wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

19 Pages«<1415161718>»
Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?
Wakanyugi
#301 Posted : Monday, January 16, 2017 5:17:20 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

1. Before coloialism, we did not have a system of governance beyond the village level, contrast this with Asia whose civilization are the oldest in the world or Americas where the europeans settled and transplanted their civilisations

2. We don't know any better, we have been poor all along and we don't know how to harness and amas wealth or the benefits that come with it. Its like Kyuks in central who have seen the benefits of wealth compared to the rest of Kenyans who have no clue

3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world.

Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above.

This self denigration ndio inamalisa sisi.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#302 Posted : Monday, January 16, 2017 5:45:06 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

1. Before coloialism, we did not have a system of governance beyond the village level, contrast this with Asia whose civilization are the oldest in the world or Americas where the europeans settled and transplanted their civilisations

2. We don't know any better, we have been poor all along and we don't know how to harness and amas wealth or the benefits that come with it. Its like Kyuks in central who have seen the benefits of wealth compared to the rest of Kenyans who have no clue

3. We are made up of many tiny disorganised weak countries that basically lack leverage required to compete with the rest of the world.

Nani alikwambia hii maneno? Have you been speaking to Trump? Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

I challenge you to read "The African origin of Civilization" or any other book by the late Cheikh Anta Diop and then come back and repeat the words you have written above.

Hata mimi nakusa sangaa
#303 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 9:03:00 AM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old.

Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole.
Monk
#304 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 9:37:21 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Tell me about an african organised state of the level of Indian, persian, chinese or even mayan states of old.

Egypt doesn't count as it was more or less part of a Mediterranean rim that was pretty much the centre of the universe and Songai empire had more to do with Islam influence. Most of Africa was really a dark hole.

Africa once had great civilizations. However, civilizations come and go. Ancient Egypt disintegrated ages ago, and has no continuity to Modern Egypt. The same for Nubia, West African civilizations, Greece, Israel and many others the world over.
muandiwambeu
#305 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 9:45:57 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start.
Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it.
Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions.
History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo.
How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
sitaki.kujulikana
#306 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 10:59:36 AM

I agree with @Obi, but why do we get easily offended when mention of us being poor and backwards is made, one does not even need to go back in history, just look at our current situation.

we lack the smarts to make a better life for ourselves, and what we lack most is basic organization, maybe in future we will learn, but up to now we are very weak, look at kenya we don't even have basic address system for homes, we can't even pave roads to our houses, just laying down pipes to deliver water to peoples homes is a challenge.

its like what matiangi did, showed us the level we are at, and all over sudden we are complaining we want those D's to be coated with Bs and As, the only way to move forward is to accept what we are and where we are otherwise we will keep n telling our kids how great we are, or were and yet we can't get the basics right.
mufasa
#307 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 11:22:01 AM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

This is wrong thinking, African tribes have always had a system of governance.
in my considered opinion, the degeneration of Africa began when we accepted and adopted western style of governance such as the country borders that were imposed on us.
We are also heavily reliant on western culture at the expense of ours.

I was saddened the other day by the President-elect of Ghana plagiarizing US presidents. A trait that is so akin to most of us. We need to promote local based research and innovations such as MPESA. We need to support our universities to churn out solutions that work for us not a far away country.

Africa is not really poor, we have lots of resources and opportunities but we are using the wrong measuring scale.... a western measuring scale. Thats why we are poor
Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.
#308 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 11:41:04 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Africa had powerful dynasty's that had wide coverage and well established rulers. Your so poor in history I do not know where to start.
Better know that the white by mere fact that they stambled on gunpowder ahead of kaname kingdom, they would not have subdued it.
Barely in early 1800 USA was just a tattered state made of worrying tribes led by warying factions.
History should be made compasory to all studying in Kenya all the way to masters level at least two units per every study term. Do you know why USA is so called or honours Washington? Nyenyenyenye mingi nazo.
How many kingdoms do you existed in Africa. Or you only know British empire. So sad.

I am appealing here for perspective;

- The Chinese built a 6,000Km wall that's visible from the moon, takes organization
- The Indians did the Taj Mahal etc among others
- Persians founded modern maths etc.

