say Chinese infrastructure investment in Africa is not about altruism.
Funding railways benefits China by connecting ports and facilitating the movement of raw commodities that are badly needed to fuel China's development.
“East Africa, particularly the ports in Kenya, ports in Tanzania and especially ports in Djibouti, these are very important for the Chinese just for the exports,”
Yada yada yada. Rink From the Voice of America. So your goggles never let you see this: Quote:Hwang says that for China, these projects will take a long time to pay dividends.
By contrast she said African economies are likely to see an immediate impact.
“These are big transportation projects that will stimulate local economies, these are good for basic infrastructure,” she says.
“When we talk about China and Africa and interests, people talk about natural resources, but one of our findings was that actually there isn't a clear pattern in terms of the amounts of loans to countries and how well endowed they are with natural resources,” says Janet Eom, a research manager at the China-Africa Research Initiative.
Oil-rich Angola received the largest amount of funding, Eom says. But resource-poor Ethiopia came in second.
China views its investment abroad as part of its “One Belt, One Road” policy. Spearheaded by Beijing, this effort is a Chinese public-private partnership, Hwang says, “even though technically no company is truly private in China.”
It aims to develop a modern “silk road” where goods and commodities can be easily transported between China and its surrounding region. Eventually, China says, it would like to shift labor-intensive industrial work to places like Africa. Depends on what your teacher taught you yada yada yada means.
Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times that of Ethiopia) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR
hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika Weka link and save me the trouble of finding the jibu.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point.
Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B
Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's)
Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa.
Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika Weka link and save me the trouble of finding the jibu. @Murchr, I would not dignify him with an answer, but then again, you are not me.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,331 Location: Masada
Musimo wrote:freiks wrote:so these locomotives are just nearly like what we received here in kenya though theirs are electric. sura ni ile ile tu Make google your friend... what is here now is freight locomotive, DF 8 Pax locomotive is DF 11 I know you ask because of sura, lakini... show me how many trucks on our roads are worth a second look (freight movers). Compare the same with buses (pax movers)   Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
hardwood wrote:murchr wrote:hardwood wrote:Kuna shida ya cost of our reli. We got a bad deal. Ndii had a point. Ethiopia's 750km electric SGR cost USD 3.4B Kenya's 450km kawaida ordinary SGR cost USD 13B (about 4 times more than Ethiopia's) Surely one can't say the difference in cost is due to terrain since Ethiopia is more mountainous than the relative smooth gradient from Nairobi to mombasa. http://www.voanews.com/a...l?hl=1&noRedirect=1
Ethiopia SGR Kenya SGR Kama umefika post 493 na haujaona jibu ya hii swali basi hauwes saidika Weka link and save me the trouble of finding the jibu.  Am under no obligation "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,331 Location: Masada