wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

19 Pages«<1516171819>
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?
#321 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2017 7:09:49 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:
[quote=sparkly][quote=mkeiy][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=Wakanyugi][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi]Why is Africa poor;

Isn't it likely as the western civilization goes through demographic change then it will suffer the same collapse as the Roman civilization? I was watching some documentary on History channel "Barbarians Rising" the West seems to be going through the same process. The Romans took in immigrants who then turned on them eventually. Reason why Trump says Germany made a huge mistake in taking too many immigrants. Germany on the other is trying some Marshall plan for Africa to stem the flow. In a scenario in which the west goes into an ageing decay, africans will simply go through dark ages like Europe, various tribes viciously killing one another and uthamaki rising and falling. Same old stuff.

Africans don't have respect for their own learned people, they don't preserve knowledge, they don't record innovation, they don't save their earnings, too afraid to risk. These are the things that drive civilization forward
and always lacking in Africa

Thank god someone who has done their homework is speaking. I watched the series and enjoyed it as well.

I pride myself in being a self taught student of history, I have read the history of most of the major nations or civilizations on earth. Civilizations rise and fall and you may be right in that the western civilization is ageing and will eventually implode as a result of internal stress.

However, methinks that unlike the Roman empire, the west will simply lag behind more agile countries. I can tell you the Mzungu is very unproductive and even now still depends on historical leverage to out compete the rest of the world, give them something to run and they stand no chance against an Asian. The Asians are catching up because they are better organized.

Africa hakuna, we are stuck in doldrums, tethered to personal interests and likely to make zero go-forward in the foreseeable future. In fact going by the happenings in SA, we are even regressing from positions of advantage.

I left the village 20 years ago to pursue high school, education in another county. For 20 years I have lived away from the village but periodically visit the relatives.

When I left the village there were only 3 car owners around a 10km radius, only 3 stone houses, 3 degree holders, no power, no piped water, closest paved road was 15km away, nearest church 10km away, nearest high school also 10km away.

Now when I go the village I am amazed at how much change has taken place in less than a generation. Paved roads, power, piped water, mansions to make the people of Muthaiga envious, high end cars, social facilities a stone throw away.

Yet in the midst of all the prosperity there are pockets of abject poverty. People who like time passed them by.

The common thread among the village poor is that they refused to read the times and embrace change. They did not take their children to school because they were "poor". They did not join the social support system in the church because they wanted to remain authentic Africans. Now their children and grandchildren pay the price of poverty for their decisions.

Now look around at what is happening around us... Globalisation, the internet revolution, regional integration, devolution, fast tracked infrastructure development, discovery of oil.

How will Kenya look like in another 30 or 50 years? Will you still be bitching, moaning and whining about the problems of Africans and how Africa will never develop? Will your children and grandchildren pay the price for your attitude and decisions today?

Food for thought for those who do not appreciate Africa's rich heritage and the next frontiers for the continent.
Wakanyugi
#322 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2017 11:12:15 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:
[quote=sparkly][quote=mkeiy][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=Wakanyugi][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi]Why is Africa poor;

Isn't it likely as the western civilization goes through demographic change then it will suffer the same collapse as the Roman civilization? I was watching some documentary on History channel "Barbarians Rising" the West seems to be going through the same process. The Romans took in immigrants who then turned on them eventually. Reason why Trump says Germany made a huge mistake in taking too many immigrants. Germany on the other is trying some Marshall plan for Africa to stem the flow. In a scenario in which the west goes into an ageing decay, africans will simply go through dark ages like Europe, various tribes viciously killing one another and uthamaki rising and falling. Same old stuff.

Africans don't have respect for their own learned people, they don't preserve knowledge, they don't record innovation, they don't save their earnings, too afraid to risk. These are the things that drive civilization forward

Thank god someone who has done their homework is speaking. I watched the series and enjoyed it as well.

I pride myself in being a self taught student of history, I have read the history of most of the major nations or civilizations on earth. Civilizations rise and fall and you may be right in that the western civilization is ageing and will eventually implode as a result of internal stress.

I think you need to tone down your pride a notch. Reading the Anglocentric bromides that are fed to us in school and the media does not equate to 'reading history'. Otherwise you would not be asking some of the questions you are. So Africans had no architecture, no writing, no Universities, no culture etc? What history have you read?