More importantly, these civilizations maintained records, which was passed down to other generations

More specifically, sub-saharan Africa which is what I believe we are discussing here had none of such sophistication and certainly lacked scale, many of the kingdoms many are claiming existed would probably be only as big as our current constituencies and atmost counties.

The fact that we are broken down into my guess is over 500 tribes should tell you that there was little interaction between africans beyond a small radius say 100Kmssmile smile
muandiwambeu
#309 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 12:58:03 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

- The Chinese built a 6,000Km wall that's visible from the moon, takes organization

More importantly, these civilizations maintained records, which was passed down to other generations

More specifically, sub-saharan Africa which is what I believe we are discussing here had none of such sophistication and certainly lacked scale, many of the kingdoms many are claiming existed would probably be only as big as our current constituencies and atmost counties.

The fact that we are broken down into my guess is over 500 tribes should tell you that there was little interaction between africans beyond a small radius say 100Kmssmile smile

I really find this ridiculous, what was the world population in 1800? And what off 1500.
Out off the best guess estimate, how many tribes do you think are so far non existent?
How big was Persian empire, or Babylonian empire, or French under Napoleon bornapate?
Where did you get your data from too justify drawn conclusions.
#310 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 1:35:54 PM

Why is Africa poor in general compared to the West?

Because agricultural based small scale industries, like the one written about here, are the exception rather than the norm.
mkeiy
#311 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 2:03:08 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

@Obi. Well put. Those who are claiming Africa used to be civilized, where is the evidence?
Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

Use the above list Africa's or forever hold your peace.

mufasa
#312 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 3:07:00 PM

mkeiy wrote:

@Obi. Well put. Those who are claiming Africa used to be civilized, where is the evidence?
Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

Take a look at the history of Somalia, you'll find that they have there own alphabet and very impressive buildings, cross over to Ethiopia and have a look at the military that they had early on plus religion then come back to Sudan where you'll find pyramids built by the Nubians before the islamization of the North that pushed them downwards into newlands such as Kenya.

Our biggest problem is bench-marking with the west.
Do it today! Tomorrow is promise to no-one.
#313 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 3:18:26 PM

I think there is a confusion between standard of living and poverty. A rural herdsman with 50 cattle and 50acres acres of ancestral land may not have running water or electricity or permanent house but his worth would be:
Animals 50 x 30K each = 1,500,000
land 50acres x 400k each = 20,000,000
Total 21.5m.
Note that the animals would be giving the guy about 50k per month in milk and animal sales. The money would be adequate to meet his needs and have some savings.

Somewhere in the west eg in london you could have someone on minimum wage living in a 3bdrm house with all facilities including water, power, internet, and also a car on loan eg 1m. The minimum wage would be adequate to cover all his bills and car loan repayment but wouldn't leave any cash for savings. His only "asset" would be the car worth 1m.

However interestingly, the mzungu would be considered richer because of his standard of living even though the kenyan is over 20 times wealthier than he is. Therefore the standard of living or lifestyle is not a true indicator of poverty or wealth. Africa may have poor infrastructure and a lower standard of living but that doesn't mean we are poor.

#314 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 3:27:22 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

http://atlantablackstar....ieval-african-kingdoms/

Watu wapunguze ujinga. Africa had a long line of superpowers. Mansa Musa, king of Mali is the richest man who ever lived on Earth.

Closer home the Buganda, Zulu, Wanga kingdoms controlled their own territories and with trade routes and their own succession lineages.

What we consider civilisation today is the Western concept of civilisation with roots in the Greek and Roman empires.

The Roman empire was the most significant civilisation in the West. What is today Britain, France, Germany and Scandinavia were just tribal enclaves of Celts, Gauls, Goths, Visigoths and other Germanic tribes colonised by Rome.

Even when the Western Roman empire fell in 500 CE or thereabouts, the Eastern (Byzantine) Roman empire remained strong for another 1,000 years.

In western Europe, the period between the fall of the Western Roman empire and the rise of the European monarchies is called the dark ages for a reason. During that period Europe was invaded by Arabs, Turks, Africans. Europe was constantly at war, ravaged by disease and the standard of life was probably the worst in the world.

When Europe was rising from the ashes of the dark ages, even Vasco Da Gama could not through the Suez on the way to India because he feared the Arabs. He went round the Cape just to encounter the Arabs on the East Coast of Africa from Mozambique, to Dar, to Pemba, to Tanga, to Mombasa and Lamu. Only the Sultan of Malindi welcomed him because he was at war with Mombasa and Lamu.

The balance of power obviously changed with the industrial revolution and rise of the great powers of Europe.

For 200 years the world has been dominated by western civilisation. Has the world become a better place? my answer is no. The world has been through wars involving and orchestrated by the western powers. Mass enslavement of populations, destruction of the environment, degradation of cultures...

In my opinion, western civilisation is actually regressive. The only reason we have not had a third world war and extinction of mankind is because Western Europe has been united by their EU trade pact. With UK (and god knows who else) pulling out, expect fireworks around the corner. We should not blindly worship a civilisation of war, destruction and violence that takes mankind backwards.
majimaji
#315 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 3:32:24 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture-the africans had the most environmental friendly houses built with materials from the surrounding. Be it a kikuyu thatch rondavel or a maasai manyatta, these structures serve the purpose efficiently. Go to Mali and see the mud houses and mosques, i would like to replicate that.
2. Medicine - african medicine is organic and wholesome. Modern western medicine has serious side effects, the world is going back to organic medicine.
3. Arts - this is such a wide area, but let me tell you, you cannot afford top class african art, be it benin bronze or makonde masks
4. Military/Weapons - gun powder was invented by the chinese, but if you want some serious military strategy, read up on shaka, the zulu.
5. Agriculture - You know the crops and animals adapted to african conditions have been developed by african farmers for hundreds of years. And abandoning indigenous crops has led to mass starvation in the past - why struggle to grow maize in an area suited for cassava and millet or yams?
6. Science/Technology - all humanity has contributed to science and technology, it is not a western thing.
7. Education - I have just educated you.
8. Alphabet - the modern alpha-bet has been developed from various civilisations from ancient egypt, mesopotamia, greece, arabia, india, africa(like ethiopian script). and mark you the printing press is a recent invention of 500 years ago. In the 1900's, many people in the west were illiterate, no different from the africans at the time, but remember that on the east coast, north and west africa, many africans were reading and writing in arabic.
9. Etc.

see above replies
wukan
#316 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 4:00:30 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

http://atlantablackstar....ieval-african-kingdoms/

Watu wapunguze ujinga. Africa had a long line of superpowers. Mansa Musa, king of Mali is the richest man who ever lived on Earth.

Closer home the Buganda, Zulu, Wanga kingdoms controlled their own territories and with trade routes and their own succession lineages.

What we consider civilisation today is the Western concept of civilisation with roots in the Greek and Roman empires.

The Roman empire was the most significant civilisation in the West. What is today Britain, France, Germany and Scandinavia were just tribal enclaves of Celts, Gauls, Goths, Visigoths and other Germanic tribes colonised by Rome.

Even when the Western Roman empire fell in 500 CE or thereabouts, the Eastern (Byzantine) Roman empire remained strong for another 1,000 years.

In western Europe, the period between the fall of the Western Roman empire and the rise of the European monarchies is called the dark ages for a reason. During that period Europe was invaded by Arabs, Turks, Africans. Europe was constantly at war, ravaged by disease and the standard of life was probably the worst in the world.

When Europe was rising from the ashes of the dark ages, even Vasco Da Gama could not through the Suez on the way to India because he feared the Arabs. He went round the Cape just to encounter the Arabs on the East Coast of Africa from Mozambique, to Dar, to Pemba, to Tanga, to Mombasa and Lamu. Only the Sultan of Malindi welcomed him because he was at war with Mombasa and Lamu.

The balance of power obviously changed with the industrial revolution and rise of the great powers of Europe.

For 200 years the world has been dominated by western civilisation. Has the world become a better place? my answer is no. The world has been through wars involving and orchestrated by the western powers. Mass enslavement of populations, destruction of the environment, degradation of cultures...

In my opinion, western civilisation is actually regressive. The only reason we have not had a third world war and extinction of mankind is because Western Europe has been united by their EU trade pact. With UK (and god knows who else) pulling out, expect fireworks around the corner. We should not blindly worship a civilisation of war, destruction and violence that takes mankind backwards.