And of course you repeat the canard, peddled mostly by racist white history writers, that Egypt was not an African civilization? Please READ my brother.

And when at it visit the Cairo museum and riddle me this one: if the rulers of ancient Egypt were white (or Mediterranean) as you insist, why did the vandals make such an effort, over the centuries, to destroy the noses of almost every statue that exist today? What evidence were they trying to erase?

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
wukan
#323 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2017 11:49:41 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:

I think you need to tone down your pride a notch. Reading the Anglocentric bromides that are fed to us in school and the media does not equate to 'reading history'. Otherwise you would not be asking some of the questions you are. So Africans had no architecture, no writing, no Universities, no culture etc? What history have you read?

And of course you repeat the canard, peddled mostly by racist white history writers, that Egypt was not an African civilization? Please READ my brother.

And when at it visit the Cairo museum and riddle me this one: if the rulers of ancient Egypt were white (or Mediterranean) as you insist, why did the vandals make such an effort, over the centuries, to destroy the noses of almost every statue that exist today? What evidence were they trying to erase?

@Obi is making a crucial point that societies do regress. Africans have regressed from that civilization in Egypt. Africans skipped the bronze age and went straight to the iron-age and built better iron furnaces and products than that of the Romans. Then Africans regressed and were living in small tribal areas unable to stop conquest and unable to cope with envirnomental issues and disease. What you are saying is like the latinos priding themselves in the mayan civilization. Total waste of energy because Africans are still poor, still unable to face environmental challenges living off wild fruits and with "modern cities" with no water
Wakanyugi
#324 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2017 12:14:26 PM

wukan wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:

@Obi is making a crucial point that societies do regress. Africans have regressed from that civilization in Egypt. Africans skipped the bronze age and went straight to the iron-age and built better iron furnaces and products than that of the Romans. Then Africans regressed and were living in small tribal areas unable to stop conquest and unable to cope with envirnomental issues and disease. What you are saying is like the latinos priding themselves in the mayan civilization. Total waste of energy because Africans are still poor, still unable to face environmental challenges living off wild fruits and with "modern cities" with no water

OK I give up. Carry on with your Afro-self bashing then. I am sure that is what Africa needs in order to improve. Forgive me for not clapping though.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#325 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2017 2:59:04 PM

wukan wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:

Some Kenyans are millions of times richer than some westerners will ever be.

You are better off making 50,000 USD per year in Kenya than making the same in London or Newyork as a wage earner.

Reason why many westerners retire to Africa after working their bottoms off in their countries.
#326 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2017 4:29:49 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:

However, methinks that unlike the Roman empire, the west will simply lag behind more agile countries. I can tell you the Mzungu is very unproductive and even now still depends on historical leverage to out compete the rest of the world, give them something to run and they stand no chance against an Asian. The Asians are catching up because they are better organized.

Africa hakuna, we are stuck in doldrums, tethered to personal interests and likely to make zero go-forward in the foreseeable future. In fact going by the happenings in SA, we are even regressing from positions of advantage.

I left the village 20 years ago to pursue high school, education in another county. For 20 years I have lived away from the village but periodically visit the relatives.

When I left the village there were only 3 car owners around a 10km radius, only 3 stone houses, 3 degree holders, no power, no piped water, closest paved road was 15km away, nearest church 10km away, nearest high school also 10km away.
Now when I go the village I am amazed at how much change has taken place in less than a generation. Paved roads, power, piped water, mansions to make the people of Muthaiga envious, high end cars, social facilities a stone throw away.

Yet in the midst of all the prosperity there are pockets of abject poverty. People who like time passed them by.

The common thread among the village poor is that they refused to read the times and embrace change. They did not take their children to school because they were "poor". They did not join the social support system in the church because they wanted to remain authentic Africans. Now their children and grandchildren pay the price of poverty for their decisions.

Now look around at what is happening around us... Globalisation, the internet revolution, regional integration, devolution, fast tracked infrastructure development, discovery of oil.

How will Kenya look like in another 30 or 50 years? Will you still be bitching, moaning and whining about the problems of Africans and how Africa will never develop? Will your children and grandchildren pay the price for your attitude and decisions today?

Food for thought for those who do not appreciate Africa's rich heritage and the next frontiers for the continent.