Isn't it likely as the western civilization goes through demographic change then it will suffer the same collapse as the Roman civilization? I was watching some documentary on History channel "Barbarians Rising" the West seems to be going through the same process. The Romans took in immigrants who then turned on them eventually. Reason why Trump says Germany made a huge mistake in taking too many immigrants. Germany on the other is trying some Marshall plan for Africa to stem the flow. In a scenario in which the west goes into an ageing decay, africans will simply go through dark ages like Europe, various tribes viciously killing one another and uthamaki rising and falling. Same old stuff.

Africans don't have respect for their own learned people, they don't preserve knowledge, they don't record innovation, they don't save their earnings, too afraid to risk. These are the things that drive civilization forward
and always lacking in Africa
#317 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 4:10:47 PM

This was my second point regarding why we are poor, most replies above here sadly confirm my fears. Many here insist we are not poor yet the newspapers over the last few days have been filled with images of hunger stricken people cooking wild fruitsd'oh! d'oh!

Admitting we have a problem does not make the problem bigger, it opens the way to resolving the problem.
#318 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 4:28:10 PM

wukan wrote:
[quote=sparkly][quote=mkeiy][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=Wakanyugi][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi]Why is Africa poor;

Isn't it likely as the western civilization goes through demographic change then it will suffer the same collapse as the Roman civilization? I was watching some documentary on History channel "Barbarians Rising" the West seems to be going through the same process. The Romans took in immigrants who then turned on them eventually. Reason why Trump says Germany made a huge mistake in taking too many immigrants. Germany on the other is trying some Marshall plan for Africa to stem the flow. In a scenario in which the west goes into an ageing decay, africans will simply go through dark ages like Europe, various tribes viciously killing one another and uthamaki rising and falling. Same old stuff.

Africans don't have respect for their own learned people, they don't preserve knowledge, they don't record innovation, they don't save their earnings, too afraid to risk. These are the things that drive civilization forward

Thank god someone who has done their homework is speaking. I watched the series and enjoyed it as well.

I pride myself in being a self taught student of history, I have read the history of most of the major nations or civilizations on earth. Civilizations rise and fall and you may be right in that the western civilization is ageing and will eventually implode as a result of internal stress.

However, methinks that unlike the Roman empire, the west will simply lag behind more agile countries. I can tell you the Mzungu is very unproductive and even now still depends on historical leverage to out compete the rest of the world, give them something to run and they stand no chance against an Asian. The Asians are catching up because they are better organized.

Africa hakuna, we are stuck in doldrums, tethered to personal interests and likely to make zero go-forward in the foreseeable future. In fact going by the happenings in SA, we are even regressing from positions of advantage.
muandiwambeu
#319 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 5:08:57 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
wukan wrote:
[quote=sparkly][quote=mkeiy][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=muandiwambeu][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi][quote=Wakanyugi][quote=Obi 1 Kanobi]Why is Africa poor;

Thank god someone who has done their homework is speaking. I watched the series and enjoyed it as well.

I pride myself in being a self taught student of history, I have read the history of most of the major nations or civilizations on earth. Civilizations rise and fall and you may be right in that the western civilization is ageing and will eventually implode as a result of internal stress.

However, methinks that unlike the Roman empire, the west will simply lag behind more agile countries. I can tell you the Mzungu is very unproductive and even now still depends on historical leverage to out compete the rest of the world, give them something to run and they stand no chance against an Asian. The Asians are catching up because they are better organized.

Africa hakuna, we are stuck in doldrums, tethered to personal interests and likely to make zero go-forward in the foreseeable future. In fact going by the happenings in SA, we are even regressing from positions of advantage.

I quote this for you too. What is si unit for rpm(revolutions per minute)?
#320 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2017 5:18:41 PM

mkeiy wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Why is Africa poor;

Be it:
1. Architecture.
2. Medicine.
3. Arts.
4. Military/Weapons.
5. Agriculture.
6. Science/Technology.
7. Education.
8. Alphabet.
9. Etc.

Little knowledge is really dangerous.

Once you travel abit and leave your village where your forefathers degenerated themselves, you will realize how other africans were civilized. How they put up complex structures with no cranes, drainage with no pumps, passed on medical knowledge from one generation to another etc.Then will you realize that you might be the only uncivilized soul in Africa.