True. Our villages have improved greatly, they even have 3G internet, and satellite TV, flat screen tvs etc are very common. Basically you can enjoy the "city life" in the tranquility of the village. The quality of life in the village has improved greatly and in some areas it now rivals what you find in some of the high end areas in the city. The future looks bright.
mkeiy
#327 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 8:25:44 AM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

1. Before coloialism, we did not have a system of governance beyond the village level, contrast this with Asia whose civilization are the oldest in the world or Americas where the europeans settled and transplanted their civilisations

2. We don't know any better, we have been poor all along and we don't know how to harness and amas wealth or the benefits that come with it. Its like Kyuks in central who have seen the benefits of wealth compared to the rest of Kenyans who have no clue

3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world.

Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above.

This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi.

Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old.

Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole.

Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start.
Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it.
Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions.
History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo.
How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad.

I am appealing here for perspective;

- The Chinese built a 6,000Km wall that's visible from the moon, takes organization
- The Indians did the Taj Mahal etc among others
- Persians founded modern maths etc.

More importantly, these civilizations maintained records, which was passed down to other generations

More specifically, sub-saharan Africa which is what I believe we are discussing here had none of such sophistication and certainly lacked scale, many of the kingdoms many are claiming existed would probably be only as big as our current constituencies and atmost counties.

The fact that we are broken down into my guess is over 500 tribes should tell you that there was little interaction between africans beyond a small radius say 100Kmssmile smile

@Obi. Well put. Those who are claiming Africa used to be civilized, where is the evidence?
Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

Use the above list Africa's or forever hold your peace.

http://atlantablackstar....ieval-african-kingdoms/

Watu wapunguze ujinga. Africa had a long line of superpowers. Mansa Musa, king of Mali is the richest man who ever lived on Earth.

Closer home the Buganda, Zulu, Wanga kingdoms controlled their own territories and with trade routes and their own succession lineages.

What we consider civilisation today is the Western concept of civilisation with roots in the Greek and Roman empires.

The Roman empire was the most significant civilisation in the West. What is today Britain, France, Germany and Scandinavia were just tribal enclaves of Celts, Gauls, Goths, Visigoths and other Germanic tribes colonised by Rome.

Even when the Western Roman empire fell in 500 CE or thereabouts, the Eastern (Byzantine) Roman empire remained strong for another 1,000 years.

In western Europe, the period between the fall of the Western Roman empire and the rise of the European monarchies is called the dark ages for a reason. During that period Europe was invaded by Arabs, Turks, Africans. Europe was constantly at war, ravaged by disease and the standard of life was probably the worst in the world.

When Europe was rising from the ashes of the dark ages, even Vasco Da Gama could not through the Suez on the way to India because he feared the Arabs. He went round the Cape just to encounter the Arabs on the East Coast of Africa from Mozambique, to Dar, to Pemba, to Tanga, to Mombasa and Lamu. Only the Sultan of Malindi welcomed him because he was at war with Mombasa and Lamu.

The balance of power obviously changed with the industrial revolution and rise of the great powers of Europe.

For 200 years the world has been dominated by western civilisation. Has the world become a better place? my answer is no. The world has been through wars involving and orchestrated by the western powers. Mass enslavement of populations, destruction of the environment, degradation of cultures...

In my opinion, western civilisation is actually regressive. The only reason we have not had a third world war and extinction of mankind is because Western Europe has been united by their EU trade pact. With UK (and god knows who else) pulling out, expect fireworks around the corner. We should not blindly worship a civilisation of war, destruction and violence that takes mankind backwards.

@Sparkly. Acha matusi.
I asked for evidence and you've not given any.
If you go to China and Europe, there you will see evidence of what they were doing 500 years ago.

@Sparkly, your ancestors, what were they doing 500 years ago?
Where they studying? How were they dressing? What were they building?
When other civilizations were building ships and exploring, developing education systems, science, arts, architecture, technology etc. What were your 'great African civilisations'doing?

You see, the superior conquers the 'inferior '.
The African civilizations you are alluding to, couldn't stand the test of evolution for they were rudimentary .

One last question, why @Sparkly, are using a language and technology from a civilisation that is regressive and dangerous? Why? Why? Why?
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#328 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 10:24:20 AM

nobody should say the west wasnot primitive as African. they were also extremely primitive.but they got out of being primitive by embracing education.i mean where were the first universities located?well back to africa we were give a chance at education through the various mission schools established but how many parents would let their sons and daughters 'waste' time in school, rather than tend to cows and domestic chores
Wakanyugi
#329 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 12:25:07 PM

We are making so many assumptions on this thread.

Africans were never 'civilized'

Wazungu are the epitome of civilization, in fact they were born civilized

Civilization means owning/having a lot of stuff

Etcetera, etcetera

(Where the hell is Tycho when you need him?)

Oh, well...kila nyani na styli yake.

#330 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 2:04:34 PM

Cornelius Vanderbilt wrote:
nobody should say the west wasnot primitive as African. they were also extremely primitive.but they got out of being primitive by embracing education.i mean where were the first universities located?well back to africa we were give a chance at education through the various mission schools established but how many parents would let their sons and daughters 'waste' time in school, rather than tend to cows and domestic chores

Boss the first universities were established in Arabia and North Africa.
#331 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 2:08:32 PM

Some of the amazing ancient structures and design are also found in Africa.
#332 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 2:17:45 PM

Some of the amazing ancient structures and design are also found in Africa.

Even the first stone and bone tools were made in Africa.
#333 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 2:27:03 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

1. Before coloialism, we did not have a system of governance beyond the village level, contrast this with Asia whose civilization are the oldest in the world or Americas where the europeans settled and transplanted their civilisations

2. We don't know any better, we have been poor all along and we don't know how to harness and amas wealth or the benefits that come with it. Its like Kyuks in central who have seen the benefits of wealth compared to the rest of Kenyans who have no clue

3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world.

Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above.

Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old.

Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole.

Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start.
Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it.
Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions.
History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo.
How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad.

- The Chinese built a 6,000Km wall that's visible from the moon, takes organization

More importantly, these civilizations maintained records, which was passed down to other generations

More specifically, sub-saharan Africa which is what I believe we are discussing here had none of such sophistication and certainly lacked scale, many of the kingdoms many are claiming existed would probably be only as big as our current constituencies and atmost counties.

The fact that we are broken down into my guess is over 500 tribes should tell you that there was little interaction between africans beyond a small radius say 100Kmssmile smile

@Obi. Well put. Those who are claiming Africa used to be civilized, where is the evidence?
Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

Watu wapunguze ujinga. Africa had a long line of superpowers. Mansa Musa, king of Mali is the richest man who ever lived on Earth.

Closer home the Buganda, Zulu, Wanga kingdoms controlled their own territories and with trade routes and their own succession lineages.

What we consider civilisation today is the Western concept of civilisation with roots in the Greek and Roman empires.

The Roman empire was the most significant civilisation in the West. What is today Britain, France, Germany and Scandinavia were just tribal enclaves of Celts, Gauls, Goths, Visigoths and other Germanic tribes colonised by Rome.

Even when the Western Roman empire fell in 500 CE or thereabouts, the Eastern (Byzantine) Roman empire remained strong for another 1,000 years.

In western Europe, the period between the fall of the Western Roman empire and the rise of the European monarchies is called the dark ages for a reason. During that period Europe was invaded by Arabs, Turks, Africans. Europe was constantly at war, ravaged by disease and the standard of life was probably the worst in the world.

When Europe was rising from the ashes of the dark ages, even Vasco Da Gama could not through the Suez on the way to India because he feared the Arabs. He went round the Cape just to encounter the Arabs on the East Coast of Africa from Mozambique, to Dar, to Pemba, to Tanga, to Mombasa and Lamu. Only the Sultan of Malindi welcomed him because he was at war with Mombasa and Lamu.

The balance of power obviously changed with the industrial revolution and rise of the great powers of Europe.

For 200 years the world has been dominated by western civilisation. Has the world become a better place? my answer is no. The world has been through wars involving and orchestrated by the western powers. Mass enslavement of populations, destruction of the environment, degradation of cultures...

In my opinion, western civilisation is actually regressive. The only reason we have not had a third world war and extinction of mankind is because Western Europe has been united by their EU trade pact. With UK (and god knows who else) pulling out, expect fireworks around the corner. We should not blindly worship a civilisation of war, destruction and violence that takes mankind backwards.

@Sparkly. Acha matusi.
If you go to China and Europe, there you will see evidence of what they were doing 500 years ago.

When other civilizations were building ships and exploring, developing education systems, science, arts, architecture, technology etc. What were your 'great African civilisations'doing?

The African civilizations you are alluding to, couldn't stand the test of evolution for they were rudimentary .

One last question, why @Sparkly, are using a language and technology from a civilisation that is regressive and dangerous? Why? Why? Why?

@Mkeiy you have missed the thrust of my narrative. Please read again and digest.

On matters superiority... Which is superior Rock, Scissors or Paper? Tafakari
iris
#334 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 2:28:21 PM

Ye Kenyan Africans trying so hard to comfort yourselves, one of the poorest (and dare I say "primitive" when you watch hungry mobs demonstrating) countries in Europe is Greece, with all its undisputed rich history. Get off what might have been and prepare for the future. The disparities are obvious but remember that cycles come and go. The British were living in huts around 5th century and learned how to build from the Romans. Read about the Zanj; while perhaps not all objective, you might learn that if there was a university in East Africa, it would have to have been loooong ago and buried so far even Leakey could not stumble on it.
mkeiy
#335 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 3:08:30 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

@Sparkly. Acha matusi.

@Mkeiy you have missed the thrust of my narrative. Please read again and digest.

@Sparkly. There's no thrust in your narrative, nothing.

In Africa (Sub Saharan) where can you see at least 5 items on my red list?

What you guys are giving is a little more of African history. Africa's existence in the centuries gone. That's not what the topic is about.

The topic is about 'Why Africa is poor', period.

Even today, we lack in so many ways, what's on my red list.
Heck the Chinese are building for us virtually everything 'major'.

Even the 'rock, scissors & paper' you are using @Sparkly, is borrowed.

All in all, 'NYANI HAONI KUNDULE'.
iris
#336 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 5:07:20 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Sparkly wrote:

What you guys are giving is a little more of African history. Africa's existence in the centuries gone. That's not what the topic is about.

Meanwhile at our seats of excellence that will be talked about 500 years to come:

All Third Year UoN Engineering students fail semester exams
#337 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 5:47:26 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

@Sparkly. Acha matusi.

@Mkeiy one of us is arguing from a point of ignorance. Maybe it's me, maybe it's you. I will leave it here.
youngrich&idle
#338 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2017 7:31:48 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

@Sparkly. Acha matusi.

@Mkeiy one of us is arguing from a point of ignorance. Maybe it's me, maybe it's you. I will leave it here.

Wow what interesting views. I find that a lot of heat is being generated by two entirely different issue rolled into one. Ancient 'african' civilizations and present african underdevelopment. One cannot speak of ancient Africa in general because this is a massive continent that had different peoples at varying levels of culture...from the suave genteels of Songhai, the feudal christian kingdom of habesha, to simple peasants of kenya and stone age hunter gatherers all living contemporaneously.

In remote antiquity we have Kemet wrongly called Egypt which of course was fully African both in customs such as circumcision, location and religious beliefs.

The 2nd issue is modern african bewilderment and stagnation. Several factors are self evident.
1. Lack of cultural drive. Africans have a culture of dependancy and deeply ingrained laziness. Africans beg government or God for help, rather than self help.

2. Mental colonization. Africans practise self hate, this is deeply ingrained through foreign religions. Therefore, one finds africans literally worshipping european pictures and statues as god, africans also place foreign slave and colonial names in front of their own names, africans are exceedingly proud of anything that is foreign...products tagged 'imported' or 'japanese made' or 'german engineered' find ready market, rather than what is locally made, hence investment and serious capital flows into import outlays rather than domestic manufacturing. africa produces by value less than 1% of world manufactures...even simple implements such as spoons are imported. Unemployment in most african countries hence hovers at 60%. Hawking is not a career.

3. Lack of an entrepreneurial culture and where present lack of professionalism. Examples abound of how african businesses will fail to deliver on contracts mostly due to an unbelievable ineptitude. This afflicts both private and public sectors. Foreigners who start businesses in africa immediately become rich because they simply are more reliable than africans.

4. Low IQ. Masses persistently vote in the most stupid politicians, so that african democracy is social suicide.

Conclusion. It is hopeless.
#339 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 3:14:07 PM

this is why Africa is poor:

LINK
Fullykenyan
#340 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2017 12:28:09 AM

I have come to the conclusion, Africans have a lower IQ. First, Africans are never on time,whether they live in Africa or outside Africa and secondly try working with an African on any project. The results are poor. The Motivation is low. Africans cant think beyond today. There is a blockage in our thinking system.